Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Thanks Huiz and CSI. Not to worry. I'm alright. Just feeling quite sad and worried. I don't deny that I'm quite affected by it; I was their matchmaker 8 years ago. haiz.... Now I can see how difficult it is to be a counselor....

hey, how is our next gathering going on? Will it be on end Feb? Say 24 Feb? Oh, by then only nellie and petrina is still a Miss.

Just have a thought, to compile the list of the surnames of our Hainan mais' husbands. I shall begin, mine is 'Koh'. :p

Hmm, yah, think by 24 Feb all of us would either already have their AD or ROM over. 24 Feb should be ok for me. Good time too... the CNY festive spirit is still in the air

My hubby's surname is Lee...

Hey ivied, why not include our hubby's dialect group too?

If I don't remember wrongly, yours is a Teochew?

1. Ivied - Mrs Koh - Teochew
2. Huiz - Mrs Lee - Cantonese

Hello Ah Mais,

Mine is also KOH, dialect : heng huat (Xing1 hua4)

Can't make it on 24Feb too, still in China.

No mood to do wedding stuff now... sigh...

3. Sherrie - Mrs Tan - Teochew
4. Nellie - Mrs Koh - Heng Hwa

nellie: why no mood?

huiz: yes. i am transiting in bangkok from japan so will be there that weekend. when my grandma heard about my japan trip, she asked me again if i wanna join her, dad and sister for hainan island trip. but march is sooooh hot in hainan island

Ya Sherrie, I think the best times to go there would be during the end of the year. Though its "winter" but their version of it is still very bearable. Enjoyed myself quite a bit when I was there previously

Ok, I shall take the liberty to add a few more names to the list.... hope the ah mais don't mind

5. Janf - Mrs Wang - Hainanese
6. Pris - Mrs Goh - Hainanese

i went there in 2001 or 2002 if i remember correctly. it was in march (qing ming festival) and it was so hot that i suffered from a heat stroke. no joke

yes Huiz, my FH is a Teochew.

Oh, then when is the appropriate date? Perhaps we can do it like the last time, have dinner on a weekday? Early March is still CNY.

ya nellie, why no mood? Most of your wedding stuff are done right?

I also don't know why... think it may be due to my workload. Was hoping eveything will ease a little when my 'da jie' is back to work but it didn't. I'll be covering evening duties next week onwards till the replacement comes in.

I still have the details of the wedding stuff to take care. All I can say is time is not at my side. Whenever i had planned to do something, it somehow will be screwed by other things.

hee... so many Mrs Koh...

7. Mosburger - Mrs Koh - Hokkien

nellie, take things easy. how abt make a to-do list, clear things one at a time?

me been super busy at work since beginning of yr. my form class is P3, but i dun take them for everything. i'm taking triple science and my classes got P3, P4, P5 across 4 storeys. been walking up n down and into wrong rooms at times. high marking load.

Ah Mais - heres my update

8. Stacy - Mrs Ong - Teochew

Nellie - don't stress yourself. Take things slowly step by step.

Sherrie - yes, i went back to Hainan island 2yrs ago in apr, wah..the sun super strong! Was tanned!

Ivy - yes..arent we suppose to go for "Loi Hei Yu Sheng" Dinner! We can either loi hei at a restaurant or at one of the ah-mais place
I m ok with 24 Feb currently

harlow all!, finally finished my work for the whole wk.. can relac now till knock off time.. phew..

slowly reading the postings.. 1) err, i tink i can make it for 24feb tho somehow tot i got some appt tat nite.. grr.. anw, juz take it tat janf can make it tentatively..

2) thks huiz for updating the surname.. married 1yr liao and im still not used to ppl addressing me as mrs wang! haha. more like theres two mrs wangs in the hse so im the jnr 'wang' and no1 will address me as tat lah.. keke.

3) fast ya!, next wk today will be ivied's big day! w/o u knowing it juz comes.. =)

4) nellie - try to do ur wed prep stuffs over the wkend if no time to do during wkdays.. take one thg at a time.. u still got 2mths to go.. btw, im going back my ma's pl tom, will u be home?

