Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Jess: 94352486.. look for kingsly

WOW kick boxing.. soo nice..

i need to ask my derma for advice on face..
massage is with body contour.. but my mom ask me to soak with rose petal! hahaa..

she said have to go for Mandi LuLur..

Hi Jun >> will call him... =) thanks...

Oh mandi lulur is awesome.... tried it in Bali once... skin felt exfoliated and smooth.... better than a regular scrub which dries the skin.... where does one go for these in SG?

An old man told me last week that I need to mix yoghurt and turmeric and apply the mixture on my face so that it would glow... *chuckle* might just try it...

hey pam thanks for that info on thailand....sighs...im just pressed for time...i doubt i can make to trip to thailand
sighs....but thanks for the idea....oh pujabis give sweetmeats eh? so no worrys for u next time then...
lucky u!!

Jess dear...my diet is a joke....so all im prayin for now is, not gainin anymore weight atleast....sighs.....think i oso need a custard bun now.

jun n jess u gals go for reg facials???? i heard pros n cons abt facials...i dun noe which is true....wats mandi lulur?? i tried mud bath...stinks!!!

Sanity: My derma don't allow me to go facial.. My face is taken care by my derm doc. my mom goes to facial at body contour.

I go massage at body contour..

Jess: I need to ask some malay friend where will be the best place for mandi lulur and cheaper!

What are you guys giving for bridesmaid?

Jun,true, dermatologists dun recommend facials....oh body contour...perhaps i'll go for massages when im like a month or two away from d weddin....

I have not tot abt gifts for the bridesmaids...hmmm.....maybe i'll get em sarees for d weddin...as my closest mates r non indians.

My cloest mates are all not indian.. they are all chinese!! Hahaha!!!

i am getting some of them make up artist! LOL

Do i need to mandi Lulur once a month? LOL

LULUR: (translation: Coating of the Skin), is a luxurious ritual from the Royal Palaces of Central Java, Indonesia. The ancient tradition lasts for 40 days. Every day, prior to marriage celebrations, Lulur is given to the bride-to-be to beautify, soften, and sweeten her skin by the other women in the family, as a way of passing on wisdom and nurturing. In modern times, Lulur is now a popular spa treatment suggested for men and women, and not only on a wedding day!

Jamu – the Indonesian way of acquiring health and beauty through the use of herbs, plants and natural ingredients has been used by the royal courts for centuries.

Find out how modern day Indonesian women use jamu in the lead-up to their wedding day, in traditional Javanese style.

1. Mandi Lulur Body Scrub (use once a week)

Ingredients
Yellow Tumeric
Sandalwood
Jasmine Oil
Rice Powder

Method
Mix all ingredients into a paste.

Application
Massage into body.

I dont buy all tt derm docs say about no facials etc...i go for monthly facials
but u needa find sumone who wont ruin ure skin...n ttz quite tough.

Jessica - yoghut + tumeric is very good for skin, leave it on till its semi dry for maybe 15 mins then wash it off..sum instances it will help to make u alot fairer. BUt if ure skin is oily, it may not be suitable for u. Btw why dont u try tis person out : http://www.facebook.com/pages/Glamz-Wedding-Gowns/120873064596920 .

I found some of the dresses very nice but the ting is m not too sure about the fit etc...its also cheaper then most places.

haha Sanity...giving out sweetmeat is so much easier..i wouldnt wanna spend a bomb on getting 500 odd wedding favours for ppl i may hardly noe...wedding favours dont entirely come in cheap...

Whr u dng ure functions at?

I tried new York skin solution. They are so pushy n make my skin bad! Make all my pimple swollen n bigger in size!

Hate it. I still have one session left n didn't even want to go.

Dear Jun, geez appreciate the explanation on the mandi lulur...thanks doll...wow good stuff...so we can use the ingredients above n make our own mandi lulur eh...well, but gettin someone else to massage it for us might have better effect...so wanna try it! Jun thats nice of u to get someone to do ur bridesmaids makeup...

Hey pam i def agree its so much easier givin out sweetmeat...n so understand the part on not spendin a bomb on pple whom we've hardly interacted with(n of cus not forgettin pple givin 2 dollars ang pow! hahaha)....n YES FAVORS ARENT CHEAP...The wedding venue is at tank road murugan temple...
hows ya venue huntin comin along?..oh i forgot can u pls send me the pic of the mini bags? thank u...

I heard negative comments abt NYSS too jun...its not a gd idea to pick on the pimple like some beauticians do....think i'll just go Jess's way...the natural way! Yougurt n turmeric here i come.

Good morning Sanity! I must say I have never tried the yoghurt thing myself. But I am planning to... Since the old man kept insisting that I need to glow.... *smile*

pam >> totally agree on the sweetmeat... What's the cost per piece

Hi, tabla! the English weekly for the Indian community is looking for brides to speak with about your wedding plans for a wedding special. This year we are focusing on bridal jewellery- are you sticking to tradition or going modern? If you like to share your wedding photos and stories, email [email protected] Looking forward to hearing from you!

