Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi Nellie,

For qn 3, there is no restriction on where u can stay if u hv a HDB and then buy a private porperty, but 1 thing to note is that u will be subjected to the minimum sum requirement when u use yr CPF to buy yr private property. The current minimum sum requirement is $47,500 and it goes up every July.

erm, for point 3...if your 1st housing is private property, you cannot buy HDB flat....UNTIL 30 months after you've SOLD off your private property. That's what I last read from HDB webby before I got married. Not sure if it has changed.

For point 4, I think HDB owner have to stay there for min 5 years (?) before can buy private property.

Petrina, you are very nice...*pat* *pat*...yah, I agree with you, it's kinda ridiculous. Has the bro tried on his ownn suit? sekali can still wear wat. haiz. But oh well...it's your wedding, dun let others spoil it, and it's once off. Check out G2000...maybe have some promos.

kokolyn: Wah, the job scope looks like very fierce. Cover so many things.

petrina: Your emcee very jialat lei. But i think no choice because he is your FH best bud. Haiz.

iViED: Wah, you see 20+ houses liao ah. Where you intending to buy?

wah mais.. u all really know ur stuffs abt HDB rulings.. i know nuts abt it! only know by the time we get our new nest, hopefully can pay off one shot once and for all..

harlow ivied dear!! really long time no see u here liao.. guess u shd be bzy searching for jobs, hses etc..

this sat is dorymiki's AD ya..

CSI, Lance: G2000 got sale. I borrowed liann's member card.. keke. today busy so tmr then go c.

Nellie: today met up wif st design - calvin. reno price is steep. but i think he's good. hmm, he say price is standard. not sure if setting aside $10k is ex for a single rm reno??

Any opinions?

Lance, where got fierce, i mean either one field leh, not all..

btw anyone looking for supporting position [admin] my co is looking for 1 more team assistant and they prefer to be recommend by us.. min pay abt 2500 5days, 9-6pm at raffles place.. database updated.. pretty routine but enivronment quite fun..

petrina, 10k for a room? is it too high?

updates: 10k consist of
Painting whole room, 3nos bedroom doors, rewiring whole hse, walk-in wardrobe, platform bed, 3nos glassdoor suspended shelves, collapsible table, 2nos powerpoint, 1no svc point, 1 wrought irongate

Comments?

Hmm, Petrina, I think 10K is exp leh. My friend did up her new HDB 5 room in Sengkang, with ID services included for no more than 22K.

kokolyn: Oh like that maybe not so fierce. Heh heh. Too bad i am <1 yr exp. Nobody ones me.

petrina: Which G2000 you going? What time u doing? I want to go see see also.

Huiz, kokolyn, petrina: Wah, renovate a house so expensive. My friend said if design ourselves and tell contractors shld be cheaper.

Update: I juz got a quote from someone else... $8k for the same above mentioned. But this person not recommended by anyone. I juz found her on the net.

Comments?

petrina, happy shopping!
you are right that contractor is much cheaper but you have to constantly spot check on them to ensure they dun do a shoddy work. But since it is just one-rm reno, if your family members can help you to keep an eye on them, it may be worth a consideration. Generally we pay about 5k more to an ID for their service. My friend do up his whole condo for only 9k (including wiring) using a contractor. I've just visited their house, thw workmanship is not bad. But he has to go back almost everyday to supervise them and so it is tiring for him. If you can afford the time and effort, you can consider going direct to contractor. Have you gotten other quotes for comparison?

lance, the g2000 sale is from 10-12 i think. 50% storewide. usually suits included.

ivy, hope you like sembawang area actually resale flats from sembawang and admiralty is newer in the north part.

is good to go to contractor cos save on the middleman fee. some contractor actaully know how to design too.. btw i feel if i'm goin to do up a new hse again i will jsut go ikea.. i realise i don wish to stuck w same layout/furnitures for more than 4yrs so IKEA is cheap n not bad. i can dump n buy new ones when i get sick of seeing them.

G2 sales.i better go take a look since my new job is more into smart formal..

Really cannot compare renovating a new flat with a resale one. For resale flats, there's hacking charges to consider. For my mum's flat in Sembawang (was new when we got it), we spent abt 30k plus for reno. The main costs were on the electrical works and carpentry works. Each powerpoint cost $$$. It really depends what you want for the house. Mine was overhauled, damage : 50k.

Petrina - I believe 10k is more than enough. You had seen St Design's wrokmanship in my place. I think they're good lor plus my bro-in-law said can always call them back for 'maintanence' which he did. As for the 8k one, you must go and see their workmanship first, if you think can, then go for the cheaper one. But make sure they list out all the hidden costs.

