Hainanese Brides, anyone???

After my maternal grandpa passed away, none of his children (my uncles and aunts) are involved in the clan's activities.

oh yah. hahaha...if all goes well, yah lah. In Jan. hehs.

My dad is a sleeping member. Not sure where the clan is also. hahaha.

The only times I remember myself going to the "club house" was during the end of the year to help my Dad pay his monthly membership fees [he very xiao1 kuan3 (chau kuan)wan, always accumulate and pay off at the end of the year. Now this job has been passed to my sis]and during the CNY period when they have their so called "AGM" (when they always lament the dwindling of their members) where they give out some $$$ for students who had done well in the previous year's exams.

li ann: my dad is a regular at lim association at geylang. he goes there to play mJ almost every week. he also goes to the huay kuan at purvis street near chin chin. i have been to the clan dinner once. all attendees were aunties and uncles. it's quite boring.

trip to hainan island? i think i prefer to go to bangkok to hainan island. hehe. once is enough for me.

Honestly speaking, I don't mind going back to the island again. Things should have changed by leaps and bounds by now. Another reason why I can accept the place quite well is also coz of my relatives (mainly my Dad's adopted elder sis). Thank heavens she and her family are not the money grubbing kind who think that we earn millions in Sg. They had never asked us for money to buy TVs, vehicles or what nots eventhough they are not very well to do.

Wah, i was out for a day n i cannot catch up le...

LiAnn: At the moment is ok... U all juz come n enjoy urselves... hehe

13th Oct is fine wif me... *I shld be back frm HM by then le...*

I always wanted to go Hainan Island. But my mom not interested to go back leh... I dun recognise the villagers leh... Even if we meet on the streets of haikou, I also wun noe we r relatives. heh heh...

wah today so many postings!!

me feeling under the weather today until colls asked me why i looked sickly.. tink too much good food over the past 3days until tummy cant take it.. had the runs 4x today liao and im having a throbbing headache since last nite.. haiz.. later gona pop charcoal and panadol b4 zzz..

yesh, me and TH wana thank huiz n hub too for hosting.. luv ur home decor and layout.. hope the yee mee still can pass keke..

TH oso tot of hosting next gathering at our pl b4 we shift out but the tot of us staying wif ILs, tink abit paiseh altho my ILs sure say no problem.. so ren yi ren!, 2011 i will host at my hse in fernvale haah!!

tink hub's grans are members at the association next to Chin Chin in purvis st but they dun frequent there now.. they do pay the yearly fees tho..

li ann - me wanted to go Hock Lam to eat today too leh! but my lunch kaki on MC so din go in the end.. else mite juz bump into u..

wana ask kokoyln but paiseh to ask tat day coz 1st time meet.. =P
ur blue dress very nice leh.. where u bot huh?! and for a mummy, u are very slim liao.. envy..

Janf - my dress is from Southaven. i'm their fan.
i slim down to lighter than pre-preg after confinement cos i look after jolie myself.. then till now i hardly put on weight becos i sleep late, carry her to n fro etc.. v hard to put on.. next is the post natal massage. super impt.

Hainan 1st, 2nd street food are delicious. Hock Lam beef, my fav during my dieting days n preg days.. Go the the cofi shop "Hainan 2nd Street " it has the best mutton soup around tat area. my dnr almost alternate nites when i play pool at pool fusion.

Golden Mile Hainanese steamboat, YUMMY.. got Beef, nice pork chop, satay, chicken + rice and also the best PAPAYA MILK tat i ever hav.. i used to fequent like 1x 2 mths, now hardly le.. Nellie, u can reserved like 1-2 days b4hand, no need early cos i don think they really do reservation.. usual is like mkt, stand there n watch ppl eat .. haha

hahahaha!! I was just thinking the same thing this morning! (must ask kokoyln for her massage lady's contact...heehee). Can I have it too pls? Hope she can squeeze in Crystalz and me...coz our EDD quite close. hehs...think now is the time to start booking right?

kokoyln i want to try the mutton soup next time! but everytime i go i will succumb to the beef soup cos i llluuurve the chilli!!!

