Hainanese Brides, anyone???

mos, I'm sorry to hear that. Hope you are doing fine. Is there anything we can do for you?

Hi Chimes, welcome!

Hi CSI, happy birthday!

Hey Li Ann, I would propose to buy one more for your PIL. Did you do that previously when u were pak tor?

Huiz, CSI, I was not aware and bought Raffles Plaza's snow skin mooncakes - champagne truffles and rum & rasin. yum yum. Both my mama and MIL love it. For durian favour, I would go for Goodwood's.

Huiz, I had wanted to stay somewhere in the north east to east area so this is like a good chance.
My in-laws were advising us to approach an agent to source for re-sale flat but I would wana do it myself. Any advice?

Hi mos, have a good rest during this one week sch hols. Do take good care and we shall catch up with u when u are well rested

Hmm, ivied, looking for the house on our own and bypassing the agent does help to save a good sum of $. But from my experience, this isnt easy coz firstly, we are working and do not have much time to do the liaising and secondly, most ads placed in the papers are done through agents. No matter how small and "non agent" sounding the ads appear to be, most of them will lead us to agents when we call up. So in the end I also gave up and engaged my JC classmate as my agent.

However, if u have friends and relatives staying in the area, u can ask them to keep a lookout for u too. My friend got her Marine Parade flat this way and managed to save the agent fees

CSI, Happy Birthday !!

Li_ann - for me i think sin yr hub aredy bought for yr PIL whom r his parents then he can just say tat is from both of u.. if u separate give, kinda look funny.

Hi mosburger, sad to hear that. take care and let us know if you need help.

hehe alamak i forgot to say tat i got Raffles the Plaza Mooncake lobang cos my sister works there..

Hihi Lance, Huiz, CSI Fan, Li Ann, iViED, thanks for the warm welcome .. hai nam ah gor and ah mais really very warm .. heehee ...

Huiz: My AD is Nov 08, ROM May 08, but kiasu so already booked my hotel and BS liao *lol*

When are all of your ADs?

Hi Chimes, welcome to our thread. Most of our ADs are over. Petrina's AD is just round the corner, 22nd Sept. Lance's will be in 2008 and Mos in 2009.

CSI - Happy Belated Birthday!!!

Mos - if you need help, just tell us.

Li Ann - as what Kokoyln had mention, give the mooncake together, not spearately.

Hi Li Ann, Ivied, Crystalz, Kokoyln...Thanks for your wishes!

Hey Mosburger, I'm so sorry to hear that. Hope y ou are doing fine. Stay strong, yah? If there's anything we can do, let us know...

Hmm, Ivied, I guess you can try both ways? Just appointing the agent to act for you doesn't cost $$ right? It's only when you actually do the S&P that you have to pay commission right? So I'm thinking, why not do both lorh. Get an agent, and at the same time get friends and relatives staying in the area help you look out / check out yourself. See which approach turns up a good unit first. If agent manages to find a place for you, ok, then gotta pay the person lah...agent did his/her work mah. If frens/relatives managed to find for you first, good lorh...save agent fees. heehee...and you may get your place faster.

Hehs...seems like Goodwood Park is good for anything durian. hahahaha...hmmmm....yum yum.

Li Ann, I agree with Kokoyln, I think you just say that the one ur hubby bought is from the both of you. Just say "WE bought this box for you", kinda thing.

Hey chimes, erm, most of our ADs are over. heehee...save for 2 ah mais.
I think I shd go dig out that thumbdrive of mine and put up that table again...heehee...when exactly is your AD?

CSI, your suggestion is good too! Get both the agent and DIY.... and I agree that agents cost nothing till we really decide to buy something that they have intro-ed.

Hmmm, chimes, lemme see if I can remember some of the ah mais' AD (some I can't remember the date)....

janf Jan 05
CSI Nov 06
Li Ann 12 (?) Dec 06
Sherrie Nov/Dec 06
Ivy 26 (?) Jan 07
Huiz 17 Mar 07
Stacy 24 Mar 07
Nellie 28 Mar 07
Pris 29 Jul 07

hi ivied

now that i am doing mortgage sales and have contacts with many property agents, i have to say that it's not easy finding properties yourself. firstly, you will not have their resources i.e. tools/software that allow you to know which are the units that are put up for sale. the agents have access to all the listings for a particular area. secondly, when you have an agent to work for you, the agent will call and make appointments for you. they will try to schedule all the viewings within a day or two. if you do it yourself and spend say a few weeks/months viewing different units, some popular units might have been sold already. (my friend sold his AMK second floor unit within 2 weeks' time). thirdly, the paper work involved is a bit complicated for laymen like us, from signing the option to purchase, exercising the option, doing submission etc. if the agent is CEHA-certified, he can submit everything online for you. you do not have to go to hdb to do it manually etc.

i think its more important to find a reliable and trustworthy agent. some agents for the sellers do not do "co-broking" i.e. they only want to do exclusively for both seller and buyer cos they want to earn both the 2% and 1% respectively. you may still end up paying the one per cent to the seller's agent even you had responded to the ad without your own agent.

