Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Wah ah mais, you all talk about babies i really lost liao. Ha ha.

Btw, the ST reported that a big earthquake is coming up. I hope Indonesia won't end up like Japan in the movie Sinking of Japan. Otherwise its going to be a very sad case liao.

mos: Good luck, hope you find a good lawyer.

mosburger: take care..read carefully, especially the fine print and legal jargon

i didnt feel any tremors too...sian..now they talk about potential tsunami...my hubby and i are going to bali this wed till sunday..hope it doesnt affect us...

i went to bangkok last weekend with my family and hubby...have found a great massage place...350baht for 2 hours (sgd 16 dollars)...its quite good..we can go there again when we go to bkk in jan

hi gals, me on leave today.. juz shifted hse wif my ILs on sat.. 90% unpacked liao.. phew.. now gotta get myself orientated wif where i kept my stuffs keke..

me go eat my dabao leewee bros nasi lemak now..

Hi Janf, glad to know that the shifting went well. Your new area is really a good place for makan! So many choices available!

Petrina, aiya, tell your FH we are girls afterall what, so girlish stuff/colours are rightfully made for us wan... hahaha

Hi Janf,

wah...u so fast 90% unpacked liao...very good leh! Good to hear that everything went well.

Btw, does anyone know where can we find remote controls for air-con? I know some places like Big Bookshop or the "ABC" shop along Bugis Village (sells chap pa lang stuff) has remote controls for TVs. Just ccan't seem to find for air-con...

Hong Kong is hot and hazy now. I ate the 许留山 mango desserts everyday. Didn't try any of their dim sum cos I practically didn't eat much. I concentrate on walking around and shopping.
My god-sis took the ferry from ShenZhen to HK to keep me company for 3 days. Had a good catch up with her. Service at most shops are very good and most of them can speak 国语. No worries on the language part.

I went Macau on Fri. It was crowded!!! There were so many mainland Chinese. The weather is hot and hazy too. Only went to St Paul's ruins, Macau Tower, A-ma temple and Kwan Yin statue. Also went to see the Venetian. Wow!!! but there's still some reno going on. And the gamblers... 98% Chinese. Must try the Portugese egg tarts, it's fantastic! Didn't try the famous Zhu Pa Pao cos the good one is at TaiPa (I think).

Huiz - I'll pass you my octopus card. forgot to do a refund for it. you can use it first to take MTR and bus rides. After that, then help me do a refund at any MTR stations. I have some HK currencies left, can change with me too.

Hey Nellie, thanks so much for the Octopus offer. Really appreciate it
As for the HK$, can let me know how much u have (either here or offline) so that I can get ready the SG$ to exchange with u?

oh is it? Carrefour have ah? ok...I'll go there to look.

Eh, what about air-con servicing ah? Anyone has any contact/lobang? My parents looking for air con service. Me? I got no air con...yet. hahaha. Will install soon I guess...

welcum petrina! aiyah, i luv buying lacey/embroidery bedsheets (alike huiz!) when abt to get married until bor-lao oso tell me so girly. then i told him if u dun wana zzz on it then can zzz on sofa haha.. now he no complaints when i cont to buy my fav bedsheets coz to him, zzz on wat not impt liao, most impt is can zzz on bed can liao keke..

huiz - i hv been eating street 21 hawker food lunch n dinner for the past 3DAYS liao until i scared now!! no more of it for this wk..

now i really gotta adjust living wif ILs in such a small place.. emm somehow feeling/lifestyle abit different.. like today i wana take a nap oso dare not..

i missed going HK too.. the XiuLiuSan LiLiMangGuoShuang really best-est best!!

hahaha, janf, gimme a 5! I also love those lacy and flowery stuff. My hubby also give up on me liao. Bedsheets decisions have to be made by ME and ME alone! hahahah

sorie mais.. juz need to type it out here..juz now i cooked rice, scurry became porridge! i oso felt paiseh but its the same measurement of water tat i used at my NiangJia leh.. haiz.. then i wana wash the plates aft meal then MIL said "nvm, u not used to it, juz help me bring in the plates.." =(

i know she dun mean it, its me juz too sensitive.. tink i YueBangYueMang..

life w/o the maid really chiam.. but i know my MIL oso adjusting to life w/o the maid coz for the past yrs she no need do hsework.. now live here everythg gotta ownself do.. clothes oso muz wash.. i paiseh so i wash my bra myself (last time everythg dump to maid)..

janf, maybe different rice cooker got different specifications for the amount of water needed? I also dunno how to use the rice cooker when i first moved in with my hubby. Everytime need to wait for him to cook rice while I make the other dishes. So paiseh also. Now ok liao. But then again, I think if I change rice cooker, I may also need to try and error again....

Hi mais, how are all of you doing? I so busy recently until it is tiring me out. I can't get a breather during work. Haiz. Next 3 days on course but i still brought the files back to do.

janf: Never mind one la. I also had maid up until one year ago. It was hard to adjust, but just take everything with a pinch of salt lo. Treat everything as training. Heh heh. Don't sound so gloomy, just treat it as training. Btw, where did you move to?

