ID For NEW Flat Renovation

ecclesia

Looking for ID / Contractors for New 5-Room HDB Flat Renovation - to commence asap

Appreciate good recommendation from your own renovation experience

Can check out this contractor who did my house and now doing my relative's house too.

Wing Kwang Design and Build.
Address: No:442 Lorong 3 Geylang Singapore 388912
Contact person: Eng Kwok (Hp: 96239828 )

Thanks again Jajah.

Baby_Icy Thanks, will email them, had quite a number of contractors I'm liaising with right now.

<font size="+1">I'm still looking for renovator now. Some of those IDs I emailed, never get back to me, perhaps because I'm not opting for 'mega-expensive' renovation. I'm trying to keep the renovation simple and basic, I have a young child, rather than choosing a design that I'll regret later, I'd rather keep the house looking simple, but safe for children.

And what's the point of having an expensive-designed house, only pleasing to the eye for a very shortwhile before all the damages (from children scratches or scribbles -- those who have children/toddlers would know what I mean, most of the IDs designers/salesperson these days are very young, hence, may not share the same point of view as mine).</font>

Im oso looking for a contractor. I just need to do some simple renovation such as painting the whole hse, polishing, changing of the doors and converting the toilet from squat to WC. If you do have any recommendations, pls email me @ [email protected]. thanks

Hi ling,

in this case i think a contractor's work will suffice, since it's quite simple. you can go online or just use magazines for references ba.

hope you new home will be great!

Ling, I know what you mean. During our selection process, some IDs threw in some ideas, and one of them actually proposed 2 huge chandeliers in my hall! &amp; mine's a HDB flat lor.. I know the effect could be quite stunning (maybe?) but still...

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+0">I'm still looking and sourcing now.

Thanks mich for the contacts you gave me, have yet to call.

Just met one of the so call known IDs couple of weeks back at IMM, W**ken. A total disappointment. The lady we spoke to, DT, was not very attentive, talks very fast and not really listening to our queries, so unprofessional. At the end of it, she insisted we have to sign this agreement and pay $1K for "design fee". She gave out the reason as to "avoid any argument", so absurd! Buy a cat in a bag huh? Feel so sorry of those people who got cheated off that way. This is the reason I'm really ticked off to meet these so called IDs. What a waste of time</font></font>

<font size="+0"><font color="0000ff">Hi painted nails, thanks, but the issue is that, we're renovating the whole house, hence, by engaging different contractor ourselves, we may have discrepancies here and there, given that we've not experience in this, we're not confident to take it into our hands</font></font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+0">Hi DT Renovation,

I've just called up the numbers given in your post. Joseph mentioned his English is not good, hence requested me to call Jasper. Called Jasper, but call is rejected. If you're still keen, please PM or email me at [email protected]

Thanks</font></font>

I am also sourcing for ID and contractors for my new 4room flat.
Emailed several ID firms , So far I only get 2 quotes..

My main criteria: Safety -I have 2 small kids.

Anyone who can share good IDs and Contractors contact, please let me know as well. Thank you.

Ling, that's the annoying thing! They'll insist you pay a "deposit", and it's actually to make sure you sign with them. I hate these "arm-twisting persuasion".

Just happened to chance upon this thread. I'm also renovating my place now and I have a 2.5 yr old boy and another baby on the way. Just to share, these are some of the things that I have done in my home to keep it child-friendly:

- Install sit down bathtub in toilets. A small bathtub can fit inside it with no problems.
- I use a hot water tank but the hot water pipes are hidden behind big pipes or run underneath the bathtub where possible (far away from itchy fingers)
- All cupboards have no sharp edges even though it is a laminate
- Kitchen drawers and cupboards have no horizontal bar type handles (my boy will use them as a ladder!)
- Toilet kerb is as low as possible to prevent trips
- I'm using a pvc foldable door (not bi-fold)
that folds like an accordion when you close it. won't hurt if naughty fingers are trapped in them
- Make sure all floor tiles are not too smooth. some ceramic tiles are very pretty but are super slippery if a bit damp.
- I have two rooms that join to one another. The adjoining wall in between the two rooms is rounded at the edges
- No glass doors or sliding doors in the house coz I think it's an accident waiting to happen especially with my boy

Furniture wise - my hubby and I are into old chinese antique stuff so we use rosewood furniture. It doesn't topple even if my kid stands on it as it requires a lot of strength even for an adult to move an armchair.

I'm doing my reno using a contractor and getting my wardrobes and kitchen cabinets separately from a carpenter that I've used previously. Not using any ID. If anyone needs more info, do feel free to PM me as I don't normally check this thread.

Good luck with your reno!

