Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

same same... we estimate 25 tables or so only. quite weird to invite old frens whom i seldom contact just to make up numbers. novotel phoenix room is nice, but need 30 tables. den cinnamon room is 18-24 tables, dun have in between. and cinnamon room not as nice as phoenix or HIPV...

pringal,
yah lor thus i give up Novotel, Park Hotel caters our requirements & we nearly sign up with them but didn't go ahead cos heard alot of bad remarks abt the hotel...luckily found HIPV although the ballrooom is abit small even though it can cater 40 tables, its the chandeliers & the european feel tat make us fall in love with it

Pringal,
i might be giving up the food tasting for free 1 table during AD cos my PIL will not be in SG as free tasting is abt 2wks to 1 month b4 AD.

queenie, my friend's wedding was at Novotel.
Their service are bad... they didn't top up our water, we even need to ask few times.
and they served & cleared the food so fast, we just managed to eat a bit from every dishes.
they cleared our plate so fast too, that our friend actually took the dish and end up got no plate to put, hehe... coz when they cleared the plate they didn't change to a new one right away...
u can read a similar feedback fr other threads actually =)

Hi Queenie, Pringirl & Chocolatte

Thank you gals so much for sharing your info. I spoke with Krystal again this morng, but she seems kinda persistant on me making the full $2500 deposit even after I had suggested to pay $1000 first. But so far apart from this issue, I think Krystal is still pretty friendly at this moment.

I had jz made my tentative booking with her for my AD, but will b out of town the next few days.

I actually went dwn to check out their Orchid Room on Sunday evening where they were setting up for a 20 tables banquet. It looked pretty cramped up in that small Orchid room, and I feel that the walkdwn carpet was really a short one and to the side of the stage.

Coz I will be doing my solemnization on the night itself, I m looking into a slightly longer walk dwn and to the front of the stage where the Solemnizer and my HTB will b waiting for me. Krystal said she is able to make the walkway slightly longer and to have the walk-up to stage infront instead of at the side.

Anyway, I will b gg to check out York Hotel too. Any comments or feedback on York Hotel from any of you gals?

hi suzukigal
if possible, could u please take some pics of orchid room to share? i haven't seen it b4. most likely gg to place deposit b4 new year. as for york hotel, i rem reading some negative reviews on it. but no personal experience, so unable to share.

Hi Chocolatte,
wah they clear up so fast,must be rushing for time.U know some hotel dun willing to pay OT pay to the staffs so they always ask them to serve & clear fast so the banquet can finish on time.Same goes to Furama Riverfront.

Sukigal,
or maybe u want to change coordinator?Actually its vasanthi who advice me to pay in this way so that i'll still be entitled for the perks.

York Hotel i nv attend b4 but my ex bf is having his banquet there next yr. Heard tat the price is reasonable but one thing its very far inside plus the hotel is abit old....Juz my personal opinions,no offence.

if im not wrong, some pp actually give ang pow to the waiters & waitresses so tt they'd provide better service during the banquet... think i will do tt too...

suzukigal, is urs 20 tables? it'll be very cramped if in orchid rm. if urs is less than 25 tables, u might want to nego with ur coor to use crystal rm with 22-23 tables =) (althou their min is 25 tables). good luck.

I'm a HIPV BTB on 13 Dec 08. Nice to see all of you here! Have a qn here: How come there's a $2500 off total bill? I booked quite early. but only $1000 off. This latest promotion sounds too good to be true, I should have booked now...hee

Hi suzukigal,
I personally went to York hotel to see their ballroom, the reception is kinda small, and the ballroom isn't as nice as wat the magazine portrays. I went there becos I saw how nice it looks on the magazine's ads.

Hi Chocolette 79,

I didnt enjoy the cash discount, only the 1 red wine per table as i took the orchid ballroom as most likely, i'm intending to invite less than 20 tables.

Hi Chocolatte,
i think u mistook le, the $2500 rebate is for those wedding before mar 08.Mine is May 08 thus i only entitled to $1000 rebate + 1 free wine per table.

hi queenie, u meant lavender mistaken is it? =D

lavender, the $2.5k rebate is for wedding b4 mar08 =D

btw, has any of u look at the cards design @ t-dragon?

chocolatte
the $2500 is for b4 mar 08.i saw it at the rdshow in oct 07.

But currently the promo is as below:
Promotion:
Enjoy Attractive Perks:

For new wedding bookings held by December 2007:

$2500 off wedding dinner package (Crystal Ballroom)
$1500 off wedding dinner package (Orchid room)
$1250 off wedding lunch package (Crystal Ballroom)
$750 off wedding lunch package (Orchid room)
For wedding during January till March 2008:

$1000 off wedding lunch or dinner package (Crystal Ballroom)
Booking of 16 tables, 17th table FREE, Wedding lunch or dinner (Orchid Room)
Note: terms and conditions apply.

