Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hee janf, hang on there.... its 4+ liao.. time to go home soon

ohh heehee sorry I tot I had missed u out. I do not have the links to the other pic with me now. Go home I find the email and fwd it to u okie?

yes i understand how u feel. its always good to get things done early and not panic at the last moments

Okie time for me to dui siu liao... byeee

phew! It's Friday!! and I'm still in office...

okie Petrina...erm, what's ur email? I'll email you the link.

Hi Stacy, ur gf got u a shrug? Yah, it'll be nice to wear it for 1st march in...I enjoyed wearing the shrug (I called it the 'shoulder thingy')...almost didn't want to go and change into EG coz the shrug was just so different and fun lorh. hahaha. the shrug was part of the WG design. From BS...but I had to return the shrug...
(My WG was to keep)

Ivied - yah...hahaha. he was quite lost. he so shy one! aiyoh...leave me to plan and carry out the surprises. Then I got no surprises. haiz. Ur wedding will be full of fun too! Coz ur frens are a part of it...just relax and soak it all in...

Hmmm...when is our next gathering? I must make it this time! grrrrr...by then Ivied will be a Mrs.

hmmm, I never knew how to spell our Hainanese words manz...dui su ah? all along I thot it was "lui su". alamak...what have I been saying all these years manz!

oh petrina, sorry, I do not know that u do not have the link. Anyhow, CSI will mail it to u.

I saw misty's pictures too! She is ravishing! And her 4" heels......

CSI, I can feel the enjoyment of your wedding just by looking at the pictures.
Your friends are so supportive! Oh, my FH also sama sama, quiet type and everything also don't want to try. haiz... Hope for the best for my wedding too.

oh Stacy, I was browsing thru the archives for the links that sherrie had posted for the pine cakes and I found this one by accident. Think u are looking for it.
"He has a restaurant too...called Nonya Bistro @ Kampong Bahru (33 Kampong Bahru Road, opp SGH carpack and exit F Outram MRT station). Having a dec promo...1-10 Dec $10 all you can eat buffet. Can call 62239172 to enquire and try the food too.
http://www.gw-foods.com/"

ok, time to go. Meeting my Justice of Peace.
Have a good weekend ah mais!

hmm petrina, I think we could be speaking the same dialect but that comes from different part of the Hainan island. I think the language sounds different depending on where u come from.

mais, if u/ur mums need the lunar calendar - the 1day 1page kind, let me know.. hv quite a few spares at home..

i think she is speaking the "low wee kuai" cos "dui sui" is their version whereas we speak "dui su"...we are from the "wen2 chang1" or they call it "moon shio kuai".

Hey Sherrie you are right! Spot on! My folks are from Low Wee Kuai (Le2 Hui4 Xian4)and not from Boon Shio Kuai (Wen2 Chang1 Xian4).... so that really explains why my pronounciation sounds different. And I suppose more Hainanese in Sg come from Wen Chang?

i think mostly frm wen chang, ya... when shall we gather again??

i wanna c more videos... kekeke abit kaypo...

ah mais!! I headache again... lunch or dinner?? sianzz

petrina - wat time u forsee ur church event will end? if it ends at abt 11+, u still hv time to do lunch at miramar ya. coz guests will usually arrive by 1..

janf, my church ends at 10. but all the mingling n tea reception wif guests, i'll leave by 1045am.
still got tea ceremony at hotel... dun noe if i shld change to kua... i wanna wear but abit waste time...
then hotel say lunch die die must start by 1pm cause must finish by 2.30

if dinner, very delay, then i must hold buffet reception at home for tea reception guests...

btw, jan u give angpao to MUA to make up for ur bridesmaids?

Sherrie, you're right! Cos even though my FH is Hainanese, it sounds different from mine. I checked with my grandma and she gave me the same explanation!

