Hong Kong: Where to Shop?

heh heh...hkg is never sian for me be it how many times..

The truth is I never get bored with shopping heh...

orh...I usually can sleep on flight..or read a book..

than you charter private plane lah! got full entertainment on board with handsome stewards onboard to do strip shows for you..

*scram*

i find SQ flight very entertaining.
can watch very updated movie and play so many games somemore. i dont even have time to sleep when i went HK.

hi cat,

the mall in kowloon tong should be called festival walk.

for those of u who wanna buy cheap clothes, can try a chain called 'in fashion' (can't remember the exact name), it's sort of 'this fashion' in sg but much cheaper (around HK$30-50 for summer wear) n with nicer designs, a lot tourists shop there. they have branches in wanchai, causeway bay, mongkok, etc.

n for those who wanna get cosmetics/ skin care products, can take a look at 'bonjour', it's cheaper than sasa (cuz sasa is now moving more upmarket) n with more varieties. u can find bonjour everywhere in both hk n kowloon sides, n even in new territories.

sassy bride ok..thanks..

This time hitting hkg for working clothes and some other stuff for wedding..heh heh...

LPH, I not so atas lah..heh...go by CX or UA...

Dear CAT and ALL,

Tks for your info, Will look though it later

I am staying in Hoilday Inn in HK, Do you know of any good shoppings around there.

Me prefer clothings and stuffs like those in our CK TANGS / ISETAN / Zara / Mango

Maxxx

Holiday Inn..izit holiday Inn Golden mile at nathan road at Tsim Sha Tsui?

They have G2000 and U2 at the area at the nathan belt...(near granville road).

There is also shopping centre near miramar hotel.

There is no way without walking in HKG...you proberbly got to do abit of walking around to search for shoppping centres.

There is also times square at hkg island..but to travel all the way there I rather get some unique designs that SIN dun have..

Happy shopping ans checking out!

hey cat,

u wanna get working clothes, do u need suits then??? cuz i do think suits in hk r much nicer, with better cutting n design. u can try cour carre n stage of playlord. a lot big 4 auditors get their suits there. for cheaper choice, other than G2000, there's also mastina.

golden plaza in prince edward (MTR prince edward station, C1 exit) will be the best place to go for wedding stuff.

sassy..yah..I know about mastina..my trips to hkg I never missed out this brand. *wink*

There is also bess / Theme over there..which sells working clothes...but theit style are sesonal...must go see if nice anot.

btw..i not getting suits for my fiance..I am buying majority things for myself..haa..maybe 1 or 2 piece loong sleeve shirts for him lor

I got mastina location-just passed to my SIL cos she needs it ie she going first in June..I going July..

can anyone pls recommend a good & cheap travel agent to me 4 HK tour? I'm gog in the june period & so far, the quotes i got aren't tat cheap..
Thks in advance, everyone!

Try namho if they still have the natas rate extended.

My SIL booked June dep on SQ 5Days/4Nights Kimberley hotel for 700 plus inclusive of taxes.

But think earliest flight out is full, only the next flight is available.

namho 6221 8433

My package is with jetabout on CX earliest flight out and return on the last flight 4Days/3nights at shamrock - $646 inclusive taxes. natas rate was extended to me after the fair.

jetabout 6734 1818

hi hippie,

june prices are not cheap in the first place..

1) asia euro or euro asia (cant remember but there is one at peace centre).

Hi CAT,

BINGO! that's the hotel u said.

G2000 & U2 S'pore also hv (i will not shop there)

U mentioned UNIQUE DESIGNS at times square at hkg island - is it WORTH travelling there???

If not, where to find the unique designs???

Mastina / Wink any shop near nathan road at Tsim Sha Tsui?

maxx..the information with my SIL...there is I am sure think maybe you got to walk around...there is this brand "very" also quite nice office wear..

times square....i dun shop there...the last time i went there was many years back.

USUAL stops every year to hkg is around pedders street and kowloon side...;p

hey cat, $700+ is quite alright wif me... tink i will go & call them, thks 4 the contact..

