Hainanese Brides, anyone???

my family is from
ding4 an1 xian4...

i think in hainan, there's 2 variants of hainanese tones.... that's wat i was told. highland and lowlands...

Yeap, Sherrie u are right. I am not from BS but is from this place Qiong Hai in Le Hui Xian (Low Hwee Kuai).

Hee, I wu liao found a Hainan map....

452884.jpg

Yup, Jen, there's a few tones out there. Think my dad mentioned before that the Boon Seo people call cats "ba'aa" but we simply call them "niao1"

hmm, huiz... where u frm> i think my village shld be at haikou... cause my grandpa always ask me n my bor lao go haikou...

Petrina - u see this place "Qiong Hai" in the map above? I'm from there. It's a bit further down from Wen Chang.

1. AD: 15 April 2007
2. Solemnisation/recep Venue: Hilltop Garden Restaurant
3. BS: Superstar in JB (I mayb kena cheated cos i paid $5k....)
4. AD VG: Freelance

Things not done:
-GDL
-Invitation card print/send
-Choose gowns
-Book ROM date
& more.. can't think of any at the moment

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Janf</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Bohty</font></TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Crystalz</font></TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Stepford</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Lydia</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">CSI_Fan</font></TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Koxxic</font></TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Li Ann</font></TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">LambZzz</font></TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Sherrie</font></TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Misty</font></TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Westerveld</font></TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">iViED</font></TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Bell3</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loinky</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Superstar JB</TD><TD></TD><TD>Freelance </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veron</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>Park East Condo</TD><TD>Jaderoom</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>Acte D'Amour (Masonic Gdn)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>22-Sep-07</TD><TD>St Joseph's Church (Bukit Timah)</TD><TD>Hotel Miramar</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Uncle </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

oh yah...there are 2 variants...for me...my ma from Wenchang and my pa from Wanning...1 is highland, 1 is lowland. So my hainam is the confused hainam. hahaha. coz i often hear both variants...hahaha

I thought it was cheap.. In the end.. Added this &amp; that &amp; came out to that amt.. S$5K.. PS taken already during the haze period..

Loinky,

1. The 1st thing to do is to choose your wedding gown first.

2. Photoshoot - judging from your AD, you should have it end of this month. Select your photos and settle the layout within the next 2 weeks after your PS.

3. Call up JP and book him or her for your solemnization. Then do ROM registration online. Must be done within March.

4. Invitation Cards - Is the restaurant providing any? If yes, just find a printer to print your inserts. Can be done within a week. If no, then you got to find a card company to design eveything. For my case, I went to JB to get my wedding invites. Paid abt RM400 for 100 pcs (cards, inserts and envelopes). The only con is that they have limited designs. Period required : 2 weeks.

4. Have you gathered your helpers?

5. GDL is usually 2 weeks before AD. You can have March to prepare as our Hainanese GDL is very simple.

Thanx! Whao.. very detailed..

Only thing i worry is ROM registration online cos i found a solemniser but cannot confirm the time for solemnisation at the restaurant.. need to file all those in as well right?

Also invitation cards.. how long did it take u to give them all out..

hi hi.. wow, I do not even know how to call my aunties and uncles in hainanese. I normally address them by the chinese way. (gu ma, bo bo etc)

hey CSI, I think u have missed out Jen.
Oh to update you, my AD PG is Yew Kwang.

loinky, here's one file for your ref.

BTW, yes, you have to confirm the timing for solemnization. But no worry, as yours is an outdoor event, hence you do not have to follow strictly to register 3 months prior to AD.
As for invites, its best to issue them one month prior to AD so that you can have sufficient time for RSVP. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif
Wedding Checklist
Wedding Timeline and Checklist_Sample.zip (24.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Loinky,

You have to fix your time first b4 you call up the JP. My FH did the registration. I can't recall whether he needs to file in the time. You can go to the website to check out. You must get hold of the JP's code cos you need this when you do the registration.

