Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hey ivy *hugz* relax ah...things will turn out fine! Don't panic...tackle your to-do-list one by one.

i was still busy on the eve of my wedding...only got home at about 11pm keke...

first thing first. the ROM dress. If the alteration still doesn't fix the problem, most likely it will never. I had the same problem with my EG just 5 days before my AD. I had to find alternative. If it is too late to tailor make another one now, try buying it instead? What's your budget? Olive Suite at Delphi Orchard has nice ready made ROM dresses but they can be pricey ranging from 500 onwards.

As for your MIL, it is not your fault. The seamstress just did not match up to expectations. Try getting her matching accessories to her new gown, that may prolly delight her.
Alternatively, if tailor is not an option now, try the Venus Gown i told you before (at People's Park Center or Pearl Center) for rental or buy off the rack at Rose of Sharon (they have few outlets at Plaza Sing and Parkway Parade)

Ok....here comes the PG. You mean the one for your AD? After having gone thru my own wedding, i realise that it does matter to get an experienced and reliable PG. Cos you will be so occupied on that day that you wouldnt be able to realise if they are doing their job well. I find mine (not the arty farty one but his assistant) a bit inexperienced and not proactive. He has to be told what to do. This is where you would need experienced JM (ok, we will come to that later) to help point out to him what to take note. Of course, some PG may say they purposely don't want to take e.g. pic of your jewellry, oranges with the "Xi" sticker, your gown hanging on the cupboard, etc. And they get offended when ppl around tell them what to take and not to take. My point is, it really points down to your own preference of the kind of photos you want to capture...the journalistic type, or the story-telling type taking down every single details. You should be able to feel confident and happy with the PG you have chosen. Cos there is no re-take of the AD. You will feel more miserable if your expectations are not met. I think i did not really read your threads about the cost so can't comment. Do you mean that you have a tight budget on PG?

JMs...it is tough job to find JMs to stick around for the whole day. You may have to stagger their duties. I have some JMs who can help in the morning but some only at night at the reception. So it helps the other JM to rest a bit.

guest list ah...keke...it will continue to haunt you even till that day itself. Now that it is too close to your AD...it is difficult to invite others so last min. Not very nice. Besides we forming a table, the other option is to discuss with your hotel coordinator if they can lower the min no. if cannot, then tell them that you will still pay for the no of tables but ask them not to cook the portion on AD, rather you guys will go back to eat on other days. since CNY is around the corner, you and both families can have your lou hei there.
You inform them earlier in advance so that they dun waste any food, and you still pay for the tables, just that you delay the cooking. If hotel is difficult, try suggesting that you utilise it before a deadline. See if that helps. if not, then the worse case is to pay for the min tables and spread your guests out. This is beyond your control and dun let it dampen your spirits on that day.

Don't gave up gal...you will enjoy the AD no matter how much frustrations you felt before it.

Sorry ah mais for my lengthy reply to ivy ;p been doing some "counselling" to two other friends who are getting married in feb. totally enjoyed sharing my experiences with them.

Huhh ivied, those are really ridiculous excuses they give! What the fish la... what has changing job got to do with attending a wedding dinner? and why send note by post? this is so obvious that she is guilty of something and don't even dare to at the very least sms u!

wah.. juz finished reading li ann and ivied long long long postings.. keke!

aiyah ivied, i volunteer be ur JM if u last min cant find lah! juz let me know how u wana tekan the boys.. haha.

abt ur ROM dress, if really cannot make it, mayb juz wear ur WG coz i hv frens who wore their WG for solemnisation..

when come to rsvp, its such.. u will be surprised by the 1001 excuses tat ppl can give.. i got a fren at 5pm on my AD sms me tell me he got to OT till very late tat nite so cant come??!?!? wat can i do.. LL lor.. bound to hv such thgs happen so gals, juz luff it off and get on wif the nite ya..

