Invitation Card in JB?

pukindog

Hi trazz,

my cards is the same as yours. how much u pay for your card? what the quantity u have?

Moon,
RM1.50 include the insert and the printing. so is cost about SGD70cent for each card ba. the more u print the cheaper it is.

mudpiesredrum

My hubby & i had the worst nightmare of our lives making our cards at JB. Since we would like to advise other couples too before it is too late, the shop is at Plaza Angsana and it is called Marina Cards, on 5th floor. (more like Marina Crappy shop)We planned to make the cards there as it's cheaper in JB. Happily paid our deposit of 100 ringgits and was told the card drafts will be ready in 2 weeks. okay fine. when the draft finally came 2 weeks later via email, there are so many corrections need to be made (names spelled wrongly, card pattern are not the one we chose earlier) which puzzles me coz we filled up their form all the informatoin correctly and double checked before leaving the shop 2 weeks ago. And gosh! The email exchanges for the corrections took more than a month for them to get it right! And i was losing my patience. The printing dept called up my hp a few times to tell me excuses like they do not have the stock anymore for the printing paper that i have selected, and then suggesting that they will use other paper material which i might not like (this is so ridiculous!! telling me straight that i wont like the material and still suggest that??!!)
when i decided to cancel the order completely, a woman from the printing dept (supposed to b the supervisor) yelled at me over the phone and made nasty remarks abt how my wedding will be ruined if i dont go ahead with the order! (many other nasty remarks i do not wish to describe as i am still hurt and angry till this day.) I listened to my parents abt ignoring their calls n forego the deposit that i paid to them. We eventually made the cards in Singapore with the help of our friends. So couples who are planning to make their cards at JB, i hope to share my horrible experience with u guys.

allo

We went to T&T to submit our printing order. Template was done within half an hour and we proof-read the artwork directly and paid them on the spot. 300 pcs of single sided inserts cost RM100. We have till next day 12noon to rectify any errors we have mislooked. The sales lady we approached is steady and not rude (thou not super friendly). The inserts will be ready in 1 week.

Hope the info helps!

crayongal

Hi Yane...

Yours is single sided means just printing the details on one side, i.e. half of A4 size?
btw, i think 300pcs for RM100 is quite worth it. Do you know how much they charge for 2 sides? Thanks... =)

allo

Hi stef, no u got it wrong. Can u imagine a pc of paper ard the size of A4, printed on 1 side? Left/Top with Chinese text, Right/Bottom with English text? Some ppl needs double sided as they wanto put 'Xi'/"A Wedding Invitation" on the page before, or a map at behind... that's why needs double page. I have collected my cards and its all perfect. No mishap :) What I have seen/approved earlier is what I gotten back. If any1 needs the name of the person i've spoke with, can PM me. Cheers!

raragal

Hi all..

I've just went to T&T last Sunday and i was glad that I made a trip down. it was simply fantastic. Given my FH and myself more ideas to start planning and designing our own wedding invites..

They have a lot of samples. and alot of Sporean goes there to print.. hahaha...

Yup..for those inserts, its RM$60 for 1st 100pcs, subsequent 100pcs is $RM$20.
Add map: one time charge of RM$20.

So its super cheap loh.. And its inkjet printing..
They have digital print too... now that we've seen it, we thinking of designing our own wedding Invite le.. coz no color restriction.
Pricing is either for Black & White, or for Color.
U can have 100 colors and its the same price. Cool eh? About S$0.50cents after conversion for digital printing per piece for A5 size..
Can use our BS photos as backdrop too.. NIce nice!

Oh.. i forgot to mention.. my rates are based on min 500 copies...
300-500 one price..
500-800 one price..
Think the diff is like 10cents i think..can't rem correctly..

They need to know what size you talking about also.
There's like 5" x 7" postcard kind. Print front and back color, its about RM$1++..so about S$0.50. Maybe $0.60 if you are printing lesser..
There are those bigger one, but fold into 2 will become 5"x7" kind.. i think cost a little bit more..

They need to know u want to print one side color, back black and white or both sides color.. of coz the one side color and one side B&W is cheaper ..by a few cents loh..

I personally like the 4"x9" one..i feel very class..Then they have a few variety of paper to choose from also...they have sample u can see..
the 4'x9' print on matt white paper bery nice..thick paper..very postcard like..but longer..

Inserts pricing using inkjet is:
RM$60 for first 100.
Subseq 100 inserts @ RM$20.
So to print 600 inserts will cost RM$160 which is super cheap lo..compared to Singapore printing.

I'm trying to nego with my AD venue to give me cashback for the wedding invites that i don't want... at least can get back $200 also good..then just need to top up a little bit for my own design Wedding invite. From what we discussed previously with TnT, it'll cost about RM$654.
Thats about S$290 for 600copies.. i think ok leh.. I'm having about 80 tables la..

raragal

The shop's name is T&T Instant Print Services
email: [email protected]
Tel: 07-2228862
Fax: 07-2238862

They have branches at Plaza Pelangi & Desa Tebrau as well.. but i think too far la....

