Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Haha, I am a super and easy sleeper. Can conk out anytime, anywhere. I can fall asleep within 3 mins of touching the pillow and am not the kind who can only sleep on own bed.

Wa piang, why is the day ending so soon? Haiiizz..

huiz
maybe.. i on my pc n login msn, mailbox whenever i'm home.. i can't live without my mobile, pc n of cos my gal.. she jsut made me cycle her children bicycle chasing her in her car.. peng san.. ;)

kokolyn & huiz: All the best for tomorrow!!!
Sleep early tonight so the both of you will be fresh.

Janf: Thanks for offering help! Will definitely let everyone here know if i need help.

It's Sunday...sigh...it means back to work and i won't get to meet my hubby till next weekend. He's having 3 papers this coming week. Can't wait for his exams to be over so that we can sit down and go through all the wedding details.

My GDL is on 21st July...what must i take note of??

hi all, i juz finished neg wif my FH buddies...

They got super demands manz.. talking abt Raoul shirts n 400$ suits...
i almost peng san... i gotta buy 5suits in total. including my FH's.

feeling the pinch of wedding now. bought tempur mattress almost faintz looking at the price.
seeing our joint a/c short 1 zero, i sooo sad...

We went to see Goal2 today. super slow show. but we enjoy it as it's a football related movie.
We will be rushing to watch HP if there's Sneaks on wed cause FH flying on thur till end july.. sob sob...
Otherwise dunno when then can watch HP le.

Lance: dun need le. Huiz sent it to me already.

Pris, thks for your wishes.. err GDL, sori i cna't offer much cos mine was so simple cos my parents don want anything except ping jin & 4 dian jin plus basket of oranges but in laws say no must have cakes so they sent 4 boxes..

Petrina, wow must buy shirt for bros one meh?? rem mine no .. jsut ask them wear white shirt but got give ang bao la.

my bf jsut sent me freshly picked durians from batu pahat.. they looks so small but super tasty.. yummy

Mahjong seesion just eneded. Yeah! I'm a winner today.

Pris - actually nothing much to take note for GDL. Just make sure all the stuff are there can liao, and of course take some pics of the GDL stuff. If you have friends who help you during GDL, remember to give them ang pows.

Pertrina - must you make suits for your FH buddies??? For my case, i only bought shrits from G2000 for them only.

Kokolyn - i love durians too. yum yum

haiz... *tong ren bu tong ming*
Not really all buddies lah. FH & My real bro 1ea. His bestman 1ea, his emcee 1ea. Others juz shirts.
FH's i think we buy abit more ex de. Frm marksnspencer.

btw, wish huiz n kokolyn all the best @ new workplace tmr...

Wah, nellie: practice session for aug11 huh?? keke...

Pris, for my GDL, my ILs said must bring the candles over for us. Bring 2 sets, one for the bride's family to keep and the other to return to the groom to bring home to use on the AD. Actually there's nothing much also la, just make sure the pin jin (if any), ang pows for any elders (my mum wanted my husband to give an ang pow to my granny), the wines, the groundnuts, sweets, cakes, candles and oranges are in place (those are the things I had for my GDL). Then return some of the gifts to the groom to bring home can liao. For me, my hubby and his dad came over around 12+, so that they could stay for lunch. I like this idea coz its also a time for both sides to gather

Thanks Nellie! *starts counting down*.... hehe

petrina: Okie.
I also thinking of getting my buddies shirts too. Suits a bit too ex la. But then one of my buddy say he want ferragamo (did i spell correctly) shirt, i tell him he siao. ha ha.

koklyn; you shiok lei. got durians to makan. so nice.

Ferragamo shirt???? Alamak, u ask him who's the groom this time. Is it u or him.... then again, maybe even grooms don't wear Ferragamo shirts! kekeke

Ya lor huiz.. i so upset when his emcee say that average suit costs only 400. better quality ones can cost up to 1k. i was like duh...
I so sianz manz..

Alamak!!! Petrina, your 'helpers' all out to 'ker tok' you? They only wear once for your wedding and get to keep it. Your investments are a bit over leh.

Petrina, can i be your 'sister' on your AD? Maxmara abit exp, Zara/MNG dress can le.. hehehehahaha

Lance, ferragamo shirt.. i think really Da chu xue..