Li Ann, THANKS A LOT! Your words have hit right on the spot. I guess I have been too vexed over these issues that started popping up when I thought that I have cleared the mass preps of my wedding.

ah mais, hope I did not bore u with my complaints. I was finding some space to release the frustrations. hee...

ROM dress - I think I will forget about it. At most I will wear my WG throughout the solemnization right up to 1st march in. It really irks me despite the 2nd fitting.

FMIL's gown - She is REALLY mad. I could sense her anger over the phone when I called her just now. She even called up my FSIL last night and complained. My FSIL is taking the day off today to accompany her to Arab St to buy the fabric and MTM at the seamstress who made my FSIL's WG. I do feel guilty. I was the one who introduced her there so it is kind of embarassed when the dress does not turn out well.

PG - Yes, Li Ann, I'm on a tight budget on PG. I guess I have underestimated the importance of a PG from the beginning and trusted that my ex-colleague will do a good job. You are right that I have to feel confident and happy with my PG but $$ is really tough lor. If only I can win some 4D or toto this week.... haha...

Guest list - The contract states clearly that there is no consumption of the tables after AD, so no terms for negotiations. But I will do like u said, spread them around to fill up the tables.

Huiz, ya, these are vague and lame excuses hor. The more I think about it, the more I shake my head. Wonder how many more others like that...

Li Ann, okie dokie, I shall not give up. Hope for the best and enjoy my AD.
16 more days to go.....
BTW, U can be a freelance wedding advisor now.

Hey Ivied,
relax gal...this is the time when we will see the true colours of the pple...

My guestlist haunted me right up to when my MUA arrived at my suite to do the evening MU (and my dinner was a separate day some more lorh...) I got friend sms me say cannot come, ask for my address so can send something over. Of course I pai sey lah, so I said, it's ok...hope his last min thing wasn't too serious and that all's ok etc...but the next day he sms-ed me again, insisted on my address...so, ok lorh. I sms back my address. Till today, I haven't received a single thing from him. Warau...best part, I attended his wedding last year lorh!

Then there's a whole bunch of pple who dun even bother to inform that they cannot make it! (bo lao's ex-colleagues lah...) But claimed that they will definitely attend when we gave out the invites and even called to remind and confirm again! Some people ah...haiz.

But like Li Ann suggested lorh, if hotel dun allow you to utilise the empty seats, then just have to pay for the minimum tables. It's a once a lifetime thing. Don't let such a thing spoil your day. Enjoy it to the fullest. Take this as a lesson...towards planning and towards our friends. It may not seem "perfect" any more lorh, but hey, there's more to life than this. Wasted $$ on these empty seats? Yeah, can't be helped lorh. Let's move on...put the time and energy on other things in life and making the $$ back...rather than spend time thinking about it and being upset...
(took me a while to "let go" too...esp since they were bo lao's ex-colleagues! and I planned the whole thing so nicely...! These pple had to come spoil my plans...)

hey Ivied,
I forgot...one of my bridesmaid went to Sharon Fashion too!! and she didn't like her dress! It was quite badly done, such that the bridesmaid's mum had to adjust for her...I hope you are able to find another dress for yourself...

hey guys, u're all amazing...
I was too eager to get my wedding over and done with. However u all are so entu abt the whole thing even after ur own weddings. Kudos to u all!!!

My only advise is to have fun on the day!!!

hey thanks janf! really appreciate your offer. You are very 讲义气 leh.
From the time that u helped your friend to make JM's corsages to the willingness to doll up for her wedding.

I have been a planner all along, maybe like what CSI has mentioned, planned the whole thing so nicely and yet people are spoiling it. The expectations are there so when it is not being fulfilled, I feel disappointed and frustrated. There is a phrase which I have always remember but never being able to execute it: Enjoy the process, do not worry about the outcome. I guess I have to learn to do it.

aiyo CSI, now I also know how badly her workmanship is. She is really jiat liat, the cut is wrong from the beginning. I don't think I will get another dress, FH will surely show a black face to me for spending that kind of $$.

pai seh ah mais. been talking too much about my stuff, letting go of my frustrations. Thanks for your 'listening ear' and advises. Li Ann, Huiz, janf, CSI, THANK YOU!

that's so true Ivied...Enjoy the process. That's more impt than the outcome. Outcome is just that one moment/day...process is so much longer...

