Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Brokenbudgie>> I think the place i alter my Lehnga suits does tailoring.. i can try to find out the phone number for you to enquire if they make lehnga suits

My friends who did their wedding 2-3 yrs back used SHanti as their MUA for their ROM & AD. I heard gd comments abt her. Most probably I'll be contacting her for my trial 1st then decide..

THinking of buying bangles for my wedding, do u know where i can get nice bangles...Went to V2 shop along Dunlop street, she charged me $145 without even arranging the bangles...Quite outrageous! Just cos i told her that the bangles were for my wedding. Going to collect my wedding and reception saree blouses today. Am excited to see how they turn out...

Kayla - Check out Teka market 2nd level. There is a store handled by an indian man. U jus need to bring your saree and he'll mix and match bangles for you. I normally get my bangles from him. He also designs costume jewellery. He cn design to your taste too. Dont rem exactly where but his shop is near the chinese shop that sells lots of home dresses for aunties. Guess near the stairs leading from the fruit stalls.

I went to one shop near the Selegie Rd. Near Menu's Fashion & stylemart road. Expensive bt nice bangles they have. If u can find the shop which Sphire recommended, do let me know the name of it. If its gd, I'll go there & buy for my own.

Kayla >> The one that Angelic Gal mentioned is called Exclusive Creations.. actually they have 2 shops in the same row of shops at Selegie Centre.. the other shop is called De'Vogue.. Agreed that the bangles cost a little more than the shops at Tekka... but their collection is superb.. the jewellery sets are beautifool MAN!

If you are buying for your reception or your bangle ceremony, then it should be ok to spend a little more.. afterall.. you want to shine like a bride.. I'm getting some from them next week.. they do help to mix and match and arrange for you.. will try to make friends with the assistant there so i can get some discount lah... if it's successful, i keep u posted.. hahaha ;-p

Anyone knows which temple's function hall or any venue that can hold about 800pax for dinner + ceremony? So long can hold 65 round tables will be ok.. Just checking this for my cousin in-law

chick do keep me posted on how the trial went, really excited.

hey angelic.. think they have different size rooms.. u can break down the ballroom into 1/3 the original size or something... just a suggestion, otherswise don't know many restaurants that can take that size.. have u asked riverwalk?

also, has anyone been to bombay recently? i'm going to india in march and was considering whethere to go to both dehli and bombay or just stick to dehli.. everyone i've spoken to has advised me against going to bombay, but what do u guys think? any suggestions....

enjoy the long weeked people, am sure we all deserve a good break. cheers

Thanks for the recommendations...will check them out soon. I don mind spending money on the wedding accessories but the bangles don look fanciful to me. Plus, my mum is telling me that i only can wear glass bangles for the wedding. I am so scared to wear them as i have unpleasant experiences of cutting my hands when wearing them.So i am thinking of sending my saree blouses to London so that my SIL can help me buy the matching bangles and accessories in a shop called Bees in london. U can get bangles of any colour and type over there and they are worth the money.i bought all my accessories for my engagement and Rom in that shop. Hopefully, i don need to go thru such hasssles to get my bangles.

Kayla, there a shop on the same lane as Woodlands Thosai restaurant...i'm not sure if it's still there but i remember coming across it sometime ago. They had so much of variety, hopefully it's there.

Hi gals, i've got the catering package from Gokul. Please leave yr email add if interested.

Kayla - which caterer are you going for?

Gals, jus had my trial with Shanthi. Its was a basic trial with no hair included. Overall, make-up was light, cos i asked for natural, foundation blended well. But somehow din get the 'WOW' factor, not sure if its cos i was just dressed in casual clothes, my hair was not done, she din really do much eye stuff etc. Shanthi did say on actual day, MU will be heavier, there would be shiny powder, she'd put the dots, do the hair etc. So i'm gonna still scout around, prob do a trial with saheli or someone else, then decide...

hi chick: im interested in the gokul package. can email me pls. thanks! im at [email protected]

hey gals just want to check with those of u who bought stuff from india for ur weddings. example if i order the invitation cards they cant get it ready for me in the short while that im there rite? so they will mail it to me? how long does it usually take. how abt stuff like wedding favours? im worried that once i order then i come back to singapore i wont get the stuff on time or what i asked for.

Hey chick.. am deff keen on the catering package from Gokul.. email add is [email protected]... also please give me your email address, want to get in touch for my wedding (invites etc)...

