Intercontinental Singapore

Hi sweety,

Thanks a lot for the tip on hunting my bridal package early...

I have not started my "shopping" yet, but I really like Ted Wu's works.. if I need info on Irene's Creation, I'll check wif u again... niway, is your cheongsam from IC?

Hi Hazel

Glad to be of some help. If you are really interested in Ted Wu, see him soon. I visited his shop too. The lady there Jean is very nice and patient. I would have sign up with them, but we only set a date and started planning in end August. By the time I got to TW in Sept., Jean told me that they would prefer about 4 months to do a good job on the embroidery.

My FH thought TW gowns were very elegant, very good photography albums were shown to us, but he preferred IC because of the crystals and gown styles shown to us,looked more austere, regal and matured. (that was what he liked, he is not wild about embroidery. We are not a young couple!) But IC has many styles for young brides as well. I saw them on my first visit without him.

My evening cheongsam is from IC, I took the bridal package from them. FH liked the silk and crystals they proposed.

I went to another designer for my ROM cheongsam. It's already done, a serious looking fabric which my FH insisted the moment he laid eyes on it.(he specializes in evening wear for the Tai-Tais). He can source for very special 1-off fabric. I wanted bright and happy fabric for my Tea ceramony cheongsam, the designer is still sourcing for more choices for me for selection. This designer was our first choice, I changed my mind about purchasing WG with him (storage and upkeep white wedding gown concerns), so went to IC for MTM WG rental and MTM EG purchase.

June 2002 wedding? You may need to confirm your package in Feb 2002 for good beading/embroidery work and peace of mind!

Hi sweety,

thank u so much for the info... can i have your designer's contact? the one who tailored your ROM cheongsam... if u dun mind, pls email to me at [email protected]

I will start sourcing for my gowns soon, currently still busy with my house, even the hotel deposit has not been paid yet.. really slow...

I have booked Intercon for my wedding dinner middle next year. Would just like to know if anybody recently had any wedding dinners at Intercon and how is the ballroom/table/stage decor? Are they nice?

Hi Phan,

I have booked my wedding dinner at intercon without checking about the ballroom decor too.. So dun think that's a problem... I loved the ballroom when I was brought there to see by Pauline...

Anyway, my wedding day is on Mar 2002, and I understand that there is 2 thems for deco, one Golden theme and another is the Garden theme...

I would be going for wedding dinner in Intercon next Wed. Would update you on the ballroom decor later..

Just attended a wedding dinner recently at Inter-Continental.Food was really so-so,depite being of a more expensive menu.Fish was terrible,hard like rubber.The service also so-so,the waiters very inexperienced.No top-up of drinks and didn't know how to portion out the food.

Quite sad to hear this. I've booked my wedding dinner with Inter-Con next yr. Actually in earlier forum I saw quite a no.of gd comments about the hotel....but now i'm getting a bit worried. Is there anyone else having same experience as DAMNJIAN. Or is there anythg tt I should pay more attention to get the hotel to improve on ??? And perhaps any gd comments abt them recently???

Hi Blue,

Hope I didn't make you too worried.I'm not too picky on food and I accept that the food at hotels really cannot be compared with at restaurants.But the food should be above average at least.The guests at my table also complaint about the food,esp the fish.Hope yours will be better.We were also not too pleased with the waiters as they did't know to serve.We requested to help ourselves after the first dish as we felt really comfortable.You could request the hotel to look into this,maybe not to serve out every dish.

Hi damnjian,

Do u mean the fish is not fresh or not well cooked?? I was told each table will be assigned one waiter and food apportioning will be done for every dish.....is this correct?? or perhaps they were not doing a gd job?? So other than that what's your comments on the rest of the menu??

Then how about the ballroom setup...hope to gather some feedback from u.

Thx a lot.

Hi blue,

The fish was either not fresh or overcooked,maybe both.Our table was served by one waiter initially but later another waiter came to serve us.The fist waiter came back later.
Yes...I believe food apportioning will be done for every dish...but the problem is the waiter didn't know how to apportion,clumsy and slow....so we asked to do it ourselves.I really can't think of any dish that was nice...
Other things to note include:some tables were served faster than others, for example my table
was waiting for the 3rd dish but another table was already serving the 4th dish.So this you may want to take note.

