Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi ah mais! long time no "see"! Been busy clearing work and housekeeping at work aka filing...don't you just hate it?!

Really cannot stand it le...so like what Huiz said...coming in here to take a breather and to catch up what i've missed....looks like pretty much!

Guess i saw some new names...like handsome..loinky...jen.. *waves* hi hi! Welcome to our robust highly interactive thread! keke...

Huiz...take care...don't tire yourself out with the wedding prep.

I am so happy yesterday... my hubby bought me a new Gucci wallet and i bought a cook book teaching how to make good nourishing soup. Can't wait to show off my culinary "skills"!

Since the Qiyuwu and bitchy HK serial ended...i'm quite free in the evening... i've since picked up another jap serial. Has anyone watched "One Litre of Tears"?? It is very nice! So touching..but not too good to watch at night cos i cried so much that the next day eyes all swollen.

petrina...i like both your WG esp the second one for the photoshoot, i thought it makes you more shapely.
I saw you in one that is criss cross behind...that one is nice leh...you didn't choose that one? And saw one sexy pic of you in a black gown! Somehow hor, i think you can take strong colors leh... and you will look stunning in them. For gowns that are paler, it creates a demure look so different too...i think since you have chosen the pink gown, you can spice it up with more acessories or hairstyle. In any case, a beautiful bride is one with the brightest smile that day!

wow...it felt so good to come in here once in a while....ok...got to carry on with my work... laterz~~

hi li ann

i totally agree. now that the 9pm show has ended, i hardly watch channel 8. the new show is too silly. so lucky of you to get such a nice v-day gift. "one litre of tears" is the one where the girl has the illness rite? i watched one episode on cable before. but i heard so much about the drama from this taiwanese variety show. on the show, one male commented that he cried while watching the show and all the other female contestants (its a matchmaking variety show on channel 56) all nodded their heads!

its really addictive watching dramas. i rented this korean drama last week. there were 16 discs. i finished 11 discs in 1 day (only slept at 5am). i woke up the next day feeling so tired. rushed home after work to finish the other 5 discs!

ived: i also cut my hair after the wedding. its very short now!

a few more days to cny...just finished doing all my red packets. feeling of giving red packets seem so odd since i have been receiving them for the past 20 over years. haha

Yep, Sherrie...that's right. It's the show where the gal got the illness. Even my very cool guy colly commented that he felt sad and close to tears after each episode... i'm left with 3 episodes. Also can't wait to watch it tonight!

And about the ang bao thingy... a bit confused cos some relatives tell us to give ang bao and some say no need. In any case, we just prepare la, if got children ask for it we just give lor. Think the children will be happy to receive more... and speaking of which, no more small little clutch bag for me. i now understand why mother and other aunties used to carry those super big squarish hangbags with many diff compartments...to separate your $8, $10 & $20 ang baos! haha!

Cheers to auntiehood! :D

Happy belated Valentine's Day to all!!

Sorry for the late greeting, was so busy with work yesterday that i didn't have time to log in. I have no mood to work today...tomorrow is half-day & after that, is the long CNY weekend! Whoo!

Sherrie: I also toying with the idea of cutting my hair after my wedding in July. For now, just keeping it long but Lynn (my MUA) told me not to grow it too long!

Gals, i've chosen my PS gowns...will update more ok? Will also bring my ROM Photos along to show everyone during the next gathering.

sherrie, that's cool! I always find that woman with short hair, especially those with a small head and good hair cut is the modern trend of woman. hee.. I can't cut it too short, coz I have such a bigggg head and wideeeee face.

welcome back Li Ann! Your postings are always so funny and cute. Makes one feel happy and cheerful.

oh, I also have to pack ang baos. Now consolidating those cute cute red packets to give to my little cousins, niece and nephew. hee..
Li Ann, its true. I saw my aunties even put the red packets into different plastic bags, to segregate which is for who. Then these plastic bags are in different compartments of the bag. my my, I have to do it in a more modernised way. haha..

