Intercontinental Singapore

The suite was on the 16 floor. Its not the shophouse suite. Im sorry i dont know what is the name of the suite that we stayed on our AD.

Hi char,

I had my solemnisation at the foyer too just before the dinner started. Shldnt be a prob as the guests can stand ard the whole area outside the ballroom.

Hi Jianye,

Do u have facebook account. Some of us here are in facebook. If yes we can add u and u will be able to view our pics.

hi Ice & bubbles,
thanks! did the hotel provide any additional flowers etc for the solemnisation outside or did you have to bring your own to 'decorate' the area?

Hi Char,

Happy Lunar New Year!

The hotel only moved the flower stand and chairs from the ballroom and a flower arrangement on the table beside my ring pillow. Mine was all minimalist as we did not want to spend addditional doing up the foyer. Plus, I've completely forgotten to decorate the aisle with flower petals, hahaha...

I think you can decorate yourself to save cost, but its best to dedicate this to friends to help out, as you won't have the time to take note of all these minor details on your big day. (^.^)

Hi Char,

Like what Bubbles mentioned, the hotel do not provide additional flowers its from the ballroom or recep tables. For my case, i did up the whole foyer including the stairs etc... i engaged the hotel designated florist Sing See Soon to do it for me.

hi to all IC brides...

i'm looking at changing my banquet to IC due to a huge increase in guests....

just to find out more about the payment plans...
how much deposit do we need to put down and is their payment staggered e.g one month b4 AD...

and my AD is on the 28th Nov.. does it fall under their auspicious date? it's a sat... one day after Hari Raya PH...

hi ztcheong,

it really depends... i've seen the last promotion back in nov 08, u get 3 nights stay in total (1 night inclusive in the package, 2nd night is the additional night thrown in for u by hotel and the 3rd is also thrown in provided u pay by UOB credit card). but not sure if there is still such good promos judging on the economy now...

I guess so. Look at my registered date. LOL..
those days prices were really going up with the auspicious and very auspicious date nonsense..

I think today's prices are much cheaper

really...i dun think so. i think the prices are all still going up. it at least $1k for hotels nowadays.

so your was 2 years ago?

haahaha, this is interesting.. actually today's prices are also according to auspicious and very auspicious date nonsense.. & today's prices are not cheaper, it cost more.

I booked mine at IC as well, lunch & the price after the ++ is equivalent to price of a dinner banquet last yr or at least 2 yrs back..

plus, i also got one night stay.. am thinking of neg for 2, dunno if it's possible..

hi ztcheong,

yeah i paid the deposit liao, so chances of getting an extra night from IC might not be high, it'll be a bonus if they allow to extend for another night for us
, but the most impt thing for us is that everything will run without a glitch & that our guests will like the food & service.

cheers.

kidnomore.. sentiments exactly.
so prices haven't really changed for Intercon. lol..

I got a Sunday date. so thats what? weekend? or weekday?

lol

hi michael,

fridays thru sundays are considered wkend already, i think. prices difference on whether it's auspicious or normal days.

so are u guys looking forward to yr big day?

IC'S BRIDES LIST

1. Michael - 15th Febuary 2009
2. Married man - 22nd February 2009 (Jane)
3. Agnes - 08th March 2009 (Stephanie)
4. Huilin - 14th June 2009 (Stephanie)
5. Calumon - 28th June 2009 (Stephanie)
6. Caro - 11th July 2009 (Jane)
7. Jernelle - 1st August 2009 (Jane)
8. Grace - 12th October 2009 (Stephanie)
9. Cynthia - 24th October 2009 (Stephanie)
10. Emily - 7th November 2009 (Jane)
11. Snowwhite09 - 15th October 2009
12. Chuababy - 15th November 2009 (Stephanie)
13. Charlene - 22nd November 2009 (Stephanie)
14. Wangy - 5th December 2009 (Jane)
15. Germaine - 6th December 2009 (Jane)

Kidnomore: Lunch or Dinner also difference in prices. Auspicious or not also difference in prices.. weekday or not also difference in prices.

Most expensive is Weekend Dinner Very Auspicious. LOL.

We're excited.. abt 2 weeks more to go..

Charlene, thanks for the update

hi Ice,

please add me on facebook (id: chua jianye) so that i can see the pictures you'd mentioned. thanks for the kind offer.

chuajianye

1) Has anyone done lunch banquet at IC? is it a 7-course banquet? Seems like a weird number of dish.

