Intercontinental Singapore

I stressed to Amara that i am only looking at 25 tables and was told it is alright since it is a weekday. so i am not so worried.

Actually, i kinda like the natural theme too esp. the green table cloth something unique. I like white roses too. so it quite alright, though i prefer the Grandeur theme.

I hope to negotiate for a different theme on weekdays, not sure can or not.

At the end of the day, the package at Amara is still cheaper than HI.

What about bridal package..have you start sourcing around?

Hiya ukbride,

I've been to a few bridal boutiques but have yet to decide on which one to take up. Afterall, I've still got plenty of time. Am now more concerned with my ROM which is in August 02.
I do like Tan Yoong and Kai though. But of course, their beautiful gowns have expensive prices to boot.

How about yourself? Any fav designers?
So HI is out?

Yo muddled,

Tan Yoong and Kai is beyond my budget, too expensive. I looking at the mid range.

I kinda like X-zen gowns. Have you check them out. The other one that i am looking at is Flamingo.

Yep HI is out. i concentrating on Amara now.

No worries about ROM - i went thru mine easily last year. We both tried very hard not to giggle. So scare that the lady officiating our ceremony will scold us..u know suppose to be solemn and serious but really it was damn a feat to try to keep our face straight!

I now very busy with sourcing for our a reliable co to do reno for my new house. So much to do...sigh...

just to get your attention

by the way, does anyone know the how is the standard like for a wedding banquet at hotel inter-continental ?

Hope to hear from you guys !!!
Good Day.

Groom

hi groom,
there are mixed comments abt the standard of hotel intercontinental. different ppl have different yardsticks of measurement. i think most imptly is whether it meets the requirements of the couple in terms of ballroom atmosphere/decorations, wedding card designs, service, accessibility, quality of food, hotel room, perks in the wedding package, price etc.

personally, i feel the hotel is quite good in all aspects but ppl do have negative comments regarding the food, wedding card designs and the shophouse suite. the price is also on the high side. but i really love the ballroom and accessibility is my top priority, thus i decided on it.

Hi, we have booked with HI one yr ago. Ernie is the ones that attend to us. We saw some neg comments on HI but we still are very confident with the service provided by HI. We have went through a few thoughs round of selections before deciding on HI. For those thinking of chosing HI. Blossom/Joyce has listed the key considerations for u.
So far, we are glad to hear very positive feedback from our friends who attended wedding held at HI.

Hi Sweety and BB(wonder whether u guys still in the forum), we hope that our wedding banquet at HI will be as successful as u both went through.

1)
Anyone know whether the trial for food tasting can increase to 8 or 10 person? The last time, we only asked for full course dishes(8 courses).

2)
When usually is the food tasting held? 1 month/2/3 months before the actual day.

3)
Does HI give anniversary hotel/dinner voucher??

4)
HI hotel is worldwide, is there any special rate for the hotel oversea? We are planning to stay in HI when we go for our honeymoon.

5)
The last time, Ernie show us a few new design wedding cards from Precious Moments. There is some discussion to change the design. Is the new cards available for selection now?

Appreciate all for ur feedback. Thanks

Hi Kerro
I've oso booked my banquet wif HI. So far, haven done anything except sign up for banquet. my wedding's next yr. but i know the trial tasting can be increased to 10 pax. I requested this b4 i signed. Think food tasting is abt a month b4 actual, but stil it'll be better to check wif Ernie.
Hopefully, the designs for cards wil change for the better.. I've not seen the precious moments cards yet..

Kerro,

Can only answer two of your questions:-

My wedding is in Sept and the hotel has contacted us for foodtasting just two weeks ago. So should be about 3 mths notice. I increased my foodtasting to 8 pax for 5 courses. did not try asking for 10 pax though.

I am curious about the precious moments cards. Are you talking abt the cute precious moments that they sell at Kalms. Coz I just received three sample wedding cards from the hotel. Not that nice...and no precious moments....

Nic

Thanks Mei and Nic for ur feedbacks

Nic, it has been more than half yr cannot remember. It is possible for u to scan them and forward to my e-mail account serv02@hotmail the three sample wedding cards. It should be the precious moments wedding cards I saw, need to recall.

Hi all, do u know Ernie is leaving? New director of catering is Hellen.

Ernie is suppose to oversee our banquet presonally. Have anyone meet Helen?

kerro r u sure? Ernie is oso supposed to be the one in charge of our banquet. Wonder how helen is?

yup, confirmed Ernie leaving cos INtercon sent us a letter.

yet to meet Hellen yet. my wedding in early jan and ernie did tell us b4 there r plans to change the themes/ cards, anyone heard or seen them b4?