I'm so happy. My bo lao just called, said he has secured the tickets to Shanghai for our HM! I'm leaving on 4 Mar! Yipee!!!

good afternoon all ah mais.

hi Li Ann and thanks for your welcome.

now is lunch break and i come online to look see look see. i want to post also must see timing cos the area around my cubicle has a lot of 'traffic', so cannot anyhow go online and type so long!

yeah, no work for me tmrw and for those ah mais who need to work, enjoy!

ivied, always good to have a break from work once in a while during the day.

i mean low profile here in the forum. basically just come here and look see and hope i don't miss anything for the wedding prep.

hope i am not the only ah gor here posting.

oh ah mais....i no mood to work, how? how?!

and this forum is so addictive! I kept wanting to log in once in a while to look see look see...

handsome...there used to be another ah gor who chatted with us briefly before his AD, then he seldom log on after his AD. I guess guys are more focused whereas this forum has become a platform for the ah mais to yak just about anything! i don't have to be too sneaky about the posting cos my back is facing, very importantly my boss room and, very luckily, against the wall... so i can quickly toggle to the Asiaone website which is always on standby....*feeling smug about it* keke...

ivy....yippee...feel happy for you too...i've asked my friends to pass me some "shouldn't-miss" restaurants and massage place namecards when she comes back next week. I'll pass them together with the hand drawn map to you during our gathering.

thanks Li Ann! I have no mood to work today too. I even took a longer lunch just now to shop at Howard's Storage. hee...

handsomegroom, oic. aiyo, no need to keep low profile one lar. Being the minority in this clan means u are the 'centre of attraction' already.

Well, you can pop by once in a while to check up any 'new gossips' or ask any of our experienced ah mais here for wedding preps advise. We are all chatty and helpful bunch.

Hi ah mais!
I've been sooooo busy at work the past few weeks! I haven't been coming by here for a while. Missed out so many posts. This happens to be our busiest time of the year, and it's CNY too...
Haven't bought much CNY stuff yet. chaamm....

I managed to read a post that the gathering is still on 2nd Mar? Oh well...too bad then... I won't be able to join u gals again...

Aiyah, Nellie, no need to apologise lah. heehee...It's good news that your MIL is able to go for the tour, then all of you can spend quality time together...

Btw, I'm collecting by AD DVD (video) tmrw! heehee...so excited!

hello handsome. welcome to the thread!

Hi sherrie, yah, me too...I use rubber bands to band the different piles together. I also use different sizes of ang pow paper for different amounts....the DBS one is quite cute. but it's black and red. not sure how the folks will react to it manz...OCBC's one is also quite chio this year...

Hey Ivied, that's good news! You shd go make a CS there...need not wear CS for wedding mah...if not a CS, a chinese top or those chinese-looking jacket type (what kind of description is that manz? I'll try to see if I can find pics). Nice and cheap. There's this restaurant in Pudong - the Bin Jiang One (5-min walk from the ferry terminal (the one that goes across to Puxi) in Pudong). It's quite quaint. There's no more Xiangyang market, but the touts are everywhere...and of course, must try their Xiao Long Bao...

Congrats Ivy on securing the tix!!!

This is my last year collecting red packets...next year must start giving!

Welcome handsomegroom!

thanks CSI and Pris for the welcome..

li ann, i see.. i do come on and see, bored at work sometimes. today gotta rush some work because it's an off day for my company. now don't envy, i know some companies having half day also la.. yes, my position is so unstrategic! if only i have eyes behind my head... but your boss won't wonder why you keep looking at the AsiaOne website and same page somemore?

ivied, so i am the thorn among the many roses here. haha.. very flattered and yes, i will shamelessly tap on the experiences of the ah mais here for my prep.
ok, if anything i can help, i will do my part too.

ahh my final year receiving angbaos.....

Hihi everyone!