2) How is Stephanie Chua as a coordinator?

yeah, i thot 7 course banquet is weird too.. so far ic is the only hotel that offers 7 course (?) from all the other hotels research i've done.

hey michael, 2 more weeks to go~!! congrats to u once more. btw, is yr theme for 2009 or is it 2008's theme?

Kidnomore,

Thanks thanks, My theme we wanted the 2008 one but of course they say we should get the "Newer" theme.. so we settled for the 2009 theme.

No biggie.

michael, u booked in 2007 for a date in 2009? that is real early. i also did not know we have to book so early. now. all of the sat and sun in IC is booked.

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

Hi i'm considering IC as the venue for my dinner banquet in 2010..
Just wondering if any previous IC brides could advise on some of my questions.

(i) Dinner is 8 course (vs standard 9 course) - any guest complaints?
(ii) Do the waiters portion out each dish and serve individually (also do they change plates after every dish)?
(iii) Is the food sufficient for 10? or 11? :P
(iv) As the carpark is linked to Bugis.. any guest complaints abt insufficient parking lots? eg carpark full couldnt get into building etc
(v) Did anyone experience lack of carpark vouchers?
(vi) Any difficulty in changing certain items of the set themes? eg swapping wedding favors/cards
(vii) IC package doesnt come with inclusive wine per table, any idea how much this wine expense will be in the end?
(viii)just a side question.. as intercontinental is not really considered a five star hotel, despite this prices are kinda comparable, do u still feel its worth it, after your experience..?

Sorry for being so lor sor..
To those who can advise..Thanks for your time!

Hi! Im also an IC bride. My wedding will be on 20th Feb 2009. We are taking Timeless Classic Theme. Hope it turns out well. My coordinator is Stephanie. She is good but some of the things hard to bargain with her.

Hi Wolkom,

I am ex Intercon bride. Just held my dinner at IC during Dec 2008.

Pls find my remarks to your questions below:-

(i) Dinner is 8 course (vs standard 9 course) - any guest complaints?

>>> Remarks :Mine was held on a saturday night.Portion wise you can be assured that it is just nice even though it is 8 course.

(ii) Do the waiters portion out each dish and serve individually (also do they change plates after every dish)?

>>>Remarks: The waiters will portion out each dish. Regarding how often they changes plates, i really have no idea. Cos i was too busy on the actual day to monitor.

(iii) Is the food sufficient for 10? or 11? :P

>>> Remarks: The food is just nice for 10 pax. if you want to increase the no. of pax per table , its best that you increase another 1 or 2 dishes.

(iv) As the carpark is linked to Bugis.. any guest complaints abt insufficient parking lots? eg carpark full couldnt get into building etc

>>> Remarks: So far no complaints from guests. But if your wedding is held on a weekend, i guess it is normal that parking at Bugis is going to be crowded. Have to queue some time to get parking lots

(v) Did anyone experience lack of carpark vouchers?

>>Remarks: No issues

(vi) Any difficulty in changing certain items of the set themes? eg swapping wedding favors/cards

>>Remarks: The theme that i have choosen was Charming elegance , i am not allowed to swop with other wedding theme's cards and wedding favours.

(vii) IC package doesnt come with inclusive wine per table, any idea how much this wine expense will be in the end?

>>Remarks: It really depends. You are allowed to purchase wine from external wine suppliers as IC wine prices is very expensive as compared to other hotels in SG. But the wine that you purchase outside MUST be duty paid.
For my case , my wedding was on a saturday, our guests consume more than 60 bottles of wine.

(viii)just a side question.. as intercontinental is not really considered a five star hotel, despite this prices are kinda comparable, do u still feel its worth it, after your experience..?

>> Remarks: Intercontinental is definitely worth the price in terms of Service, hotel location, ambience of the ballroom, quality of food, size & comfort of the bridal suite.

Just FYI , Intercon is not a 4 star hotel. It is all along a 5 star hotel. As a group, Intercon
( IHG) is No .1 in the world.

http://www.hotel-online.com/News/PR2008_2nd/Apr08_ChainRanking.html

To summarise, most of my guests complimented on the quality of food , service & ambience of ballroom. It was indeed a memorable experience for me. Looking forward to my hotel stay with Intercon this coming April 2009.

Hope the above helps in yr wedding preparations.

Good luck !!

hi kidnomore,

i think if u sign up at the BOWs, might be they package a few things together. i will see if i still have the brochure then maybe i pm u