5) i din bot my wines on consignment but juz bot 6cases - 48bots of reds and 12bots of whites coz i got JiuGui frens/colls! and cannot imagine only left 5bots of unopen reds at the end of the dinner.. awesome..

6) pris - hapi ROM tom and smile more!

7) lastly, li ann hvnt showed us her pics hor?? coz janf here is one blur one.. juz in case li ann sent the pics and i accidentally deleted it.. keke.

yes! Stacy, we are arranging a 'loi hei'. But currently only Huiz, janf, Stacy, mosburger and me. Unless we postphone till 3 March? Where to go for loi hei ah?

Nellie, what are the details stuff? perhaps we can help? I'm also terribly stressed 2 weeks back but I try to clear one at a time. Head is too small to accomodate so many stuff..... Now my biggest headache is everybody's past headache - GUEST LIST!

ya janf, next week is my BIG day. hee.. so fast. then 3 more weeks is CNY!

hmm, looks like we have quite a couple of Mrs Koh and Teochew's husbands hor..

Janf - will only be home after 8pm tmr.

Ivied - it's ok lah. i just do what i can lah. really cannot rely on men to do. worse come to worse, heck care liao lor... Enjoy your final week of preps and be a beautiful bride next Fri.

Pris - Happy ROM!!!

Dear Mrs Kohs, is that the chinese surename 'Xu3'? Mine is actually 'Wu2'.

Huiz: Thanks for helping me to update!

I'm free & i can make it on 24th Feb! Yay...count me in! I don't want to miss the next gathering...lo hei sounds terrific!

Nellie, your hubby's surname is å´, then it's the same as my hubby! But his is GOH, not Koh.

Ivy: Next week is your AD already!!! So fast...enjoy the last week of your prep & relish the moments!

Mos: My marking load is very load. Only my own P1 class English. I have 21 periods of Music, teaching all levels...so i'm also walking up & down everywhere the school. Haha, no need to purposely lose weight...can just climb stairs to tone up!

hihi pris, how? ur zit smaller le mah? can peel?

i also wanna go gathering... can c more ppl le... yay

although i'm last to be married: I'll be mrs pang - hainanese after sept 22 07.

congrats to all soon to be married brides!! too many to keep track, hehe

9. Petrina - Mrs Pang - Hainanese

Good morning ah mais!

We went to choose our pics last night and my my, they are wonderful. Was so relieved that they didn't turn out as bad as I had expected. Topped up a bit to a total of 48 pics and I brought the pics home to choose.

U can see them at my Shutterfly account

pris - congrats! happy ROM-ing!

hee... yalor... hopefully by end of yr, me can cut some weight. was so worried abt e PS last yr, coz me on e plump side. even after a couple of mths trying to cut my diet, still plump. i got 1st round of layout drafts from my Taiwan PS too! share with u all thru email.

Huiz - i finally viewed your pics. very well-taken. NICE!

Mos - regarding your pic no.9, I think 2 pics on a page is a bit too many. maybe can ask them to remove 2 pics - your individual pose and the one that only show 1 eye of your hubby. i just do whatever i can for my wedding now, really can't be bother now. Thanks!

Hihi Ah Mais,

I have put up 2 albums in my Shutterfly, Photo Shoot I & Photo Shoot II of the pics we have more or less decided on for your viewing pleasure

Huiz: I saw your pics! Very mei-mei!!! I especially love the ones taken at Tudor Court.
Can email me the link to your Shutterfly?

petrina: My zit didn't grow bigger, thank goodness. But it was still red...luckily my MUA could cover up for me & couldn't even tell in the pics!

Mos: Thanks, my ROM yesterday went very well! Was a bit angry that one of my gal friends didn't come in the end. Lousy excuse too. I'm going to strike her off my JM list...cos i don't think i want an irresponsible JM.

