Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi hi morning. nellie, I have received your address and I will be there after 6pm. I think there is Jen too?

hmm Huiz, I had ordered from Yeh Lai Siang on my AD. Okie, here's the feedback:
Overall rating: Average
Best well received food: Bun with stewed meat (superb), Salad Prawns (fresh) and Bo bo cha cha (just nice)
Worst food: Hainanese chicken rice (too hard), Hainanese plain white chicken (too cold) and fruit punch (too sweet)
Here's their website: http://www.yehlaisiang.com.sg/

My bo lao ordered from Deli Hub and the response was better. They especially like their Rendang Chicken, Thai pineapple rice and Yam ring with prawn. I was told that Deli Hub is a subsidary of neo garden. Here's their website: http://www.delihub.com.sg/

Oh Huiz, I hate to clean the window panes too. Sometimes I wish there are less windows in the house. hee...

Hello Ah Mais,

I did my spring cleaning over the weekend. So tiring!!!! The house seems to be dusty all the time. Have to do another round this comin fri. Really cannot stand my man!!! He leaves his things around all the time without putting back to the original place.

I was thinking of ordering Yeh Lai Siang for my housewarming. Aiyo!!! After Ivied's reviews, I think I better give up.

Attended my cousin's housewarming last Sat. The buffet was terrible. I have to order something better.

Have anyone tried Mum's kitchen?

is the mum's kitchen the same one as the paragon one? if so then it taste great...

Y dun u try katong laksa? they also have other food besides laksa...

hi ah mais,

long time no see. been busy at work. just realised all my other colleagues all taking only 3 core subjects, only i kena 4 core subjects. why ah? mark like crazy every week... my hand swelled up again. doc increase my steroid dosage for the inflammation. i was so looking fwd to take off e arm splint soon, but now...

me & FH had wanted to try the mature estate WIS recently to get a flat, but e queue was so ridiculously long. but we all working, only can go after work. dunno where everyone get e news from, by friday night e queue long like dunno what. heard got ppl there queuing since thurs, when WIS news announced only on sat. wierd hor. so we gave up. no point. newspaper nxt day also say 3500 Q no. for 500+ units. sure nothg left. another colleague also wanted to get flat, he already married close to 9 mths, still no flat. wonder what hppn to all e flats?

anyway, ivied, ur pics are great! ur wedding must have been really fun! thanks for all those files too. they'll come in handy.

nellie, got ur addy. we are sticking to 2 march no change date liaoz? right?

huiz, ur AD is nearing. looks like u are very much on task for ur preps.

pris - whenz ur photoshoot?

Mos - No change on the date - 2nd mar
you better take care of your hand. I might have to go for an eye surgery. Hopefully can do so after my HM.

morning mais..

nellie - wats wif ur eyes?? the dryness thingy again?

mos - its that kuazhang for WIS lor.. my fren oso Q for the recent WIS OVERNITE and his number was 100 but still kena nothing.. he literally slept on his yoga mat for the whole nite at hdb..

will be on leave tom.. 1001 errands to run on v'day!? anw, not impt day coz too commercialised.. gotta fetch my ILs frm airport tom pm coz they coming back frm hainam-dao.. then gotta go buy bakgua for both families etc etc..

so glad tat its a long long wkend....... i heeded sherrie's advise to take leave on 21st and 22nd and start work on 23rd.. haha!

good grief, if all WIS like that, i think i forever no need get flat. where got time go n Q?

btw my FMIL bought a lot of things for my mama yest... got bakgua, abalone, peanuts, ... can't recall. 2 big bags. now my mama stressed, dunno wat to give her back. coz all e standard items she all give, then my mama dun wanna repeat. then cannot be too cheap too. i also dunno how. any advice?

mos - last wk my MIL oso bot my ma abalone, fish maw and pineapple tarts then my ma start to stress liao! haha. so my ma return jap mushrooms, pineapple tarts, walnut cookies and 2cans of limpets.. pineapple tarts (diff brand) was the repeatetive item but who doesnt like pineapple tarts?! keke.

mayb ur ma can buy jap mushrooms and a diff brand of abalone? New Moon or Fortune oso can ya..

me and FH also dun celeb v'day. too commercialised. and one of frens who used to work as sm restaurant manager told me that when near sm festive occasion, they prep food as early as one day before and then just use microwave to heat up on actual day. food not fresh. so we rather eat out on more 'normal' days.

