Intercontinental Singapore

hi dd
i'm looking at 8 May'06...wat abt u?
yah...actualli Oct seems like quite sometime away..so now depends on whether we die die want 8 May or mebbe settle 4 some other available dates during the show =p

dd, what package u looking @ - weekday or weekends?? How many tables u need? Hotels are not like restaurants. Therefore if u have unused tables, it will be forfeited @ your own costs. For me, i took the weekday package so the min is only 25. I definitely can exceed 25 but the max is provided me to the hotel so i will only invite those very close frens and relatives so that no last min DUN TURN UP cases which leave the tables empty.

moonlight, think if u can then wait for the wedding show can surely get more perks.

Thanks bluegrapes, received your email!!

moonlight, think if u can then wait for the wedding show can surely get more perks.

Thanks bluegrapes, received your email!!

I've went to their previous wedding show early this year. Have enquired that the perks would more or less be the same for Oct wedding show. But of course subject to availability loh.. They'll give either free flow of beer or free flow of red wine for weekdays and weekends dinner respiectively.

Anyway I've already booked as my date was wanted by other couple as well thus cannot risk..

Thank you bluegrapes for the info as well.

Hi Moonlight/Gin
I am looking at the weekday package cos I can't afford weekend but I am worried that ppl don't turn up cos they are working the next day. As for the date I am looking at 29 June but a bit worried that it will be taken up during the bridal show. I heard from Michelle all tenative booking will be release for the public 3 days before the bridal show.

Any idea how we can drag the date?

Hi dd,

My wedding was also on a weekday. Monday in fact. So what I did was to email/contact everyone I am inviting to ask if they can make it and only forward them the wedding invitation card after they have confirmed coming. Two weeks before the AD, I sms/call/email them again to double check if they are coming. Was glad that we received near 99% attendance on that night and only 3 seats were unoccupied. So no worry. It should be fine but would need to do some homework before hand.

DD, u shld ask Michelle to hold the date u want. Y must release to public during the wedding show?
Think u gotto ask her lor. Dun worry too much abt the attendance on weekday. At 1st i was like u keep worrying but heard from many frens, nowadays weekday dinner is a v common thing. I attended my cousin's wedding recently on a thursday @ Pan Pac. It started @ 8.45pm & ended before 11pm. All guests turned up for the dinner. My AD is after labour day - 2nd May 2006 tuesday. Like wad bluegrapes has mentioned, we have to do RSVP in advance...the checklist i got is to collect wedding cards 3mths before AD. So we shld inform most our guests to confirm their attendance by then.

Hi Gin

I have checked with Michelle but she says that it will not be fair for the public. **Sigh***

BTW...you do think that 30litres of beer will be enough?

dd

DD, since she can't hold the date for you then maybe u wanna sign the contract before the wedding show? Otherwise, u inform Michelle that u sign the contract on the wedding show lah. Make sure u be the 1st to reach there. haha!! Gotto be KIASU this time...

For me, i think 30l barrel of beer shld b enuff for me. My guests mostly hubby's frens are wine drinkers instead so we will emphasis more on the wine control.

I had 25 tables and my guest consumed 35 bottles of wine but the 30l barrel of beer was not fully utilised even though many of my guests are 'uncles'. Should be enuff.

I got my wine from www.winebos.com and 50% on consignment basis. So purchased 2 cartons and another 2 on stand by. The wine was surprisingly very well-received. It is served on Cathay flights first class according to them.

Hello Bluegrapes..

At this moment only taking the minimum 25 tables.
Tried to call Michelle but she is out of office and will only be back on Thursday...
I am so worried that the beer will cost me a bomb at the end of the day.

Oh yes!!! you have any recommendation of B.S?

dd

It will also depend if you are holding ur wedding on weekday or weekend. If it is on Friday and Saturday night, the consumption will typically be higher since most of ur guest need not work and can afford to drink. As mentioned earlier, mine was on Monday and the 30 litres of beer was not fully utilised. The other factor is ur wine. If it is well-received, then most pple will consume more wine instead of beer since they are compliment of each other.

Recommendation of B.S? Err..it all depends on ur preference. I was with Kai Couture cos I like lacy and fairy like design. It really depends what u are going for.

Hi dd, mine is on a tuesday - weekday too. But like i mentioned earlier, most of hubby's frens are wine drinkers instead so i think the 30l will be enuff. We will have to spend more on red wines cos my hubby loves drinking red wines. Definitely gg to get gd ones.

