Intercontinental Singapore

Hi Gintonic,

I did not change any dishes after the food tasting. Just that, during the food tasting, the roasted chicken slightly salty and we told the chef not to be too salty on our wedding day. The chef is very nice.

Hello Gintonic,

Mine is a weekday menu as follows:

1) Superior Suckling Pig Platter
(Suckling Pig, Salad Prawns, Drunken Chicken, Octopus, Sea Whelk with Spicy Sauce)

2) Shark's Fin with Fresh Crabmeat

3) Sautéed Broccoli with Fresh Scallops and Sliced Squid in XO Sauce

4) Steamed Soon Hock with Light Soya Sauce

5) Braised Loh Han Mixed Vege wrapped with Beancurb Skin

6) Crispy Roast Chicken

7) Fried Rice with Seafood Wrapped in Lotus Leaf

8) Sweet Yam Paste Cream with Ginkgo Nuts

My relatives and friends who have gone for the food tasting commented that the actual night dishes tasted nicer than the food tasting. However, it was observed that the Fried Rice with Seafood Wrapped in Lotus Leaf does not contain as much ingredient but it was served steaming hot.

All in all, it was very satisfying.

thanks bluegrapes..yours and kite's menu taste yummy!! so u did your food tasting 3mths before AD?? i thot of doing it in Jan since my AD is in May..any comments? Did u all manage to discuss or talk with the chef during the food tasting??

Hi Gintonic, my food tasting was about 2 months before AD. Yep, we spoke to the chef and provided our comments. We requested to increase the serving portion and they did adhere to the request during the actual dinner.

hi gintonic,

i did my food tasting 1 mth before. yes told chef that roasted chicken abit salty n on tat day, it tasted just nice.

wa, really can't wait to have my food tasting.....Normally how many months b4 will the coordinator contact us to start preparation of the wedding?

Thanks kite and bluegrapes!! your info will helps alot.
think having food tasting nearer to AD date is better.

Slimmy, usually the food tasting is 3mths before AD and by then, our coordinator shld be also confirming our guest list.

Hi Gin & Kite
It seems that both of you take Fried Rice with Seafood Wrapped in Lotus Leaf .

How is it? Is it better than Ee Fu noodle with seafood?

EA

Hi Gin & Kite
Does HI's complimentary wedding invitation cards
comes with insert? I understand that they will give 60% of the confirmed attendance for extra how much do HI charges? Last question, how much does HI charge for printing of the invitation cards?

Sorry so many question.

DD

Hi, I was told that the max number of tables is 40 (not including the 2 reserve tables), and in fact when you have more than 38 tables, they will reduce the size of the stage.

Hi DD, yes HI provides the invitation cards which most hotels do. But as for the inserts, i cant rem..most likely they dun provide. Need to go find own printing firm. So have u sign up wif HI & when's ur AD??

Hi Gin
I have meet up with Michelle and had some discussion with her. But have not make up my mind yet cos the things she is can throw in is not too fantastic and now considering Marriott.
BTW, do you know if they charge for the mics and how many mics will they provide? I heard from Michelle that Hard liquor from airport duty free shop are not allow to be bring into the dinner. Did you have any problem with this at your time?

Infact, quite disappointed with Michelle as she does not seem to be to interested in getting business. Get a bit worry as if I sign with HI, will not get good service after that.

sob sob
dd

DD, i oso shortlisted Marriott & HI!! But end up choose HI. I signed up wif Michelle as she is easier to negotiate wif things. Furthermore, the grand ballroom looks more grand and beau as compared to Marriott. Ur AD is on weekday or weekend? Mine is on 2 May 2006 (Tues)

For the issue of mics, it did not cross my mind. Those audio or PA systems are included in the pkg. As for those duty free liquors, most hotels dun allow to bring in unless they are duty PAID.
U can rest assured that the service wif Michelle is gd...dun worry too much!!

Lastest updates on HI brides....

huimin / 30 Sep 05
Piyoling / 19 Oct 05
little_ger / 26 Nov 05
Gintonic / 02 May 06
Slimmy / 06 Jun 06
Greenleaf / 20 Jun 06
gini09/ 23 Jun 06

Hi Quah,

i ever witnessed 50 tables at HI however the space is abit cramp between the tables.

Hi dd,

HI does not provide inserts and most hotels doesnt do so. U hv to find your own printers or recommended by hotel to print the inserts n that will be additional charges.
When is ur AD wedding?

Hi Kite
Have you find your printer yet? HI recommended printer is pretty expensive.
My AD not fix yet. I am looking at Meritus too, they offer me $618+++ with free flow of beer, corkage waive for wine and 2 night stay at their suite. These are what I need but Michelle not willing to throw in to me.
if no choice maybe will take either Marriot or Meritus cos perks more attractive and they are in Orchard.

What do you think?

dd

DD, unless you wait for the wedding show for HI lor cos usually will get more perks like free flow of beer...As for me, i dun have it too. Only get the std 30litres barrel. But there is additional perks for us to choose in the pkg. Did u see them??

Hi dd,

LOL my wedding was already over. We used Jasvy for the printing services and it was very lousy n bad service. Dun recommend this co.

Hello Kite
I am worry about the hard liquor issuw as most of my liquor were bought from airport and Michelle commented that they are not to be brought into the dinner.
Any advise.

dd

Hi dd,

Tried to pm you but you have disabled it. Anyway, my wedding at HI was in end June. I can share wif u what I did to bring in the duty-free hard liquor without needing to pay for any corkage. Maybe u want to share with me ur email addr?

heyz gin...
hees...not yet leh...will be meeting up wif michelle after she's back from her vacation

realli hope 2 join u gals here as HI brides but hb abit hesitant now...hehe...still trying 2 psycho him =p

bluegrapes...realli thnx 4 sharing! appreciate loads!

Hi Kite,

Sorry to say that my honeymoon pics are still in my memory stix. :P Keke..haven uploaded but will do soon. Lately busy with new house. Furniture delivery etc.

Moonlight, hope u can join us as HI brides. Btw, y ur hubby abit hesitant now?? issit becos Michelle couldnt meet up wif u? Dun worry as long as she has blocked the date u want for u. I think if can drag then u might be able to get more perks during their wedding show. Think Intercon having wedding show in Oct.

Hi Bluegrapes,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. Do you have any idea if it happen to have unuse tables on AD, can we neg. to utilize them later.

Hello Ladies

Heard from Michelle that the wedding show is est on 02 Oct.

dd

Hi Bluegrapes,

Ok understand. Take ur time. once ready, remember to share w me as i m interested to view NZ winter scenes.

Hi moonlight
Which date are you looking at? I was hoping to drag on till wedding show too. But it seem to be so far away, 02 Oct.

Hi Kite/Gin
You have any idea if we can utilize those unuse tables during AD in future.

dd