Intercontinental Singapore

Hi Gintonic,

Quite impressed by the MM ballroom. They have beams on the ceiling coupled with chandliers. However, with my 30 tables, I can't get the main ballroom.

Might be having problems with Intercon too as they require 32 tables...

Saw Hyatt, quite a low ceiling and it's pretty dark too.

Sigh...

Axel, i suppose u'r looking @ weekend package?? Mayb u can negotiate with Michelle if u really keen to sign up with intercon. Mine is a weekday package so the min is only 25 but i might have abt 34tables. Hyatt's signature color is black thats y u felt the place looks dark. I've heard the ballroom @ MM looks grand, probably with the newly renovated interior.

By the way, when's ur AD?

Hyatt's ballroom still looks dark... Might be the lighting of the place.

MM rotating lights looks quite 'techno'. But overall it is not bad.

Hook up with Michelle already and will discuss with her maybe soon.

What's AD? Sorry, newbie here...

Axel, Conrad wasnt on your shortlisted hotels rite?? Can share y u choose conrad?? Wow, AD in 2007 so early must book banquet liao??

abit bad to discuss y I chose conrad in this thread leh...

anyway in brief, every ballroom got pros and cons and Conrad is the only ballroom which both of us can agree on.

Conrad only has 1 ballroom so need to be fast lor. Typical Singaporean. Heh! We like to plan early so less headache later...

Axel, its ok. anyway its gd that u have settled one of the most impt wedding stuffs. so have u ROM & book your Bridal Package??

Hello Little ger
it's so nice for you to share with us. I getting headache from the dishes to choose, can't make up my mind
Can share with me your dishes? Also, does Michelle contacts automatically for to pick up the cards, food testing, etc or do we have to keep calling her to check....

Got pics to share?? hehehe....

Axel, one BS to avoid is Everbliss fr Suntec & Marina Sq. Heard from BTBs that their services sucks!! Dunno how true it is.

Hi hi, I was liaising with this lady called Stephanie. I'm probably booking the Malacca rooms for about 17 tables.

Have any of you guys booked Malacca rooms before?

Also, what are the deals we can bargain for? I'm trying to get the following (have any of you been successful??):
1) complimentary food tasing session for 6 person
2) Free flow beer from 7 pm till 11 pm
3) Pre dinner snakcs for wedding couple
4) Complimentary day-use room for co-ordinators from 2 to 8 pm
5) Dry-ice effects during 1st march in
6) Waiver of corkage charge for Duty Free Liquor
7) Complimentary wedding favours for all guests
8) Specially designed wedding cards for ALL guests (including printing)
9) Complimentary car park coupons for ALL guests
10) Attractive guest signatory book for guests to sign in

Hi red088, for my pkg - the food tasting session is for 10pax. The rest of the deals u stated are included in the contract except there isnt any free flow of beer.

hope this helps!!

hi gintonic, is it waiver of corkage for DUTY FREE liquor -- the package states DUTY PAID. I'm thinking of buying from duty free shop when returning from overseas business trips...

do you have any food that you particularly recommend.. am in a loss to choose the food ... btw, did you have yours in the grand ballroom or malacca room? I may have mine in either the malacaa or vault room...

one more question: which bridal boutique (including photography) did you choose from? Am choosing among Frederick Lee, Milan, Ted Wu and Veronica ....thanks...

hi red088, my AD isnt over yet. its coming 2nd May. It will be held at the Grand Ballroom. for food wise, i cant help much cos me will only do food tasting in Mar. But i did went to their last wedding show and tasted some dishes. my hubby & me liked their sharks's fins & veg. FYI, most hotels do not allow DUTY FREE liquors to be brought in. All liquors must be DUTY PAID. I thot there is oredi corkage waive for DUTY PAID liquors??