My BS is FAME BRIDAL and its @ Yishun near my house. So far, i only managed to get a MTM dress done for my ROM in May this yr. Service is gd lor...will be doing my PS in Jan'06. Which BS have u been?

Err..think i mentioned above that I got my wine from www.winebos.com... purchased 2 cartons and another 2 on stand by. So i didn't get additional red wine from intercon.

Nope, didn't get piano cos my pianist fren was overseas.

I went to the printer that intercon tied up with. Was too busy to search for another one

little_ger, d details of the recommended printer is inside in the contract folder when u signed contract wif your coordinator.

Hi Gintonic,
I dun remember hving any other information other than the contract in the folder leh....U hv ah? Can tell me what other information is in that folder? Thanks hor..

Hi Littleger,

we used the intercon piano during the cocktail reception, my cousin was playing the piano.

For intercon, Jasvy tied up with it.

Hi Gintonic,

Yes, liasing with Jasvy was frustrating. The date, the name was all printed wrongly (father in law's name become groom's name and wrong wedding date). And they forget to trim the exact size of the cards to fit into the envelopes. Their mistakes made us run down to their shop 3 times. Anyway that time i have already feedback to HI.

The same thing happened for my case. Groom's and dad's name got mixed up. The error was still there even after the draft reprint. So rem to vet very clearly. We communicated via email so didn't have to run down to their shop. You can request them to email u the draft templates.

hey gals...
hees...finali signed the contract wif intercon yesterdae liaoz...yeah...another thin settled =)
sighz...cant drag till the wedding show to get extra perks coz tink mi date is wanted by someone else oredi =p

hello moonlight
Congrat!!!
I am hoping that I can drag mine till the bridal show...Michelle confirmed with me that it will be on 02 Oct but perks have not been confirmed yet...I think I am giving her a lots of headache.

heyz dd
thnx ^.^
no worries la...tink i gave her alot of headache as well..keke.... haiz..i wld hv dragged mine til the bridal show if not 4 mi date being eyed at by another couple...
but may as well la...tink the orginal package by intercon is considered rather comprehensive oredi. juz keeping mi fingers crossed beer comsumption wldnt b high =p

So is michelle willing to help u hold ur date till the wedding show?

Hello moonlight,

I have not speak to Michelle seriously about this. Did Michelle agreed to hold for you? All she told me was that all tentative dates will be release to the public 3 days before the bridal show...to be fair to the others. so if within the 3 days it may be taken up...

congrats moonlight!! U finally joined the HI Brides Club. So happi...
So your AD is on 8th May?? I remember urs n mine both fall on weekdays.

DD, think if ur date is quite popular then better sign the contract asap else will b taken up by others during the wedding show. For the perks, think u shld negotiate wif michelle.

hi Gin

I am not sure if my date is popular...and michelle is pretty hard to negotiate. Most of the time she will tell me that 'I am sorry, i really cannot do it, it against our policy'. That's why I am hoping to get the wedding show perks.

Hi Jolone
The wedding show is on 2 Oct. I asked Michelle abt the perks, but she mentioned that it will only be coming out sometime mid Sept. (so next week it shall be)

BTW gals, I've just checked and if you use UOB credit card to book your wedding banquet during the wedding show, you will be entitled the following too:
a) Complimentary 1 table with booking of min. guaranteed number of tables (eg. u have to book min 25 tables for weekdays and they give u the 26th table free)
b) Complimentary Sunday Champagne Jazz Brunch Voucher for 2 persons worth $205

Hi Jolene
When are you considering to put yr AD? Mine is next year Sept

Latest updates on HI brides...wonder any new HI BTB??

huimin / 30 Sep 05
Piyoling / 19 Oct 05
little_ger / 26 Nov 05
Gintonic / 02 May 06
Moonlight / 08 May 06
Slimmy / 06 Jun 06
Greenleaf / 20 Jun 06
gini09/ 23 Jun 06

DD, where r u?? Settled your banquet?

Btw, Jean, when's your AD?? Wanna add u into the list.

Hi Gintonic
I haven't signed on the dotted line yet.. thinking of signing on the Wedding show on 2 Oct.. just hope that the date's available.. looking forward to become a HI bride like you gals too! My AD is 25 Sept 06