Nellie, mahjong oh.. jsut play yesterday.. thks for your wishes..

Huiz, your GDL so many items..

we are all ONLINE hehaha

Hahahaha, Kokoyln, that's a good one! Be petrina's sister can have a new dress.. count me in too! But I think better not scare her too much ah... keke

i better go zz soon.... btw, kokoyln, what's your MSN addy?

huiz, hahaa teasing petrina, guess she slep le if not she will reply fast..

my msn is [email protected] .. welcome u all to add me.. [pray hard new office cna msn n surf net ;-)]

sweet dreams, need to tuck my gal to slep aredy

morning ah mais!

Happy 1st day of work to kokoyln and Huiz...

kokoyln, the gift registry thing is a great idea! Hmmm....how to start one? Send out an email list or do it on some webby?

Petrina, wow, you're gonna make the shirts? Hmmm, I only bought ties for the Xiong Dis...ties that matched the colour of the Jie Mei's dresses. Shirts, just told the guys to wear their favourite white shirt. haha...

Huiz & Kokolyn: Happy 1st day of work!

Petrina: wah.. i can't bear to buy tempur mattress.. so ex.. plus pillows even worst.. haha.. no doubt its cool &amp; soft.. i bought memory foam mattress <3k dan i saw the tempur mattress.. but after sleeping on my mattress, everyday also don't feel like waking up cos prob too comfortable.. hehe..

happy 1st work day to huiz n kokolyn!!

Wah, u all tease me, yesterday juz had a heated arguement wif FH only.. In the end, decide to buy suits for bestman n emcee. *his best buds*

Hullo everyone, it's me here signing in from... u know where la... haha

I must say I am very happy with my current situation. I have my own cubicle! And the prev staff did not uninstall MSN from the PC... heh heh heh

Ok, gotta go back to clearing the table.... come back again when I am free....

Ya, I just log-in to MSN and it could work properly. I am so glad that the partition is even taller than me. My manager sits right behind me but he can only see/talk to me when he comes into my cubicle. I had also re-arranged my monitor such that its not so obvious from my cubicle entrance. Hahaha...

Wah, finally got a breather. Can post a msg.

Huiz: Good for you. Take a pic of your place show us la.

petrina: Your emcee really said that ah? Abit too much lei. I on msn? I in office sure on one. Its just a bit obvious to chat nowadays after my office reno to bring down partitions.

loinky: what is tempur mattress? is it very good?

kokolyn: Ya lo. I will just get them G2k la. Its more economical.

Lance, tempur mattress is really comfy...supposedly made from that memory foam / space material, that provides good support for the back and neck coz its takes the shape of ther person's body. Price also very good. I was told it's $5k for a queen sized mattress (can't remember the height of the mattress - shd be the medium range of height). a shorter mattress would also cost abt $4k?

Hi huiz &amp; kokolyn, hope u ladies are having fun at your new work place. I can log on to MSN in the office too but it's illegal la.....hahaha

Hi Pris, my GDL is like 7 yrs ago.....hmm i think there is nothing much u need to do, just make sure yr hubby brings whatever is supposed to be brought in the presentation according to how your parents want e.g the boxes of cakes, liquor, ang pow, and all these items must be tied with red ribbons with the red "happiness" sticker" etc. And if i still remember, your hubby must come and deliver the items with an elderly person. Actually, its up to your parents, if they are nt particular, then its fine.

Hi petrina, i suppose the cost on the suits are really too much. For me, I only had 1 bridesmaid and I paid for her dress and shoes which cost less than $250, the bestman and groomsmen wear their own suits so long as its dark colour. I suppose you wouldn't want to spend a bomb on suits which they may only wear once, even the dress I picked for my bridesmaid was something she could wear for normal occasions. Both me and my hubby saved the money and use it to buy a good dinner for the bestman, groomsmen and bridesmaid. Don't argue with yr hubby la, I oso argue with my hubby almost everyday close to our wedding day, impt thing is its your special day ,don't let anyone spoil it.

Hi Nellie, I think you can't be as old as me la

Tempur mattresses are really EX!!! I'm very satisfied with my Simmons mattress. Lance, you buying new mattress?