*mouth watering just thinking about it*

CSI,

haha think quite a number of ladies in the dec thread booked the massage lady ler... We are quite slow. Haha

Btw, are u buying breast pump?

I had just woken up. On MC today coz feeling a bit warm and had a giddy head so I thought I better stay at home today.

I agree with janf. If I were staying with my ILs, I will really be hesitant to invite everyone over. Pris did mention to me that its her ILs' idea to ask us over, but aiya, still not nice ma. Need to mah fan the old folks so much.

Hey Nellie, the steamboat shall be a dinner right? I asked my bo lao last night and he gave me the kiddish "very gian" grin that he wants to go. But then I can only confirm his attendance nearer the date coz he might have lecture/tutorial (which is held in the evenings) on some Sats. And thanks for the link, I shall go and see later.

Wa sehhh.. beeef & mutttonnn.... *slurrrrrp*

Crystalz,

Is it the same lady?

Yup, will be buying. But I was planning to rent from the hospital first (think they do have some on rental). Afterall, first few weeks the supply not established yet. I have in mind which one I want to get liao (the Medela PIS). Robinsons will be having a sale on Boxing Day (so they tell me). So will get hubby to go buy for me (the Robinson's card is his anyway). As long as baby arrives on time, I think it's just nice. heehee...buy too early, the warranty also "wasted" coz not using now mah...

CSI,

different lady. Think kokoyln is a chinese if i'm not wrong... hehe waiting for her reply..

i will be getting Ameda pump... Have u bought most of the things? I haven start preparing... my mum says still early... My gyne even ask me start the shopping list already? i say no... he ask me to start now if not at the later stage will be tiring..

hi Crystalz,

Yah, think kokoyln's massage contact is a chinese. heehee...

Erm, I bought some stuff (clothes - some are hand be downs), bought some diapers (National Day mah, NTUC got promo. Plus the supermarts are still absorbing the 2% GST...so just grab first lah.) Currently, NTUC's Pampers for NB is the cheapest. hahahaha (I'm so aunty liaoz. comparing prices).

Let's see...what else have I gotten...for baby: Pampers NB and S size (no cloth ones yet coz baby's probably gonna poop so much I dun think I wanna wash and wash. Got a little in both sizes coz dunno how fast baby will grow), baby cot (hand me down), sarong sling, mittens, booties, blankets. Yup, that's all for now. For mummy: nursing/breast pads (just 1 box only lah, coz it's on promo now and I'm not sure which brand I would prefer also). Yup, that's all I've gotten for myself so far. hahaha. I think I really should do some serious shopping.

There's a John Little Baby Fair going on right now (20% off) that will end this Sunday. The Taka Baby Fair will start this Thursday. I plan to get the sterilizer, a couple of milk bottles, cotton buds, baby wipes, baby shampoo/soap/detergent during then. Although will probably be using the milk bottles only when baby is after 6 weeks old (dun want end up with nipple confusion...coz I hope to be able to TBF).

Oops!! Sorry ah mais and ah kor...seems like Crystalz and I are "chatting" abt stuff in the wrong forum! hahahaha...

Hey Petrina,
Just realised, my address is not on that list that Huiz compiled. When u need my address you let me know lah...

CSI,

i oso going to breastfeed... ahz... i got many things haven buy... some oso pass down by my sis so oso save some $ hehe. Think can start buying ler... oso dun want wait till last minute.

hi all.. me still having runs today.. haiz.. if tom still having the runs, tink i better go see doc liao.. tot charcoal tablets can help..

kokoyln - ur dress really got the southhaven look keke! last fri i tried a white dress at the wisma outlet, alamak juz doesnt fit.. too loose for me.. but my fren said the raff pl outlet often hv sales.. perhaps i shd go take a look.. u play pool at pool fusion too?! my hub used to play there like almost every wk few yrs back..

Hi mais, was on course today. So many posts. So the steamboat confirm? My wife will be in Vietnam liao, so i will go alone.

janf: Take care. Go see doc. This is serious.