Sorry about your trial. i know what u mean, i guess we all have this image in our minds and its very hard to put to reality...all the best with the rest of the makeup artist, i haven't even gotten to that yet, sigh.

Hey Lisa, I'm going in 2 weeks time to delhi, so even i'm worried abt the same thing. from what i gather, its always safer to use people your friends already have used before.. or have family/friends there follow up for you. and last resort be prepared to make another trip there.. also, never never pay anyone in advance, always just put down a basic deposit.. don't pay till u get the final stuff!

anyone got any suggestions on places to go in dehli and amritsar? SK, you've been recently right? please advise.. thanks heaps!

I see there's an on-going discussion about getting stuff from India.

Well, i'm off to India on Wednesday and will be able to provide a better picture once i'm back on 1st March.

Kismet - I'll be going to Mumbai as well and intend to visit this place called Seasons. They seem to have quite a lot of nice ready-made stuff. You could check out their website. http://www.seasonsindia.com/. I intend to see if i can find an alternative lehenga for my sangeet that would match my FH's outfit better and also am looking to pick up some other ready made outfits. Also will be looking to purchase my FH's wedding Sherwani. I'll have a friend bring me around to a few other places as well. Bombay would be good for getting ready-made stuff. For your wedding lehenga's etc, Delhi would still be better in terms of variety and prices. The designers in Bombay, usually get their stuff supplied from Delhi.

In Delhi, I strongly recommend Karol Bagh for all your wedding shopping. Frontier Bazaar in Karol Bagh has got really nice stuff. They may be a little pricer that other stores but they've got good variety and cater to alot of foreign Indians. A store 2 stores away from Frontier is called ViVah. They've also got good stuff and are better priced. I'll be collecting all my outfits this trip so will let you know how they turned out once i'm back. Other stores in Karol Bagh you could visit for your wedding outfits include Anarkali's, Perfection House, Bombay Selections. But i still preferred the stuff i saw at Frontier.

Like Lisa and Kismet, there's other stuff i need to pick up this trip, including my wedding cards. I'm having someone in Delhi accompany me on this and intend to get the cards sent back to me by courier. It will be helpful if you have someone in Delhi who could supervise/organise the delivery etc. Otherwise do be prepared to make a quick second trip to collect all your stuff. I know that wedding cards need around 2 weeks for printing,so unless you have 2-3weeks in Delhi, you need to find an alternative way to get your stuff back.

just to add on the MU trial bit...I'll be going for mine after i'm back from India. I've mentioned the lady i'm having my trial with. Her trial is a full trial in the sense that she's going to do the make-up exactly the way she would do on the wedding day itself. Thats why she has adviced that i bring along my outfit, jewellery and accessories so that i can know exactly how i would look like on the actual day. Will keep you ladies posted on this too....

Hi Chick,
The caterer for my wedding is Mr Don...He doesnt have a shop or anything and i am taking the temple decor from him. Cos he is one of the volunteers of the temple so he does know the staff very well...Din do any food-tasting with him but my auntie recommended him to me after trying his food at a wedding. She's a good cook and she gave her thumbs up so i am taking quite a risk here...Usually, free-lancers don provide food-tasting sessions. Hopefully, everything turns out well...

Ladies, About the cards, Usually you have to make the full payment before u leave india. then they will ask for another payment for the courier once the cards are printed...Mine came up to 55 kg and they charged me 27,000 Rupees. thats half the cost of printing our cards!!! then my fren's dad, who was in india at that time, helped me to bring the cards back...Just had to pay him the extra costs incurred...So ladies, please ask for their courier and any hidden charges before making any payments...

SK..all the best, hope u get a lot of good stuff, keep us posted yah. Do share regarding your MU as well, are you doing hair as well?

Kayla/SK - mind sharing how much the cost per card came up to for those made in India?

Kayla - mind sharing how much you are paying for decor and food from Mr Don? M getting stressed cos my costs are escalating coz of the 2 weddings we are having....

Lisa/Kismet - sent you the Gokul ones. Anyone else has the menu from Saravana Bhavan/Anandha Bhavan/Komalas to share?

Btw gals, general questions. How about wedding car decoration? Are you gals gonna DIY? Also, what to wear during bangle ceremony - my FH said must wear sari?? Thought can just wear a suit?

