Is it important to get married?

no. is is NOT important to get married but more important to know WHY you are getting married...... getting marriage is an event... but marriage is a journey of sharing, love, patience and understanding.....

You asking this question on a wedding forum?

School holidays over already...how come still got this kind of question?

*baffled and bemused*

My boyfriend told me its not important to get married as its only for the sake of a piece of paper. What matters more is we are always in love. Whatsmore with the increasing rate of divorce cases, it really makes people wonder why is it so difficult for 2 person to live together. Do people really take marriage lightly now?

know of ppl who got married cos they wanna hav kids.. so its more like for the sake of having kids else they will still be happy just being together without marriage

It is a commitment, isn't it?

In the past, when morality has higher values, couples only stay together after marriage.

Of a smaller significance, a marriage cert has certain legal benefits - allow couples to purchase HDB flats etc.

double protection for what unless they got kids then get married lor... having a marriage certificate can help the women get baby bonus, relief tax, parenthood tax relief, etc and even HDB flat fot the children to live in. or else it is good to be together without a piece of marriage cert

Divorce cases are on the rise coz values and thinking have changed a lot since the olden times. There are also more options for both men and women should things don't work out between 2 people.

But for every divorce case, there is usually a couple that managed to work things out despite problems. You just don't hear of them as frequently, that's all.

green bear: if you can't find a good reason to get married, then you aren't ready... but you should have a mindset of your own, dun listen bindly...

for most people yes. take elizabeth taylor as an example. she doesn't need a meal ticket. she could have all the sex she wanted. you would think that after the 7th try, she knew better...

my theory, there must be something innate within us that drives us lemming-like to the love graveyard.

It me, marriage is like love.

It is better to love than never.

It is better to get married and divorce then never married..

It is in the process that we enjoy.. the destination may change .. but as long as we enjoy the journey, the destination may not be the most important. If we ended up at the wrong destination, we can always move again.

The fact that the destination is not what you want does not make the journey a bad one. And it does not mean you stay at home and don't go out.

On the other hand, marriage is not everything in life. It can be part of your life. It is possible to live happily without marriage. But you must be at peace with yourself and knows what you want. Not having married and then have children will mean you will probably miss out on some of the joys in this world. As long as you can accept this and find other joys, then marriage may not be important to you.

The Treasure of life is not about its destination, but the journey it self.

mistake is beautiful, it is sexy and desirable. just because of miss judgement, now comes with great judgement. just because we missunderstanding, now come with understanding.

why fear ?

Nothing is secure in this world. Getting married doesnt mean anything at all unless both of them want kids. Woman's charter will protect u if the husband is RICH and the wife is a "tai tai" with kids.... Otherwise it's doesnt do much at all.... Getting a piece of marriage cert is very cheap but getting one out of the marriage cert cost A BOMB....