I am soo deprived of the PC during work today and would be like this for the next few weeks. The clinic is now good enough for us to move back, so everyone is busy unpacking now. Damn dusty and dirty man. But I am itching to go on the forum to see everyone here!!! grrrrr....

Ivied, great that your HM is settled. Hmm, have u been planning for Shanghai even your wedding? Now then got the tics?

I got mine from Dynasty and they were good! Even sent a courier down to my place to deliver the tics coz by the time we were at their office that night, it was too late to cut ticks. I cant wait for the weekend for bo lao to come over and book the hotels online. then that will be one big headache off. NZ & OZ here we come!

Wah, 3days nv read so many posts le...
Thls all ah mais for ur comments on my gowns...

I like bustier cut gown also but wanted to try something diff for evening gown. so can have diff feeling.

Li Ann: I like the ribbon bustier cut. but the bulge at my bum side is ugly... hehe

I also like the tail of my chosen gown. so i chose the greater feeling of likes...

all mrs: I think i'll get used to packing red packets cause i've been doing it for my mom since primary sch... cause i kaypoh...

So i noe how much to pao for who and how many to pao for 1st & 2nd day...

good training. haha (ps: good idea to carry spare of lower amt angpao in case of uninvited guests...)

gong xi fa cai!

CSI, that's great! CNY is coming so this is just in time to let the relatives view your AD events.

And thanks for the tip! I had jotted this info down on the spot.
Tell u ah, making a CS there is the 1st thing that comes to my mind when we decided on our venue. And the next thing is to check with Li Ann right away. haha...

Huiz, erm, HM was not on our list initially. We did not set any plans for it in the beginning as we are not sure about our work schedule. But now we are all set to go! hee...
Great for you too! And you can start planning your itinerary too.
How long will you be away?

dear ah mais and one ah gor a.k.a. handsome groom

its friday but i gotta work till 9pm tonight
(( COEs have gone down to an all-time low and we expect people to come in still. doing all my car deliveries this week so that my customers can get their new cars before cny. it's so tiring.

janf and ivied: i have just collected my wedding video and photos from jacky last night. shall bring them to our gathering the next time. maybe we can spot your relatives at my wedding dinner this time. well, we never know since the hainanese community is so small. i showed my album to my friend at my house this other day. i dunno why but there was a shot where my parents attended a dinner and my male friend spotted his hainanese friend's parents at the same dinner! reminds me of the time when we were at nellie's place!

looking forward to my trip to japan and bangkok during cny. hehe. will be back next sunday.

happy new year to all!

Hey ah mais n ah gor! Me login with my mobile now. 1st time doing so v sua ku. Dam sian w all e packing. Ivied, we will b away on HM for 2 weeks starting 7 apr. Come back wat date i dun remb liao. Oni remb when i go. Hahaha. U going shanghai f&e or w tour? Gong hee huat sa'ai 2 evryone too! :-D

Hello all ah mais... gong hee huat sai! ang bao yor lai!

I see you guys have so many things lined up for this CNY, hope you have fun...

for my family, I guess no one will come to my place for visitations as the my grandma has passed on. how about you all? But truth to be told, the most 'dreaded' question will rear its ugly head again, 'Ai sua bolt liao bor?!' That I will leave my parents to regal them with his own answers..

Another thing I want to check is, is there any Christian ah mai here? Need to ask something pertaining to the Solemnisation part.

For those who are going overseas for HM and CNY getaways, have a safe and blessed journey. Enjoying oneself is the most important thing.

yes sherrie, it was such a coincidence then. Can still rem petrina's 'shock looking' face. hee...
sure, will be looking forward to see your pic. Enjoy your HM!

Huiz, we are on F&E. We will be moving from Shanghai to Suzhou and Hangzhou. Tell u hor, we only made reservations for accomodation in Shanghai. We will look for our 'sleeping bunk' when we reach Suzhou and Hangzhou.