Kayla>> i'm interested to know how much you paid for the wedding cards in total (cards + courier)? My cousin-in-law interested to get it from india..I did mine in Msia.. total 2 trip i made for 1K of cards. 1st trip to order, 2nd trip to pick up 2 wks later.. weight about 40K in total i think. cost me abt S$0.57 per card, excluding petrol.

Chick> I did all 3 trial makeups with diff MU, just like wat SK is going to do. It must be at least 85% full trial such that you know exactly how you will look on the wedding day itself. IMPORTANT: pls bring along your outfit: the wedding saree + 1 more saree outfit that is close to the colour of the wedding saree.. cos you need to dress after the makeup to compare..you can't be wearing the wedding suit yet... you will not be able to judge if the makeup suits U if U are wearing your casual clothes.. the MU should have some temple set or bombay sets for you to put on to see if you look good with heavy jewellery or you are just fine with the simple ones on the actual day.

As for the wedding car decor.. if you sign up with some of the bridal house like Susie or Menaka etc,they can help you arrange.. not advisable to DIY as you won't have time to do it.. even if you delegate your friends/relatives to help.. u need to ensure everything turns out good.. don't stress yourself on that during your wedding day.. usually the temple decorater or the one that does your decor for your function will include decorating ur wedding car as one of the services they provide.

Bangle ceremony for South Indian brides usually wear sarees... unless your MIL is open to wearing lenhga and stuff.. i'm a Chinese so MIL is a little relaxed abt this.. i'm wearing a lenhga.. at least something diff...pictures will have some variety as well.. Share your ideas with MIL.. i'm sure she want you to look the best on your wedding day..

About the bangles...went to Exclusive Creations.. the lady was busy so did not have time to entertain me... i will drop by there tomoro.. also went to V2 Creations which Kayla went.. the lady Usha was nice to do the matching for me.. i think Kayla may have met another lady...She have a few range.. the expensive ones are crystal bangles... usually start from $120 per hand.. She mentioned now not many people opt for the glass bangles..more towards glass-coated bangles.. cheaper i think... She can tailor according to your budget..Starts from $30 per hand onwards... She has quite a few nice accessories set..My advice is that if your MIL and family is giving u gold bangles...keep the colored bangles simple..

Another place you can try is MKM Costume Jewellery at the main road Serangoon Road..Lots of designs to choose from..however if you need matching.. the old men in the shop do not know how to do it.. Ask for KALA who can help.. she was off today when i went.. so will be going tomoro to see if i can get the bangles settled.. a few more places i will be going to scout for bangles..will keep you guys update.

HI Chick,
How much was the trial? I tot of going for trials with Shanti, Saheli. How much does each cost? I dun have an wedding saree as yet since the AD is in Oct. ANy tips or anything I shld keep in mind for the MUA trials?

Chick - The decorator Don would be doing Deco and providing food for my sis engagement on 4 Mar. Will keep u posted.
Mi got car deco with YC.

Kayla - Mi interest to get cards from india too. Wht the total cost like if I lias everything from here?

Thanks ladies for all ur suggestions. I think i might just extend my india trip to 2 weeks so that i can collect the cards and possibly wedding favours and return to singapore. dont feel v comfortable abt asking them to send it here themselves.

was wondering abt Sam ong's mu. heard a lot of gd reviews abt him. thinking of engaging him for my reception. anyone using him as well?

Hi guys! Can't believe I've missed so many posts. OK, will try to catch up.

Sphire - re. your temple bkg, we got our dates from an astrologer at Sree Maha Mariamman. And then we made a deposit with the temple staff for one of the dates he suggested. This was done last year in Oct. If the temple you want says their 2008 calendar is not ready yet and they aren't "open" for booking, you cld ask if you can make a reservation so tht they can hold the date for you?

Chick - The photoshoot gown I have in mind is also a bustier, a-line/princess cut, with lace and beadwork on bustier and the ends of the gown. The train has a lace trimming. It has a traditional look to it which is what really grabbed me. The short mini was something I was toying for the banquet. But I don't think I'll go with it lah. ;)

Re. bangle ceremony, I think a saree or lengha is fine but a punjabi suit might be a bit too informal.