As for the ballroom setup,generally quite ok.It really depends on individual.I find it too big.Some people might prefer its high ceiling,but its not as cosy.Because the aisle was quite long,the applause stopped when the couple was only about 3/4 through...

Hi Blue

I totally agree with damnjian. i attended a wedding banquet over the weekend and was shocked that the service & food weren't up to expectation.
I have tasted even better, nicer food in another hotel the week before at another wedding dinner - to be honest, it was only a 4-star hotel along Orchard Road. The service was attentive and prompt, & looked more presentable than Inter-con's. I am not comparing restaurant a-la-carte with banquet food but hotel banquet with another hotel banquet ! The fish dish was a great disappointment. I didn't enjoy the atmosphere that much either.

Please highlight and get assurance that all these should not happen. Have your helpers to keep an eye for you as you will be very busy that night.
Good Luck

Dumb

Thx Damnjian & Dumb,

Glad to gather so much valuable info.from u.
In fact some of these I wouldnt hv noticed until the very day. Hope to highlight to HI and they will pay more attention to make improvements.

dumb,

can you pls share the hotel along orchard road that you are tlaking about, I am interested in booking it.

ke

Hi Blue,

Like you, I have signed up with Hotel Intercontinental... I personally still feel that the ballroom and the hotel, especially the shophouse suite is still very nice.. Dun get too worried. There are always differing opinions and experiences at each hotel, be it good or bad. I have come to accept that, for my wedding next Mar, I would just try my best to coordinate with the wedding coordinate, Pauline to ensure that things run smoothly..

Just to share, my FH went to Intercon for wedding dinner last Wed.. and he told me that the ballroom/stage/table deco is quite good, (the couples opted for the golden theme), there was 1-waiter per table serving.. but if we are concerned with poor serving, I may opt to tell them to just place the dish there and let the guests serve themselves...

Does anybody out there who have more positive things to say about Hotel Intercontinental?

The reception area at Hotel Intercontinental is quite exclusive and the ballroom had no pillars.Also the entrance of the couple also quite grand,with the curtain opening.But I feel that it is just a ballroom,the important thing is for the couple to make it special and make it a night for everyone to remember.

Yes, the ballroom has no pillars so everyone gets a really good view. Food and service are so-so, nothing to rave or complain about. However, based on the comments from my friends, the venue loses out in terms of grandeur and glamour since it is situated at Bugis Seiyu next to shopping mall. Overall, I would say if you're looking for a ballroom with good view (no pillars), this could be the one.

Hi Sunny,

Glad to hear from another HI bride.
So your wedding is quite close and hope u can share more of your experience with with us.

Hv u actually spoken the details with HI??

Dear Fellow HI users,

Had attended a wedding at HI and have met with Ernie Ong, the Director of Catering. It seems he is also in charge of weddings and was looking after my friend's wedding.

Their place is very exclusive as there is only 1 Ballroom for the hotel which I feel gives an edge over many other hotels that can do many weddings in one evening due to the attention given. This was seen as Ernie was around till around 9pm.

Food wise, it was pretty okay and the fish was fresh. Had spoken to Ernie about my wedding and he seems to be pretty accomodating to my needs.

May most likely book this venue unless anyone has any adverse advice.

Hi Blue,

I have only been to HI for my wedding photoshoot last Monday.. it's realy a very nice place for you to do outdoor photoshoot if you are like me, who loves the decor, and the "British-style" flavour in the hotel..

My wedding is next Mar.. so I would most probably call HI up to discuss the details like food, decor.. They have mailed me the 3 different wedding cards already... nothing new.. think I would just stick to their beige card with 2 rings that most people choose.. the rest are not nice...

Can anybody please help me? In terms of details, what are the things to ask and talk about in the preparation of wedding dinner? Anyting to look out for?

Hi Sunny

I hope this is not too late for you.

We just had our food tasting and confirmed the deco and stuff with HI last week.

