Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Sphire - Sorry, dear. But Hyatt seemed to work out better for us. One thing i've learnt when sourcing for venues is that only make your final decision when you see the full wedding set-up. It certainly helps because the room looks very different when it is empty compared to when fully set-up.

kismet - No worries. Actually given a choice, i'd like to have the wedding in another setting too. My hubby was even suggesting it, but we stuck with having it at the temple as we didn't think there was another option.

hi bridezilla,

just checked my email....did u manage to send me the contact for the deco guy???

thanks heaps...............

Hey, anyone got any comments on French Bridal or Whitelinks? Want to know if anyone of you gals have checked them out. Looking for Bridal Studios for photography. Thanks.

Hey guys! Back after what feels like a long absence! So many posts, don't know where to start!

Hey Sphire - that's a very lovely design! Very classic and romantic. You must be sooo excited since Dec is not too far off. Btw, looks like my mother has taken too long to make a booking at the Hyatt and now the rooms have been booked out for my date. Really disappointed. Anyhow, will keep you posted when we have a cfmed booking somewhere.

Infinite - Yeah, a shorter temple programme would really help. Definitely looking forward to receiving it!

Holly - How was your storm trooper Halloween? Send us a pic! ;)

Bridezilla - 3 weeks!! Wow!!! I know it's strange but I'm excited for you too!! Hey, can I ask what sort of accessories Shanti doesn't have? Is this for your banquet outfit? Last time I was in touch with her she said she has some accessories and will provide the ones I'll be using at the temple. So not sure if she'll be providing the banquet ones as well.

But yeah, it was nice of her to go shopping with you. Where did you get your accessories? And can I also have the contact to your decor guy? My email add is [email protected]

Jini - Congrats!!! I remember the stressful time you had just before the ROM but glad to hear it turned out well.

SK - I wanted a lehenga with a mermaid/fishtail cut too. Like these: http://www.maximstyles.com/home/bridal/bridal12.htm But the designs they have in SG are just so disappointing so that's why I am keeping my options open for a western EG...

Chick - I'm really quite torn about what to wear to the banquet. Preferably I'd like to have just one outfit for the banquet - don't want to go up and change etc. Leceh lah! Plus it takes up time I could be spending with guests. So it's either a WG or EG/lehenga. But the WG i picked for the photoshoot has a train so I don't think it's going to be very easy to maneuver in that during the banquet. So it might be just an EG at the banquet. Still looking at my options but yeah, I do agree with you, it's much better to go down to the BS to have a look.

Rany - I'm using the same website for inspiration
. You are right when you say that the designs in SG are disappointing. Thats why gonna check out Delhi again later this month. Sorry to hear about Hyatt. Places get booked way in advance so hope you get a venue you like soon. Any alternatives in mind?

Rany - welcome back. Everything fruitful? Sorry abt the venue thing. Where is ur next target? Parents dont understand the urgency.
BS cld actually sew a little loop at the end of ur train. While moving around, jus slip the loop into ur finger. It becomes very english.

Hey Girls..Halloween was so fun!!

Sphire, Rany, i've emailed you some pics taken at the parade. There were like about half a million people at the parade. It was from 6pm to 4am and it's the BIGGEST halloween party in America. There were tons of costumes...some really nice.
The common ones were wonderwoman, vampire, Superman, Little red riding hood. It was really an experience for me. Hubby dressed up as Grim Reaper.

COngrats Jini on your ROM!!! Glad everyting went well for you.

glad to read all yr comments...i will be coming back to singapore next thur to continue with my wedding planning. kindda excited since i attended a wedding yesterday...so got some inspirations...the wedding dias looked so beautiful...decorated with fresh white and yellow flowers. The couple wore garlands that were right for their body fraMES and din carry any bouquets....something like the Surya-jo wedding...the bride wore a maroon saree...din stand out cos there's this thing with sri lankan weddings, i think, everyone's wears red or maroon...like wanna overtake the bride...so i am thinking of wearing another colour for my wedding...hehehe...u know since the wedding was on a weekday, most people took time-off from work to attend the wedding...once the nuptials were tied, everyone flocked to eat...aiyo! the wedding couple, bridesmaid & best man were left to continue with rest of the rituals...