recently my desktop spoilt, then only managed to fix up for use on another partition. my FH is getting me new HP notebook. not e high-end one but gd for normal work use. i'm so happy!

promo website

It's also no V-day for me this year. Hubby got to work till 9.30pm. Then tonight also no time to sit down for a nice dinner to celebrate coz like most of us, need to go shopping for CNY stuff for my folks and also drop by the Chinatown tour agents to book HM air tickets.... haah, that's something I'm really looking forward to!

janf - nice suggestion there. thanks! similar items but diff brands. go n tell my mama, so she dun stress anymore.

yah, so happy to think abt can do work in front of tv nxt time, no need hide inside room to work. missed last ep of JZYN last nite, coz too tired, fell asleep. anyone watch?

morning ah mais. wow so early today.

nellie, what happened to your eye? Planning for HM? to? BTW, perhaps Elsie's Kitchen or Deli Hub for your buffet, quite good response.

mos, thanks. Yup, its a fun day and memorable.
wow, there are still many people searching for flats? bo lao and me are still taking our own sweet time, not eager about it yet. oh no....

Huiz, yours is coming up next month. Can start clearing your 'to-do' list.

Me ah, going to Auckland, then to Sydney and finally to Adelaide.

Nellie, are u going for lasik?

Yep, Ivy, me a bit kancheong now... sigghhh

yawn..so sleepy this morning. The last ep of Beauty n war was rather disappointing..didn't like it

Mos - abt the mature estate WIS thingy, came out in the papers wat, many pple were unhappy with the system, sth like 'someone' leaked out the news or sth, cos this guy went to HDB immediately when he got that email (abt 9am) that morning, but his queue # was 500+ or sth?? N the staff there told him pple started queuing up 2 days ago!! He was quite shocked as the news only release it on the day n how come pple already there 2 days before the news release!!

disappointing ending ah? how disappointing?

the mature estate WIS sure got leak out info, else how ppl start Q-ing 2 days ago? nvm, if got ballot then i try again.

The only thing I was happy about the epi last night was that the doc and Yuying could be "together in the end". I don't think anything happened to the evil empress right? And its such a pity that An Qian died.

Mos / Huiz - ya, dunno wat happened to the evil empress le...tt's was the disappointing part n also, An Qian died lo

Handsomegroom - R u a hainanese too?

Hihi handsomegroom,

I suppose u are a Hainanese groom?

Yes, we are all Hainanese brides. We are either pedigree Hainanese or one of our parents is a Hainanese. Some of us can speak the language

I assume that the evil empress die of sickness. Saw one scene where she was quibbling with Lady Ru and the empress looked like she's gonna get a heart attack or something! The death of An Qian left me quite confused. Don't tell me the Kong Wu and Er Chun are gonna stay together??

Hello Ah Mais,

ya lor , it's the dryness that's causing the trouble. Not going for lasik. There's something growing on the white part of my eye. You'll know what I mean when you see me on our gathering.

Hi handsomegroom,

some of us are pure hainanese brides and some are 'partial'. Only a few of us can speak.

yes, i am hainanese as well.

so i guess most of the brides who can speak a little are around the same age huh? those born in the 70s...

i think next time, my grandchildren will not even know how hainanese sounds like already.

Haha, handsomegroom, u are in a way right to say that. I am born in the 70s too
But I think it also depends on the family environment. Those staying with their grandparents would more or less know how to speak a bit.

huiz, true. for my case, my grandmother took care of me and my siblings since young and of course that was when we picked up the language.
now my grandma has passed away, so no chance to use la except when relatives come... but also a bit here and there... damn ashamed!!

My father's my grandparents' only child so we have also been staying with my granny since Day 1.