Everyone was pleased with the food and portions were generous. We thought the suckling pig was not very good but the chef will look into it.

When pauline sat us down, we just had to decide on the various choices of deco and stuff. We were shown photographs to help in the selection of themes, table cloths and napkins, flowers. We plan to only serve beer (1 free barrel in our contract), liqour (no corkage but must be duty paid)and champange/sparkling wine ($17+++ corkage charged for each bottle, couldn't get her to waive at all!!!) We will not be serving red or white wine to our guest. We ordered extra barrel of beer.

We also went to look at the suite, it's not an ideal layout, in the the sense that you have to walk from the bedroom through the sitting room to the other end to get to the bathroom. Unlike other 5 star hotels.

There is only 1 suite with attached bathroom to the bedroom, which they reserve to sell and not automatically give it to the wedding banquet package. They will not reserve it for us (wedding package customer)on request, they can only say they will try.

They can provide music, if you don't have any of your own - appropriate love songs for march in/cake cutting/champagne pouring. The groom can listen and select them at 6pm on wedding banquet night.

Actually, it's pretty much outlined in the contract we were given, just confirm the selection.

We just had our wedding at HI last week of Jan 2002. Just to share our evening with future HI wedding couples and any one else interested.

The evening went very well. Everyone we spoke to after, enjoyed the evening and was full of praise for their services and food. Our relatives that were with us at the food tasting session thought the food was just as good that evening. Portions were generous as well. There was 1 waiter to each table as promised during negotiation.

I had called ahead of time to confirm that the reception will be well equiped with pens, paper, place cards etc. I also made arrangements for handicapped seating and baby chairs to be at the specified tables.

The march ins went on Q,the sound system was clear and good, the in house dinner music provided was great too. We did not have any video presentation.

The HI staff was very co-operative and worked well with our co-ordinator. The beverages were well managed and no wastage at all.

We were very pleased and had a really great and memorable wedding banquet at HI. We hope all couples that will be holding their wedding banquet at HI will experience the same.

sweety and BB

hi sweety and BB,

congrats! very glad that u had such a memorable nite at HI. u gave me more confidence in HI. i have already booked HI and my wedding is in sept. really hope my wedding will be as smoothful as urs.

Hi everyone...

Who is the person to look for for wedding packages in HI? Ernie or Pauline? Is Ernie nicer/ more friendly than Pauline?

Thinking of getting a wkday pkg with HI, cheaper with min. only 25 tables instead of 35! Is it possible to bargain for extra nite for suite? What are the other things to bargain for?

Many thanks

Hi Louie

When we had our banquet last week of Jan 2002, Pauline had already left and Ernie Ong, he's the Director of Catering was attending to us. He and his staff provided very good service for our banquet. As for food, we had a very expensive menu which our guests were very pleased with.

You may just call and ask for Wedding Banquet enquires. I'm sure they have already found a replacement for Catering manager by now. Extra perks would have to be negotiated.

Hi Sweety...

Thanks for the info. Is it worth it to get a more expensive menu? Generally will the Ang Baos cover the banquet costs? My budget is quite tight... so wldn't want to blow my budget esp if ang baos cannot cover!

Hi Louie

Perhaps it will be easier to tell you our situation and rationale rather than comment on whether it is worth splurging on a wedding banquet. Wedding budgets and expenses are very subjective matters.

My husband thought he'd like to provide the best that he could afford, hence the expensive menu, about 1K per table. He figured that having a very chinese, traditional and business acquaintance community attending our banquet, the food served, will be long talked about after the wedding.

Ours was a weekday banquet, 28 tables was the initial plan. We were only allowed to use the weekday menu to change the food items because we signed the contract for weekday 25 tables and would confirm the exact tables required nearer to our wedding date. Some how, the guests list expanded to about 40 tables as our wedding date arrived.

Our guests were very generous and the ang paos that we collected far exceeded the total banquet cost. I guess my husband was quite confident in assessing this situation!

It really depends on your guests, their financial ability, generousity and if they drink like a fish!!!

Thanks Sweety...