I need to ask some advice...how many days b4 the wedding should i go for the facial and threading? cos i realise that every time i go for a facial, i end up with more break-outs and i am afraid to go for a full-face threading for my wedding...is there any other alternatives? PLs advise ladies...

Hi Jini,
so u are taking paneer for PG? he's quite good with his editing...

hey Kayla, threading is different for everyone, I know freinds who don't break out at all or myself who do slightly. You've got to try it at get used to it. Personally I do my threading a day or two before the functions. I feel that I look best then and the skin really glows but thats for me. Plus i know u might think its weird but some people time it with their monthly cycle, so that the pain and speed of regrowth is less.

Don't really know abt facials though, never done one. Would love too know too.

I love Sri Lankan weddings, some of my closest friends are SL and was a bridesmaid at one of their weddings last year. Was soo pretty, my friend wore a white lace sari for the ceremony then changed into a red candian style sari for the homecoming. was really nice

Hey gals.....HEllo....sorry been away too long. Have yet to catch up on all thereading but just a pointer...did u gals keep me posted with all the extra information...havent checked my email but if u havent pls email everything to [email protected]... hahahaha sorry. Will read from where i left off over the weelend and get back in discussion asap.

Hi gals, m back after a while as well...2 many things at work..

Sphire - yr design looks lovely, very classic..u must b excited. M feeling excited already..haha..I've confirmed Kevin/yapp*es as VG for my church/banquet on 30th - can help me update pls..Thanks.

Rany - sorry 2 hear abt the venue..gd luck with the hunt and make sure u accompany yr mum to pay the deposit this time :-)

Kayla - mind sharing Paneer's contacts/portfolio pls? Saw william saravenan's pics yest, looked pretty ordinary..so am in 2 minds who to engage for the temple..

Btw, also spoke to some frens who had used Shanthi, the feedback was not so good. One said she was insistent on doing the make-up her way n didnt listen to the bride, she kept saying she wld show the accessories to my fren, but only did so on the wedding morning..and in another case, she forgot my fren's reception. Not to worry u guys or anything..think the experiences differ frm one person to another..but if u go for shanthi or any1 else for that matter, do keep the above in mind..call them, remind them etc...The other options thrown up were Rupini's and Menaka. Any1 here tried Menaka's?

Hey girls - thanks for empathising. The banquet issue has become a drama all on its own. We are trying to garner support from relatives to veto my mother off the one-woman (her) planning committee of this banquet because my FH and I are sure as hell not going to be dictated to about what is going to happen on our wedding day. Grrrrr.....

Chick - Re. Shanthi's insistence, I feel it too. I mean she does have her plusses. But she was quite bent on including the dots above the eyes as part of my make-up. Although, I am keen on them now, I wasn't before. But she still kept pushing the idea to me. But I will keep in mind the other bits you mentioned like to suss out the accessories and such early on. What happened to your friend whose reception she forgot about?

Holly - thanks heaps for the pics!! Parade looks really packed!! And you look so cute with that neck-scarf thingie. Did you help hubby with the make-up? I know some men who love to do it all by themselves. Heh!

Kismet - White lace sari?? Wow!!! Must look absolutely gorgeous!!! I've never seen a lace sari before.

Kayla - Is it true? SL weddings all tend to wear red/maroon? Alamak, my saree is also a dark red. Re. facial/threading, since your dates are March 07, why don't you try starting now (facials), so that you can see how your skin reacts and how much downtime you need? I reckon everyone has a different reaction. For me, I always get my brows threaded 3-4 days before because I always get bumps around my brows 1-2 days after I get them done. Don't really have any other alternatives to full-face threading apart from laser treatments (IPL, etc).