By the way, whens your AD?? My bridal studio is Fame Bridal in Yishun (choose it cos near my place). But i'm only getting them to do my pre-wedding photoshoot. For my actual day photography & videography, i'm wif Tucky's photography & Fabian Lim's production.

hi gintonic, i'm deciding between two dates in Oct, so s to have at least 4 mths in between his bro's and our wedding..

yah, there's corkage waiver for DUTY PAID but I thought if I can buy DUTY FREE liquor,why not :P

who's your wedding coordinator? stephanie??

hihi red088, my coordinator is Michelle. think Oct is a hot mth cos there are 2 lunar 7mths this yr, so its best u get the date asap.
dun think we can bring DUTY FREE liquors into the hotel.

did u try askin for waiver of wine corkage??

hi memechan

I got this available dates in the year 2005
3,4,9,10,11,15,16,17,18 of May 06
22 - 25 & 29 - 31 of May 06

However i think it is better to contact HI direct.

dd

dd (ddwedd) ,

thank you so much for your info... but i think we cannot meet their min table... we only have 25 -30 tables but the min table for ballroom is 32

Hi Shaen,

I'm new to this thread. Have also booked Intercon for my AD this year. My coordinator is Michelle.

Would like to hear your experience with them? Could you also share your AD photos if they are ready?

Thks Thks!!

Hi mujizz, welcome!! So when's ur AD? Mine is 2nd May...all of us are here to share ideas. Do drop in often!!

Hi memechan, mine is weekday so their min is only 25. Most likely we b having abt 32tables. R U intending to hold ur AD on weekends then u hv to meet the min of 32tables.

HI mujizz & DD

Sorry but mine's not mp3 music. we went n bought e CD. Very hard to find also (border n HMV dun ve) ve to go all e way to sembawang to buy.
i bought e other 2 in HMV.
So better check or u will rush like mad on e last mmin.
think u look for e queen album (is a white color cover)

I juz had my banquet three months ago. indeed tat the food was very nice. no doubt abt it. However, carpark was the main problem. My banquet started quite late becos of tis.

Hi Huimin

Is your Ad on weekday or weekend? Mine will be on the weekday and I am very worried that there will a considerable amount of guests not turning up. In fact my dad and mum objected to weekday cos they believe that most are not likely to turn up. Any good advise?

Hi Jen

Thanks for sharing I will be going to HMV this sat to look for it.

Six more months to go...and I getting so worried that things will not turn out well. The worst thing is that I have not start searching for BS...

Hope btbs here can share with me your findings.

dd

HI dd

frankly, wkday disadvantage will be ppl sometimes will ve to do overtime or they simple too lazy to turn up after work so yr parent are right to bring this concern to u.
All u ve to do is to RSVP them like 1 wk before to 'remind' them of it.
This is also to see whether friends n relatives have wat u n them 'feel as close'.

eg. u may think dat some ppl u r very close to but they were e ones who u least expected not to turn up for yr wedding.

dat's y some threads said dat during yr wedding u can see who r close to u n who r pretending to be.

this is sad but true.

if u do not very a tight budget on BS, u can try Amanada lee, she really is very good. I went to her for 'help' when my BS gave me 'trouble n heartache'. Initially she was on my short listed list but din consider cos wanted to save abit of $$$ but ended up paying almost or close to her package. so now regretted i should ve throw caution to e wind n get her instead.

6mths not very long, better list down e stuffs u ve not done n put a rush to it. u should be relaxing 1 mth beofre yr AD (my SIL said) but i was rushing like mad till e eve of the wedding (cos i not meeting hubby on e wedding eve, pantang) so no transportation to 'ferry' me ard n was also raining on dat day.

Now dat is over, feel like something is missing cos was very rush n suddenly everything 'gone'

Do enjoy e 'moments' before and during e wedding.

hi dd,

mine is on friday. wat jen said is true. its a headache when coming to banquet. try not to open the reserved tables. mine was at least 32 tables 2 reserved. therefore u have to plan well. RSVP is very important. At the end of the day, I got 31 tables full, another table half. i'm very satisfied wif it.

Hi jen & huimain, thks for sharing your experiences. Indeed useful for us. Like Huimin, i might hv 32 + 2reserved. I oso hope not to open the reserved cos it b quite cramped. My sis attended a wedding last nov and she noticed that space is oso an impt issue.

dd, 6mths still enuff for u to search for BS. But guess u might hv to take PS soon too cos normally they need abt 2-3mths for the photos development. My AD is on 2nd May and i b taking PS in mid next mth.

