Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Kayla,

I am currently in toronto with my FH. We have a house in the west end of central london ( Kensington). I am not sure if I will be moving to London after the wedding cos my FH is still undecided where he wants to live. We have homes in Toronto , London and Paris so its possible that I might end up in London afterall.

Honeymoon! My renovation budget seems to have exceeded and is currently eatin into the amount we set aside for honeymoon. boo hoo! At first we wanted to take a romantic cruise coz we both have not been on a cruise b4. But after watchin Poseidon early this yr i changed my mind haha. We are now thinking about Gold coast. If our budget for reno really exceeds we will juz go somewhere in asia.. like a nice romantic resort. Friends recommended langkawi or bali etc

What about the rest of u girls??

Mabel,

I remember you are moving to London after your wedding. Where in London will you be staying and have you guys found your love nest?

Shantair and Kayla:
My fiance's home is in SURREY too...in Sutton to be exact. But I will be in Uni in Southampton so we are getting a place there as well. We will both be commuting ALOT for the next 3 years by the looks of things but no choice.....some sacrifice for my degree must be made.
Its a good thing I have already gotten my visa sorted out before all this heathrow fiasco started.
But that said, my FIL flew from London to Australia via Singapore yesterday and is facing no delay.
Hey...maybe the uk branch of the singapore brides forum should meet up when we all are there!
Hahahah

Sphire, i was on friendster yesterday and i saw your pic taken at the office..realised you looked chindian?? Are you??
It's great that you've got all your wedding plans on schedule.

SK, sure, i'll mail you my wedding pics....

Dear Mabel & Kayla,

It would be fun to meet up with both you gals while we all are in London. Perhaps we could arrange something in the future.

By the way Mabel , have you planned on a honeymoon?

Kayla - Sorry dear for the delay. Hv mailed u shanti's contact.

Shantair - Honeymoon is not in the agenda yet. Got to settle hse first. Probably somewhere nearer.

Holly - kekeke.. yes I m. My mum Chinese and dad also a chindian. Kinda rojak.

My plans changed.
VG - Forest is already booked on my day..
. Got to make appt with Yappie*. My MC rec an indian VG. Got to check him out as well.
PG - Meeting up with Edmund tis evening. Hopefully it turns out well.
MUA - Rescheduled appt with LOOKS to 20th Aug.
BS - Goin to YC on the 26th instead.
MC & DJ - Will be taking Stage4 Pro. Havnt talked abt package yet. Know the MC for abt 8yrs. Like his style.

Hi gals, how's everyone doing? Sorry been MIA, travelling for work..Warm welcome to all the newbies...

Wow Sphire..you are advanced in your planning, thats good gal..Can share the details on VG please? Also MC and DJ? Hope u dun mind...

As for honeymoon, FH wants to go Turkey, Egypt or Greece..Anyone been to those places before? Any comments? Me actually prefer Paris or Italy - more romantic, more shopping..hehe, but FH doesnt travel for work like i do, so i'll go along with what he prefers...

Rany - guess yr fiance is in town already..Hope u hvg fun gal n get to squeeze as many wedding decisions as possible :-))

Hi Sphire,
Thanks for Shanti's contact no.

I haven done anything over the weekend...been hanging out with my frens and they are sort that dont believe in marriage and stuff like that...Such Demotivators man!!! Actually the honeymoon was the first thing that i tot about when my FH and i talked abt our wedding plans...hehe...We made a deal that i will plan for the wedding while he plans for a superb honeymoon! So guess i don have to worry abt that for the time being.He wants to see more of Asia and i want to see more of Europe so we have to either compromise on 2 locations or on a halfway mark...But i have Greece in mind too...think honeymoon location depends on the climate in that particular continent,one's preferences and time factor etc.

Hi Shantair & Mabel,
Ya we should meet up once we move to london...Keep in touch ok. My email add is [email protected] i probably be working once i get there since i have already finished my degree from NUS. So freaked out man when i think abt settling in all aspects of my life after the wedding.