Missy, i got no choice leh cos hubbi is claiming his krisflyer ticket (his points will expire in june) so no choice loh...

No problem..hippie..my SIL have to travel also in june no choice..she teaching have to go during school holidays.

*wink*

Come back report on any good outlets and take "namecards"!

hi Cat, just wan to clarify, is teh espirt Wh addy posted up there the same e as:

G/F kai seng commercial centre,
4-6 hancow road,
TST, kowloon

This add i got fm another thread... a bit lost as its the 1t time im gg to HK and wld like to go to espirt WH. Thanks....

Cookie..they always change their warehouse..

Last March I went it's near kowloon hotel..which is behind peninsula hotel.

Just ask around and walk around..you can't miss it cos ut's near nathan road BELT.

yup i certainly hope i can get gd rates, dun wan 2 spend a bomb on airtix & hotels..
I actually went b4 in june a few yrs back & I rem haulin back quite a few gd deals. So sales or no sales, still quite ok with me

Babe hippie summer sales will have more variety of clothes for our weather wear...I went there in autumn before can still grab nice stuff but it's not as good as the past summer sales Ilah!..

Anyhow...hkg is fun! Got makan got belanja...heh heh
Go grab your tiks now!

Hi CAT and all,

You mentioned the pedders street and kowloon side - are they at Tsim Sha Tsui?

And nathan road belt at Tsim Sha Tsui?

Is it all/good shoppings is at

1) Tsim Sha Tsui?
2) Causeway Bay?

Is

1) Ladies street in Jordon MTR station
2) Standly Mkt in Admiralty MTR station

Any other MTR station worth going to for shops

I'm going to HK next week(free & easy). Any places to recommend? But i'll be staying in HK island near the convention center. Dunno where to go.

i'm now checking on the prices, min. $800++ wow lao, piangz man... cos i'm gog as single so price alittle high...

Maxx,

pedders street/Li yuen St/ is in hongkong island alight central station MTR

when i say kowloon side it means shops at tsim sha tsui/jordan and mongkok area ie. NATHAN BELT(I shop there during my trips)

ladies market alight at mongkok station

suggest you get a hkg map so you will be in clearer picture.

Causeway bay got shopping centres like causeway bay plaza I and II, sino plaza, soundwill plaza, times square etc etc (I dun get my stuff from there)

piggytinky, please read my earlier postings.
From your MTR which is wanchai either way-
1 stop can get you to central or causeway bay station..plenty of shopping centres...!!

Wanchai has got a Tai you shopping centre apologies..I can't comment on the clothings there cos I dun shop there...Try Central or causewaybay..

hippie now if booked may have high season surcharge. btw, wht not go for 3 star hotel, maybe the rate lower.

Have you checked with jetabout? Yah...1 person usually that price leh.

Maxxx,

if u wanna go stanley market, can take a bus (no.6, 260) from exchange square in central.

or take a minibus (no. 40) from tang lung street at causeway bay.

or u can take a cab there! ^_^

as what cat said, grab a map of hk n ask around, shouldn't be any problem getting there.

for shopping, i'd say the cheapest things r in small shopping centres in neighbourhood areas, but i'm sure u won't be very keen on going. it's just like a tourist in sg, would he/ she go to bedok for shopping?

there's also one ladies street in causeway bay, but much smaller than the one in mongkok. it's next to causeway bay mtr station F exit.

if u r looking for more upmarket and special design, maybe u can try lane crawford in times square, a lot hk celebrities shop there. no kidding, i've bumped into tony leung, andy lau n even dick lee in times square.

pacific place in admiralty mtr station is another choice. there's seibu (a dept store from japan), u can find brands which r not available in sg.

pinkytinky,

there r some shops along johnston road in wanchai (where convention centre is) selling factory rejects (but the quality is in fact quite good), not branded stuff but worth having a look cuz it's really cheap, u can get a top as cheap as HK$30.

cat, Actually i'm lookin at single pkg is becos hubby is claimin his krisflyer miles 4 the tix so i oni nid 2 bk my pkg.. And i chk oredi, jetabout is not cheap either. I'm lookin at 3 stars oso.. no point stayin in such a gd hotel as we will be out most of the time. Anyway will be gog down to People's park tis weekend 2 enquire. Hopefully can get a better rate.