Yah, we're your online JMs ah...heehee...

Hmmm...Ivied, then how about wearing your WG for solemnisation? Your WG is very pretty and unique...(the one u posted in here before right?). Can give it a bit more "air time"...hehs...

Hi Stacy,
just saw your pics...very pretty...I like the necklace too...

oh ah mais, can I just you all a question...how much does ur BS charge you if you want to rent a Kua from them? Coz my fren wants to rent mine from me and I wanted to find out what's the so-called market rate...hehs. Thanks ah...

Oh yes Ivied, we are all here to help.... kah kee nang also right *winks*

I agree with CSI that u can consider wearing your WG for the ROM coz the bead work is fabulous!

CSI, I am not so sure about Kua rental, but my CS charges $150 for the dress that I rented for my sis. Hope this can provide a rough guage. He said the $150 needs to pay for his alteration works as well as for they dry cleaning.

thanks again ah mais.

ya CSI/Huiz, most probably will end up wearing my WG for solemnization. haiz... the WG is pretty but I would want to wear something light and comfy for my ROM so that I can mingle freely from the poolside to the ballroom. My FH and friends will sure laugh at me now...

I have not seen my FMIL yet, hope she won't be mad at me. She had bought silk satin and silk chiffon for this gown, costs a bomb.

CSI, I had asked La B3ll3 before about the KWA. Theirs are handsewed ones from HK and the rates are $400. hmm....
BTW, where do u send your KWA for dry cleaning? I'm trying to find one to dry clean my EG after my wedding.

hi ivied

i think there are a lot of "chao kars" out there. i also had a few guests who only informed that they couldn't make it for the dinner on the actual day. one- grandpa in icu, one - sprained back so couldnt come one - got into minor car accident. well, we simply have to give them the benefit of the doubt.

my FIL didnt rsvp with his guests. he claimed that all 8 tables would show up. but in the end, only 7 tables were used. luckily we factored 2 reserve tables under his 8 tables. in the end, we only utilised one 1 reserve table. if we had listened to him and "gong gong" gone ahead with the figures, we would have lost on 2 tables.

my hubby is quite good with excel. after we counted the ang pows, we keyed in the ang pows we received individually in the excel sheet. those tables with those last minute drop-outs, we either broke even or lost money. can't be helped.

we changed the guest list and the sitting arrangements so many times before the AD but even on the actual day, there were such "zhuang4 kuang4". we even allocated 2 seats for our photographer and videographer.

we received one cheque from 1 guest and couple of hundreds in vouchers from 3 or 4 guests. all kinds of people out there...

dont worry too much. things will work out somehow!

serious hor...really got all kind of excuses de...but right from the beginning i already heed my married friends' advice to only invite those that you see more than 3 times a year friends cos they will most likely make the effort to be at your wedding.

The trick is really to "under confirm" your tables. I did that and helped me to save on two tables.

my actual day was fine. Woke up at 4am & finished all the tea ceremony by 12 noon. Tried to get some rest b4 the dinner recep but failed of course. We had fun during the dinner recep and I'm thankful for all my friends whom helped out.

I'm back in Nagoya. It's strange but this feels like home since we do not have our own place in sgp. Dread living with my in-laws...

Like what li ann said, always under-confirm your tables coz there will always be pple who dun turn up even though they said they wld. And dun rely too much on ur parents numbers coz they always think everyone will turn up which is often not the case.

Good morning, Ah mais!!!

Ivy - poor gal, dun stress yourself too much ya! U've been planning well all these while, things will go well
Don't let them spoil ur mood.