From the above thread, your wedding banquet was really a sucess! Congrats
Jus a qn... since you spent abt $1K per table for a weekday, you must have added a lot of extra food for your guests??? Did you have western or chinese dessert? Went to a fren's wedding at Hyatt, she had a western/ Chinese dessert buffet, really YUMMY!!!

Should contact HI soon... need to view some ballrooms 1st, me also going down to Traders on 28 Apr for some bridal show...

Dear Married/To-be married couples',

Congratulations!!!

My husband & I finally signed our banquet contract with Hotel Inter-con last Mon, just to express my heartfelt thanks to everyone on the forum for being so generous with your opinions & experiences, has helped saved me a lot of time.

It was a very close tie with Marriott because accessiblity is TOP on our list. Marriott is more ex by $10 but they are providing abt 120 pcs of canapes & free flow of one type of non-alcholic cocktail @ the reception which is very unique.

Both packages are similar where both co-ordinators are very professional & accomodating but we chose HI in the end because the suite is newer & the service staff ratio is 1:1.

I have also been to Conrad, Shangri-la, Grand Copthorne Waterfront & Amara Hotel (all pillarless ballrms), will be most wlling to share my thoughts with anyone who has an interest. Be assured that my encounters with all has been very pleasant.

Louie, FYI ,we worked with Ernie Ong, Director of Catering. He seems to be hot property with many overseas assignment

sweety : your note is very assuring

Hi Louie

Just saw your posting! My husband wanted suckling pig for every table!!! We had a special sharksfin item, abalone with sea cucumber, soon hock fish (this is an expensive fish item, most hotels offer seabass for standard menus), spring chicken, scallops and noodles. Our dessert was the traditional red beans dessert with lotus seed and lily bulb.

Hyatt was our other choice. My husband thought our guests list was most likely to expand and other bigger rooms were not available for our date....so we picked HI in the end.

Hi DD

Glad to know you are pleased with with your choice and may you have a memorable wedding day! Congrats!

HI DD

Good to hear that you've booked your banquet. When is the scheduled date ? Mine is tentatively in Sep 2003 so I am looking around now.

Quite keen on Conrad, Marriot and HI. Could you pls share what are the pros and cons that lead to your final decision. Thanks.

Dear Gals,

sweety : thks!

My 'fateful' day is on 12 Jul 2003-Sat.

Curious : Congrats on your upcoming wedding.

BTW : I have been to 4 Seasons too, great place, food n service but capacity limitation.

Sept...lunar Aug...popular month leh....my 2 cents worth of thots : since popular, the banquet ppl may not be very willing to nego cos they can sell the dates easily & staffing can be difficult as most of the part-timers maybe having exams? Pricing MAY have just been adjusted for 4Q, therefore, sign fast to secure the price. For eg, Conrad's pricing period is Jan-Aug & Sept-Dec.

Conrad, HI & Marriott, they are all reputable hotels, their price variance is in the range of $10, if u r in love with the place, this amt is immaterial. Each gives you a different feel, the final decision will depend on what you looking for.

My comments are based on SAME set of criteria, qns & perks between the 3 hotels (gotta be fair to all mah so that we compare on same grounds). Most of all, we wanted a newly renovated or new hotel since we are paying about the same. We ruled out Swiss Hotel as his cousin had his wedding there 2,3 years ago, boring to go back there again. Had bad service @ Fullerton, therefore not stepping in again unless no choice.

Conrad : New place, Unique suite with good view ,nice reception area, 12pax/table, T-shape ballrm-no concern cos no blockage, unique table cloth, same pricing for weekend. Lost to Marriott n HI
-for accessibility though there is shuttle fm City Hall to Millenia Walk : how to beat the other two in terms of public transport leh?
-family felt 12pax/table diff to arrange
-capacity : their max is 408pax, we may go beyond that, wanted the flexibility to increase without space constraint
-wedding flavour & reception (just soft drinks) not impressive
-not flexible enuf to accommodate some of our requests (sorry I cannot share these as they are really unique to us but everyone commented that we are the 1st to ask, so dont worry abt it)
Overall good choice in terms of locality & the price