Anyone know roughly how long should i print my invitation card if my GDL is ard late mar - early apr?

Hey.. got good lobang to print inserts for invitation...
City Square at JB.
Printing of inserts:
T&T Printing (City Square, JB)
~1st 200 piece, RM$80. (Sing: 34.70)
every 100 cards, add rm20.
~Add Graphics: no extra charge
Can add as many graphics as you want.
~Add Map $RM20 (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)
Available inserts: off white and pink. (no rice paper)
Their contacts: Just in case anyone really wants to make an effort to go there:
T&T Instant Printing services:
Lot J4.04 Johor Bahru City Square, Jalan wong Ah Fook. Tel: 07-222 8862 Fax: 07-223 8862 Email: [email protected]

I dont know if they have a template. Didnt ask cos i had my template from my hotel. but most templates are the same leh.. just use a template from previous wedding dinner cards that you've received lor.

The pricing was as of June 2007.
Not sure if there has been any revision since then.. but its still much cheaper. almost 1/2 price. According to my friend, there's some shops ard there selling all the wedding stuffs.. so you just need to print ur wedding card there, while they prepare the sample for u to see.. (1hour+) u can shop ard for wedding stuffs before going back to see. They take abt a week to print.. (in fact they called my friend in 3 days to pick it up) so u can always go back there to pick it up a week later or when u are available.

Hi Rach,
is the printing quality good?

I just called up T-Dragon,they say we dun have to print anything for the 80% cards since HIPV is providing FOC insert printing. We just need to buy the gold string from them & tied the card & inserts together.

If we need extra card,per card is from $1/pc + $0.20 insert printing.They have 3 colors for the insert(pink,cream & off white).HIPV card got only 4 designs to choose, if we dun like...they got a booklet to let us choose & exchange w/o any extra cost.

Queenie> the quality is pretty reasonable.. Not bad.. I seen my fren's card... so... u can drop by to see if u have the time..
Good that printing at HIPV is FOC.. save money..

Note:
The printing in JB is inkjet printing. i.e. like the kind of printing you get from your Inkjet printers. If you get caught in the rain, it will likely smudge.

They also have another kind of printing that is more ex but wont smudge.

Fifi> Err....i dun think its inkjet leh...
Its very nice quality leh... lemme check with my fren and keep u all updated again..

eh i oso seen the shop in JB b4. got normal color and also the gold emboss one. looks similar like those printed in sg actually. but luckily HIPV provides free printing! save a bit of $$ here, better than nothing =)

I see this thing called "chef dance" in this thread. It sounds interesting. Can anyone share with me what this really is ? Thanks.

rach,

They have a few kind. But the RM80 for 200 piece one is inkjet. I called and also emailed to ask. They guy told me its inkjet.

Inkjet can also be very nice looking. I am just saying be careful not to let it get wet (like in the rain, etc).

just realised mon after 6 dec is a public hol, so we think most ppl will b on leave, decided to change the date.

both Mums wanted sept/oct coz good mths for weddings, sept to early, so choose oct lor...
18 oct is a best date for us according to chinese and oso it's not a long wiken and no public hol that wk =D

ya lor... now my church wedding is on waiting list, coz another couple book faster then us, sad sad... now still waiting for their confirmation *pray hard*

juz like to share some feedback I received from a colleague of mine who attended a wedding banquet at HIPV few weeks back. She felt that the food was above average and the atmosphere was nice (she wasn't sure what theme the layout was). Her overall experience was good. However, she did highlighted the level of services of the banquet waiters/waitresses as an area that perhaps could be better. According to her, the staff weren't too prompt in filling up the drinks once the dinner got underway as they were too focused in serving up the dishes.

I am sure that these are isolated issues and that there will be improvement in this area as my AD at HIPV in 08 approaches. Maybe others can chip in and share their personal feedback or those from friends who had attended wedding banquet at HIPV. I'm sure that these feedback would be beneficial for all who are holding their ADs at HIPV.

Hi Queenie, Chocolatte & Pringirl,
I am back in town now since Tuesday. Hope you gals had a great X'mas holiday.

Pringirl,
I am afraid I do not have any photos of Orchid Room in HIPV as I din have my camera with me then. But there was a wedding that night in Orchid Room and was having 20 tables, therefore the whole room looked really cramped.

Basically, Krystal has kinda left me a bad impression already. First, it was her persistance on my deposit of $2500 even having not met her yet. And my tentative booking with her actually expired today, but there's not a single follow up from her. Pretty disappointed and turned off by her service, especially coming from a hotel.

Queenie,
Yes I agree with you that York Hotel is a pretty old hotel, but the same goes for HIPV. York is under the Goodwood Park Group so not exactly that trash. Anyway I have only been to York once many many years back as a helpout staff for one of their wedding banquet then. But when I visited YH last Tuesday before I flew off on Wed, Tracy (the Coordinator) showed me around and also the Rosemarie Hall. It is definitely much bigger than Orichid Room in HIPV, and I am definitely able to have a reasonably longer walkway to the stage.