Holly - Hey ... ur pics look kewl. How nice if SG also celebrate something like tht. U hv a very sweet smile. Ur husband looks scary in to pic...kekekek. That show both ur do up are excellent.

Kayla - I dont do facial and or face threading. Only eyebrow threading... normally 1 to 2 days before. No reaction. Cld I also hv paneer's contact?

Chick - Thanks for the gown comment. Yup.. excited and worried. Will update table. While talking to shanti the first time I already felt that abt her. But she professional and I'm makeup idiot. So its okie if she dont hear mi out. Unless my FH is around, he has lots of comments always. So will cross my fingers dur her trial.

SK - I'm thinking of trying Saheli. She operates from her hse and charges $80 for trial.

hey Sphire, does the trial include hair as well or only make-up? I guess i would only go for trial once i settle my wedding outfits, in other words, buy them! A lttle dilemma there again...Mom wants to follow me shopping and she now says we shld go during the chinese new year break next year...I just cant seem to get this shopping thing right..

Hi Kayla,
Threading and Facials have different effects on different people. Its surprising that you still have outbreaks after each facial if you go for facials regularly. My understanding is that you get outbreaks if the face is over-massaged or the products itself may not be suitable for your skin. yep, you might get little bumps on yr face if your face is sensitive after a full face threading. I removed my facial hair for my ROM but i did it about 4 days early. You know, its the hair that makes the face alittle darker and when it comes off - the face looks fab.

I hope we are talking about the same Paneer. I have used him for my ROM and waiting for my pics..

Chick : The other option is Menaka. I personally would recommend her. Have seen her done for so many brides and wat I really like about her is that she listens and tries to fulfil your requests. If I did not hve Malathi, I would certainly go for her as a 1st alternative...do try her...she is good.

Rany : If you dont want the white dots, maybe what you can do is to buy your own stick on ones, and get Shanthi to stick them for you on your wedding. I personally dont like the white and red dots - looks like the national colours... so I am doing the same...its nicer too..you gotta scout around for nice ones but I am sure you will find what you want.

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet Date</TD><TD>Banquet Loc</TD><TD>Banquet PG</TD><TD>Banquet VG</TD><TD>Banquet MUA</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Wedding Loc</TD><TD>Wedding PG</TD><TD>Wedding VG</TD><TD>Wedding MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bridezilla</TD><TD>26/11/06</TD><TD>Ritz Carlton</TD><TD>Lighted Pixels</TD><TD> Wedding Paparrazi</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>25/11/06</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD> Lighted Pixels</TD><TD> Wedding Paparrazi</TD><TD>Shanti </TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah</TD><TD>26/11/06</TD><TD>Pines</TD><TD>Nasir</TD><TD>Nasir</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD>25/11/06</TD><TD>Yishun Temple</TD><TD>Nasir</TD><TD>Nasir</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD> S*letar broadway </TD></TR><TR><TD>Infinite</TD><TD>11/12/05</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Hilarion Goh</TD><TD>BIL</TD><TD>May frm GHA</TD><TD> 3/12/06</TD><TD>Khalsa</TD><TD> Moorthy Wedding Services</TD><TD> Moorthy Wedding Services</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD></TR><TR><TD>Reena Azeen</TD><TD>16/12/06</TD><TD>SAFRA Yishun</TD><TD>Potraitz</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Shanti (TBC)</TD><TD>16/12/06</TD><TD>SAFRA Yishun</TD><TD>Potraitz</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Shanti (TBC)</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kayla</TD><TD>31/03/07</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>28/03/07</TD><TD> Sth Bridge Temple</TD><TD>Paneer</TD><TD>Paneer</TD><TD>Susiee</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rany</TD><TD>02/06/07</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>02/06/07</TD><TD>Yishun Temple</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>Di Gio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chick77</TD><TD>30/06/07</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD> Edmund Leong</TD><TD>Yap*ies</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>17/06/07</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple</TD><TD>Edmund Leong</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>Z’Wedding </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>23/07/07</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD> Jayce photography</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>22/07/07</TD><TD> Sikh Temple</TD><TD> Jayce photography</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sphire</TD><TD>08/09/07</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>Edmund Leong</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>08/03/08</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple(tbc)</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</td></tr></table>

SK - Opps! Din really ask tht. Maybe it does include hairdo... but jus a rough one.