City Square is more convenient la...
Only 10 min walk from the Custom to City Square..

colt_26

i have confirmed with T&T.

the printing costs RM$160 for 300 inserts (double sided) very cheap. no additional charges for adding graphic. they are very efficient also. just need an hour to come up with the sample. after proof reading, they can print and can collect one week later.

service and price is good!

raragal

colt_26> great to know that you enjoyed it.. you only printed inserts?? because its double sided, thats why its more ex issit??

does T&T have minimum number of cards?
As I need to print 2 sets... 1 set for just church wedding (about 100pcs) and 2nd set for Church and Banquet ( about 200pcs)..

colt_26

hi rach,

i collected the inserts 2 days back. everything is ok. ya i only print inserts cos i got my own wedding cards liao.

we asked for some graphic on the other side thats why its more expensive. but its still cheaper than singapore.

raragal

colt> nice to hear that!

I'm still thinking to go JB print my ROM or not... coz only printing 40pcs.. it'll be the most a few dollars difference if i print in Spore... coz this is a small qty... coz if i print in Spore, it'll cost about $20 for the 40pcs.. to go all the way to JB to save that few bucks... I'm still considering... but definitely going in to print my AD cards.. hahha... Mmmm... still thinking.. :p

colt_26

in that case, may not be so worthwhile to print in JB cos you have to pay the fees at both customs which may eventually be cheaper to print in singapore.

but for AD when we print in more quantity, its definitely worth the trip.

raragal

colt> what fees??? i didnt pay any fees leh??!!?? what fees??? I only pay for my card and the exchange rate only ah.....

colt_26

i mean the fees we have to pay when we go pass customs. singapore custom think its $1.20. then malaysian side is RM$2.90.if small quantity can just do in singapore cos every transaction will take you 2 trips.

unless you got things to buy and take opportunity to shop.
thats what i did. go shopping, eat and massage.

raragal

colt> u mean via car issit?? i took the bus over.. and walk to City Square from custom.. only a 10min walk... dun drive?? walk over can??

colt_26

ya. i mean car.

if taking bus then will not incur the cost.
but have to think if it is worthwhile spending a few bucks for the small quantity.

raragal

colt> yah.coz u drive.. hahah.. we took it as a relaxation day.. went there to walk walk and eat eat...and do it together.. bought contact lens there also..cheaper. hehe.. can go grocery shopping also.. hahah..

colt_26

if not purposely go in to print then its ok.

we also took opportunity to go eat, shop and massage.
but now with the jam, dont want to go in also.

raragal

littlecutefish> Errr..hard to tell u if u are not sure...dun wanna u to look lost and get conned...once i come out of custom, there's a escalator to go down after like 50m, where u pass by alot of people trying to get u to hop onto their cab..some mama shop like stuffs also... but just walk straight, slightly on ur left is the escalator...just go down..and then come up from the other side...and just walk towards a petrol kiosk... cut across the petrol kiosk...and u'll see some more shops...like those at People's Park..those travel agencies kindda shop....just walk straight some more, you'll see a bridge...go up the bridge to the 2nd level...then walk straight...u should be walking into CIty Square liaoz... its not that far...just the most 10-15min walk from custom.... try not to ask ard la...just dun wan the people there to know that you are new and strangers and give them a chance to con u.... definitely no need to take a cab....

its not that scary actually...but we always like to look as if we know our way...else.... get conned.. hehhee... it'll be a good idea to go in 4 people for the 1st time...but once u know ur way...its very easy one....

cheekychick

Does T&T provide custom-made invitation cards?

Littlecutefish, Rach is rite..its actually pretty near to customs. Juz a 10min walk. But for ur first time, its best to have someone who noes the way to go with you. The first time i went, i went with frens. After dat, i brought my hb along. We drive but we chose not to drive in. Not sure if the traffic situation has improved but i can say, most prob, take bus is faster...

cheekychick

Hi Rach, paiseh, i meant to ask if they provide this service...of customising invitation cards design. Meaning u have to come up with ur own template rite? Before they can do the printing for u?
Can i noe roughly how much it cost you & if ur invitation card is v colourful? lol...

raragal

Cheeky> you can give them some pictures and get them to design for u..

One pic is RM$20... if 3 pics to be in the design, RM$60.

Tell them what u want, they can do simple design and layout for u..

I'm printing 600copies and my size is A5.. depending on qty and size...the price varies..

Its about S$0.48 per piece.. front and back color.. as long as its color, they dun care how many color... its either color or B&W.. 2 different pricing.. if color, whole page full of colors also can... if printing photo, extra RM$20.
They are all one time charge, regardless of the qty u are printing.. ;)

cheekychick

Hi Rach, thks! Very useful info! Meaning if even if i need abit of colour, also considered colour price liao...Actually, i do have my own template for the cover already. Im gg Citysquare next mth so i guess i shall juz bring along & ask for a quote, keke...Is ur card 2 or 3 fold?

raragal

Cheeky> Yup.. as long as you have 1 color besides black, its considered colored.. so might as well utilise all the black.. hehhe..