Can't agree more with u, Sherrie

Li Ann, I also think its weird if u buy another box for your ILs. U may wanna consider getting a more expensive variety this time? Also, make sure both u and your hubby present the box to the ILs coz I feel that this will help to really drive in the message that "this is from BOTH of us"

Im a hainaese bride and my hubby is a hokkien. Had our ROM this may and our AD will be in 2009.

Hope to learn more about the Hainaese traditions as my parents also not very sure.

Hi Queen,

Welcome welcome to the community
kao_welcome2.gif

If there's anything that u would like to find out, u can leave a message here and I am sure we will help u as much as we can

HI CSI Fan, my AD will be 9 Nov 08. U folks are really very attached to this thread, you are still very much involved in this forum after your AD .. hehe .. cool

Btw Huiz, I saw your crocheted wrist corsages in other threads .. very sweet ...

Hi Queen, same as you, I'm Hainanese and my FH is Hokkien. Being the eldest daughter and the first to get married in my family, my parents are also pretty clueless abt certain traditions ... they are trying very hard to remember what they had during their wedding days *lol*

hi Queen! Welcome!

chimes, hehs...yeah, we just couldn't leave this thread. hahaha. Now we talk about anything under the sun...not just weddings. hehs...

Hmmm, I think generally Hainanese dun have much traditions lah. Except maybe the chin dei (but now also no more liao), or maybe your parents might want to order yi bua to give to relatives or serve as dessert during your AD. Oh yah, and probably the roast pork (did that start out as a Hainanese tradition in the first place?).

hey crystalz, been wanting to ask...how are you feeling lately? I'm starting to get those cramps feeling at the abdomen area...a bit worried. My next appt is this Sat...will have to ask abt it.

Hi chimes,

Haha, there seems to be this "never drying glue" in this thread that is holding us together.

My corsages ah, hee thanks for the compliments. I just make them for fun and if anyone is interest, I don't mind selling

Talking about roast pork, I think if there's suckling pig, the bride's family need to keep the middle part and return the rest. Wonder if this applies to other dialects or not.

hi chimes n queen!, im the oldest bird in this thread! huiz - my AD is in 2006 leh not 2005 keke.. so fast 1yr+ passed juz lidat..

mos - deepest sympathy.. yupz let us know if need assistance..

talking abt suckling pig, it started wif cantonese coz cantonese brides die die muz hv suckling pig when get married.. the rest of items dun hv nvm but this piggy is a muz.. however over the yrs other dialect grps oso took in the same custom so everythg oso cha pa lang liao.. anw, suckling pig is slurpy!, eating it is really shiok! =)

Was away for the past 3days due to intense packing of stuff for my reno. Aiyo, my reno juz ended 2hrs ago... so tired after all the cleaning... I dunno where to start to unpack. So luan manz the whole place...

Mos: Take Care of urself... do let us noe if u need anything.

LiAnn: Abit late n redundant arh, but my opinion is to give 1 box as frm 2 of u.

Chimes: Welcome...

Queen: Welcome...

Ivied: I bought GWP Hotel durian ones, Regent Sesame Ones & Tung Lok White Lotus Single Yolk. All nice in their own variates.

CSI: I nvr buy Marriot ones though M1 every year got discount... How was ur holiday? I can't wait for my HM... Hehe...
I'm also looking forward to my thailand trip after aussie... Missed the Phad Thai lots...

Alamak, janf, paiseh ah... coz u are the one who has been married the longest so I always remember yours as 2005!!

Petrina, your renov end just nicely now. Should have enough time to slowly unpack lo. Must get hubby to help u ok?

I was at the bakery downstairs just now, this Bake Inc or something. Wa seh, their snowskin is sooo nicely moulded. Every piece is so neat and perfect. Makes me wonder if the bakery DIY-ed it themselves or they're factory made.

hi Queen, welcome to the thread
i don think hainanese got any wedding tradition but hainanese tend to be more generous esp the man side.. they would give cake etc cos don wanna lose face.. when i was married, my mom only wan 4 dian jin n pin jin, and oranges but my ex gave additional cakes..

hey btw once u both are in, u both wont leave le..