Apparently, the "Boon Shio Kuai" is considered the upper-class pronunciation whereas the other is the common-folk way of pronouncing. It's just like local Brit accent vs the Queen's.

i dunno if there are more from wenchang or not but i know my maternal grandparents and paternal grandparents are all from wen chang.

my mum's brother (uncle) married a hainanese too. she is definitely "low wee kuai" cos she speaks quite differently from us...

hi ah mais!!

sigh...thought everyone will be in hol mood after the long break....i definitely am, but my clients obviously not lor....issue 2 RFQs, and pre-empting two more to come....sigh....and al rushing to complete before the CNY.

Stacy...sorry dear....i din manage to log in at all the past week but glad ivy came to the rescue

Geng Whye is really a friendly and easy going chap. I managed to bargain quite a bit for my package
Everyone loves the buffet...esp his mini bak chang. You must take that dish. If you wish to discuss this separately with me and what bargain i got, you can email me at [email protected]

Huiz...your PS sounds like fun! Makes me envious too... on hindsight...should have just force my hubby to go along with that.
Stacy...how was yours?

Jan...happy belated Anniversary....speaking of bb..aiyo....my mum harping non stop since we came back from honey moon....always brewing herbal soup for my hubby....supposedly helps to "strengthen his back"....tsk....

And ivy...speaking of jittery during your vows...hehe....i did feel it too when i walked into the room...it was like a dream...drifitng in....camera lights clicking away from all directions...i was a bit overwhelmed....so much so that i cried while saying my bit. Was so touched by my hubby when he said his vows...i had to croak out the vows cos i was choking on my own tears...i find it embarrassing but my friends all thought it was a sweet moment to keep....sigh...pls, for those who suspect your emotions may gave way.... ask your MUA to use waterproof makeup for you. Don't end up panda eyes like me!!

Sherrrie...welcome to the "old birdies" club...we have more "Mrs" in this thread now...

i second petrina...let's have another gathering. i miss the previous two...can't wait to say hi to old ah mais and meet the new ones too. We can have a CNY gathering? Lo Hei?

csi...i also miss my wedding leh. don't know if you feel the same...it was all over before you realise it. I was feeling kinda loss and sense of emptiness at the night itself when everything is over. I kept replaying the scenes over and over in my mind...trying to remember every bit of it.

I miss my home and my mum too. The day that i packed my stuff to move over to my IL's place, cuaght my mum wiping her tears in the kitchen... and i also cried myself to sleep the first night at my IL's place. Even till now, sometimes will still cry a bit here and there...it realy takes time to adjust to the new status and new life. but i'm glad my hubby is very understanding....i visit my mum at least twice a week and when he goes for biz trip, i will stay over at my mum's place.

sorry ah....suddenly became wishy washy soppy drama..keke....

became a bit emotional suddenly...just felt i should have treasure more on those times living with mum.

li ann - its lidat one.. when i hvnt married, everyday sure got thgs to squabble wif my mum and she sure hv thgs to tick me off too.. like why i so lazy, hair drop on flr who gona pick etc.. then when married out then i start to miss her 'scolding'.. haha. its juz so weird.. now i go home to NiangJia every 2sundays but will call her to talk once in a wk.. talk FeiHua for 5mins she oso hapi.. haha.

anw, ur ma will cont her quick-hv-bb nagging for as long until u announce good news; juz like my ILs and my pama.. haiz..now tat my 1yr anni up, MIL oredi went "so this yr target will hv to chg ya?!" we juz orhh orhh lor..

petrina - i gave an AP to the MUA from BC. the freelance MUA who MU for my ma and sis, tink my ma oso gave a $8 yishi yishi AP.. btw, whos ur MUA and PS PG frm BC? mines Lynn (MUA) and PS PG is Kit. tink pris oso same izit??

btw, my ILs going back hainan-dao from 7-14feb.. for past 2days we went ntuc shopping for groceries to bring back there.. bor-lao see liao oso faint.. he told the ma "U FIGHTING WAR AH?! WHY BUY SO MUCH MILO/KOPI POWDER?!?!" somemore buy oven to bring back.. my FIL say "LaoFo, u bring so many foodstuff back not enuff, muz bring more $$$!!" hahaha!