Chick - Menake is really good. I'm taking her for my temple. Menaka's makeup is a little traditional.

Sphire and SK, saheli's trial does not include hairstyle.. its an additional $20 (if i'm not worng for that). Let me know how it goes ya Sphire, I'm gonna try to have trials with Shanti and her in Dec.

Sphire/Jini - thx for the feedback on menaka. Dun really want traditional, but guess i'll need to go for a trial with them..to see what really suits me..Thk i'll give Menaka, Saheli and Shanthi a shot...

Jini - Care to share Paneer's contacts? How's his portfolio like?

SK - M in the same boat as u...having problems co-ordinating this whole India shopping thingy with my mum, work schedule and FMIL tradition abt not buying the wedding saree btw dec15-jan15..I'd rather do it sometime in dec so that at least its 1 thing settled and we roughly know what colour scheme, can go for MU trials etc..Sigh..

Rany - with regards to yr question..My fren called up sm1 else, lucky she had abt 6hrs before the banquet..i would have freaked..I dunno who my fren eventually went for, can check it out..The good thing is i've a wedding to go on the 25th nov, so i'll go n kpo n ask stuff among some frens..

Btw, any1 looking to do cards in jb? me n FH scrapped the india idea, will prob do it in JB..

Thanks for all the comments and advise...i will be more careful with facials and threading from now onwards...will try other alternatives like bleaching using natural stuff...

Here's paneer contact no: 81883437/90231842...i have never really seen his portfolio...maybe he has one...got him thru a family fren for my 21st birthday party and got him to edit the photo CD for my ROM taken in london...his editing works really well on our indian skintone...i still remember...the day b4 my 21st birthday, one of the blood vessels in my eye broke so the whole eye was looking bloody on my special day...Imagine how much i panicked!!!! luckily he edited the photos really well...no blood-shot eye and no blemishes...hehehe...Lesson to be learnt: 1) Don be too stressed out or else yr BP might go up and cause blood vessels to be broken..2) Always take a digital PG...so that Photos can be air-brushed...hehehe

Maybe u ladies can check out this website www.susiee.org Mr Paneer is the in-house PG....

Kismet - wow! That makes Saheli's trial $100. May not be trying her so soon. Got to settle my outfits first. Probably will try Shanti early next yr. If still undecisive, then will go for Saheli. FH keeps nagging that mi keep flickering my mind.

Chick - Mi need to go for more traditional look else my indian features will not show up. Menaka did a splendid job for my sis. Mi most probably will do my shopping in JB too. After shopping for diwali there,.. I feel soo booosted.

Kayla - Blood vessel broke??? eeeike.. Cant imagine. Pain? Thanks for Paneer's contact.

Sphire/kismet - Wow!! $80 just for saheli make-up trial? It will be offset against the full amount if we book her right? Any idea what her actual day charges are? Anyway, I am going to view the portfolio of a lady called Yasmin on Thursday. I think she's Pakistani. She did my cousin in laws make-up last year and i loved her henna. Will update you guys after my meeting.

I guess the best time to go for trial is after buying the actual wedding outfit so that the MUA knows what colours to work with.

Chick- So are you going to India?

harlow galz.......

tat's scary stuff - not having ur MUA turn up on the actual day.....i prob wld b flipping mad....anyway, i'm hafing my trial with shanthi this sun so hopefully all goes well.....

sphire......dun worry....take ur time to decide which MUA u want 2 go with.....i think u still haf plenty time to pick n choose...

kayla......do start early with the facials esp. if u r starting with a new beautician n i feel its best to leave ur face alone at least for 3-4days before the actual day....i personally find drinking alot of water n eating more fruits help to flush out the toxins n gives the skin the natural glow....