I just done up my house, reasonable quotation, very friendly and helpful guy. Basically very happy that we engaged him as our ID. Have recommended him to my sister also, good feedback as well. Can try contact Lawrence - 93831973 =)

Hi all, thanks so much for the replies. Appreciate that

After a few weeks searching and sourcing, we have met more than 10 IDs, quite tiring to keep repeating the same thing with each of them, we have finally shortlisted 4 IDs, based on the following:
- Reasonable Price
- Knowledgable and able to give us their professional advise
- Proof of previous work results (very important to see their quality of workmanship) -- ask to visit their existing or recently completed projects, if not, their website which consist of their portfolios

Mich, you're right, my husband just walked off from that W****n ID, really really horrible. The "Design Fee" is just a way to bind you to engage their service, regardless if you finally use them or not, the 1K is NOT refundable, what a cheat!

The 4 IDs that we have right now are good, we're having difficulties taking our final decisions right to choose one of them. 2 of them we've got by recommendation of friends who have just recently renovate their place.

Blue_Skies, thanks for the tips
but may I know how do you managed to have non-sharp edges for laminated furnitures ? And what it the different between PVC foldable with bi-fold ? (I thought they are the same ?) My parents place is using rosewood furniture as well, but we felt with the sharp edges and corners, it's not so safe for our baby.

Any recommendation for the following:

- Hob &amp; hood (shortlisted Turbo Italia, Electrolux, Bosch, Delizia) -- Turbo salesman quite persistent

- Convection Oven (LG/Bosch/Meyer) ?
- Storage Heater (Jovan/Alpha) or City Gas ? -- our current place using Ariston for a few yrs, we just changed 2 months ago due to leakage
pretty bad, as when it leaks, after a shortwhile, it developed rusts at the pipe joints

I am looking for ID for a simple renovation as well. Do you mind sharing your ID company and contact with me? Thanks

hi ling,

i am also looking for reno contractors. Mind sharing ur contacts u have shortlisted? Thanks.

For hob and Hood u wanna check out Bellari.Resonable price and reliable.
Storage heater i have been using Jovan. No problems at all coming to 6 yrs.

HiHI,

I am looking for a reno contractors for my resale 3 rm flat.. Not planning to do a Big reno but simplt touch up some areas... Anyone have contractors that dont mind doing small scale job? Pls pm at [email protected]

Hi bluemini, vivian_chen &amp; jojer

Will PM you the shortlisted contractors, I prefer not to post the names here, orelse might be complained as doing a free ads

However, I have yet to start the reno, finalizing and will sign most likely this Sunday, or latest Wednesday, but so far all their responses and prices are reasonable, which is why quite difficult to come down to one choice.

Hi Jojer,

For hob and hood, we're most likely looking at either Turbo Italia (Made in Italy) or Electrolux (one of my aunt is using for quite long)

The consideration is that:

- Turbo Italia has competitive price, and well the sales-uncle showed me the workmanship compared to Tecno or Uno. For glass top hob, the gap around the burners does matter, if water seeps in etc, for Turbo, I was quite impressed, it was more solid &amp; tight than the rest.

- Electrolux, although the sales-uncle keep insisting it's China made, but my aunt has been using this brand for quite a number of years, and so far so good.

These are the top 2 consideration though.

As for Bellari, I appreciate your recommendation, really
but saw somewhere in this forum, someone over advertise and over-praise this product, hence, not so keen..

On relative recommendation, our top consideration is City Gas, anyone has any idea how much is the total cost for installation and if we need the IDs to do further work ?

Hi g2hong, PMed you my lists, I includes those that I have considered before, but dropped them due to some reasons. Hope it helps for your sourcing info

I'm very upset today over a very RUDE email reply from one of the flooring company (QS) I am considering. The product is actually good and robust, but with this kind of attitude and services, it's just ruining the product reputation.

I'm back to considering the following:

Pergo (AC3 or AC5)
Krono (AC4)
Berry Floor (Made in Belgium)

Had others in mind too, but had to let go of the ideas as well, some of them are quite good, like Robina (looks and feels exactly like Pergo Family). Supreme floor actually quite good as well, but very very persistent salesperson, :D I'm very scared with aggresive sales people, I tends to runaway before they even finish talking

received your PM, it was really detailed, thank you so much
out of your 4 shortlisted list, i've checked out 2 but onli 1 reverted to me... we are still considering... will go and check out e rest

Hi g2hong,

Hope the list does help you in choosing one.

We're final with 1 of them already, JGH. After the annoying We***n incident, I was very very skeptical with all the IDs in IMM (JGH was at IMM but now moved to TradeHub). Furthermore, they're not the cheapest, but after meet up, the designer we're liasing with, Sam, is very sincere &amp; honest. He also able to come up with ideas &amp; advices we were not aware of. We've got him from a friend who has just done up his reno, went to his place and impressed with the results. They're a bit slow in responding, but leave a message, he usually revert back. When we first met, we only told him some ideas, the quotation he sent, not only a 2D layout design, it came along with a hand-drawn 3D perspective of 2 areas, which looks really nice. If there are prices that you think too high, you may highlight to him and he'll try to revise, if couldn't he'd suggest a different design that use less materials but still look as nice, we told him upfront that we have quite a tight budget for the reno, but so far we're happy with his suggestions and ideas. Although JGH from what I read (in RT forum) is more of a contractor, we're pleased that he can proposed design ideas that suit our needs.