Hi CAT and Sassy bride,

Many thanks for your enlightenment.

Will definitely get a HK map at the airport... there have right?

BTW heard of a ' san yue ' and Sogo shopping centre
Are they in Tsim Sha Tsui or Causeway Bay???

maxxx,

no more 'san yue' (mitsukoshi, japan dept store), it used to be in causeway bay but closed down few yrs back.

sogo is in causeway bay as well. causeway bay mtr D exit.

there r still a lot upmarket malls like landmark in central, where u can find the new LV flagship store. the boutique itself is already gorgeous alluring! very nicely designed.

piggytinky,

for ROM dress, can try Island beverley (just opposite to sogo, causeway bay mtr D exit). i know a lot sg gals get their party dress there.

thanks cat!...

btw my f n e package comes wif a free half day tour to victorai by, vishing village, aberdeen etc...has anyone took this half day tour b4? any comments? is it worth the time? please advise..thanks

oh ya n is e luggage cheap over der?

Cookie..I never go for any tours at all...I hit for the shopping areas!

never buy luggage..usually check in an empty lugagge with a hand carrier bag with day clothings ans toiletries.

Some shopping centres may have discount on bags...you have to check yourself. bring a calculator for conversion!

c00kiemonster: yeah i went before. The so called half day tour lasted from early morning til abt 4+ to 5pm. Just take note that in this tour, 1st payment is the tour guide tips, 2nd is the expenses for the free tour (breakfast, lunch, snacks, etc., 3rd payment is the photo shots which is optional) But if you have at least 4D3N or more at HK, you can consider taking it up if this is your first time to HK. At least it saves u some time in travelling and you get to see more things too. They have additional night tour but must pay $$$ too.. everything is $$$. So prepare to fork out money for guided tour.

Nowadays tour only bring you up to mid victoria peak fyi.

hippie: if you can, try to go after july 1. HK Sales start only after july 1. You would missed out alot...
If you want self booked hotel, i would recommend Prudential Hotel, its popular among singaporeans cos its cheap and just above the MTR station. Convenient access.

yanling, I wld love to go 4 the sale BUT unfortunately, my hubby's kris flyer miles wld hav expired by then so no choice loh. Yup I stayed in prudential b4, it was indeed very convenient. But its one of the more expensive hotels too...

Will be going to HK next mth. Saw once on channel 8 programme where Patricia Mok was the shopping queen... she introduced a shop where you can design your own watch, looks so interesting, anyone knows where it is?

This is my 4th time to HK but I'm still excited as it's my first time bringing my daughter along. How shd I go and take my tram ride up to the Peak? Where is the tram station? And where is festival walk? Very nice clothes?

Hi sassy bride, is there a Mastina along Nathan Rd? I bought a nice top there on my first visit to HK many years back, vaguely remember it's along Nathan Rd. Not sure if it's still there now or any other branches? I like their suits too!

hey bluesea,

if it's not too hot, i'll suggest u to walk to the peak tram station from central MTR. cuz u can take a picture of st. john's cathedral which is located on the way to the station n it's the oldest cathedral in hk, one of the heritage, very grand! if not, can take a bus (no. 15C) from star ferry pier in central.

festival walk is in kowloon tong, just alight at kowloon tong mtr station. it's a very big shopping mall but u can find the shops there somewhere else.

yes, there's mastina along nathan road, it's at the parklane shopper's boulevard or if u go to mongkok, u can also find mastina in langham place (the latest shopping mall in mongkok)

maxxx,

i'm so sorry, mixed up 'san yue' (mitsukoshi) with another japanese dept store. mitsukoshi is still in causeway bay, just opposite to sogo.