Huiz: You very bad lei, hubby give up on you. Ha ha.

CSI: You can try Cool surf for the aircon service (the surf is serve, but i can't type that). The guys who serviced my room aircon not bad. But i think it is a bit expensive in my opinion.

Nellie: Looks like you had a super great time there. So envious of you. Heh heh.

petrina: Excited or not?!? Ke ke ke.......

janf, yah, I think diff cooker have diff specs...when I first started using the cooker after we just got married, my rice also always either become porridge or super hard. Hubby's version is always just nice. Took me a while to get it right...hahaha.

Lance, is it? okie. I'll go check them out. Thanks!

I went Carrefour after work yesterday to look for the remote control. Dun have leh...they only have TV controls. Think maybe the PCB in aircon controls are more difficult to do...

CSI, u can try DIY shops. Or those shops that sells lots of misc stuff. They will have it.

I miss HK too! Luv their famous egg tarts and the morning dim sum.
Nellie, how's Macau after the inclusion of Venetian? Beautiful? I seen it in Las V*gas and can't take my eyes off the place. *dreaming*
I plan to go HK again, maybe early next year. But this time will try to stay in Lamma or Lautau island. hee...

Lance: I not excited... Stressed is more appropriate word to use. U'll noe wat i mean when ur actual day comes... I'm having ROM ceremony plus wedding lunch.
You have it in split days... Not so stressed...

All Mais+GOr, those coming pls be early... hehe

ivied, thanks for the suggestions...tried liaoz. Thot those shops would have also. THey have lah, TV remote. Not aircon ones. hahaha...

Oh ya, talking about Carrefour, the last time I went (last month) the floor selling the clothes and non-foodstuffs seem to be in a different layout. Looked like its clearing up for renovation or something. Is anything like that happening?

Petrina, I will be at the church by 8.30 to lend u a helping hand. See u during lunch tomorrow. Nellie will be joining us too

petrina: okie, will be there before 9. don't stress don't stress.

Huiz: you all reach there earlier, help chop seats hor. ha ha.

sorie petrina i cant make it for ur big day.. the rest rem to take more pics of meimei bride ya..!

today i called my ma in ofc chit chat wif her coz not convenient to talk at home haha.. 1st thg my ma picked up the fone and she went "aiyoh how come become porridge?!" haha.. yday nite i sms my sis so muz be my sis told my ma abt it.. then my ma said she cant zzz whole nite liao coz my ILs muz be tinking my ma duno how to teach daug until cook rice can become zhou.. hopeless.. anw........

now my MIL cooking yeemee for dinner..

and guess wat?!, the directional-sense-zero-me cant find my way home juz now!! i walked back the same route i walked out this am but cant find my blk juz now! and i call bor-lao to tell him abt it and he can tell me "U STILL DARE TO CALL ME TELL ME U CANT FIND THE WAY HOME??! HOPELESS LEH U!" and keep luffing at me until i oso luffing at myself..

duno wat to say abt myself too faintz hahahhaha...

Maybe we can go arrange a HK trip after BKK.

Ivied - Venetian is nice but there's still renovating going on. Cannot compare with the one in Las Veg@s. The fake river is small so the gondolas row up and down - so boring.

Janf - you're so cute! I really take my hat off you.

petrina: almost forgot that your big day is coming up. stay pretty and cool. send you my blessings before i leave for bali tmr morning.

janf...u are so funny...btw two days ago, my hubby took a different route home..normally i take another route by myself...i waited for him at the lift lobby..then he turned around and said it's not at my block yet! so pai say...the lift lobby looked the same so i waited for him thinking that he was opening the letter box..i have been staying here for nearly 2 yrs..same thing happened to me..so u are not alone la!

nellie: good idea..we can go hkg..maybe can look out for cheap tiger that flies to macau or jet stay for hkg...

Nellie and sherrie, that's a good idea! Can't forget the food and shopping... For the 1st time I can shop without the bugging and nagging from my hubby. hee...

haha.. janf and sherrie, fu le ni.
janf, I did not even lay a foot into the kitchen to cook since day 1. My PIL will always be at our side saying, put this one not correct, should be like this, like that.... Hubby and I give up. We decided to just do housework.

petrina, sure, will be there early. Relax, enjoy the moments. It will be over b4 u knew it.

Just realised that most of us will be celebrating our 1st year anniversary in a few months time. Time passes real fast.

Waa another holiday!! Woohoo.... *starts dreaming again*

Talking about cooking, my MIL called to chat with me on Mon night. Asked if my hubby got bully me or not. I said "no lah, he wouldn't dare to.... if he does, then I don't cook for him".... then my MIL said, "yes, you are very smart, that is what u should do!" Hahaha, till now, I am still rather surprised to hear that ;-P

Then our HK trip shall be in August next year. This is the time where the sale starts. However, the weather will be very hot.

sherrie - Enjoy your Bali trip.

nellie, Aug not really very hot, still ok.
I bought one Yam paste mooncakes from East Ocean I think. It is the flaky skin type. Not too bad.