Hi Queen, welcome!
I too agree that Hainanese wedding tradition is kept to the simplest. The norm would be long feng zhu, cakes and pin jin. Roast pig is mainly for Cantonese but it all depends on the parents.

Thanks gals for the advice. I was hesitating about engaging an agent, heard of too many 'scary' stories abt them. Thus the tot of DIY. But at one point, I also agree with sherrie and Huiz. Work can be too overwhelming for us to concentrate on searching our dream home. Perhaps I should really go find one agent.

There are so many varieties of mooncakes nowadays, all improvised from the traditional receipes. I think most of them are produced at the factory, it is not easy to DIY given the output qty to produce daily.

Hi janf, nellie and petrina, gals, my mom did mention that it's a must to have suckling pig from the groom's side. I guess different dialect groups really have a lot of different traditions, personally I feel that the hokkien seems to have a lot of nitty-gritty stuff, eg: the bride has to buy gifts for the sister-in-law etc

Petrina, were you also in the BC thread or plus-size thread? I seem to find your nick very familiar

Welcome to our thread, Queen.

The suckling pig is actually a tradition from the Cantonese custom and it represents that the bride is a virgin. Si Dian Jin is from teochew custom. It is to show off to the relatives and friends how well the groom's family is treating the bride.

If I didn't remember wrongly. The dragon/phoenix candles also come from Cantonese and Teochew customs.

Hainanese GDL is actually the simplest of all but all of us live in a multi-racial/dialects country. Thus, our customs are 'mixed'.

Chimes & Queen, we're having a dinner gathering on 13 Oct. Do join us if you gals are free.

Hello queen and chimes *wave*

CSI,
i oso having cramp... but will subside loh.. sometimes is bladder too full or constipation.. all these oso can cause cramp leh. i dun have good sleep everyday... will lie on the bed from 10+ to 12+ oso cannot get to sleep and my bo lao hor.. keep snoring! Aiyo... then when i fall asleep.. i get up every hr.. look at the clock then toss here and there then sleep. Haiz

chimes: I was in BC thread. very long nv go in there already.
Yes, hokkien male side, bride muz buy gifts for hubby sisters/brothers. Very troublesome, cause my mom was the only hainanese marrying my dad's hokkien family side, so they demanded quite alot of things frm my mom. Now modern already i dunno if the hokkien side still demand many things frm u or not. It's better to ask carefully otherwise there maybe misunderstandings.

my hubby oso hokkien... i bought towels and tie nicely with ribbon for my sister-in-law, and my hubby's elder brothers. other then that... nothing much ler.. and those an chuang thingy and 'dou wei' that is used for praying purpose (to wrap the table that they use to pray to 'ti gong' b4 the wedding day)..

Hey I'm going to the Carnvial Sale, but maybe on Sun as hubby is working on Sat. I will patron every year coz they have really good deals.

hi all, thanks for the well wishes. am trying to handle lots of paperwork now. dad left a mess coz he left so suddenly.

sherrie, my folks are not staying in m'sia. my grandma and majority of relatives are though. my dad passed away in malacca where he was handling a company project. we held e wake in KL to make it convenient for e majority. furthermore, my dad's friends n biz associates mostly there.

anyone has contacts of lawyers who are not too expensive n know both sg and m'sia law? i'm in risk of getting into financially difficult situation if i dun settle my dad's stuff asap.

hi mosburger

i checked with the law firms that we always work with. the guy told me if your dad has properties in m'sia, the lawyers in singapore cannot act for you. they can only act for you for singapore-related issues. u can gimme a call at 9797-6662 if you need help. afraid i don have access to msn at work.

Crystalz, yah, lots of things can cause cramps horh...haiz, then how to know when it's contractions? I guess if it's very intense and can time it one then it's contractions. Coz a fren of mine told me her contractions felt like cramps and there's no "show"...so I was like, "huh? then how to tell the diff?" hahaha.

hmmm, you are not working right? so not so bad lah...can still catch a nap in the arvo. I gotta go to work leh. kekekeke...but the past week, despite not waking up in the middle of the night, I'm super sleepy everyday. lazy me...

CSI,

i oso dunno how contractions feel leh.. but then i read from books that if the cramp go off in a few hours it is okie ler... Maybe u ask ur gyne for assurance bah... but i guess having cramp is common.

ya loh.. not working. Maybe i sleep too much in the afternoon. haha today never nap... so hopefully can sleep better tonite.
Think preggie more tired leh... my fren oso complain not enuff sleep...

hi mosburger,
i find my lawyer good also. her price quite reasonable and she is a very frank and direct lady who will tell you straight what u can do and wat u cannot do.. let me know if you need her contact.