How come none of you din consider doing your photoshoot at a bridal studio in JB? Is there something that i should be aware of???!!!! PLus For those who have already done their photoshoot, did u wear any traditional indian costumes? PLease share...

Hi Kayla, guess the reason why i din consider JB is that its a bit leceh to go in and out of JB..also, are the savings really a lot? Cos i think u can get some pretty reasonable photoshoot packages in SG...

On the positive side, i heard the scenery is good..As for me, i dun think i'll b wearing indian costume for the photoshoot..cos i'll have the AD pics of me in a sari anyway...

Btw..u must have some ultra-feminist frens :-) Either that or they jus havent met their life partners...

Hey Sphire...pls share yr experience with edmund leong k...Thanks..

Chick - Edmund photography was good and his editing is superb. Somehow he raised his concern abt too colourful weddings. Indian weddings/ banquets are always colourful with the decor and sarees. Edmund said that too many colours cause distraction and told us to go for B&W pics. My FH is kinda relutant. Trying to arrange a meet up with Sam Wong. Somehow still prefer Edmund.

DJ & MC.. not sure if he officially does wedding banquets. Stage4 currently play on major events of Vasantham Central and corporate functions. Known tis guy since he started off in small scale. Jus becos we know him, he's not givin us any discount. He quoted us $2K for elaborate event. Told my FH to try reduce price. But tis guy is really good in getting the crowd involve.

Kayla - Mi initially thot of taking JB BS. FH was against. He said troublesome. Saw 1 of my friend who took up JB. Din like the shoots at all. Thts y end up taking in SG. But u do save a lot.. half the price.

hi Ladies,
Ya i agree with you that having the photoshoot at JB would be quite troublesome...Actually when i went to the bridal shops there, the first thing i asked is to see photos of indian couples. Some were very nice while other photos were screwed up cos the make-up and choice of gowns...Packages in singapore are quite expensive plus most of them dont do indian costumes like Sari, Lengkha etc...By the way, does Shanti have her own shop or is she a freelance MUA? Anyone knows of any place to rent lenghas together with ornaments? Thanks dearies...

Kayla - Sorry din add tis in. Havent taken PS... but will be wearing indian saree and lengah for PS. It wont be so eleborate as the temple one la. More to simple look.

kayla: actually one of my malay friends took a phto package where they rented out lenghas as well...if im not wrong many of the malay bridal studios offer photo packages with lenghas...indian ones in teka they might too but ive seen that theie makeup and photos do not really turn out that nice..

Hi Infinite,

Ya i went to a few studios at Joo Chiat Complex...Their costumes are OK but their makeup is over the top...they use alot of shading!!! very dramatic and can totally change the way one looks...I went to Creative studio along the Stylemart lane. Their makeup and photography are very contemporary but their costumes are bit old-looking. They don seem to have a variety of ornaments. Sigh...guess i will spend another couple of weeks scouting...

Sphire..Thanks for the info on Edmund. Me jus started looking at PG n VG. Realised there's like 8 brides getting married same day as me just from the forum so i gotta step on it. U considering Christopher Tay from HILO for VG? Seems like not bad..Did he ask u to take all shots in B&W? Wouldnt he be able to mix both B&W and color? I'd want both...

Kayla - Shanti is freelance, she doesnt have a shop but she did say could go down to Stylemart to look at the pics..

why don't u just have modern gowns for the photoshoot and in this way u have much more options...then since u will be wearing lengha/sari for the actual events u will have ample photos in that...cos frankly the chinese bridal studios are pretty good even for our skin tones...compared to indian and malay mua who tend to overdo it...oh ya and some bridal studios have two piece attires with shawl which looks like a lengha also

Kayla - Checkout LOOKS dear. Although its an north indian family business, their photographer is a chinese. Quite mordern compared to many indian bridals.

Chick - Edmund din really say that all will be B&W. He did encourage us to go for B&W as colours would confuse the pics. We r considering jus 4R package. so B&W wont standout much unless goin for the collage coffee table albums. Havent hear of HILO. Whts his price range like? Looking at abt $500 to $600 for 6hrs. Any webby?