Hi HL, Welcome. I do not think we have the list. Hainanese bascially kept the tradition to the simplest. The sesame ball is no longer available so most parents would want is just pin jin, cakes and maybe kueh. Other than that, we would refer to other dialects, like getting a roast pig, long feng zhu, basin, towels etc

Ivied - August is hot!!! The weather is different now - haywired. Even the HK tour guide also said this.. Sept is supposed to be cooling but it's so hot and hazy, worse than Singapore. My mum was in HK in Aug this year. She said it's hot too.

Welcome to the thread HL,

Yes, I agree with Ivied that there isn't much that is required in Hainanese traditions. Just the basics like cakes, PJ and some oranges.

Btw, I will be going to Taka to buy mooncakes tonight. Nellie, I shall keep a look out for u. Or would anyone like to join me? I will be going there by myself

Hi HL,

as what Huiz and Ivied had mentioned, our GDL are the simplest of all dialects.

Basics :
Cakes
Pin Jin
Oranges
Suckling Pig
Si Dian Jin (not in our custom, if you want also can)

I used to buy the yam paste mooncakes from Crown Prince Hotel. Now no longer called Crown Prince, the Teo Chew restaurant was not there too. Can't find any yam paste mooncakes which are as good as the Crown Prince's.

Dropping by to say "Hi"! Busy with work as my colly is on maternity leave, covering her duties la

Huiz - I went taka mooncake fair last wkend. Credit cards discounts not applicable at the fair, but you get to try different types of mooncake at one go

Nellie - I m also a fan of the ex-crown prince hotel mooncake. So sad when they were no longer selling it since last yr. I still miss my Yam paste mooncake :P. U can try the Eater Palace (available in Yam n Pumkin Paste, flaky skin type or the Garden's flaky skin Yam paste mooncake. Both not beri sweet. I quite like it

my father say if wan to be even simple...watever needed just replace by an ang bao and no need alot of money inside....maybe $4 per ang bao.

i think like dat better...no need buy so many things

Nellie - Eater palace available at the Taka fair and Tampines mall.

Garden Pastry & Cake is at Blk 95 Aljunied Crescent #01-505/507; Tel: 67455706. They got few kiosks le..can call them and check where’s tt

Queen - yes,we replaced our Suckling Pig and chicken with AB la..but not $4. The value inside the AB is equivalent to the cost of a suckling pig / chicken.

oh Nellie - at taka fair..no discount for eater palace mooncake. At Tampines mall, got 10% for UOB CC. For Garden Pastry, its 10% discount..I got the flakey skin yam paste mooncake @ $25.20 for 4 pcs.

tink go HK in nov-dec is best coz of the cold weather but only winter clothes are on sale.. i went for mini HM to HK aft my AD in 2006.. weather really shiok..

juz now bor-lao called to say hes on the train n will wait for me at dghaut mrt to go back tog IN CASE I START GETTING LOST AGAIN! faintz, tink he give up hope on me.. i told my lunch kaki today abt my lost-in-maze happening and he luff like mad, said i gonecase n dun need to bother to learn driving coz i got zero direction sense wahahah..

huiz - ur MIL steady ya.. can call u to chit chat wif u.. doubt my MIL will call me to chat when i hv own nest in future.. she rather talk to her daug haha..

nellie - if u need the eater palace moonies frm tampines mall can let me know i can ask bor-lao help u buy coz he works in tampines.. anw, will be going back yishun this sun so can pass to u..

wah Huiz, your MIL very nice leh. Mine....doesn't call me to chat. hahaha. She only chats with her 3 sons.

Oh yah, I love the yam paste ones from Crown Prince...but now no more liaoz. So sad!

Four Seasons D24 mooncakes are also very nice...

lance, i prefer the goodwood park durian mooncakes
Anyway, as long as durian, I loved it
Was chatting with Petrina the other day..craving abt durians. Maybe we shld go for durian feast one day..hehee

Hihih everyone,

My MIL called me is also coz of our fault la... we haven called back for sometime. So she was wondering if anything had happened to us i.e. quarrelled and not talking to each other so she called up to check check.... hahahaha!

I was at the Taka Sqaure yesterday and my goodness, the Hainanese mooncake stall was soo crowded. People were snapping up the sweet (brown skin) and salted (white baked skin) flat flat nutty mooncakes. I bought quite a lot of that for my folks too. And I am also impressed that the boxes are wood and not cardboard. Ok, la, or maybe it's very hard cardboard that looks like plywood or whatever, but the quality is good lor. The customers and stall assistants were mostly chattering in Hainanese (me included) and the feeling was so homely

Durian mooncakes ah, I have never tried before and also not too keen on trying. As for the yam ones, I only like the flaky skin and not the filling.... hahaha, I am the weirdo that has dian1 dao3 taste ;-P

wah durian feast....must wait till next year's season...now not really season, so not so shiok leh. That time I ate durians, few days later had gynae visit...baby's head was measured to be bigger than average (but still within the range). heeheehee...

Oh yah....I only found out this year, that we have Hainanese mooncakes! hahahaha...never knew we had such stuff too. hehs...