Just went down to Inter-con last weekend to meet up with a lady called Anya, guess she is taking over temporarily before this Hellen arrives. Anya does not seem experienced, and have to ask and ask her things, she does not volunteer any info! A bit disappointed. Hopefully this Hellen is better.....

BTW, when I signed up for the banquet (to be held in Nov) sometime in May 2001, they told us that the wedding cards will have new designs. Guess what? There are no changes at all! Still the same old (not very nice)designs. And Anya says not plans to change designs. Do u gals remember the 3 designs for the cards? Which one do u think is nicer? I like the 2 hearts one, but my FH likes the 2 rings one.

i juz rcd a letter from them, saying helen has taken over Ernie. I have not seen any new designs at all.. personally prefer the rings one.. of cos got better ones better still...

huh? i was told that there will be new designs too when i signed up in feb. very disappointed...

can we get a mixture of the cards?

I think mixture shouldn't be a problem.
Anyway, hope Hellen is a nice person to work with... not those 'difficult' ones!

I've just booked a wedding lunch with InterCon. I was wondering if I can seek advice from those who have signed up with InterCon on what are the things I've to watched out for when signing the contract? Thanks very much!

Need help!

1) Anyone know the time duration for the first march in?(InterCon)
2) How many songs is required for compilation for wedding day? How many CD is required?

Hi Kerro,

I think the time duration is something that you'll need to work with your MCs. I think there's no limit to that but it's of a time comfortable with you. I think it could be about 1 min plus to 2 mins?

For songs, it's up to your selection of songs as some songs could be shorter or faster. I noticed at some of the weddings that I attended, the songs came from a CD, so about 60mins. That means we may need about 4 CDs and that should be sufficient.

Btw, when is your wedding? Have you signed InterCon?

Hope that this helps.

Jazz

Thanks Jazz. I have sign up with InterCon last year. Ernie is supposed to be the one in charge of our banquet. Helen has taking over(New director of catering) . Did u sign up with Helen ?

My wedding is on Boxing Day. My 2nd fitting will be next sat and photo shooting is end Oct.
When is ur wedding and how is ur preparation?

Hi Kerro,

Nice to hear from you!
Yup, I just confirmed my bookings with Hellen last Tues but I have not signed the contract yet. Do you know what are the things I need to watch out for when signing the contract?

My wedding will be 18th May 2003. Which bridal shop have you signed up with? Do you have any places in mind to take your photoshoot? Will you taking any photo shoots at Inter-Con? Though my photoshoot will most prob be next Jan or Feb, but I'm gathering info now on what are the places nice to take photos at. Hellen told me I take picts at Inter-Con, but I've not really check out which part of Inter-Con is nice to take picts at.

Oh yes, Kerro, Hellen showed me three sample of cards. Seems like there're the same three that Inter-Con has always have. No precious moments. Hellen says there "maybe" a change but no comfirmations.

Btw, what is the theme that you'll select? I noticed there are only two kinds of themes, the Gold and the Garden theme. I have seem the picts but not real life so I dunno how nice they'll look.

Jazz, my bridal shop is the Wedding Present. My Outdoor shooting most likely to be @ Sentosa. Will take photo @Inter-Con on the actual day before checking in.

For the contract
u can ask for food tasting to increase to 10 person. Extra printing cards and carpark ticket. Extra barrel of beer(depending on nos. of tables)

For the theme, Ernie told us that there are new themes this year but we can still chose the Gold or the Garden theme. We have chosen the Garden theme.(fyi, there should be more than two themes)

A bit disappointed on the card selections. HI are trying to clear up the old stocks. Till then, I don't think they will give us the precious moments. (I have seen them before, but they claim the management have not approve yet)

We will be arranging a meeting with Helen to discuss some other details

Hi, i signed up w Intercon last yr. My dinner will be held in Jan. looking fwd to new cards too but they said no promises. The current ones hv been in use for abt 2 yrs already. I think we should give them some preseure on this cos Ernie did tell us that he is revamping the cards n the theme.

Told that to Helen but she claimed that Ernie had not done any work on these. Told her it's their internal problems and should not affect us.

what do u pp think?

Hi Starlet,

How do you do?

Just booked a package with Intercon last week. Saw the selection of cards. Not sure if there was anything about revamping the cards. Guess it's something that cannot be helped. I've seen designs from other hotels (invitation to dinners) and they seem worse than the two rings that Intercon have. So I'm pretty fine with the current rings design. Of 'cos I do hope that the cards could be improved if possible next year.

For the theme, I do agree that the designs are not that fantastic especially for such a grand ballroom. Maybe, you can discuss with your coordinator to see if anything could be done on that?

Just my two cents worth of comment...

Hi starlet, mine will be May next year.

Hope that your talk with Hellen will be good. Do let me if something could be done.