CSI - my BS is not charging me for rental for KUA on AD, just need to pay for dry cleaning cost (abt $45)

Lydia - welcome back. Any pics to share wit us..hehee
How long will u be staying at Japan? Planning to come back soon?

speaking of japan, i will be going for japan for hols next month. will be going on 1st day of CNY night after distributing all the red packets. hehe..

Hello Ah Mais, Sorry for MIA for so long.

I'm tied down with work. 2007 is not a good start for me. My colleague working in the nite is forced to resign due to his full time work commitment in the day time. From next Friday onwards, I have to cover the night duties till the replacement comes in. I also have to train the new fella. So sian!!! Thought I could finally have some time to finish up my wedding preps.

In addition, my eyes are giving me problems since last week. See doctor liao... I really need rest! but how to now???

Huiz/Pris - Saw your PS shots. Beautiful!

Ivied - Jia You!!!

Hi Nellie!

Your colleague so karh karh ah... night time gotta work day time so go hold another job. And don't tell me u have to work both days and night when next Fri comes? Heaven forbid man!

Watsup with your eyes? Got infection?

Hee those PS pics are mine la... Pris havent had hers yet. She gonna ROM this month... so many happy things this month going on for our ah mais

huiz: hopefully nope..i told my hubby only europe or US trip is considered as HM to me. hehe. anyway, its just a 1 week long trip. utilising the CNY hols to go on a short trip. we tried london. minimum stay is 7 days for 2-to-go packages. all australia tickets are either very expensive (at least 1.5k per pax just for airfare and taxes) or fully booked (free and easy) till 25th feb departures from sin. the saleslady said a lot of singaporeans tend to go to australia during CNY cos its summer. we will be going to fukuoka, a part of japan which i havent been to. now that the wedding is over, holidays seem to be the only thing to plan.

Huiz - It's all HR's fault lah. My colleague already told them to send the email to his HOD. They sent to the principal instead.

My eyes... too much of the monitor, now red and extremely dry.

harlow mais.. super bzy at work today.. grr.. now doing my report while taking a peek at today's postings.. sianz sianz..

nellie - ur ofc had betta get in a newbie soon to replace ur coll.. if not u really 24/7 liao.. and pls remind laoban tat if u not a pretty bride in 2mths time, how is he gona compensate?!? huff..

hi all, hmm, no one seems to noticed that i disappeared for 4days... (juz joking)

Btw, Lydia - HI... can I ask u something? Does Japan sell soy bean powder? How much? thks...

Sherrie - I did consider lasik but I just don't have the courage to do so.

Janf - I do hope a newbie who is suitable will appear soon. My big lady boss recommended a temp staff in the other dept to do this job cos her contract is ending in Feb. She may have some knowledge but somehow I just don't think she's suitable. My ang mo boss just anyhow agree. That angers me. My Da Jie is coming back next Mon after her 2 months' break. Hopefully, she has the same thinking as me.

Btw, I sms Kelvin saying I'm going to his factory this sat. He never reply.

Now doing my songs list...

Which Ah Mais have the following English songs :

1. You Are The Love Of My Life - Roberta Flack & George Bensen
2. Once In A Lifetime - Greogorian
3. Masterpiece - Alantic Starr
4. Lovers' Concerto - Kelly Chen
5. We Belong - Pod Benetar
6. Two To Make It Right - Seduction
7. Angel - Shaggy
8. Hooked On A Feeling - Blue Suede
9. Can't Take My Eyes Off You - Franki Valli
10. When I Fall In Love - Celine Dion & Clive Griffin
11. The Day I Fall In Love - James Ingram & Dolly Patron
12. I Finally Found Someone - Bryan Adams & Babara Streisand
13. I Pledge My Love - Peaches & Herb
14. Every Breath You Take - Sting
15. Can't Help Falling In Love - Elvis Presely

If you do have the above songs, please lend me the CDs. Thanks a million!!!

I'm so sleepy now... Yawn Yawn...

Still trying to come up with the Chinese songs list... How come my CDs are missing after moving house?