Marriott : Nice ballroom with unique marble (dunno wat lah but light can go through), clever use of lights to change the atmosphere, canapes & free flow of cocktail (refer above), impressive wedding flavour (6 pcs of chocolates, gotta see the packaging), diff pricing for Sat & Sun. Lost to HI though co-ordinator is just as accomodating to our requests
-service staff ratio, 2:3
-ok suite, not impressive, finishing per Dynasty
-reception area, too dim for our liking, good for corporate functions though
-modern feel which is available elsewhere @ lower price
But have been to Marriott-Wan Hao for dinner, food & service is TOPS
, made it to my recommendation list. Personally, I prefer the menu @ Marriott, more creative but the ambience is not what I am looking for

HI : Unique shophouse suite with a little two seater area outside the suite (except bathroom not attached to bedroom), nice reception area, capacity up to 55 tables, service staff ratio 1:1, 'WOW' feeling ballroom - high ceiling & mirror panals makes it look even bigger than it is, this hotel has a character & theme of its own & has 3 choices of wedding flavour (chocolate, cake or potpourri) & they met ALL our requests.

You can read about other aspects of HI from the posting from the rest of the folks in the forum.

Since you want a popular month, have a few dates on hand, keeping mind that pricing is diff for Fri, Sat & Sun & ASK FOR THE SKY so that you can land on the clouds

Good Luck!

rdgs
DD

Hihi...

So happy that a few others have joined in this thread
Congrats to you all too!!!

I called HI on fri... a lady named Elaine answered the call. Requested that they send me a proposal by both email and snail mail (very efficient), already received them. Its signed off in Ernie's name.

I am now considering HI & Mandarin Singapore(MS). MS may look old on the outside but think its stll a very grand hotel. The weekend rate is only $788 nett and quite a lot of perks thrown in too. If I take HI, only can AFFORD the wkday pkg, coz wkend is abt $828 rite?
Any comments?

My tentative date is May or July 2003, but me jus bought a Sengkang flat (walk-in-selection) with my financee last weekend, so it means need to ROM now. Wonder if I shd still hold my banquet later or just do everything now?? *confused*

Anyone knows which mths are less popular? I know no one is getting married in April...

Louie

hi DD

Thanks for your advice and info. Still evaluating our shortlisted hotels. Will update you when we have decided.

Curious

hi...

Curious: Have you seen HI yet? I still haven't managed to go down to take a look yet. Which other hotels are you considering?

DD: Why is sept a popular mth? Oh... when is your wedding (weekday/wkend)? What other perks did they give you? Tot their wkday perks were not very impressive. And, I am quite confused with their pricing? The proposal that I received was only for 2002, anyone knows the prices for 2003??

Hi Sweety (hope you'll still drop by this thread),

Saw Ur earlier thread (Oct '01) abt making your cheongsam at this tailor.

Could you give me his/her contact? Would like to make a very nice cheongsam for my mum & thinking of getting one for my wedding as well.

Many thanks!

Hiya!
Seems like this thread has been pretty quiet of late. Just would like to find out more abt InterCon from prospective HI-brides-to-be.

I've been to view HI's ballroom and it looks really quaint and ornate, i must say. Of cos, being pillarless adds to its charm. No qualms about the reception area, and i even feel the pillars are pretty, contrary to what some may think. I have yet to see the shophouse suite so no comments on that.

What I do have a few doubts about are the food and people-in-charge. Food is, of cos, controversial and subject to individual taste buds but somehow I can't help but have this certain level of expectation about a 5-star hotel. The not-very-cheap (to say the least) prices add to this view. And I may have to change some dishes, which most probably will burn an even bigger hole in my already shallow pocket. I want all, ok, most of my guests (still very utopic i know) to be happy and enjoy the meal so that they won't load me with complaints at the end of the evening. Stress factor upped!

At the same time, the coordinator doesn't seem to be the most friendly. Yes, I may only be taking the most minimum package on a weekday but hey, I'm still a genuine prospective client. And yes, I may be a tad dishevelled (uncombed hair and all) but I'm still sincere! I tried to bargain a little but... alas...