Checking if anyone has attended or hold a wedding dinner at HI on a weekday ?

I'm thinking of holding mine at HI on a weekday in Dec 03. However, afraid that svc & food will be compromised on weekday. Is oso deciding btw HI & Hyatt.

Any opinions n feedback ?

Thks

Hi Jerlyn,

I've just booked Inter-Con a couple of weeks ago. Honestly speaking, had not been to any banquets at Inter-Con before. But I think you need not worry about the service and food at Inter-Con. Prior to booking my banquet at Inter-Con, I had also attended a seminar there. The food and service from the restuarant was very good and memorable though it was just a simple lunch. That's why the impression of Inter-Con has been very good.

For Hyatt, the standard and service is fine. You need not worry since it's a weekday. If it's a weekend, the service and food level might dropped a little as they run a couple of wedding dinners on the same night. Just attended a wedding earlier on in the year, the feedback that I've got, and the same for quite a number of friends is that the food is either too sour or too salty. But I guess it was because it was holding about 5 to 6 weddings that night, so the standard for that day was not very good. Moever, I noticed that the perks that Hyatt gives is not as comparable as that of that of Inter-Con, eg. no free beer, no food-tasting, need to negotiate for seat-covers etc. So do take note of this if you intend to have your banquet at Hyatt.

Nevertheless, hope that this info is just for reference, and should not prevent you from selecting the choice hotel that you want. I guess most importantly, it's your own likings.

Thanks Jazz,

I'm 90% cfm taking up the banquet at HI.

I have requested to upgrade my weekday menu to a weekend one..thus hopefully, the food wld be yummy.

Will arrange to c Hellen again one of these days to look at the ctt again. See if any more freebies can b negotiated

Hi Jerlyn,

Yippee!!! Same thoughts here, though I'm having lunch, intending to upgrade from the weekday to weekend menu. The weekend menu is definitely very attractive. Me hoping that the food will be good!

Jazz,

Is yours a weekday oso ? U taking wedding luncheon ? Hmm.. that's very new..I hv yet to attend lunch b4.

I think the sv n food wld be of high std & make our day a gd one !

hi HI brides/groom-to-be,

i've signed up with HI in late jul too
my wedding will be held on a sun in dec 03...

i've decided to go for HI instead of Hyatt due to the attractive package, beautiful ballroom, etc...

however, i've received mixed comments from friends & forum discussions
i've heard that the food wasn't nice...but i'm definitely looking forward to walk down the long aisle...i think the curtain will create a grand entrance that i've always wanted :p...

ernie told us that they'r re-designing the theme for next year to fill the stage with more foral arrangements...wonder when we can preview it?
i've viewed the ballroom settings a couple of times & they'r always different..so i guess u can talk to the florist/co-ordinator to change it to fit your likings..

as for the invitation cards, my sis will be designing it for me as my bro-in-law owns a design flim :D & HI will refund me for that & for the trial dinner that i dun intend to have..that will help me bring down the cost

yo muddled,

i'd love to go for Kai too but i've heard that it's very ex. Do u have any idea abt the package? Can share share? Have u seen the recent issue of Female brides? i love the gown featured on the cover page!

i'll be attending the Couture wedding 2002 at raffles the plaza on 6 oct coz Kai is participating
wonder if they'll have special promotion package on that day?

Hi ladies...

Yup...one of the reservations that I hv abt HI is the mixed comments abt svc n food. Some say nice n some say not nice.

However, I guessed we cant satisfied all... so we shd settle for somethg that we like, within budget and is reasonable.

I upgrade my menu to Romance menu which costs $707 +++ but I oso request to change some dishes and opt for a 8 course too. Hellen came back with another rate lower than 707 hehehe..so can save $$.

As for the ballroom deco...Hellen did mention that there'll b an addn theme with iron wrought somethg..but think it's for next yr. So can look fwd to the new theme.

Hi jerlyn,

Mine is on a weekend. Instead of having the banquet at dinner time, I'll be having at lunch time instead. So basically, everything is the same as that of a dinner.

I'm thinking of using the Romance menu too. Hmm... a good idea to have 8 course instead of 9 course.
Can consider that!

Iron wrought??? Hmm... wonder what type of design will that be?

I asked Hellen abt the design that I'm looking for something like ivory, she says we could be highlight with the florist or something like that.

I do hear mix comments abt service n food, but my friend assured me that it's fine.

Hi jbride,

Good to hear that HI will refund you on the cards and trial dinner!
Some hotels will not refund you but simply ask you to substitute something else...

I'll be having my solemnisation after march-in..Do you think it'll be too early if I start my cocktail at 6pm?

btw, i've not met Hellen. How do u find her service? Is she easy-going?

Hihi!