Hi Sphire..Christopher Tay from HILO is v popular in the June07 thread. Think that his pricing is around that range...Check it out ya

hiloproduction.com

hi girls! wow so many posts..im confused haha.

Do u girls know any place which rents out really nice Sherwani? My FH feels that its a waste of money to spend so much for somethin he will only wear once at the same time he loves Stylemart's men's wear. Some were really unique. I spent a lot on my lengha at stylemart but he is still contemplating.

Chick- i've been to Turkey before. I loved it coz I went in autumn and that was my first 'autumn experieince' n it snowed! haha.. N i loveeee historical places and went to many over there. so i really had a great time. I visited many roman ruins, the Last Home of Virgin Mary.. Nature sights were good too. I went to a few parts of Turkey and bought many exotic lookin accessories. There is this bazaar with 5000 or 500 shops..i cant exactly remember coz it was some years ago. :-)

just to clarify...LOOKS and Creative studio both offer indian and western costumes and are located along the stylemart lane?

In a typical sikh wedding, there are many ceremonies before the actual wedding day. They usually go as follows (or rather i plan to have them in the following order):

1) Oil ceremony (this is wear ladies apply a mix of tumeric paste on my face, arms and legs and oil in my hair)
2) Mehendi(Henna) ceremony
3) Bangle ceremony
4) Sangeet (a song n dance party)
5) Actual wedding day (21st July)
6) Dinner reception (22nd July)

Was thinking whether i should incorporate a certain theme like maybe for the sangeet, have all invited guests come wearing a specific colour or dressed inspired by a bollywood movie like 'Devdas' etc, just to make things a little interesting...Am i crazy to think this?

What ceremonies are you gals incorporating?

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet Date</TD><TD>Banquet Loc</TD><TD>Banquet PG</TD><TD>Banquet VG</TD><TD>Banquet MUA</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Wedding Loc</TD><TD>Wedding PG</TD><TD>Wedding VG</TD><TD>Wedding MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah</TD><TD>28/11/06</TD><TD>Pines</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD>25/11/06</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chick77</TD><TD>30/06/07</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>17/06/07</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Z’Wedding </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>22/07/07</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>21/07/07</TD><TD> Sikh Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rany</TD><TD>01/09/07</TD><TD>Vansh(tbc)</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho(tbc)</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>01/09/07</TD><TD>Yishun Temple(tbc)</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho(tbc)</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sphire</TD><TD>08/09/07</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>08/03/08</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</td></tr></table>

SK - Wow.. North Indian weddings are always so grand and nice. I like the sangeet part. Southern dont hv it..
. Ask ppl to dance sure get scolded one.

LOOKS BS is jus beside stylemart. LOOKS palour is at the start of the stretch.

hi sphire,

i'm sure southern weddings can be grand too...btw, is it just my eyes playing tricks on me or is your wedding banquet happening before your wedding date?

hI Ladies,
How have u all been?...Sorry i have been busy with work and all that wedding preparations had to take a backseat for a while...

Hi Holly,
U know i was reading the previous threads...and i came across your recommendations for expressively Jo*o...so i went to their website and saw your wedding photos...Very gorgeous dear!!! U have a beautiful smile...Hopefully they are yrs or else i have been admiring the wrong person...

U know u guys have made the right decision abt choosing a non-indian to do the wedding photography...somemore the photos have turned out to be very candid and contemporary. The mood and ambience are captured very well in the pictures.Unlike the usual indian wedding photos...u know with the families standing around the couple on the stage. It seems all too artificial...But what about for the traditional wedding? Only indian photographers know the importance of the ceremonies...Do anyone of u know of any chinese photographers who have experience in doing traditional weddings? Thanks dearies...

Hi Kayla

My package is $3K... but its a promotional price during a bridal show. Not sure whts their actual price. They could hv a diiferent package with similar price or lower. U cn check them out.

Thinking of taking non-indian PG for banquet. FH said expensive..
(. Donno la. Sian. Will be goin for an indian PG for my temple wedding.