All ah mais and ah gors, Happy New Year!

ivied, Hangzhou is beautiful manz...it's a love birds place...heehee...

ah mais, ah gor....
Gong Yee Wat Sai!!
Xin Xiang Shi Cheng!!

Hello everybody!!! Long time never come to this thread... Miss me???

To all who's going away on CNY and HM, enjoy yourselves.

I'll be going away on the 1sy day of CNY. The best part is: I don't have to work for 2 weeks. Will report to work on 5th March. Shiok!!!

Happy CNY to all!

gong hee wat sai!

wah.. very long never checked cos busy tying up loose ends at work last week and busy visiting for new year!

petrina - erh, i know of one only. my maternal grandfather's elder brother - beh-gong.

Good morning!
Don't feel like working today, office is so empty.
Been giving out ang baos over the CNY. Not quite used to it, always forget to give, and only remembers when an elderly gave us our '1st year ang bao'. haha...

Gd morning every1. Me no mood 2 work too. still unpacking at work. Very sian. Now logging in on mobile phone again. Hope u gals had a very enjoyable long weekend :-D Looking very eagerly forward 2 our gathering!

harlow all, me at home surfing net.. keke.

ivied - got relatives give u AP and shunpian tell u "ZaoShengGuiZi orh!"?!

i heard for 2yrs until numbed liao.. juz smile smile.. haha.

i kept tinking our gathering is this fri.. faintz..

ya janf, they will never forget to add on: "zao sheng gui zi, u are still in time for a little piggy."
It is always the same old thing lor. Before marriage, kept asking when get married. Now get married liao, will ask when to give birth. hee.. janf, u better buck up ah, else next year will ask the same old thing.... :p

ya ya, me also looking forward to our gathering. There will be more members this time round.

petrina, if he is the elder brother of your grandpa, can call him beh gong, if younger, then jip gong.

morning ah mais, back at work again. although many people take leave today in my office, the place is still noisy. well, my turn next year to distribute angbao.. hardly the husband does so huh? only the wife does it, have you all noticed?

Haha Handsomgroom, hubby provide the $$ and wifey distribute lor... kekeke

My PC is finally up. feels so great to be back in cyberspace

Petrina, i call my granduncle (granny's brother -- not sure older or younger though) "Ku Gong".

Janf: Hopefully next year you will have a cute little Hainam baby to show off during CNY! Jia you! Hee.

Huiz: Glad that you'll be finally back at your office. The reno is very fast!

Gong Yee Huat Sai to all Ah-mais & Ah-kors!!! I'm looking forward to next Fri's gathering. Ivy, must remember to coordinate timing hor.

Sigh, I dunno if its my paranoia or a true fact, but I feel that I seem to be shrinking during the past few weeks. I just looked at myself in the mirror yesterday and I think my face has shrank and looks much sharper now. Oh no!

Yah, the renov at my work place took only 3 months. But the saying "man4 gong1 chu1 si4 huo4" really holds true. The job here is so rushed and badly done!

Hello gals!
I was surfing the forum to find photographers and chanced upon this thread. I am an ah mai too! Jus got engaged on 10 Feb and am planning for 2008 wedding. I am marrying a hainanese as well.Lookin forward to tapping your experiences

Thanks Huiz!
Was wondering whether anyone here is getting married at Hyatt? I have been calling up hotels and was quite quite disappointed by their service. I was told that their packages for 2008 (for April 2008 onwards) are not out yet. Then when I asked if they could send me the 2007 ones for reference and whether I can go view the ballroom I was told there was "no point" 'cos the packages are not out. So unaccomodating yah? Sorry to be ranting but I did like the Hyatt 'cos I attended a nice wedding there once with good food so I am pretty upset now

huiz mai, yeah, behind every wife, there ought to be an equally successful husbandin providing for the angbao ji! Just kidding, whose money is also the same mah, unless the couple each has their own stash of money...

For those ah mais who are getting angbao this year for the last time, must milk the pig year for all its worth. Another 10 more days of visiting!