Hey Nellie,

I have the Masterpiece song by Alantic Starr. U wan the CD or the MP3? I have the MP3. Can load on my Multipy for u to download

nellie - bor-lao hv some of the songs but i cant recall which are the ones.. will print the song list and go home search then pass u the cds..

call tat kelvin fella ya! these ppl duno know how to read/reply sms boh..

hi nellie..i have the CD for "i finally found someone" cos i used that for my 1st march in..my husband's songs are all inside macintosh...i gotta check for you. some titles look really familiar to me.

thanks ah mais for all the advices and encouragements. I'm trying to settle them one by one. my my, giving me headaches....

nellie, I have song #2, 10, 12. I have another version sung by other singers for song #15. All are in MP3 format. I shall send to your email and you can convert to audio using Windows Media Player 10.

btw, the success rates for lasik is rather high, not to worry.
Plug up some courage and go ahead!

hey sherrie...i also used "I finally found Someone" for my first march in

Nellie, i have that song too...can be a backup for Sherrie.

I've got other jazzy love songs by Nat King Cole if you want i can mail my CD copy to you.

2. Once In A Lifetime - Greogorian (IVIED)
3. Masterpiece - Alantic Starr (HUIZ)
4. Lovers' Concerto - Kelly Chen
7. Angel - Shaggy
10. When I Fall In Love - Celine Dion & Clive Griffin (IVIED)
12. I Finally Found Someone - Bryan Adams & Babara Streisand (IVIED)
15. Can't Help Falling In Love - Elvis Presely (IVIED)

Ivied - Thanks for emailing me the songs. Really have no courage for lasik. Moreover, I face the computer everyday and long hours. What if my short-sighted comes back again? Then it'll be waste of $$$. Anyway, the dryness of my eyes are caused by stress and tiredness.

Sherrie & Li Ann - Ivied has just emailed me "I finally found someone". If you have other songs, please email me. Thanks

I just listed out the chinese songs I want. Have to go back and dig my CDs to check if I have them or not. Where are all my CDs when I need them?!?!

We will be in Japan till March. After which we will be heading to Beijing.

Huiz, my japanese is pathetic. Know enuf to get ard but not enuf to sustain a conversation. I've not seen ur PS pics. Pls send them to me ok.

Sherrie, we are planning to go to fukuoka b4 we leave. It is pretty cold now so pls pack accordingly.

Petrina, wat kind of soya bean powder are u referring to? I've not seen any. Any pics or details so I can have a look at my place's supermkt.

lydia: soya bean powder in a packet that looks like milk powder. Japanese soy bean (yellow colour) grinded to powder. No pic, i saw in takashimaya but they sell 30bucks for 300g.
shld be able to find in shops selling black vinegar. I saw the 3yrs black vinegar selling at 108bucks a bottle, very ex, but good 4 health. so i wanna know if japan selling cheaper?

nellie, i hv LOVERS' CONCERTO. u wan the cd? im going back to my mum's pl tom so can pass it to u. let me know ya..

2. Once In A Lifetime - Greogorian (IVIED)
3. Masterpiece - Alantic Starr (HUIZ)
4. Lovers' Concerto - Kelly Chen (JANF)
7. Angel - Shaggy
10. When I Fall In Love - Celine Dion & Clive Griffin (IVIED)
12. I Finally Found Someone - Bryan Adams & Babara Streisand (IVIED)
15. Can't Help Falling In Love - Elvis Presely (IVIED)

hey nellie

the reason why i am suggesting lasik is cos i went for lasik myself in 2004. i always tell people that its one of the most wonderful thing to happen to me cos i had been wearing specs for the longest time ever (followed by contact lenses). the myopia won't come back but hyperopia (lao1 hua1 yan3) may affect us when we hit our 40s. i still remember that i stopped to admire the flowers along the road with my perfect eyesight after the operation! hehe..

hey lydia: we checked out the weather. will pack all my thickest winter wear man!