SK - Not too sure abt the offset part. When I spoke to her, its din seem like it. She did sound tired.. so not sure if she was blur.

Reena - Actually mi wanted to go for trial asap as my FH cousin is migrating end of this month to Aus and she's real good judge for makeup. Now that's impossible, dont mind waiting till next yr.

ok finally caught up wid reading every post.PHEW! Hey Rany the short lacey dress is truly amazing. I wish i cld pull it off...but highly unlikely. The guests will definitely be 'wow'ed.

Bridezilla you sound contented...good for you. I guess positivity in everything is the best. I'll try to be positive but currently stressin cos nothing done.

Bridezilla cld i get ur decorator's details..or if any of u gals hv the details pls forward on to me... [email protected] Thank you so much

Kismet how's the planning coming along. Congrats on geeting down to 2 dates. Oh and abt holding a sikh wedding outside the temple...i've attended couple of weddings at Khalsa, isnt tat outside the temple. Well according to my fiancee, sikh weddings in halls and hotels are common in India. Well i'm just giving my two cents worth. Hope everything goes well for u.

Sk congrats on confirming Hyatt...i'm more or less settling with Oriental at their poolside or Garden suite as contingency for rain.

Sphire, i'd like to be included in ur nice table but i dun have much details..how??

Jini congrats...u r MARRIED.

Now abt my trip...Amritsar is not too bad for shopping but honestly it aint cheap to be traveling all the way to india. The prices were shocking but since i was oredi there i got my shopping done.

Apryl - May i kepo a little and ask what you got from India? I totally agree with you about the travelling to India and the cost of it. I'm trying my best to coincide my shopping trip with business becos accomodation isn't at all cheap in India and when i travel on work, i get put up in great hotels plus my air ticket would be paid for. If i were to go on my own, i wont want to spend that much on hotels and will probably end up in a crappy place. If mom comes along then she only pays for her air ticket and any additional charge at the hotel. By the way how many days did it take for you to complete your shopping? Was there any tailoring involved?

kismet - Any update on your wedding plans? Do we share the same wedding date? Hope you've got a positive response from the temple.
Just to answer Apryl's point on Khalsa. Its sort of a Sikh association and its looked at as an alternative venue for weddings thats why alot of Sikhs actually have weddings there.

My appointment with Yasmin actually got shifted to tomorrow evening. I hope i like what i see. :p

Chick: I am doing all my shopping here and in JB, as my husband will only be here 1 week before the wedding. Tried using online for cards but its way too expensive.Goin to scout JB this weekend.

Yep , its the same PG guy. Paneer did my ROM pics and I will be booking him for my wedding too. Anyone interested should call him directly. He has his own portfolio.

Hi girls! Wow, the forum has really grown! About 18 days to my wedding!! AHHHHHHH! hahaha..

Well, most of the major stuff have been arranged. But im sad coz my MIL is insistent that i wear the rakodi thing on my hair. Sighzz.. Other than that im pretty happy.

Similar to Rany, I too do not like the red and white dots. Where can i get really nice sparkly type dots to stick on? Will the normal type do?

Hi Sarah...wow u must be feeling nervous...mine is 25 days away! and nvm abt the rakodi thing just treat it as a one day chore u have to do...my mil is also very insistent abt that and i even hate the idea of a plait in the 1st place...
as for the sparkly dots u can get from jothi store or the accessories shop next to stylemart...they have pretty nice stuff there...

Apryl - Jus provide mi with details u hv and I'll add u in. When u hv more details, I'll jus keep populating. So u gonna be oriental bride too...who's ur coordinator? Does it mean u hv to pay rental for both venues?

SK - Hoping to hear updates of Yasmin.

Jini - How old is Paneer? Does he also take videos?

Sarah - Congrats for ur wedding. If u wear the sparkly thingys, they may not be obvious in photos. Probably a mixture of the coloured ones and the sparkles?