Anyway, would like to seek your opinion on whether the ballroom would look very empty if we have only 25 tables (weekday). Would the very "cosy" ambience be lost?

Apologies if i sounded whiny. Just thought i'd share my views.

Dear Louie,

So sorry for the late reply, tied up @ work, so buzzit that no time to even surf the net
Hope my response is timely.

ukbride : It is best to give HI a call, they will be most happy to send a wedding proposal to you. I cannot remember the exact but based on 2002 pricelist, weekday is abt $7XX & weekend is $8XX. They have 3 different package/menu & there are 4 prices - wkday, fri, sat & sun. They have buffet style too, tink is abt $40+++/person.

Sep is usually lunar Aug, according to the Lunar calendar, there are many good dates for marriage, this is even true for the 2-3 mths that follows. The 1st part of the year is usually not so good as ppl are 1st busy with CNY, then there is Ching Ming.

I have chosen Jul 2003 for several reasons :
-hotels prices are revised from Aug/Sep
-didnt want to 'squeeze' with the rest of ppl cos Aug/Sep are popular mths so some ppl may be unable to attend my wedding
-& most of all, my bro-in-law is studying overseas, availability dates are jun/jul & dec/jan. Chose Jul cos it is more expensive to hold weddings later part of the year

My wedding is on a Sat & I didn't negotiate for more things as we are quite satisfied with their service, flexibilty, price & standard perks that were written in their proposal as they are already offering more than others.

I would think that their 2003 pricelist would be out soon? I am not too sure as I have confirmed my contract based on 2002's price & menu.

BTW, when is your wedding? Most hotels that I have worked with can close the deal based on 2002 price except for Shang-ri la who use current pricing. Being the KS Singaporean, I have 2001 pricelist & judging from the trend, price moves towards the northpole. My advice is, sign ASAP cos u dun want to pay more for the same thing
(I mean, a fish is a fish, no matter how u cook it...)

Bottomline is, there must be a certain feel you are looking for. I suppose it is similar to the one when u found the person to spend the rest of your life with. I couldn't say what I want until I went HI, I fell in love with the place but stayed my cool as I have to see Marriott before we make THE decision.

I attended a wedding dinner @ Marina Mandarin last Nov. Food, service & ambience is ok but I felt the ceiling is a bit low & the topiaries blocked my view when the slideshow is being screened. The tables are also placed too close for comfort & maybe they are shorthanded, drinks are not topped up until I asked a few times. Not too sure if the rooms are reburished.

Mandarin Hotel :
My husband attended a wedding last Aug & he said the decor is good but overall, he felt not worth the price the couple is paying for (abt$900/table). I always attend seminars there but I feel their service is better than Fullerton. I tink they have juz reburished their rooms.

Good Luck

Just my two cents worth on this. I was considering the hotel for a weekend banquet until I went down for a site inspection. First of all, the car park was full at 7pm. We had to park at Prince, the cinema, and walk back to bugis. That's quite worrying for me cos that's not even peak hour yet and mind you, there wasn't even a banquet on that nite.

Secondly, the staff were not very competent. I waited at the reception because the girl said that she will ask someone from catering to attend to me when I told her it is not necessary cos I just wanted to see the function rooms. The most frustrating thing is that she kept me waiting for over 20 mins and I thought she was trying hard to locate the catering pple. Turned out that she was doing something else altogether!

Having said all this, I saw the Vault and thought that it is quite unusual. Certainly will consider the place for some company function but certainly not for my wedding.

Hi Muddled,

HI just email me the package prices. I am also considering weekday and also around 25 tables. I have not gone down to see the decor of the ballroom yet. I guess i now torn between Amara, M, Marriot and HI. The prices are all very competitive.

I am looking at Mar 2003. Anyone where i can check auspicious dates for 2003?

The tongshu not out yet, however, people already start booking their hotel for 2003. How they do that? They dont check dates mah?

Hi ukbride,

If you love ornate and a slight colonial ballroom kind of setting, you will love HI. I will be going down to look at the ballroom again next week, when they have a wedding.