As for invitation cards, it took me less than 2 weeks. I went to Nagama at City Square. I selected the card design in the shop, then gave them the details of my inserts. They'll send you the insert artwork thru email. After confirmation of artwork, they took about 3 days to print the inserts. FYI, they print by hundreds.

Phew, me song le yi kou qi. I have sent out all my invites and my friends have received them. Yayy! Now gotta go rush my parents to quickly do theirs.

Oh, what a pity. Can't give a miss, right? It would be great if you could join us. We could all share with you our 'half bucket of water' hainanese customs with you.

Took up wif my mum for 3-4 yrs already.. most youngster not interested cos it's like aunty dance.. haha.. Will consider joining u gals if i happen to be free that day..

sure sure, Pris. We can meet up at Bedok MRT station. We shall confirm the details when the date is near. Meanwhile, I have emailed my mobile number to you.

phew. I have finally compiled and completed all my wedding 'documentations'. I have also emailed those ah mais whose AD is drawing near. Hope these files will be useful.

Ivy: Thanks! I got your email...and your hp number. Thanks for your sharing all the info. I'm sure it'll be very useful for me!

It's Monday tomorrow...sian. Must go back to work.

petrina, you too are not sleeping at that hour... :p

Pris, not a prob.

BTW, to those brides who are wearing bare-back gowns, I strongly recommend T3 Body Scrub. I had used it continuously for 2 weeks and I can feel my back smooth and soft on my AD.
Another point is to use face mask daily on the week of the AD. It has helped to moisturize my skin and it makes it easier for the MUA to apply foundation for me.

I have an unused red umbrella. It is said to be used by bride's father to shelter the daughter to the bridal car. My dad feels pai seh to use it so it was left untouched. Any ah mai is keen on it? I can bring it on our gathering next month.

Ivy, ya... i juz got home tst time... I went out wif bor lao... very quiet today. haha seems that the forum more active during the weekdays...

Hi Ah Mais,

there's another bus for you to take to come to my house. i thought it operates till 6pm on weekdays. just found out it operates till 10pm. It's bus no. 806. Take this bus instead. You don't have to walk to the other end to take the other bus.

hi ivied, wow.. can you share your wedding 'documentations' too? [email protected]

i have to start telling my family wat i intend to do so they know i'm in control and not ask for more than necessary advice from aunties along the streets. :P

hi ivied - [email protected] thanks!

i'd love to... it's on friday night right?
i have never been to a hainanese party before... but can i admit i don't know much hainanese language so if it's conducted in hainanese i'd probably not be able to understand anything!

Haha, Jen, don't worry, we only pepper our conversations with a smattering of the dialect ;-P

Do come along if u are free ya?

Ivied/Pris - My colleague said he likely can send us there (he prob no class that day). If he can't send us hor, prob we want to meet at Tampines MRT instead? There's a bus that's goes by expressway to Yishun. Fm Tampines MRT to Yishun MRT, its 35mins journey (acc to my gf).

Jen, links sent.

Stacy, not a prob. We can confirm as the date is near. Both possibilities are fine with me.

Hi ah mais, I have sent some pic taken by my good friend on my AD to your emails. Happy viewing!

Seen your pics Ivied.... I still love the intricate works on your gown! Btw, is the seated lady in the last pic your mum? U look like her

Ivy, ur pics very nice... i like the crystals on ur gown... so nice!! do u have evening gown pics?

wah, all mrs muz bring video n pics hor... i very kaypo, wan to c meinu... haha

yes Huiz. That's my mum. err.. from young, I was told that I resemble my dad more. Maybe I'm slimmer now, so take after her in a certain way.

hee.. I love that gown too. Everyone was praising my gown. My bo lao's niece and nephew can't stop following me behind, trying to hold my train. They were so excited. haha...

okie petrina, I shall bring my photo CD (can collect them next Mon) and my childhood photo montage VCD to share with all.

ivied
your gown is very nice. i also think the color of your EG suits you very well.

i shall bring my pix for the next outing too. hehe.

gotta see my duty roster for march. duty roster is only out for mth of feb. if i can knock off early, i can pick some of you up from the mrt station.