Infinite - Congrats for ur wedding too.

Sarah &amp; Infinite - All the best! So excited for ya guys..

SK - M still thinking of going to India, but right now plans are in the air...and totally agree abt how expensive flights n decent accomodation costs..Guess the advantage in India is the variety as compared to here...I'm looking to redeem my air miles actually, not gonna pay 1K jus on airfare...

Jini - Keep us posted on yr JB wedding card hunt k...

Btw, any1 going for WIS of HDB flats at Sengkang/Punggol etc? M having headache deciding if i wanna buy/rent etc...

I took the liberty of looking out for pics of brides and various ways to wear the dots around the forehead. Bear with me if the pics are far too many (got excited!!)...Hope it helps all the very soon brides-to-be especially..
423860.jpg
423861.jpg

SK - i like the middle one in ur 4th posting and the first in ur last. I think it also depends on the hair do and acessories cos some look a little weird.

Sphire - I agree that it all depends on the hair do and accessories. But this also shows that not all brides wear the dots all across the forehead. Some are spaced out more and its good to have a combination of colours as apposed to all gold etc...

Sara - Hope this helps you. Maybe you could get some shiny ones and have them interspaced with red ones? By the way, what colour is your outfit? Is it red? What a rakodi?

Hey SK...aint we all KPO tats y we hv this forum....hahahaha. Well i didnt really get much cos i was there only for like 5 days.... got a lengha and sherwani...a few kurtis for casual wear...three materials wic were stitched indowestern style by the tailor recommended by the shop. I bought ready-made suits for relatives, friends and myself.

Details on my buys... the lengha is a full round but heavy... saw alot of heavy lenghas but although mine is one of the most simplest it's still heavy for me. I wanna be comfortable when i wear it tats y i was quite choosy when it same to the work on the lengha. I got a maroonish lengha with stone and embroidery in mainly blue with some pink, red &amp; gold. As for the materials i got stitched, i made mostly pants and top...only diff was the tightness of the pants and lenght of the top. Got the normal punjabi suits from the ready-made shop. Didnt get any jewellery cos i didnt find time. There was a problem in the city when i got in...some murders or something. shops were closed on the day after diwali and the next day when i got out, wic was late....we had to return back to the hotel in hurry cos apparently abt a 500-men group was on the streets with weapons or something. Well dun know the full pix but i'm glad the problem only lasted 2 days. the next 3-day was complete shopping. I'll get my costume jewellery here or get my friends to bring some when they come down. Things are just too pricey cos the moment i go out on my own i reveal tat i'm a foreigner when i open my mouth...the price just shoots up 100%...gosh. Anyway sucha short trip, i'm happy i got the major sutff.

Hey Sphire...well not yet Oriental bride but i m looking at the option. I was told the garden suite is free and blocked for those using the poolside incase or rain.

I'm currently too confused and fiance is so busy with work we have not gone down to Oriental. Just got the info. over the phone from Mark. I've seen the plc though. Attended a wedding there. Not too fuss abt the contract cos i guess it's more or less the same for everyone...just need to cater to my needs when i decide. I'm actually also looking at Conrade. My fiance's aunt was telling us abt a wedding she attended couple of months..a sikh wedding...heard it was nice. Might consider tat. I know i am very late but i've checked and the dates are still available cos i'm holding my dinner on a weekday.

yes ladies...like i said, there would be alot of pics :p

Hey Apryl, are you having a sikh wedding? Is the lehenga for your wedding ceremony or reception?

Hi Sk... we aint havin the sikh wedding only registry. The lengha is for my lunch reception at Khalsa. Dinner reception yet to decide wat to wear!!!

Chick - Not sure if the dots are a must. But I think it brings out more of the bride look.

Apryl - I heard tht Conrad is good too. I heard Mark is very giving. Hope u get the venue that u feel its right. True.. the packages are almost the same. What matters most is the room and food.