*petrina, shhhh! dun tell ur gonggong!*

jan, not sure who's my MUA & PG yet... they say will give me same as urs.
how much u give MUA? cause i thinking of asking her to do simple MU n Hairdo 4 my mum n jiemeis... not sure how to approach the topic.
my GPs went to hainan dao last mth le... juz got back on 31st dec. aiyoh, my GPs also same, big bag go small bag come home... haha (all the stuff empty there le...)

dun worry i wun tell them, i gg their hse ltr, cause i haven ask them abt ur bolao's GP n my GP relationship yet... kekeke

petrina - i gave $10 AP to lynn for good luck. the freelance MUA i engaged for my ma and sis is charging $120 for 2pax. so on top of the $120, my ma gave the MUA a $8 AP for good luck.

bor-lao's grandpa and ur grandpa are same village, same surname but not related. but maybe thousands yrs back, they were blood related..

hi Li Ann,

yah....I do miss my wedding. Miss it so much manz...I also keep replaying the day's event in my head. Everytime I walk past Marriott, I will feel the urge to go in and look see...When the whole thing was over, I was like "that's it? over liao? oh...so what do I do now?" and for the next few days, I kept asking myself that...coz the days leading up to the wedding was filled with "getting this, getting that, doing this, doing that for the wedding"...

I enjoyed the whole prep process so much, that I want to do it all over again! (the planning and prepping...maybe I shd consider going into wedding planning...hahaha).

Speaking about different sounds...both my pa and ma's hainanaese sound different. so can u imagine, my hainanese is mixed one lorh, coz I have been confused since young. when I go over to either side in hainam dao, everybody laughs at the way I speak...coz it's half their way of speaking, and the other bit, they dun understand what I'm saying. They think I pronounce wrongly. warau...hahaha...my ma is from Wen Chang, my pa is from Wan Ning (or is it the other way round? hahaha)

Janf, it's like that one lah...when we go back, we always bring loads of stuff back. But nowadays, it's not that bad liao. there's a lot of things in Hainam Dao...

Good morning ah mais....

It's such a beautiful morning today. I am sure Stacy will have a wonderful PS! Wish her all the best

Ya, nowadays there's so many things in Hainan.... but then again, we all know la, some of the yau kwee ppl there will still yearn for Sgreans whom they think are very rich to bring back loads of things for them... grrr

I am now trying hard to do my slideshow. Almost done, but I just wonder, how long should it be? Too long, I am sure the guests will be bored. Any ah mais here have an idea what is a good length?

okie thanks janf! I am using the song "One moment in time" by Whitney Houston for the slideshow and the lenght of the song is about 4 mins plus... so I guess I can safely stick to this timing liao... thanks!

Yup CSI, I thought of using this song coz my hubby loves it and moreover, the song title and lyrics sound very apt too

Hi ah mais,

M back fm my PS...weather was great this afternoon, but we started outdoor at 4pm (quite late hor). Took pics @ Emerald hills n Changi (the beach n the green). By the time we reached Changi, dark clouds were there liao, so don't know how the pics turn out at beach.

Yes, enjoyed myself very much today. Kinda missing it now...hehee . Some 'accidents' happened during PS, eg: my guys broke my nail before PS n he forgot to bring his pants for the 2nd suit, but lucily both suits are black Otherwise, all is fun

I've tasked my guy to upload some pics taken today using our digicam..share with u gals tomorrow.

Li Ann - I'll drop u a email abt the caterer.

Huiz - Andrew said call him 7 days later. He will arrange for viewing of pics.

Stacy: your guys broke your nail? I don't understand...but glad that you enjoyed your PS! How come your outdoor only started so late???

Huiz: I think that song is a good choice! FH & i haven't started selecting pics for our montage. Think we'll start next month after CNY. Heh.

Li Ann: Reading about your feelings is giving me mental prep to miss home when my AD is over. When did you start moving your things into your new home?