I've been to Amara and M too! Like you, I quite like both of them, for different reasons. Amara's newly renovated and the different themes are really pretty. However, Amara doesn't seem very keen on my intended number of 25 tables, even for a weekday. Also, I find the ceiling a little low (albeit cosy) and the lights a little too "flashy" for my liking. M hotel's banquet function room at the 10th flr is lovely, very minimalist/modern. Their package is attractive too, free flow beer, DIY menu. The only grouse is the food, dubious at best.

As for auspicious dates, you can check the web for the lunar calendar. Not sure about the accuracy though. Some couples also visit fortune tellers who can pick good dates, regardless of the availability of the tongshu. I did the latter, and so armed with a few intended dates, went scouring for the best banquet deals.

Best of luck!

Hi Muddled,

I went to Amara hotel on sat and felt in love with the wedding theme and decor. So nice. Somehow, i prefer it to M hotel now. Although Amara Hotel's ballroom is a little too big for 25 tables. The wedding planner i met with was pretty ok about the 25 tables althou she did tell me that they have a show next month and will pffering some discount for 30 tables and about.

I will be going to see HI tonite. Unless it is really outstanding i may settle for Amara. I love their table clothes...so different and unique and their cakes too.

The ceiling is alittle low and the lights alittle flashy but for the price they are offering, i think i can leave with it.

I will tell you about my opinon of HI tomorrow after tonight's visit. I am also looking at the min package. budget constraint.

How was the fortune teller that you went to? I am also looking at going to one, but dunno which one. Can recommend yours? How much was the session and did u have to tell him your parents birth time and dates?

Dearie ukbride,

I went down to HI just now too! If you saw a group of 4, one of them's me..

I thought the ballroom looked a little sparse and that's with 30 + 2 reserved tables. The coordinator reassured me though, and said they'll rearrange the tables such that the room won't look so empty. I do think the idea of the curtains being drawn and the couple marching in kinda sweet. The whole set-up, however, disappointed me. Maybe I was expecting too much, right down to the minutest details like tablecloth and napkin colours. Personally, I believe richer colours would look much better in HI's kind of ballroom. Unfortunately, this was not to be. *shrug* Do let me know how you feel about HI.

I did not visit the fortune teller myself. My FMIL took our birthdates (not lunar) and consulted someone from the temple she frequents. I believe for my case, details from both sets of parents were not considered.

Hi Muddled,

I dont recall seeing a group of 4 leh. I was there at 7.15pm. u?

I didnt think that ballroom looked sparse, i thought it was alright for 30 + 2 tables. I was thinking it is alright for this number and perhaps with 25 tables, it will look a little sparse.

I was disappointed with the setup. The impact was not as great as Amara.
Esp. the table cloth and flower stands and the stage. I thought that the stage was small but my husband says no. He likes the high ceiling though and the marching in effect, with the curtains being motorised drawn apart. I was actually thinking..so hot ask me to stand outside and wait for the que to march in...ha..ha...

HI still need to improve on their themes. Ernie did tell me that they will do away with the ice craving on the stage by next year. so that is good.

Did u see Amara with the wedding setup? I was there on Sat and the couple chose the grandeur theme. It was so nice, i like the VIP setup very much. Even their white crepe-like table cloth was so much better than HI's VIP table cloth and napkin. I esp, like AMARA's wedding cake - cone shape looks like Xmas cake - but then it is a new zen look cake what.

Did HI offer you any perks?

I think i like AMARA much better.

U? When is your date anyway?

Hi again,

I'm looking at dates in late Nov 03.
I must say I agree with your comments on HI. I do hope they will come up with something more befitting to its lovely ballroom. Somehow, I can't help but feel that the arrangement of the tables and decor do no justice to the place itself.

I viewed Amara's ballroom when it was decked in the 'Romance' theme. The colour red was the order of the evening and it does look lovely. No ice-carvings of any sort. The Grandeur theme is only available for the more expensive menu on a weekend, no? The last I checked, it was 788 nett. Do ask if they allow 25 tables if you decide on a weekend package. They might just relent.