Nicelip - Can I ask your age? Hee Hee... I can become er jie.

Lance, take pic ah, cannn... but I will not post it here la... U know where to go n see them right?.... hehe

I realised the glass guard in front of my monitor screen (whatever its called) blocks view from the sides, so people walking pass cannot see. This is double protection for me coz I had also shifted the monitor away from the thoroughfare... kekeke

Wonder how Kokoyln is doing now....

hi hi huiz...you must be really happy to be able to still log on and be connected to the outside world right?

kokoyln...on the other hand...so quiet... maybe orientation.

wow...first day coming to an end le... so happy...

petrina...wa... my hubby's brothers never demand anything like that...they all happen to have blue shirts wor so they just wore lor. And most of them married (therefore they have a suit) and those single ones have been brothers before (therefore they own one too), my hubby only had to bring along more ties for them to choose. As for my jiemeis, i just asked them to wear pink or red, and if really dun have, just make sure one of the items on them is red. That's all leh. I gave them ang bao, treat before and after my AD. Wanted to pay for the pedi/mani but end up they insist in paying their own.

Lance, Kokoyln, Janf... my hubby's new toy is Suzuki SX4. Orange color. Very nice. The day he collected his car, he strikes 4D le. So he loves it very much.

I am so happy! I booked the tix to watch HP this sat with my group of friends who are equally siao over HP.

Going to kino later to get the series.

wah huiz's 1st day at work and can surf sgbrides liao best ya! me still live in timbaktu, chiam.. btw huiz, where are u working now?? see, no msn is lidat one.. live in dinosaur era..

i saw tempur selling at taka and the feeling of it sooo comfy.. tink ly on it anytime can drop into deep zzz..

lookin fwd to jacky cheung's concert this sat but darn!, gotta be on course this sat and it will only end at 6.. sianz liao.. cant go home and chg.. bleh

Dear Ah mais.. thks for all the wishes and misses. hahah.. the moment i step into my new office, i had Monday briefing 20mins, follow by office tour, how to use the copier, phone, etc then Team lunch, back office at 2pm+ then corporate overview with country mgr.. only by 4pm then i could touch my pc and realise that i COULD LOG INTO MSN.. hahahah shiok man.. but i could only use web msn cos we don have local harddisk, server in aussie.. my desk is kinda open to 2 rows of staff behind me but often they r out..

btw anyone is in financial/accounting/recruitment for yrs and wish to join my company, let me know.. pretty cool place.. can watch NDP from my office..

nellie, add u in my msn le

tomor another training session again

Phew, finally made it through the first day of work. And I am so so so glad that I can reach home within 45 mins if I don't dilly dally. So much better than my previous job man. The husband is still at the clinic tonight so I ta-pao my own dinner and just relax in front of the TV (and now PC)... shiok... haha.

Petrina, I think the bros wun need a suit la... so hot during the day they wear suit for whaattt??? Qiang jing tou ah? Sekali people cannot tell who is the groom ah... alamak, G2000 shirts are very good already.... kekeke

Huiz: So shiok ah. 45 mins reach home. Today my new boss had a talk with the team (3 of us). I think i won't be able to go home on time next time liao.

kokolyn: what accounting job? but i just grad last year. do i qualify? heh heh.

Li Ann: Wah sx4 nice lei. sporty. and he strike 4d. that car is lucky man. next time any ah mais got buy new car, should give no. so we can all buy 4d.

CSI, Nellie: No la, i don't think i will buy now. jsut look see look see. my mum say don't buy first. otherwise next year not fresh liao. ha ha. Tempur so good ah. i did a search. NASA certified. No wonder so ex. I think i will go for lower end ones. Simmons, king koil, four stars i think all quite affordable...

didnt manage to collect the PS cd today... FH say he'll collect tmr. I so excited...

Went to rustic with liann today to try TCM accu for last min slimming methods b4 my wedding.

Lance, my company is looking for ppl w min 3-5yrs of experience in Accounting/Finance/Sales &amp; Mktg/Recruitment to fill up the Recruitment Mgr position. salary + attractive comm.. interest party, let me know..

Petrina, so any result? thot Rustic is more balinese when TCM come in??