Good day Jess!! tsk tsk....glow eh....kk test n let me know....prob must do it ova sumtime. Cant expect miracle ova night...tho i wish. But hey, im sure u'll glow with or without it

Sanity >> ahahahha! How's your prep going? I am determined to settle decor by this week! Have to focus on other things... How are your card designs? U went for traditional or modern?

btw for the temple, are u guys wearing the full traditional head gear?

Hey jess, my preps r just not makin progress at the speed i would like...i've been communicating with a wholesaler from china via emails with regards to the favors...She's yet to get back to me with the quotation inclusive of tax n shipping. Im afraid shipping is gonna cost a bomb! ugh...if its too ex i gotta find alternatives...
The wedding cards we've ordered are apparently the latest design for 2011. Its sorta a contemporary design.

Im not goin for the whole works Jess. Cus im not a big fan of it. So much jewelleries n flowers on the head/hair is just not ma cuppa. I want minimal flowers n jewels on ma head/hair.
Hows ur prog goin? Speedy?
Hows ya great gown hunt doin?

Good morning Sanity. The great gown hunt has gone nowhere =((( No progress at all....

Trying to settle decor (dragging on forever) and started sourcing for DJ....

Looking around for a Jaguar XF (badly want this model) still... So hard to find... Haiz...

Looking forward to the weekend ladies....

Good mornin Jess
y dun u get ur gown tailored? or checked out stylemarts asian women(i think) yet?? Y dun ya go ova d weekned n see what they have oso...or rent theirs if its too ex? They've quite unique stuff. Once u've decor settled u'll have less things to stress abt. Y dun u put up a shout out for the Jag XF on FB if u do have an account. Perhaps word might get aron n sumone might jus give u the info u need on d car. Try ya luck. So r u doin the whole flower works for ya temple weddin?

Good Morning Everyoneee

Hi sanity - Pls give me a few days, will need to search if my mum still has some of those bags which we got from weddings..im pretty caught up with sch + work
sigh.. Hey ive a qsn for all of u...do u have ani idea when do they have sale for diamond rings etc? or is there any brand tt u girls prefer? my bro wants to propose to his gf, so im asking arnd on his behalf..im quite clueless about rings...and i know he doesnt wanna spend too much yet he will prolly get her a bigger fatter wedding ring

Hi Sanity >> I shortlisted a few cards... They lean more towards modern but with a slight traditional touch. Yup going with the full works for the temple, inspired by Shilpa Shetty... =D hehehe but no rakodi (flower on plait).. going for hair jewels instead.

Pam >> On rings, if your bro is going for anything below 0.35 Carat I suggest places like Lee Hwa and Love&Co.. but if it is bigger I'd say go to a custom jeweller because you can select better quality diamonds. Bigger diamonds show the flaws easily, hence better quality is preferred. My two cents worth of info that I learnt from my trusty fiance... =) Hope it helps!

Hey Pam,
geez thanks gurl. Hey don't worry abt it. Please take ur time. Get ur work done first pls and do it when u have free time. Seriously i dont wanna trouble u, when u r bz yaself. I can wait

Oh ring...i think they have gd prices aroun V-day..n random promotions when the store wants. Oh oh durin Great S'pore Sale oso u can get discounts....sum credit cards oso got promos. Other wise...try soo kee??? I like em...esp their brilliant rose collection.

Pam: I believe in April, there will be a warehouse sale by Soo Kee.. I am going to go there to buy necklace..

Engagement ring: got it from canary..

Hi Jun, mine is from Canary too... They've got good stones and workmanship.

Hi Ladies, I'm on leave tomorrow to sort out my saree blouse tailoring and stuff for the engagement party. Has anyone done a dessert buffet before? Any experience or ideas to share?

Any fun wedding ideas to share? Trying to spruce up the events so guests wont be too bored. =P

Sanity: Quarrel with bf soo can't be bother to look for wedding stuff.. now is ok already.. so i am back! hahaa..

Jess: their service is good too..

Soo nice lor.. on leave from the forum.. hahhaa

Hey Jun...oh m so glad all is good now dear.
great!

Jess on leave huh...cool! I've been to a choco buffet and a mini tea cakes buffet. What exactly u wanna noe?

fun wedding ideas...hmmm razzle? if u r engaging a MC...they'll make sure that ure guests r not bored.....dance floor?

Hi Jun! Oooooh! hope u are ok now!

Hi Sanity >> Well just want to incorporate some fun elements. Some popular ideas: Cupcakes, polaroids of guests at the reception for them to take home, fireworks (hehehehhe), bouquet throwing... U know smth to spruce up the event so it isnt a 'turn up get married and eat' thing..

mine is polaroid for guest book of the guest..