Huiz: You also sick. How are u liao? Feeling better?

janf, yr hub name is? maybe i know him haha.. the owner is my friend. Raffles Place branch alwys have sales. they on sales right after GSS till 15 Aug.. tomor last day.. hehe

my massage lady is chinese. i pass the tel to petrina le. for pump get the medela electric one or avent.. forget those manual ones, u will only get more frustrated n end up no milk flow..
visit kaki bukit, there got 2-3 mega kid mall.. things can be bargain n cheaper.
The best way to save $$ is to visit Motherhood Fair.. the vendor give free samples of avent milk bottle, lactating milk poweder, bb milk powder, diaper.. i got so many til now i still have spare small avent bottle which i convert into training cup.. As for diaper, i used to use this jap brand NEPIA, deliver to yr hse n cheaper than NTUC retail price.. as for baby wipe, don stock. get sample size 1st cos it depend if yr bb can use or not.. Jolie cannot use J&J pink, TollyJoy & funny brand bb wipes, she get rash immediately. she only use J&J blue, Pigeon red or yellow.. personally pigeon is good. they got red for butt n yellow for hand n mouth..

Good morning everyone,

I had a funny dream this morning. Dreamt that about 4 - 5 of us, Nellie and myself included (can't remember who the rest are) went to Bangkok. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel which is right in the middle of the city and behind this huge open square. In the cab, I kept peeking at the meter to make sure it was running. Then when we reached the destination, the cab fare was only 10.1 bhat!! I wondered what kinda conversion rate I was using in my dream, but we were all so happy that 10.1 bhat is only equal to S$1.... not a bad deal, we all thought.... S$1 for so many people and for such a long journey. After getting down from the cab, we went into the hotel and started eating at their restaurant. I remembered eating a huge steamed fish.... but sadly, I woke up after that... haha

Nellie, I will go down to the pharm at around 10am. Keep u updated later

hey kokoyln,

yup. got the number from petrina liaoz. Thanks! Thanks for your tips too...heehee...

Yah, went to kaki bukit liaoz...mostly selling prams/strollers, tubs (basically the big bulky stuff...) So Crystalz, if u need those things, u shd check out the 2 hypermarts at Kaki Bukit. Got quite a few stuff. Think they having 30% disc for some brands of strollers now.

Nepia, I heard many mummies swear by it kinda thing. $15 per pack for 60 pcs (NB and size S)...plus free delivery. that's a very good deal...

Everybody all sick ah...my office also. Until my boss is saying "so funny, the pregnant lady never go on MC but the ones not pregnant all go on MC". hahahaha...think I shd too. heehee...

kokoyln,

Thanks.. hehe my nephew oso using nepia... so i will be getting nepia too!

CSI, those big bulky ones i'm getting from my sis.. so left those baby bath, wet tissue, etc.. and things for me. haha yesterday night list down the things to buy... ahz.. so many things haven't buy haha

huiz: ur dream usually quite *zun*... But this time cannot le... Cause starting meter already 35baht...
furthermore S$1 is 22baht... hehe...

Kokoyln/CSI: I only passed the number to CSI. I nv save the number myself...

Crystalz: Sry I can't help u... I asked CSI to pass to u ltr le.

Baby bath as in baby bath tub? I'll be using the one my parents gave me for my GDL (yah, my parents so traditional...heehee). :p

Crystalz,
oh okie. thanks for the info. I just called too! hahaha...(taking a break from work) but never pick up. Er...she's more comfy speaking mandarin or english?

Actually I also dunno what's the so-called market rate. I guess $580 is reasonable lah, horh? heehee...

Li Ann, I have seen the video clip u sent. The baby is really tok kong man! Like that also can sleep. But he's really v v chubby and cute lor (I think ang moh babies usually look very cute). I was trying hard to control my laughter too.

yah Li Ann,

Finally got the time to see the clip u sent! It's so farnee!! The baby is sooooo cute!! hahahaha...but really cartoon lorh. can nod so many times (I was a bit worried the baby will fall over! haha) and not wake up. But the baby's brother also quite cute. His baby brother just lean on him to sleep in the end, he also no reaction. Just let the baby sleep....so cute!!