Wah mais, so many messages i see liao i see stars lei. Ha ha. So busy everyday now.

CSI: Happy belated birthday!!!!

Huiz, Nellie: How was your lunch today? Good? Pai sei cannot join u all.

Haha Lance, we had a good lunch. I had always enjoyed the food at that Jap outlet. Sushi is only 99cents a plate and its not bad too. Next time chio u again okie?

Hi Nellie, thanks for the invitation, FH and me going to attend Furama Riverfront's wedding show, dunno can make it on time for the gathering or not. Nevertheless, where are you folks meeting? I see whether in time to pop by or not.

Hi everyone! MIA for a long time..

CSI/Crystalz: how heavy were ur bb during 4 mths? Mine seems light prob i no appetite to eat thats y bb growing slow.. Do u gals dream a lot during sleep? I can dream the whole night, in the end tired in the morning..

petrina, we went to the Nihon Musa (think tt's the name la) restaurant at IRAS. That's the restaurant where they do not have menu but need to pick up ice-cream sticks fr e counter to order what u want.

Hi Chimes, we will be having Hainanese steamboat at Golden Mile on 13 Oct... ard 6pm... do come if u can yah

Haha loinky, I don't need to be pregnant to dream every night, without fail. My dreams are usually very very ridiculous and once in a while, it can get freakily accurate too, what I dream of can come true in real life. Some of u may understand what I mean....hehe

Lance: Thanks!

Crystalz, yah, I think having stomach cramp is common. Tmrw meeting gynae, will ask her tmrw. Enjoy your antenatal classes! (Mine's on tmrw...)

Loinky, hmmm, I never measured weight of BB during 4 mths. The first few months, I think BB still quite light. I remember I hardly put on weight myself...about that time, I was eating A LOT...but ended up putting on only...800g between the month. 2nd trimester then BB will have a growth spurt, putting on quite a bit of weight...then 3rd trimester, up till the day we pop, baby can still be putting on weight. During my antenatal class, the instructor/consultant was telling us of a case, 1 week before delivery, BB was measured to be 3.3kg. At delivery, baby was 3.9kg. I'm thinking, it's either the gynae made a mistake in the calculations, or baby can really increase by that much in 1 week lorh...hehs. But yah, try to maintain a healthy eating pattern...benefits not just BB but you too.

I dreamt a lot too during my first trimester. Prolly due to worries abt having a baby etc, new experience etc mah... Beginning part of 2nd trimester, a bit less dreams...then nowadays, I KO quite easily till alarm rings. Seldom dream. my alarm is either my clock or BB...coz BB will always kick me very hard at that time in the morning...heehee...

wah the thread is moving so fast....well the other day i was asking my father, he sae he oso dun realli know the hainaese customs haha..

but i rem i saw in some tv programs hainaese got this dessert which is a big ball which is hollow inside and is the chef blow air into it de...

i hope i no need to get dat cos now oso dunno still got ppl doing dat anot...

my wedding is in 2009 so just being KS here and start researching.....hee....hope to meet u gers too.

Hi Queen,

you can't get the sesame balls here now cos that old uncle had passed away. He's the only one who knew how to make those balls. No one learnt this skill from him. It's a lost skill in Singapore.

oh...is it?? aiyo wat a pity....although we not very traditional de but come to think of it...if have it then quite cool oso...

yah...for my AD, i tried to enquire, that guy already stopped making. Think health wasn't so good or something. Then a few months later, he passed away. It's a very unique traditional thingy lorh...really a pity. oh well...wonder if they have it for weddings on Hainan Island...hahaha.

the sesame ball i don know in SG where can find but i know in Msia, Bentung, my ex-hub's great uncle make them. very famous, skin v thin.. he can finish selling them in few hrs.. tat time he still wanna learn the skill then made n sell in SG.. hehe

Haha, petrina, good idea to import the dough and we blow up and fry them here. But hor, don't blow with the mouth, dam gross leh. Use air pump better.... hahaha

Lance, ya lor, the sushi is 99 cents throughout the week. They taste good to me so I think its very worth it lor

hi folks, I've been to Hainan Island 3 times since young and I realised, actually a lot of things they do over there are very different from ours here, in terms of food, customs etc. A lot of people assumed Hainanese Chicken Rice comes from Hainan Island but not true lor. Their famous chicken - Wenchang Chicken is not 10% as nice as Singapore's chicken rice ... hee