The other one, IDL, was the other top consideration, as the price is very very attractive, the guy we're liaising with is the boss, hence, the price is very very flexible, but he's more of a contractor, so you have to tell him cun-cun exactly what you want and need, very good for small or simple renovation. The quality also pretty good, we saw it at our neighbours' place who has engaged him several times for his parents, brother, sister in law.

But, we decided on JGH, as we do like his designs, and how Sam can workaround the ideas to suit our budget without compromising the quality. We've confident in him as we have seen the end product at our friend's house

<font color="0000ff">Just my two cents, know what you want to do with the renovation, be it small or a major one. Then do a bit of a research on the pricing, Googled, read forum, etc. A quotation is no-obligation one, you have the right to ask them to send to you, for our case, if the ID refuse to give us a rough quotation, we won't consider them no matter how great ppl say they are (don't buy a cat in the bag, renovation is not a matter of buying a candy). Upon seeing the quotation, don't fret when you're quoted very high, put yourself in their shoe, you would want to make the highest profit if possible. But you can always share with them that you have other quotation of a better price, or you saw a direct supplier selling at a cheaper price -- of course, be reasonable &amp; honest with the price. If they're sincere and keen on getting your business, they WILL try their best to revise for you. Even if they couldn't (restricted by their company), they'd try to compensate the difference with other FOC items

Happy hunting

**Now we've found the ID, next headache, looking for the appliances &amp; furniture ..

Hi peeps, I am also looking for ID for my new love nest in Punggolo Springs. Would love any suggestions!
Dear Ling, I have tried to PM you but ur profile does not allow PMs. Can you PM me your shortlist if possible? Many thanks!

u can consider U-home. Ideas fantastic and unique. Service i find them quite good, more friendly than Sxx Cxxxxxxn. U can go down to their showroom to take a look too.

Hi Ling, g2hong, can share ur ID shortlist please? trying to source for IDs early though our condo only TOP later tis year. We have a baby who is barely 1 yr old, hence I appreciate all ur kids-friendly tips Ling! Thanks in advance. =)

Hi Ling,I'm seeking for the ID contractor and my situation is exactly same as yours. Could you PM yourID shortlist to me? I'm urgent for fast reno and move in.

Hi anxiouslady, Serene, matchsticks &amp; Molly, I've PMed you.

My reno will start after CNY.

matchsticks, my reno are quite simple &amp; basic, all the rooms I'm leaving them untouched. Here are some of my considerations:

- Laminate floorings for all rooms: better scratch resistance compared to parquet (my baby likes to drag &amp; push toys &amp; other things around the house), not as cold as tiles (esp in rainy days)
- All internal walls to be painted with Easywash (it's a must, after looking at my nephew's room and the colourful walls with crayon's drawing..)

Hi all home owners ,

I would like to share with everyone the shocking experience we went through after we engaged UniXXX CreatXXX.

In my opinion, they are a company very professional in packaging and luring customers to sign up with them. They will emphasized on their achievements “case trustâ€, “prestige award winner†and “8 years warranty†; so customers will tend to believe that they are a honest and trustworthy company which will provide top notch workmanship and services.

However, all these are proven untrue after our first payment made. Our Reno is a tedious and painful one , it took us more then 4 months to complete where in the first place the ID promised us a 6 weeks completion period. What make it worst, after the last item installed, they will pressed us for final payment even though cleaning and touch up work not done. I'm ignorant to believe their "8 years warranty" and did the last payment. After that, whole team “disappeared†and never attend to my calls or do any follow up! I have contacted their office many times and only received delays and excuses. Can you imagine, we are forced to move in and do our own cleaning and live with all those defects unattended by them.

To all who have engaged their services. Do penned down everything in black and white right to the very details. For those who have the intention, better play safe then sorry, there are many more better ones out there.

We sincerely hope others don’t have to go through what we have suffered and I wish all of you the best of luck.

Hi Victor (and all others who has PMed me but yet to receive a reply), I have been tight up with my family matter at the moment, therefore, my apologies.

Anyway, the ID we have chosen for our renovation was Joo Guan Huat, the ID is Sam, he is extremely nice and very responsible too.

We have moved in since April this year, and so far so good.

The only one thing I would have changed, was the City Gas Heater, such a flop and very irritating. I strongly suggest to forget using City Gas, especially for family with young children or elderly.

I'm looking for a good instant water heater now, anyone can give me any suggestion ?

Just thought i should share...

Have a good ID/contractor to recommend. They do good quality works. Interested, do call the Project Manager, Thomas Koh @ 9864 5566.