Like all of us here, whether or not we know the language well, I can see that u are also very proud of our language heritage
All Hainanese unite!

good morning ah mais - Happy Valentine's Day

Huiz - I think in the end, onli left with the evil empress n Lady Ru 'fighting' lo. The ending of Kong Wu and Er Chun is up to us to imagine n conclude

Handsomegroom - prob u might want to update us ur details, such as AD date, venue, PG, VG, etc so that CSI can update in our table.

hi ah mais

happy v-day!

think shall go watch "men tu" tonite. heard that qi yuwu is also in the hk show starring andy lau, gu tianle and daniel.

handsomegroom...u wanna join us on 2nd march? so that we can see u in person. sorry. its a burning question for me since your user id is as such. hehe..

good morning everyone! Me suay on Vday. Threw up at the bus stop so couldnt go to work and had to make my way home

I settled my HM tickets last night. Now left the accomodation to book online. Phew, it'll be a huge load off our minds after this is done.

Happy V-day everyone! Enjoy the day while I stay at home nurse my giddiness.... heehe

sherrie: yaya i think we all also very curious abt handsomegroom...

Hi all, I've juz finalized my AD gowns... phew, try until i wanna faint le... yesterday also choose photoshoot gowns. but try n try only managed to choose one outdoor WG.

Others i dun like... I almost fell asleep while trying cause very tiring to 1 time try 20+ gowns...

in case u dun remember my link...
http://raymondpetrina.weddingannouncer.com

petrina - ur AD gowns consist of WG, 2EGs? Ur wedding gown is the v-cut at the waist..nice. For EG, i like the pink one, I think it brings out the colour with your fair skin. But I don't quite like the peach colour one thou (just my tots) :P

Yes, petrina, I agree with Stacy. The peach one doesnt suit u as well as the pink one, though I feel that the back design of the peach on is nicer. But its a good choice that u have decided to choose the pink one

no lah... the peach isn't chosen. initially i kiv both. cause my borlao didn't go fitting wif me. then after when he came after wrk, i tried both for him to c. then he selected pink de...

hehe, i like the pink de also, though i find that it's abit plain...
But i'm too tired to try le...

hi all the ah mais here.

err, thanks for your 'interest' in me. all i can say is my AD will be on Jan 08, my church ceremony at a beautiful deconsecrated church opposite Raffle City and banquet at the nice restaurant at Clarke Quay. wanna keep a low profile la, hope u don't mind.

this thread caught my interest because of the word 'hainanese'. was curious why there are so many posts and came in to have a look. well, all the ah mais are friendly and trying to make me this ah gor feel at home.. thanks..

my reply will be a bit slow but please forgive me. i'm in office!

sherrie, sorry i just saw your last sentence from your last post.

2th March do what?

i am not handsome la... is one of the character in my chinese name, that's all.. so please do not think i am some thick-skinned fella. so sherrie, hope this sort of cools down your question. hah..

haha handsomegroom

no offence. but i am the straightforward sort and usually say what comes to my mind! hehe.

we are having a gathering at the ah mai's house. nellie's house in fact.

i am replying from office too(i think that applies to most of us).

happy v'day everyone!

me also at workplace. has everyone seen my final PS album layouts? think i can safely give green light for printing?

Hehe, don't we all reply from the office? kekeke... need to take a break off work also mah ;-P

Handsome groom, do join us whenever u can

Mos, I had seen your layout once. Had there been any changes to it since then?

yup, this time round all e layouts for e entire album are ready. esp layout 09, e one with my 'one-eyed' FH has been re-designed. think i not fang4 xin1... really want a nice nice PS album. :-P

hmm... we have not decided on that yet. meanwhile, FH waiting to discuss with my papa the date for AD in 08. we will work out smthg from there. see whether i just take gowns or still continue with e full package. but even if we take full package, we will not top up photos from them. their svc not so good, dun feel like spending money there.

huiz, take care of yourself. hope u're better now.

petrina, i just saw ur photos. i think u look nicer in bustier than halter. e pink gown is sweet. good choice there. need to create more cleavage to bring out the halter feel. just my opinion.

good morning!

aiyo, handsomegroom, your AD venues are in such a 'high populated area', how to keep a low profile...
BTW, we all are posting from the office too, just to take a break from the hectic workload.

petrina, agree with the rest. Like you in the pink gown better. mosburger is right, u look better in bustier.

Huiz, how are u feeling now? aiyo, sick already still stay up so late, ought to be smack man. ;0
Wedding preps are all set and ready?

btw, I have a website too. :p It was created before the wedding but I'm too lazy to continue. Anyway, will update u gals when I have it completed with the final set of pictures.

I went to cut my hair yesterday, feel so fresh yet 'cold' today. haha...