Hi CAT, Sassy bride and all,

My colleagues told me there's a ' Kong Wai Zhong Xin ' stuff there very trendy - Like TAKASHIMAYA type

Heard it's in Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station - any advise how to exit and comments?

Hi CAT,

Is the Mong Kok Zhong Xin you mentioned ( far east stuff ) worth going?

Thks sassy bride and obaesom for the tips and info. I will chk out Langham Place.

Is there a tourist travelling ticket/pass I can buy to travel on MTR and buses? If so, how much is it?

maxxx,

i think the 'kong wai zhong xin' u mentioned is 'gateway' in tsim sha tsui. it's linked to harbour city n ocean terminal, so u can start from ocean terminal (the mall just next to tsim sha tsui star ferry pier), then harbour city n gateway. if u wanna take mtr, the nearest should be exit A1. then u walk all the way along haiphong road to canton road n u'll c gateway/ harbour city. it's a huge shopping stretch cuz 3 malls r linked together.

bluesea,

u can get the tourist pass from the ticket counter at airport. if u wanna take the airport express between airport n hotel, i'd suggest u to get the 3-day pass (HK$300) which includes airport express return ticket, 3 days unlimited mtr rides n HK$20 for major transportation like bus, ferry. can find more details in the following website:

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/train/ae_tourtickete.htm

HI CAT,

WOW!!! found your SHOPPING LIST post earlier very useful.

BUT too bad i m just stopping by HK for 2 days - 'SO time is precious'

Can you let me know which are the shopping centres that i should not miss out!!!

I like the Clothings to be fashionable more colourful/ more choices / trendy with lastest model ..........

eg. Ivory in S'pore / Total station - TS in Tangs/Wisma / Zara

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Thks Sassy bride for the website. I'm taking airport transfer arranged by the agent, so not worth for me to buy the airport express ticket. Thks for the info, perhaps will just buy single trip ticket as and when we need.

Btw, is fa yuen street still worth going? I remember I went there to get some trendy and cheap clothings, is it still the same now?

Hi Maxxx, I hv been to Mong Kok Zhong Xin 3 times I was in HK. I like the clothes, cute stuff they sell there.
I believe for my upcoming trip, it will definitely be one of my destinations.

HI gals

I jus got back from HK on Monday. Really lurve that country. This time my hubby and i went only for a short while. He's there with his frens for the Rugby Seven so i was left to roam on my own and with my friends from HK. Was recommended by my local fren to go for a facial and boy, it was really good. The facial shop is situated somewhere in between Jordan and Tsim Sha Tsui. The place is really very nice, decorated nicely and the best part is they used Dermalogica products at affordable prices! I've never thot of flying all the way there for my facial but it was a very relaxing experience after shopping for so long. Disclaimer : i'm not their sales person neither do i get commission for this. Just thot of recommending a good service for u all. Rarely see this kind of good facial in Spore. I lurve their shop very much i signed up for their package since i go HK quite often. Anyone interested to try jus let me know can share and get discount.

I've taken some of the photos here:

360050.jpg

360051.jpg

360052.jpg

Sorry to ask so many questions here... :P

Need to find out where can i find men's items eg clothes in HK? Is there a Men's Street as in Ladies' Street in HK?

hey bluesea,

maybe u can get 'octopus' instead, it's like sg's ez link but u can use it almost everywhere. mtr, bus, ferry, peak tram, tram n even 7-11.... etc. the face value is HK$100 but u have to pay HK$50 refundable deposit, so altogether HK$150. just need to return the card to the ticket office at any MTR on ur last day n u'll get ur deposit back. one thing not good is any balance left in ur card is not refundable. so if u dun mind, i'd suggest u to keep ur card for ur next trip to HK! ^_^

n dun worry about top-up, u can top up at all 7-11, if u've been to hk b4, u should know there's always one 7-11 round the corner, much much more convenient than sg!

piggytinky,

yup, do agree with honesty, the menswear of IZZUE is nice.... in fact, the clothes of IZZUE's sister boutiques like IT, b+ab r all trendy n fashionable, worth a look.

u can find IZZUE, IT n b+ab in causeway bay times square.