Re. wedding car decor, are you renting your car? Does the car rental place have tie-ups with florists who do wedding decor? Some do. I won't be DIY-ing because I don't think I trust any of my relatives or mates to be that creative. ;)

Re. Shanti, sorry to hear the trial didn't turn out the way you wanted. Did you tell Shanti that you wanted your eyes to be the focus? I'm exactly like you though, I love playing up the eyes. So now I'm a little apprehensive. Do you mind sharing your trial pics? I'm at [email protected]

Re. ROM pics, sorry dear, I'm still waiting too. Every morning I wake up and switch on my phone, hoping to get an sms from PG but dun have. It should be out in the next few days I reckon. Don't worry, will keep you all posted, k.

SK - I know this is late cos you're prob on the plane now but here's hoping you'll pick up more great finds in India!! Btw, just wondering if you managed to call Mas from MAC to ask abt her rates. If you have, can share?

Piggy & Kayla - Can I ask where you guys tailored your saree blouses? How was the service and workmanship? Is it sarees with stonework or pattu sarees? How long do they take? I should think about getting mine tailored soon.

Joelle - Wow, really impressed with your progress and updates!! Re. furniture, have you tried Barang Barang? It's dark wood, and the design is sort of between contemporary and Balinese.

Re. your MU trials, if you took some photos, do you mind sharing them with me?

Rania - Does Shereen of Saheli provide the "temple jewellery" set for South Indian make-up as well? Does this include the netti thing that comes down to the forehead? And does her trial include hairstyling?

OK, now here's my update (which really isn't much because I've been busy trying to get new pots and pans and other home stuff to ship over and also trying to get my supplementary form for visa application fixed up).

Went to Stylemart to pick up the hubs' tailor-made Sherwani. It looks good but I don't like the shawl. It's an offwhite raw silk sherwani with olive green and copper-coloured beadwork down the middle so they paired it off with an offwhite shawl. Duh!! It was like there was no contrast at all but they were trying to tell me that it looked regal. I didn't see it. So I asked if there were any other shawls that I could replace it with and they said they'd have to order it from India. They also charge $50 for an additional shawl (if I were to end up taking BOTH the offwhite one and the new one). I was undecided so I went to Tekka. They had shawls for $15!! Well, I'm going to try to get that shawl at Stylemart replaced with a new one at no cost or refunded. Otherwise, I know Tekka is an option.

Btw, is anyone getting/printing your invitation cards from Singapore? Everyone seems to be doing it overseas leh. If you're doing in SG, which shop are you going with?

There is a shop just next to Madras Woodlands (opposite Gokul) but it has no name and most times it's closed. So not sure how to go there for a browse. Anyone knows?

Hi gals, seems like things are heating up here yah..Kool..Thanks for the replies to my qns...

Joelle - I'm impressed! You know more than a lot of the Indian brides :-) Thanks for the tip on MU trial. Guess i should have asked to put the jewellery on, matched it against my sari etc. Hey can you share where in Malaysia you did your cards?

My car deco from Z'wedding will be used for my church wedding, so i'll need something for the temple wedding..Good idea to check with temple decorator..

Angelic - Trial with Shanthi is $80, but if you take her package, its waived off. The pointers mentioned by Joelle are great!

Sphire - Thanks, do keep me posted on Don. Guess the other decorator contact we got is Kuna, who i'll be meeting up with soon.

Rany - Long time no hear. Welcome back. Yeah i was really disappointed with the eyes, but Shanthi said eyes are her expertise, so she doesnt take comments..something along those lines. Hey u know what, i think the whole trial thing is very subjective, you need to ask the right questions, have your sari etc. Think i didnt ask the right questions, neither was i prepared. Like Joelle said, good to ask her to put the set on you. Sorry i din take a pic..

Hey gal, how much does the sherwani at stylemart cost? Also, we are going Malaysia to do our cards, probably one of the weekends.

Hi Chick,
Mr Don is charging me about $2500 for the decor, food(for 150 pax) and car(for wedding & reception with decor).

As for my wedding cards, they came up to 55,000 Rupees for 500 cards...they are very pricey for wedding cards. they came up to this cost because the cards are very big and we added some details like bells, stones and extra slips etc...my wedding card is made of orange and maroon colours. The orange material had to be ordered from somewhere else before the printing could commence. then I had to pay $5 per kg to my fren's dad so that he could bring over the cards.

Hi Rany,
I usually get my saree blouses tailored at Venkat Tailor at Blk 672 #01-26, Chandar Road. Venkat used to be the in-house tailor at Nalli's. His wife will take all the measurements and he even stitches punjabi suits.His workmanship is very good and he gives alot of useful comments...I gave him about 10 sarees to tailor for me just for the wedding functions...