Thanks Sphire for your reply...Ya i was thinking along the same line as u...take an indian PG for the Wedding and a chinese PG for the reception. Then both albums will look different in terms of the photography style. But do the Chinese PG always develop the photos in B&amp;W? Can we ask them for a balance of both? Hey can u add me to the Wedding template that u have created? Hehehe...The only thing is i have confirmed so far is that the traditional wedding will be on the 11th of april 2007 at South Bridge Road temple and the reception will be on the 14th of april...Thanks very much...hopefully this will motivate me to finalise the essential things and fill up the spaces in the table

Hi Sphire - I will be meeting a a few PG and VG this week. Will keep you posted. Not sure if u've heard of PG - Tommy Leong,but he quoted me $380 i think for the temple wedding and he does photojournalistic. Will b arranging to mt up with him tom, so will keep u posted. U planning on William Saravenan for temple? We mite b mtg him soon as well..

Hi Kayla, my package with Z'wedding is about 2500. So depending on what you want, you can get cheaper or more expensive packages. You can negotiate with them. My package was actually 3K, and i think we cld have reduced it even further if we had held out..

Mabel..couple more days to your wedding. Not sure if you will be coming in to the forum, but jus wanna wish u the best of luck and a blissful marriage ahead :-)

Hi Kayla

Stumbled upon this thread while finding some info. You may want to try Edmund Leong Photography, he recently did an indian traditional wedding for my friend as well, and he is familiar with the sequences and traditions.

My friend also opted for the non-black and white sets

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet Date</TD><TD>Banquet Loc</TD><TD>Banquet PG</TD><TD>Banquet VG</TD><TD>Banquet MUA</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Wedding Loc</TD><TD>Wedding PG</TD><TD>Wedding VG</TD><TD>Wedding MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah</TD><TD>28/11/06</TD><TD>Pines</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD>25/11/06</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>LOOKS</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kayla</TD><TD>14/04/07</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>11/04/07</TD><TD> Sth Bridge Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chick77</TD><TD>30/06/07</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>17/06/07</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Z’Wedding </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>22/07/07</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>21/07/07</TD><TD> Sikh Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rany</TD><TD>01/09/07</TD><TD>Vansh(tbc)</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho(tbc)</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>01/09/07</TD><TD>Yishun Temple(tbc)</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho(tbc)</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sphire</TD><TD>08/09/07</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>08/03/08</TD><TD>Loc</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</td></tr></table>

Sphire- I didnt have a VG for my rom..but my PG was Nasir. He is a full time VG. I liked the fact that he took many great candid shots, especially of sweet moments. He is gonna be the PG for my wedding as well and he will be arranging a VG for us.

Kayla - Added u in. I guess pic shd be a mix of both B&amp;W and colours. Mi going for 4R photos instead of coffee table. So thinking of goin for all colours. Depends on PG's style.

Chick - yes gal. Thinking of William for temple. Update me on Tommy. Viewed his web.. but his photos mostly poses. Mi lookin at more journalistic shots. Prob he has some under his belt. Jus update mi dear.

Hi Sarah, can email me Nasir's contact as well? [email protected].

Sphire - k will keep ya posted. Just met up with Edmund, must say i liked his work esp the fact that he will touch up till nice, nice..hehe. He's the first PG i met, so got no basis for comparison. Tomorrow i have Chris Tay for VG and Tommy Leong for PG, will see how that goes.

U noe wat i kinda like regret taking BS package. Think will hv 2 many pics leh..much rather jus get a good one for the AD...sigh..

hi everyone, 3 days left for my big day!!!
Inlaws arriving tomorrow and fiance on friday so very excited now. Have finalised nearly everything except for the few last minute things to buy. Ok ladies....will let you know how it all goes. bye for now

Chick - Me in the same boat as u. Kinda regret that I went for BS. Maybe i'll try to riggle out of it and just get WG rental. But if its goin to cost a bomb, me will jus stick to the package. Got to discuss with FH.
Mi like Edmund too. But my FH is soo against him. Sian.