FAVOUR: Headache!

Is Firework legal in sg! hahaha..

should i change cupcake to sweet!!

M&M is bloody expensive!@

Good morning ladies!

I hear urban legends of super rich couples having fireworks in Singapore... Pyrotechnics definitely got la.. Fireworks not so sure. =)

I started drafting my invitations.. Didnt realize wording was such a chore... Where did u ladies get your sample wordings from?

How's the progress?

yesterday, i went to orchard hotel wedding show to see ling jewellery..

quite reasonable for gold but over expensive for platinum..

hi guys was busy with my pre -wedding photographs.. went to choose the actual day gown as u know u can rent from the bridal studios...

sanity>> dieting is never easy... need someone to motivate....

Hello dearies...
Its MARCH!
gosh time is flying eh...excited much?

HeY Jess, invitation wordings can be googled....or if u wanna be creative/unique write ya own...get ya better half to do this perhaps? For the tradditional invites, it pretty standard...just gotta use the one the priest wrote when u guys fixed the wedding date. How did ya blouse stitching go? all gd?

Hi Jun started shopping for the bling bling alrdy eh? cool....so r u gonna change ya favors? from cupcakes to MnM Choco?

Hello kani...how did the photoshoot go? Had fun? Hows the rest of the progress goin??? I've learnt a valuable lesson, just eat healthy all the time, then i dun have to resort to the extreme measures and be stressed.

So...i've found d favors...well ma dad did actually. So thats done. I'm left with confirming ma 2nd PG. The major part of the wedding prep for now, is done... i dun intend to make apparels purchase till MAY. So will work on jewelleries n apparels in May. So now gotta concentrate on the bangle ceremony...gotta work on food,favor,tentage for that day.

Hi Sanity, I wanted to go to Shubhalaxmi but ended up with queens... *fingers crossed* hope they do a good job... yup did some mad googling... found some interesting ones...

Ladies which VG did u select?

hey guys, not been here for awhile. having such a headache with work and wedding prep. sigh. Was hoping to do a simple photo shoot in the march sch hols bt cant seem to find a suitable place online for gowns. There s the glamz wedding gown on fb. will be going down soon. any other options for rental?? i m really petite so off the rack will probably be a problem but I dont wanna spend so much money on this too. anyone any ideas??

Wow Jun, looks promising.

Hi Ness another affordable place is Seletar bridal. They can alter the size to fit your body so if you are petite shouldnt be a problem. If you are on the bigger side, then it might be harder to alter.... But for smaller size generally should be no issues.
Only things is their selection is not that great. Some of the stuff I saw was a bit Obiang... There were a few nice things but I didnt get to try them on.

Comment from a punjabi bride.

My make up artise is Stephanie from Sharvani Bridal House... I have got to say she is someone who can do wonders.

maybe you guys can try!

Gd day Jess,
i have been to queens once, i wasnt happy with their customer service but i was there like one wk b4 diwali in 2007...perhaps cant blame em. Fret not i think they r gd

OMG JUN!!! Sungstar is AMAZIN OR WHAT.....now i feel like shes even betta than sarah man!!!! shld have checked her pics out...argh!!! i feel like punchin ma self...

Hello lovelies...

I agree Sung is amazing..i had previously recommended her in this thread
then again..its essential for a trial before
... I wldnt agree that she is better then Sarah...but i tink their emphasis is a little different...sung is more bold with her eye make up etc

Did anione head down to JB to get their wedding cards printed? Jun & Sanity-- why dont u guys give out somehing liek personalized magnets or scented candles...it maybe a cheaper alternative...
Hey u know sumone mentioned the idea of a photobooth which can double up as a great wedding favour...i chanced upon someone who used that for their wedding and it was a great idea...not too sure how much it is though...

pam: i already have scent stuff..

not sure if i should get the option for groom and bride shape cookies..
$3 per piece! sigh..

i am using polaroid for guest book..

Hi Jun -- I heard that polaroid fades after a while...the colour tends to fade to yellow or smthing...considering that polaroid film isnt very cheap...u may want to check out if it will fade.
Wow $3 per piece..u mite as well go to the little party shops along bencoolen area and recce for chocolate bags etc..it will be alot cheaper.. or u cld get those prettier looking bags and fill em up with candy & chocolates...a fren is giving out traditional lollypops... another alternative u girls may wanna consider : there is this shop Made in Candy at United Square, they can customize ure intials on the candy so it will be a sweet wedding favour

u knw..i realli emphatise with all ure btb who are cracking ure heads trying to get a reasonably priced and nice wedding favour...i just hope u all will remember that the whole wedding shd resonate u n ure hubby to be..hence every single element shd be an essence or a vision of u two...ppl will neva stop commenting and picking faults with watever u do...n ttz something u cant stop..all tt matters is u did everything u cld and u had ure wedding the way u wanted it to

Hope u all can find ure perfect weddng favour