As for me, I just finished giving out the house-to-house invitations...going to start posting some of the cards soon.

Rany - Hey gal. Log time no see...kekekeke. Jus called up Tank Rd Temple again. Someone told mi call bk in Sept. Cannot make advance bookin or reservation. FED UP!!!

Chick - Missed ur post on Shanti's trial. Ooops!! I've confirmed her without goin trial. PANIC!!
Try talkin to Z'Wedding to throw in another car deco. Try to ask for FOC cos car decos are always reusable. They are not gonna provide u with a brand new deco. If cannot then 'BO PIAN' talk abt charges. My BS is providing 2 car deco for mi. So 1 for banquet and 1 for temple wedding.

Everyone here is so hardworking...hehehe
I don't have my wedding saree as I've not bought it yet. Can I bring just a normal formal saree for the trial??
FYI, my temple decorater is also Kuna. My friends say he's gd & his packages are gd value.

Hey Kayla... which part of india were your cards from? I'm going to dehli next week, don't know any card shops. Can anyone recommend any? P/S: your card sounds lovely...

kayla: ur card sounds so beautful and unique!!i really love the cards in india but im still not sure if i will be able to make the trip down. havent sourced out for cards here yet but personally prefer stuff from india. its so much nicer with wider variety!

anyone knows any indian shops here offering nice indianised wedding favours? or will i be able to find any in malaysia?

Gals..this thread very active today..seems like everyone's got post-holiday blues..haha

Kayla - wow, yr card sounds gorgeous..you must be excited...wedding's coming soon :-))

Angelic gal - mind sharing the packages from Kuna?

Sphire - dun stress, why not go for trial? Actually if you confirm her, your trial fee is waived. She's a very nice and chatty person. She did say my MU on the day would be heavier and more sparkly powder etc..Really think the experience varies from individual...Btw, i was at Tank Rd temple on Monday, it took us more than 2+ hours just to make payment for the hall. Lucky for us is that we managed to change to morning wedding cos the couple who booked before us cancelled. Why dun u go down personally? Am not sure if thats what my FMIL did...and thought we did book a while ago..

Chick - Cld u rem when u booked the hall? Hopin to confirm the hall knowing Tank Rd is hot cake. Wish I cld jus go down personally and beat the system. Dont want to bring PIL and end up not bookin.

Hi gals...
My Engagement and ROM is gonna be this year...Gonna be held in a CC...looking at t place worry me cos of its super high celling..worried it will look plain...is there any good deco person to recommend?

Chick- I've not met with Kuna yet but I know he's the temple's official wedding hall decorater. He does deco for other temples too. My friends took their packages thru him before & said that he's good. Not the type who force you to take too many services. He can also advise on food quantity. My wedding is in Oct so I'll meet maybe in April onwards.

Hi Rajesh: Vanan from Mayura is really good. have seen some of his works before. looks v nice n classy. price might be a lil steep but im sure they will customise sthg acc to wat u need.

Hi Lisa...I will only require for deco only...cos the food will be ordered outside...is there a necessary to order their food?any contact no 4 them?..thanks..

Hi Kismet,
My cards are from Menaka Cards and thats in Chennai dear...But i think the cards in Dehli are more colourful and unique.

Yes dearies, i am excited and nervous at the same time. My hubby's family are coming on different days so that means that i have to be at the airport every other day! Gotta do my facials and pedi & Mani before they come...
Plus, after the wedding, they want to go on a short trip to Maldives and they want me & my hubby along...That would be nice but i have to make all the bookings...Quite stressful at the moment...Have to start working on my visa and air ticket. Sigh...

Rejeshwary, r u booking any entertainment company who provide emcee, sound system, DJ etc? Sometimes they do deco too. My bf has a muslim friend who does this sort of thing. I can ask him if u want.

Hi Rany, I have yet to get my saree blouses sticthed. Actually have tailored in india the one tat i'm wearing for one of the many events during the wedding. As for the rest i think i'll take my time as and when i need i'll get it sticthed. You can try Selegie Centre i think...the black building at the corner near Rex. Go to Dana on the 2nd level they sell material and the sister does the tailoring arrangement (just next door).

Hi Sphire,
Sounds more like a nightmare to me...hehehe...But it will be a good way to relax after the hectic wedding! Don think i would come outta the hotel room. will be catching up on much needed sleep....Honeymoon will be after going back to the UK.