During my reno, I was the one telling Steve (the boss) what i want so I'm the 'ID' in this case. Ha Ha Ha

Hi Nellie,

Forgot to answer your question, see I'm really old and forgetful, I'm fast approaching mid 30s liao, you can't be older than me rite? ;p

shucks Nellie... think i am the fourth one in the 30s club too... just hit 30 this year. Birthday in march. yeah... think sherrie is youngest. vaguely recall she is sagi??

i finished my work le! Can go home lo!

bye ah mais! "seeya" tomorrow!

Finally, another 15mins to knock off time. *starts counting down*

Hmm, wonder how is Sherrie getting on. Haven't heard from her for sometime. Spoken to Stacy over MSN the other day. It's been and will continue to be a busy period for her coz of the many audits coming up. Hopefully time will fly by for her and she can join us back here again soon

Hmm, would it be a good idea to start compiling a list of our details e.g. Name, nick, mobile, address, birth date etc and send it to everyone?

Hiya...

Ivy: Ya, i'm getting very excited!!! GDL &amp; An Chuang next Saturday.

Been very busy with work lately. Lots of planning work to be done and i have more responsibilities/projects to take on this semester. *phew*

Janf: My mattress is Slumberland.
I like Simmons but it's waaayyyy over my budget for a mattress.

Nellie: You're right. My flat reno cost $55K cos we practically re-did the entire flat. Lots of hacking work &amp; we also had a lot of custom-made carpentry. Even though we had an ID, my ILs still went down very often to supervise the work. Was very helpful of them because bor-lao &amp; i were so caught up in our work.

forgot to add this ---

Petrina: Don't let your FH's helpers bully you!!! None of our helpers requested for us to sponsor their outfits. I only requested for my JMs to wear white. I made wrist corsages for them and also bought them a RISIS bracelet each.

As for de "brothers", i shall leave it to my
hubby to decide. Will probably buy a tie for each of them because i want them to wear PINK ties! HAHA!!!

Huiz: 5.36pm you count down liao ah. Ha ha. You get to go home on time everyday so far? Good idea on the compilation thingy.

petrina: Pris is right. Dun let them bully you.

Wah. still got one more day to go G2000 sale. I want new clothes but I am so lazy to get up and go. Haiz.

me oso joining 30s' club in 2mths time leh haha! ivy, liann, sherrie and me same age..

pris - another 18days to AD, fast ya! i luv Simmons too but like wat u said, really tooooo exp.. but the feeling of it v shiok..

I bought my Simmons mattress at Ackerman in Toa Payoh. The price is cheaper than Robinsons' sale. Can go there and check it out.

Pris, think better ask your husband to remind the brothers to wear a shirt that matches the pink tie/standardise their shirt colour. If not might appear rather weird/the pink (I assume its not hot candy pink but more of a pastel pink right?... hehe) might not stand out ah.

Aiya Lance, me still in the honeymoon period at work now. Had been going home on time for the past 3 days. Hopefully it will be the same everyday... haha

Nellie, would it be better if I do up an Excel and email to everyone to fill in and send back to me? After I have complied them, I will email it back to everyone again. How about this?

wow, such long posts till i don know where to start..
yeah, consolidate our details will be good. thks Nellie n huiz
why you all use the term Ah mais? i alwys wanna ask..

update u all something abt my off. i hav a calculative collic who work same scope as me.. wah i buay tahan.. she grumbles whole days n goes ladies wash her hand clean her face constantly, avoid the sun.. peng san.. i almost busrt out when she say she has perfect skin when i see tat it is dehydrated till no pimple, thin [skin] n sensitve.. i'm thinkin how to counter her NAGGINGS.. any ideas?

kokoyln, "ah mais" is the way we call "fellow sisters" in Hainanese. The actual meaning of this word refers is "ah yi", our mother's younger or older sister. But it could also be used to address a group of young ladies

Hmm, for this kinda people, I might try to suan them back in a diplomatic manner. But of course not at this moment when I am new. Wait a while first before we try anything. Coz it's surely not a good move when others start having a bad impression on ourselves too.

Okie everyone, I have sent out the Excel namelist liao. Just fill up the columns and email it back to me. I will compile and send out the final copy later.

Hi all, i was out the whole day.... G2k sales good. but not my type of clothes. Juz managed to buy a suit that he chose himself for my own brother.
Went to suntec G2k, so next door is MNG, haiz... burnt a hole in my pocket again. Dunno y everytime i go same shop, always got new things to buy.