Hi huimin,

My AD will also be on a friday, hmm if carpark is a problem then i think my guest may be late as well.

Aside to Gin,
Agree that space maybe an issue but as my FIL may invite many guest so I may need to utilise the max no. of table of 40... really headache.. as I can't shrink anymore of my friends and colleague and my FH also can't... so may have to maximise the tables.

hi Jen, Huimin & Gintonic

Thank for your advise. Most ppl told me that BS shld be at least 1 year in advance..That is why i getting so worried.

Just half a table not filled is very good. I must really plan. How do you gauge the no. of tables. I worry that there will be a no. of table left empty...

BTW any good BS to recommend. I am considering Bridal Concept and Feline.Any remarks?

dd

dd, Bridal Concept shld be a gd choice as compared to Feline. I got 3 gfs signed up wif BC but their is @ the outlet in Bugis not Marina Sq.As for Feline, another hubby's fren wanted to sign up wif them at 1st but they werent v pleased with their services. so eventually they signed up wif up Ritz Couture.

hi gini, wow u r having 40tables, quite a big num. wonder how the hotel staffs gg to arrange the tables so that our guests wont feel uncomfortable walking ard. I will emphasise more on the tables behind all the doors.

Hi Gintonic

I think I will visit soon...but probably after CNY...

Hi Huimin and Jen
Do you have any problem with hard liquor, i heard that we are not allow to bring duty free liquor for the dinner and I have in fact bought several bottles from DFS for the dinner.

Hi dd

i dun think is ok to said anything regarding any usage on e DFS liquor cos may get e hotel into trouble. i will PM u on wat happened on my wedding.

if u holding on e wkend, be sure to start abt 8:45pm cos that is e latest e hotel can hold till n will die die start e dinner. yr guests sure will be late cos most will be thinking of coming ard 7 plus n dat's e most 'peak' timing in bugis cos of e 'dinner timing'. they will ending up arriving (if luckily close to 8:30pm) if not after e 1st walk-in).

dat time, my guests were telling me e road to bugis were jamup (sis was also caught in e jam) n only manage to arrive close to 8 (she left e house almost at 6:30pm) n she took a cab. imagine those driving, jam at e roads leading to e hotel n then u still need to find parking which is another headache.

As for e wkday, sorry no comments but i think will be slightly better.

Hi dd

for e BS, i can't comment on them cos i din 'check' them out when i doing my BS selection.

jen & huimin, when did u collect your invitation cards? my AD is in May so i shld b collecting the cards next mth for printing rite??

Hi Gintonic

i think we took e card either 2 or 3 mths before. your co-ordinator will call n info u on this (mine did)

Hi dd

i ve PM u liao

thks Jen. did u send all the cards for printing at one go?? cos we decided to print out cards for those who confirmed attending 1st. the num is abt 200.

HI Gintonic

i sent everything for printing cos i printed on e card itself. (me using bronze color to print on e card n turned out quite nice)

which card design did u choose?

Hi Blur Blur

sorry for dat but i'm only tell you wat i been thru'. But u dun ve to worry cos most time u won't know wat's happening during e dinner.

Frankily, i din know wat's going on thru e dinner till after cos hubby assigned his siong di to look after e wine, liqour, time schedule. another hubby also din know :P

thks jen. i b printing on inserts. u did hot stanmping?? havent decided the cards yet, wonder any new wedding favors or cards out now??

Hi Gintonic

ya, i did e hot stampling cos e design i chose does not look nice with e insert.

u can ask yr co-ordinator for any updates on e cards n favors.

hi gin,

I collected my wedding cards 2 months b4 my wedding. me too using insert. spent $80 for printing the paper. 200++ sheets

tks Jen & huimin. me most likely printing on inserts. after discussion wif hubby, we b sending 200 for printing 1st. Is Jasvy printing gd?? cos its tied up wif intercon but i heard some bad comments abt their printing services.