Ah-Mais...i've uploaded my ROM pics taken with my digicam into my blog. Go take a look!
http://prisc.livejournal.com/197632.html

pris - juz saw ur pics! nice leh.. ur hub somehow juz looks familiar.. hmm..

lynn was also my MUA, she good ya..

huiz - i like ur casual shots! very natural..

mosburger - i agree wif nellie, layout 9 mayb can remove the one-eye one.. looks odd coz showed ur 2 big eyes but only ur hub's 1 eye? GuaiGuaiDe..

pris: gd gd, tat cream suppose to dry it n minimise size... will be red still but easily covered up. as the skin shld be flatten... congrats on being a mrs...

Hi Pris,

I have emailed my Shutterfly link to your Hotmail

Ya, Janf, I think I am most pleased with my casual shots. Was glad I made the move to put on long sleeve blouse and jeans. The effect turned out to be something different I suppose?

morning all.. yawn.. mon bluely blues..

huiz - somehow felt its so U when u casual wear.. bor-lao oso commented tat ur casual shots are the best in the whole album.. we oso din regret having casual shots (same as u, white shirt+jeans!) taken in a fren's pub.. in fact was our fav series.. keke.

Hi Ah Mais,
my update...

9. Petrina - Mrs Pang - Hainanese
10. CSI_Fan - Mrs Kang - Hokkien

Haha ya agree with u janf. We love our casuals so we are choosing q a lot of that. I am planning to burn the soft copies of the photos into another VCD and play it throughout the dinner. And I tried playing my photo montage VCD on the TV yesterday. Thank goodness it works

good morning ah mais!

Yuppee! Today is my last day at work and I will be on leave till early Feb.

sherrie, I went to Pine Garden yesterday and bought the cakes you recommended. Nice nice, not too sweet and its tasty! I even placed order to be served on my AD as breakfast.

Huiz, yes, like the rest, I like your shots in casual wear. Its very YOU.
You look better with your hair let down. White shirts and jeans is always a good combi so the effect will be good. BTW, my first impression of your casual shots is "Sharon Au".

Hey Pris, congrats again! I should say Mrs Goh.
I could not view your pic in office, will see it when I get home this evening. There are always people who will 'fly kite' at the last min, but at least u have seen it now. Do not get angry, u still have the others JMs helping you.

mos, I like pic 4. That pic reflects more chemistry between your hubby and you. Pic 9 tries to place too many pic into one layout, too confusing and there is no main focus. Another thing is I do not find that the 'blurring' effect at the sides of the pictures are nice. Personal view.

Okie CSI, I have added u into my LJ list. Btw, I also got to know that there's a function in Multiply to import our LJ enteries there. So whatever entries we add onto LJ, it'll be automatically included in our Multiply site too

Hey ivied, your AD is just a few days away... excited? Have a good good rest these few days

Haha, ya, I agree with the "hair let down" part. I think I took too ah sum with my hair up. Kinda make my face look too bloated as well ;-P

huiz,
yap, I've added you too...
oh, is it? Multiply also has this function ah? aiyah...hehs...ok, I'll start to link them up now. Multiply has all my wedding prep stuff...and now LJ is more like, post-wedding. hahaha...

Huiz, err, I also dunno. I do not feel the excitement nor nervous nor worried lor. Went for my final fitting on Sat, realise that I have to alter quite a bit and hence they can only get my gown ready on wedding eve. CSI, did your sis mention why Jade has left?

ah mais, wish to check with you on something. I have a friend getting married end of this year and she has just signed a package with Z Wedding. Just wish to find out, in normal bridal package, if make up is provided (PS and AD) do they include costs such as ampoule, fake eyelashes?

Ivied, my MU is not inclusive of ampoule. Need to add 25 bucks per application of ampoule. But it is inclusive of fake eyelashes.

Oh no, u lost weight? Don't be too stressed okie?

Huiz, so that means if u need to apply ampoule in PS, AD day and AD night, u have to pay a total of $75 extra?

Perhaps coz I was sick last week so somehow reduce some inches off. hee... And I can't really sleep coz of my friend's prob. But not worry, I will try to get as much rest as possible these few days. I can see myself getting haggard....

Ivied, yes, my MU charges amouples by the number of bottles opened so if I wanna use it for PS, AD and AD night, I will have to pay $75 for a total of 3 bottles lor. Haha, now that reminds me that I have yet to pay her for the bottle that I used during my PS.