Bought stuff frm fila - 50% sale! keke, bought tees n many bags.

The buds still wan tailor-made. No choice. Since we already gave them a budget of 200ea we'll stick to it.

Regarding the reno, I went to my client's new place today. She did her hse under 20k. so i asked how she did it as most of her furniture is custom-made. She say she did via contractor. Very reliable. her wardrobe n platform bed was very nice. She allowed me to take pics of her hse. will post it here ltr. Comments... thks.
I've shortlisted to 3 ppl for the reno. As it is only 1-rm n i am running on super tight budget, i most prob take the cheapest based on same type materials used.

Pris: dun mean to be wet blanket... But currently my FH mattress is slumberland. supposed to be orthopedic bed. but after 3yrs, *koyak already* back pain throughout... so i decided to splurge $3.3k on a gd mattress + free pillows n bolster.

Sry for being so long-winded..

wah Petrina, so late you still online...

ok lorh...since the buds want tailor-made, then just stick to it lorh. How long does it take to tailor-make? You have just about 2 more months to your wedding? Getting excited yah....

Oh, mattress after 3 yrs will koyak one ah? hmmm...got rotate the mattress? Heard that we have to rotate our mattresses regularly...to even out the weight. My mattress is Dunlop. So far, ok lah. haha.

ok Huiz, will check. Thanks!

hmmm, kokoyln, erm, just ignore her for now? no point letting other pple affect your moods. Perhaps after a while of ignoring her etc, she'll keep quiet. But dun ignore till she thinks you're unfriendly or uncooperative. Still new mah...dunno what kind of person your colly is...sekali the type that carries tales leh?

I again quarrelled wif my FH this morn... also abt same thing.
I told them G2k got sale, they still insist on tailor. I so sianz. I dun understand y they can be like this... Friends? Fair weather friends maybe. My FH say their parents will give us angbao more than the suit amt. But i dun think so...

My FH flying off to Bangkok today for Biz trip.. yesterday after movie, came back quarrel again. Over the same stupid issue. he say i *see no open* because i dun understand how can friends be so non-understanding... ARGHHH!!
Anyway, i juz wanna let out some steam over here.

CSI: I got home from watching HP @ cineleisure yesterday. watched 10pm slot. full hse. SO NICE...
FH said Transformers was better but i told him diff range of movie. Only prob, too much dialogue.
HP is so handsome, hermoine is so pretty. I think they're growing teens tat's y they look so diff from the previous HP movies...

We actually turned the mattress every year. but the little round buttons on the slumberland mattress came off bit by bit so it is abit uneven when u sleep on it.. Still under warranty, so we intend to exchange for a new pc n pass to my MIL to use while we use the tempur matt.

Petrina, I have seen the carpentry work in your client's house. Really impressive! U may want to consider her contractor too?

Ah Mais,

just checked Tigerair website. they're having a 3cents promo from 12 - 14 July. Dates for flying are from 30 Oct to 29 Mar 2008. Shall we plan a trip to Bangkok next Jan or Feb?

right, petrina, decision made already so move on to the next item on your to-do list...that is YOU, yourself! Pamper yourself with facial treats, massages, and whatever to make yourself mei-mei on your AD! Remember, you and your FH are the STARS on the night. Don't let this incident bogged you down and sour the relationship. It is not worth it.

Aiyo... you make me feel like dashing to the cinema and watch HP now! Am only catching the movie this Sat only. Can't wait!

huiz...thanks.... you are the BEST!
Will check my yahoo mail in a minute.

Hmm, if covers weekend I think shouldnt be a prob for me. At most take one day Fri or Mon off. But one thing is for sure, I cannot make it during the CNY period coz need to go back to Msia.

You have selected the nearest available date.
Internet Discounted Fare 0.03 SGD
Sat, 12 Jan 08 Flight TR 102
06:30 Depart Singapore (SIN)
07:50 Arrive Bangkok Intl (BKK)

You have selected the nearest available date.
Internet Discounted Fare 0.03 SGD
Tue, 15 Jan 08 Flight TR 109
20:10 Depart Bangkok Intl (BKK)
23:30 Arrive Singapore (SIN)

Departure (Lowest Fare)
1 Adult at 0.03 SGD 0.03 SGD Taxes and Fees (details) 52.25 SGD

Return (Lowest Fare)
1 Adult at 0.03 SGD 0.03 SGD Taxes and Fees (details) 67.75 SGD

Total Cost of Flight 120.06 SGD

Please note that fares are not guaranteed until purchase is completed.