I've not attended any dinners with solemnisation before... Think it's pretty ok to start at 6pm as you'll need to buffer some time for the soleminsation. But I noticed that people tend to have the habit of coming late, so if you start your cocktail at 6pm, people might still come later??? Maybe, to prevent people from coming late, you might want to state in your invitation card that you'll be having the soleminsation so that your guest will know and try to come earlier?

Just my cent worth of comment.

i had just gone to HI with my husband as we are currently searching for a ballroom for our wedding. Like the grandess the ballroom gives but somehow a few things are holding me back on confirming on HI:
1)The stage deco...the one i saw on the stage are supposedly to be a few Roman pillows with yellow sashes on them..i find them weird looking and somehow spoil the effect of the ballroom.
I prefer the Gold Theme to the Garden theme though. Hellen had told me we could redo the deco and discuss with the florist they liase with. Has anyone done that? Would that involve alot of additional costs?
2)I seriously find they need to update their invitation cards! I can rem those designs as they had been used by my cousin who got married there 4-5 yrs ago!! Goodness!!

i just had my wedding banquet at HI on 9 sept 2002. i just came back from my honeymoon last week... i din realise there has been a little discussion going on here.

i agree that their wedding cards really need a revamp badly. i chose two hearts but surpisingly, a lot of my guests commented that the card is very nice.

hellen is very new but i find her very pleasant. my event was previously handled by pauline, then passed to ernie then to anja. hellen did sit in during our final discussion but she din really do much.

oh yah... my guests mentioned the march in was very unique with the curtain thingy. very dreamy...

the ballroom was also very nice... i chose the garden theme.

the food was nice and the portions were rather big. but do watch out for the fish. we changed the fish to sea bass after our food-tasting because the original mackeral tasted of mud.

Blossom, thanks very much for the comments! Good to hear from you! Had needed some comments from you regarding the service and food of HI.
Good to hear that the food was nice and the portions were big.
What theme did you use for your banquet?

Marie, I think the theme is negotiable. You can check with Hellen if there's any additional cost.

Blossom,

ur ptv feedbacks really helps to ease our minds. Glad that u hv an njoyable dinner at HI. Since urs is oso a weekday dinner, did HI really provide 1 waitstaff per table ?

Btw, has any one requested to have a full menu food tasting ? Any idea how much to top up ?

Agreed that Hellen is a nice lady. She's very easy and friendly. I'm trying to contact her these few days to finalise the details & to sign the ctt.

Hullo!

Can any HI brides share with me their wedding experiences?
How is the quality of the food and the staff?

Hellen told me its a 1-1 ratio of waiter/waitress to guest, is that true?

Personally, i am simply in love with the ballroom the moment i saw it...but need to consider the food and service level as it has been a few years since i had attended a wedding dinner. =P

Jerlyn, yippee!!! Glad to have a bride-to-be at Inter-Con.
I'm trying to get hold of Hellen too to sign the contract. Think you can check with Hellen if that's possible for full menu tasting. My wedding will come a couple of mths before yours so I can provide the feedback once my wedding is finished... hee.. but that'll be at least a couple of mths to go... ;p

Marie, per what Hellen has told me, it's a 1-1 ratio. Think it shld be regardless of whether you're having weekday or weekend. I'm having a lunch.

i just attend a wedding dinner of my close friend at hotel intercon.

Just my 2cents worth of comments...:-

1) Service is very good. 1 waiter to a table and all food is portion out to guests but portion is quite small.
2) I would like to say the food can be improved. If i not wrong, it is cold dish, sharkfin, vegetable with mushroom, sauteed duck
seabass, brocoli with squid, fried rice, red bean soup with dumpling, ya?
If you all are taking this menu, please change the duck to something esle. As it was sauteed, a lof of people commented
it tasted like hotdog, ham. Not very nice. The rest of the food is ok, not very fantastic. For the cold dish, there is this
vegeterian bak kwa, maybe you can replaced that too.
3) Ballroom decor wise, had it change from last year? Cos i been to one last year, it look nicer and less 'red' colour.
4) Try not to choose potpourri as your wedding favours by hotel. Cos the potpurri was placed on the table, when the food is served,
The food fragrance mixed with the potpurri, not very wise too....
5) The rest is quite ok.

For those who had book hotel intercon, it ok. It just some of my 2 cents worth of comments
no hard feelings

that's all....let me know when you have any questions...
btw, i am a 2003 bride..still looking at my hotels....

hi jerlyn,
yes, it's one waiter per table. i requested for a full menu food tasting for 6 persons. there were no additional charges. but if you want a full menu for 10 persons, there will probably be a charge but i dunno how much it will be.

by the way, my banquet was not flawless.... hellen is currently investigating the issue and i think it is not fair to make any comments to HI-brides-to-be at the moment.