Sorry Ah-Mais, been caught up with work so never log in.

Nellie: I have "Angel" by Shaggy...it's soft copy. Do you still need it??? If you need, just drop me a note on MSN ok? I can send to you.

Ivy: Don't fret ok? Things will work out but now i'm already dreading the guestlist for my dinner. Already for simple 20-guest ROM, i have to really pick & choose. For my dinner, think i'll have a tougher time. Really very scared i'll have friends telling me they SURE come but in the end, pull out.

Gals, can i ask a question? My FH & i have agreed on 6 jie-meis & xiong-dis each. I'm having a hard time narrowing down 6. If i ask X friend and don't get Y, i don't think Y will like it cos X & Y are in the same clique. How? Sigh. Also, are JMs supposed to help out BEFORE the AD i.e. wedding prep?

hi ah mais,

long time no @@ too. had a busy start for 2007.

ivied - i'm sure things can work out in e end somehow.

pris - i agree w u. for my own ROM, i had initially wanted a simple intimate gathering w a couple of closer frens only. in e end, we had to think abt if call tis person then shld incl tat person too sorta thingy. juz treat it as pre-wedding dinner practice for who to invite. ;p

thanks Pris and mosburger. I have slowly worked things out now, so its not too bad finally.

- For my ROM dress, think I will forsake it totally. I doubt she will be able to alter it correctly. Just too bad...
- AD PG, I have decided to engage another PG. Thanks to Stacy.
Going to see Yew Kwang tomorrow, see how it goes. On the other hand, I feel bad about my ex-colleagues, so he is also part of the team too, but will be as back-up PG. Now I have 3 PGs. keke...
- FMIL's gown, lucky she did not blame me. She went to make another one so now waiting to see the outcome.

Pris, to answer your ques, I feel that its best to involve your JMs in your preps. Keep them informed and who knows, u may have more improvised ideas to your AD.

ah mais! need some inputs. Where should I go for outdoor shoot on AD? I need somewhere not too far away from AMK as I have only 2 hours. I need to have a backup plan too should it rain on that day.

bishan park, ivied!! i went to the reservoir near khatib mrt (wats the name of it?) for AD OD shoot.. so u can go bishan park since its within AMK.. hv seen couples taking pics there too..

hi ah mais,
busy busy week last week. next few weeks will be worse...
hehs...

But, to prepare myself for it...hahaha...boh lao and I just went for a short weekend getaway. hahaha...to where? Singapore. hahahaha...

We had a 2D/1N stay at Marriott, coz that time when we wanted to use it as a wedding perk, the hotel was fully booked. So they raised a voucher for us to use on a subsequent date lorh. End up, the subsequent date is only in January 2007. So now then we go lorh. hehs. It was quite shiok lah...quite relaxing. Lounge at the pool (water was freezing, but it wasn't raining), relaxed in their hot jacuzzi, went to the gym...bought pizza, sushi up to the room to have our meals...best part is, we didn't have to worry about cleaning up after that! hahahaha. No need to do housework. hehs...we're so lazy manz...

Now it's back to work. haiz....

Pris, erm, for me, I had initially expected my JMs to help out in wedding preps. But, have to understand also that they all have their own schedules, that might not fit mine. In the end, I went without expectation. Each time I was going to do some prep, I will email them the date and time that I will be going, and get them to call me if they happened to be free that time. It worked...coz nobody felt compelled to help (though they all wanted to), and yet, they were informed of the timing, and they knew that if they can't make it, I won't be upset with them. Ended up, for each different prep, it was with different JM. Then all have a part in everything...

Yes ivied, Bishan Park is a great idea! And if it's not too far from your hubby's area in AMK, perhaps MacRitchie Reservoir is a place to consider too?

I guess I will not trouble my JMs to help me out in the pre wedding preps. I agree with CSI that they have their own schedules and work to do, so I will not try to bother them that much. I will just draw up the AD itinerary and assign them the tasks to do for the AD only.