Good that u have ur template..

Just bring along and see what they can do for you..

Mine is no fold.. postcard type.. front and back.. heheh.. but they dun charge by fold, but by the size of the whole card u need...

simplyserene

Hi Karen,

If you're going to print at T&T in JB, they have plenty of templates for you to choose from. You just need to bring along the names, locations, addresses and the impt info in both languages to them. I thought they needed 2 weeks to print and it turns out they only took 1 week, inclusive our review of their draft. But I went to the one @ Plaza Pelangi not City Square cos it's easier to find parking.

kai9

Other then details of the inserts, i guess have to bring along the actual card right?

I'm printing around 100 inserts, color wordings + hot-stamping.

Does anyone know how much it will roughly cost?

simplyserene

Yes KaiStarz... you definitely need to bring the actual card along so that they can gauge the size etc. Sorry to disappoint you but T&T does not do hot-stamping.

I recently printed 200 inserts on A5 paper, full colour... RM 176. A4 is abt RM 225 I think. I didn't look at the 100 copies.

raragal

KaiStarz> yeah.. u have to bring the actual card so they can gauge the actual size..and what kind of fold it is..

RM$60 for 100 inserts..

I think its for gold wordings.. so i guess its considered color wordings..

Yeah.. T&T doesnt do HotsTAMPING..
only printing on paper kind...

s'rene> how come urs is RM176?? u added in other things like map and pic??

Coz normal inserts is RM$60 for 100 pcs..
Subseq 100 is RM$20... so 200 inserts should be RM$80 only...

What are the details on ur inserts?? u print front and back?? with map??

simplyserene

Hi rach... Your point reminded me that I forgot to state that mine's printed full colour on translucent paper. 200 inserts on plain cream/pink paper is RM80 (A4 size).

Mine's inclusive of pics. For RM176, you can hv any number of pics and colours (A5 size). You can refer to the July08 BTB thread to see the final outcome of the inserts. I thought it was beautifully done.

kai9

Hi rach & s'rene,

Thx so much for the info. Certainly much cheaper over there. Notice that T & T had 2 shops which is located at Plaza Pelangi & City Square.

Which one is nearer to custom?

raragal

s'rene>hihi..
Yes.. translucent paper is definitely more ex. That explains why.

I think each pic is RM$20. Not regardless of no. of pix.
I didnt see any of ur done up work in July BTB Thread. Do u mean the one u are going to send with email invite?
How are u going to send out the cards with the translucent paper?

Kai> City Square is definitely nearer to custom. 10min walk from custom. And its very very convenient. We walk over all the time.

You gotta know exactly where it is though.

Once you pass through the customs, you will walk straight... and see swarms of people gettin u to take their taxis. Just ignore them.

Then u'll see a escalator that goes down.
Go down the escalator, walk through the underpass.. and when u are up, continue to walk straight towards a Petrol Station.. you'll pass by a coffeeshop too.

Cut through the Petrol Station. Once you are out of Petrol Station, walk straight and up a few steps of staircase.. something like People's Park kind of shops.. where there're alot of travel agencies and bus services. continue to walk straight..

Then you'll see a "overhead bridge" kind of stairs.. just go up..and once you are out of that bridge, it's linking you to City Square liaoz.. The overhead bridge is still on the same side of the road. Not opposite..

kai9

Hi rach & s'rene,

Wow thx for the detailed info.

Can i collect on the same day if i go in the morning? I'm printing around 100pics.

If i can collect on the same day, it's better cos i'm quite concern abt the safety issues there. . . (worried)

simplyserene

Hi rach... Mine's inclusive of unlimited pics. I'm not sure why but that's how it was sold to me. The thread has gone quite fast, so probably the physical invite itself is already in the previous page. We pasted the insert onto the card. Just a dash of glue stick in the middle and it's done.

Hi KaiStarz - I don't think you'll be able to get it on the same day because they need some time to come up with the draft.

raragal

Kai> Its not impossible.. coz we printed our ROM card on the same day. We printed 50. And we collected it in 3 hours..

So its possible..the 2nd time i went with my fren.. they said RM$20 for collection on same day.. but i told them i didnt pay when i printed mine..n they gave in.. didnt press for the RM$20.
So the most be prepared to pay RM$20 more loh..

But no guarantee. depends on ur size and etc..

Its rather safe la.. no worries..

s'rene> maybe u can post it again here?? since this thread on printing.. it may be helpful for them to see too!

We got the draft on the spot.. and we left it to print for 3 hours and went back to collect it.

But that's ROM invite.

Not inserts.. so i'm not too sure..

simplyserene

Well... we definitely weren't in a hurry to get them that's for sure

Hi rach... herewith attached again. Sorry ah... mine's only in English...

673906.jpg

Maybe cos we were printing 200 inserts and the lady who does the designs wasn't around that day? But anyway, I think they do a good job for that amount of money