Ohh, does it mean that Tempurs are made using NASA technology? Perhaps the price is due to the production technology they use and also the NASA brand name?

hmmm, I think Petrina's bestman needs a suit coz it'll be at church?
My two bestmen also wore suits. But lucky thing they very vain, hahaha...so they already own suits (for I dunno what reason lah...since both also not married). My groomsmen, just wore white shirts with the ties I bought. Hmm, Petrina, maybe you want to check out G2000? Sometimes they have promotion on their suits...

kokolyn: juz consultation. no accu on the spot.

Huiz: i bought my mattress during a sale. 20cm queen @ 3,500. plus freebies given.

CSI: yup. because of church so he need a suit. But u lucky, they already own a suit.. But do u noe, my emcee's bro got married 3yrs back. He already owned a suit. but he say the suit may not fit so he wanted a new suit. i find it very ridiculous. But since he's my FH bud n it's my wedding, i juz *chin chye*

Hi hi, long time no 'see'. I have missed out so much.

hey petrina, how are you? Hope you are feeling better. wow, you own a Tempurs mattres. *envy*
Being your sisters and brothers are so lucky. Anymore vacancies? :p

CSI, how's pregnancy? Good? The bibs are pretty. Makes me drooling to get those baby stuff, they are so lovables and cute.

Huiz and kokoyln, hope you had a good day at the new work place.

*whistles* Li Ann, enjoy the ride in the new car? It brings luck to you, so can pamper it more. hee..

Hi Lance, sorry. I won't be able to attend your ROM, goto work on that day. Happy marital bliss!
Rem to upload to your multiply leh. Waiting to see your pic.

Pris, feeling excited? Let us know if you need any help. Here are all the experienced ah mais. hee..

Hi hi janf/Nellie/nicelip. Miss you all.

I have a ques to ask those ah mais who are buying HDB flats from open market. Are we able to get HDB loan? Or this is only applicable to those who apply for flats via HDB?
I have been so busy with work, and searching for houses. aiyo, think I have seen at least 20++ houses, so tired.

Hihi Ivied, so nice to hear from u again!
Hopefully things are getting on track for u at this current job.

I do not really catch the HDB question. Does "buying from open market" = "buying resale"? Mine is a resale and the amount we pay every month is actually paying back the HDB loan isn't it? Coz an interest is factored into this amount we pay every month.... haha, I blurrr liao....

Oh ivied, I just checked with my bo lao. He said that HDB loan is for all 1st time buyers, no matter if u are buying new or resale flats

Thanx gals! Yes, that's my ques. Then next ques. What is the max number of times that we can purchase a flat from HDB?

ivied, we could buy 2x from HDB. as for the HDB loan is only for those who earn less than certain income and don own any private property.. now most hbd owner has to take bank loan which is pay by CPF..anyway i think it make no diff from hdb or bank loan.. the only diff is bank will take the house if can't pay but hdb wont cos they can't..

If I am not wrong, we can only buy New flats from HDB twice. After the 2x are used up, its either private property or resale units.

Ah Mais, I'm confused.

1. I know we can purchase resale/new flats as many times as we want. Entitlement to HDB loans is only 2 times and earnings must be less than 8k. After utilising the 2 times HDB loans, can only use bank loans.

2. If you're purchasing a new HDB unit for the 2nd or more time, you need to pay levy for selling away the existing flat. If next HDB unit is a resale one, no need to pay any levy.

3. If your 1st housing is a private property, you're not entitled to buy a HDB flat anymore.

4. You have a HDB flat already, you still can buy a private property. However, you must stay in your HDB flat, cannot stay in your private property.

Am I wrong?

Ok, I hope my answers are accurate:

#1 Can purchase new flats twice. Resale no limit. But both are possible provided that the owner has stayed in the current house for the minimum stated number of years.

To be able to take the bank loan for the 2nd time, your new house must be bigger than the current one.

#2 Both points are correct

#3 Can buy a resale, but no loans will be granted. If buying new ones, the chances of being allocated one are very low.

#4 You can buy a private property provided the owner has stayed in the HDB for the minimum stated number of years. No restrictions on where u can stay

My answers are based on the notes I had taken down over the phone with my friend. Hopefully they are right. But the best way is perhaps to check directly with HDB?