Lavender,
So I am not too sure which ballroom you had seen at YH. Was it their smaller ballroom, 'Top of the York'? Coz I do know that that ballroom is much smaller.

Basically, Tracy has given me a more comfortable approach and service, and is much flexible with her package and deposit styles. Better still, she has informed me that YH is gg through some pretty big renovation which will all be completed by Jun or Aug 2008. There will be renovation done to the bridal suites and as well as to the ballrooms. So if I were to sign up with YH and have my banquet in Nov 2008, I will be/should be expecting a much newer overall outlook of YH. Perhaps it is not so bad afterall.

Anyway, my mum happens to be interested to take a look at YH as well, but not with HIPV (dono why). And my HTB will be gg down with me this saturday to meet up with Tracy again, as he has yet to see the place himself.

Chocolatte,
I will not be having 20 tables or more. Our tentative number is about 15 tables max.

Hello all, I am interested in having hipv for my wedding dinner in 2009.

The coordinator who showed me around was Adeline. May i know if she's good? And is she new? That's because I heard no mention of her name in this thread so far.

Please enlighten me. Thanks.

SuZukiGal, I suggest you ask for a change to vasanthi instead. Should be better.

rach, the RM200 one is some kind of printing like laser kind. So its ok. Won't smudge one. You can also ask them to print maps for you. :P

Hi Xiao Lambie,

Yes, YH will. My banquet is arnd 15 tables tentatively and will be held on a Saturday. Hw many tables are you looking at? Mayb you can consider YH.

Grats chocolatte, 1 thing settled. You can work on the rest slowly. Vasanthi is quite good. She has the right heart. Even though she seems forgetful when busy, she will try to remember important details. Like she remembered that I told her that I do not intend to have food tasting. This was almost a year ago and she remembers it now that my date is near.

hi chocolatte! so envious tt u can book HIPV. we decided to drop it cos cannot hit the min of 25 tables. else ydy oso sign wif vasanthi liao. sad sad!

gals,
i also sign my contract with Vasanthi last night,she was super busy as there was a singh's wedding going on.SHe still set aside some time for us despite her hetic schedule,really thumbs up for her excellect service.

Pringal,
i also have problem in filling up the 25 tables initially cos was so worried as we still didn;t know whether our PIL will be migrating.Even though 2wks ago they announce tat they have succesfully received the application,luckily my mum's side has a big family thus at least help us with that problem.Overall,the no. of tables my parents have exceeded both me & my hubby.

I went to Club Chinois to rackie,love the cosy ambience & table setting but it'll be too cramp for me if in the event i've more than 25 tables althought they can fit ard 28 tables.

hey queenie, even if ur PIL migrating, they should still be attending ur wedding right? we can't hit 25 tables cos i not inviting my relatives, as we dun keep in contact (not even during CNY). hubby relatives taking 8 tables, frens 6 tables each... make up to abt 20 tables.

club chinois is cosy & food is reputed to be good, but the ceiling height is quite low (less than 3m). HIPV is more grand & the chandeliers make the ballroom very romantic.

Pringal,
they say die die muz leave sg in feb & cannot leave boston for 5yrs...i was like even got emergency also cannot travel meh?Anyway my PIL is like heck care.Bcos of them i've to find a hotel tat can accomodate not more than 20 tables if they migrate & 30 tables if they did not migrate during July cos if tat time we dun book,we might end up with those lousy hotel as most of the hotels r fully booked for 2008.

Yah club chinois food is superb cos its by Tung Lok & their famous chef - sam. Sometimes we can't even have the perfect ballroom we want as there r many factors affecting our decision.

My dad went to Novotel last nite for a wedding dinner,he say the food is so so only.At 1st i shortlisted Novotel cos they've big ballroom plus the food is by reputable restaurant (Dragon Phoenix) & per table is quite cheap but we dun dare to commit to their 30tables requirement.

wah tough choice u need to make there! but luckily ur mom side can help fill up the tables, if not ballroom look grand but empty, also seems strange.

we nearly signed wif novotel in sep! but was aiming their cinnamon room. pillarless & affordable. but they just increased their pricing by $80 per table for 2009.

another choice my sis suggested was Traders hotel. I like their newly renovated smaller ballroom (15-19 tables) but location wise, not as ideal as HIPV, Club Chinois or Novotel.

pringal,
yah lor,luckily mummy got big family.Unlike my daddy & hubby, all relatives r in HK.Thus we've to rely on frens/colleagues.

Pass by St Regis yesterday,very grand wor...guess the ballroom mus be very nice & ex.

I nv seen cinnamon ballroom before,they increase abt $40 for 2008.How come so big increase.