Hi Crystalz,
yah, I got to talk to her liaoz. heehee...think she must be wondering how come 1 day got 2 ladies asking for her massage services. heehee...and in Dec some more. hahaha.

not to worry, i have inform caroline abt you 2.. told her to give special treatment liao.. anyway she is good, do 1x u will understand why i say so. she speak english n chinese. BTW pl do give her a small token of angbao if u cfm post natal massage cos to chinese, it is dirty to go hse tat has confinement mommies.. small token can be like $8-12.. i also gave her when i ask her to do mine.

ya NEPIA is good.. if not i trust Mommy Poko.. Pamper can stay aside.. Drypers, haiz.. i only use tat to let jolie poo poo..caouse rashes.. use good diaper on newborn bb cos theyir skin more sensitive. change to normal one when they reach after 4 or 6mth..

hi kokoyln,

Thanks thanks...yah, I remember my ma used to tell me whe I was younger, that it's considered dirty to go to a house with confinement mummies. Usually they will visit the baby during the 1 month celebration and onwards. I never really understood the logic of why it's considered dirty though. Hehs, then again, the Chinese have lots of beliefs...Okie, will remember to set aside a token angbao.

kokoyln,

thanks! Will remember about the ang bao.. hehe

CSI,

i oso have same question that u had ask abt breastfeeding in the dec thread. I even read from the forum that a baby was in ICU for dehydration as the mum dun have enuff milk. Haiyo i think breastfeeding is not easy for first time mum. Wonder can we bring the pump to the hospital to stimulate the milk to come early.. Oso worry abt engorgement cos its real painful. And pumping won't help much which some forumers says.. haha think i too free and read up alot. Then now worry too much.

Crystalz,

Not too sure abt that...to me, it's all abt the technique. I may not get the technique right for I dunno how long. The impt thing is not to stress ourselves lah. Coz that would affect the flow also. Maybe instead of reading up on other's erm, "less than successful" experience (no offence), I think we should be reading up on the "pitfalls" of BF for the first time, and what are the steps to take to try and make it easier for ourselves.
From what I hear from frens, it's latching on that establishes the supply. Pumping wun help much in the initial stages if supply was not established in the first place. I guess it's like, that's the natural beauty of our bodies and how it works ba... hehs...

Good morning!

I've sent an evite for October makan session to all of you yesterday. Let me know if I've missed out anyone.

Hi Nellie,

I have replied u liao

KNS, should have asked for the name of the internal telephone operator and complain big time to her supervisor. It's always THIS KIND of people who are super rude. I did not catch the phone number she gave me earlier coz my file just dropped and when I asked again, she said "that's why I told u the number just now what". She repeated the number in such a buay song manner! I don't think I had done anything to offend or irritate her...

I called up the internal operator trying to ask for the ITD people's number in this institution. I don't want those in HQ which I have. She quickly muttered the 4 digit number (which I didn't catch coz my file dropped) to me followed by the long string of 1800 number (which I don't want). When saying the 1800, she very sacarstically said "this one is from the HQ wan, not here ok!" I said, "yes, this I know, but may I have the other one instead?" So she said, " that's why I told u just now what, the number is xxxx. This one is then the internal one" Duhhh.... she think I dunno meh?? The things that I am really pissed off are her tone and words used!

Wow piang! she PMS???

These 2 weeks, I keep receiving calls from ppl saying they want to change appt dates or to be transferred to another dept. I was like HUH??? TOLD them this is a bank, not a hospital!

wah seh, what's up with phone calls these days?

Huiz, it's usually this kind of pple, coz they are so bored with their work!! They probably feel "trapped" at where they are...so take heart that we're not in that kind of position.

If it's me ah, I might have just told her, "you were mumbling earlier, couldn't hear. That's why had to ask you again." hahaha...I'm so bad.