I also think it's a good idea to have another gathering!

Haii, Stacy, talking about dark clouds.... who can compare with me?? I win hands down.... haha

But ok la, your probs are small small, so dunit worry. Ya, how come u went to the outdoors so late? Went to 2 locations?

Haha, now I listen to the Whitney Houston song till I think I can memorise it liao ;-P

Pris - paisay, typo. I meant my bo lao broke one of my nicely painted nails before PS started...haiz.. but PG said no worry, as he will not focus on that..hehee
Yes, we started outdoor late, as my MUA came ard 11am n only started with indoor shoot at 11:30am or so.

Huiz - yes, we went to 2 locations (Emerald hills n Changi), but 3 spots (the emerald hills bldg, the green at Changi n the beach at Changi)

Janf - Ya, now dark over mine side too. Thanks for ur blessings, ger!

Ah Mais - I m looking fwd to the next gathering, as wat Li Ann suggested, maybe lo hei! Hopefully, Huiz's pics n my pics wld be ready for sharing!

Oh yes, I saw the kee oh oh (sky black black)on my way to work and was really thankful that both Stacy and I managed to siam that and can now put our hearts at rest

Haha, Stacy, I think Andrew must be very tired after my PS coz of the 4 places we went.... greedy me *paiseh*

Hey lo hei is a good good idea. I love that!

hi stacy....glad you had fun too! cant wait to see your pics too.

pris...i had no time at all to move my stuff to my IL's place before my wedding. i only started packing after i came back from my honeymoon. In fact, i still went back to my own house to sleep...first time in my bed by myself (and the last time too) after the major overhaul (i had re-painted and re-arranged my bed room for my wedding!) Hence it didn't feel like i'm married out of my family. Then it all happened when the next morning i started to pack my stuff to bring over...manz...the emotions are startling...memories of your childhood, singlehood flooded my mind...images of me idling at all corners of my house kept appearing...wow...i never felt that sentimental when i packed to work overseas. It's like...this time is for real. i'm "leaving for good". Not really for good...but you are really biding the past goodbye and entering a new phase in life. Mums and Dads will feel it too...cos next time, their daughters are just "visiting"...not "coming home"...if you know what i mean.

keke...very sentimental... i can imagine myself telling my daughter "next time you get married then you know....", just like my mum will sometime say to me "next time when you become mother then you know...." when i get a bit out of hand.

Hey Li Ann...I completely understand what you mean....I've been staying at my parents homee for the past 20 over years. Never moved house before. Then when packing, it's like...you can "see" this little girl, sitting at that corner, reaching out for her toys in that same old shelf...kinda thing. (sounds eerie) but yah lorh. all those memories...haiz...now I go back home, I gotta ring the door bell...not open the door myself. But once I'm back there, it's so comfy & feels so "natural"...I just flop myself onto the floor or sofa...hahaha...

Hey, I haven't seen Nellie too...they must be very busy...

haha csi, u gotta ring door bell huh?! i still hold my hse keys and i unlock the gate as usual! more of my ma who will be shocked tat 'someone' comes back outta blue and she will go "WHOS TAT??"

Haha I notti notti, whole PM do slides till forgot the time.'

I guess I would even be going back to my parents to zz even after my wedding.... 2 nights a week even. Bo lao has to work nights twice a week so I guess I might as well go back during those times.

"saw" ivy for a second or so and she is off. ya, she must be busy with her preps.

Nellie too...gone before i can say hi...

hui/csi: yeps...i'm sleeping over at least once a week, eat home at least twice a week and definitely sleep over when hubby travels for biz.

csi: finally found some time to see your pics. I like the shrug you have! it adds the glam factor to your WG look.

stacy: lovely hairdo...very angelic...esp the one with your back against the wall...pretty!

Good morning ah mais,

I am sooo sleepy this morning. Spent some time last night burning my slides into VCD and also burn the songs into audio CD. Quite a feat for me this IT idiot.

I tried to convert the MP3 songs into WMA format before burning them into an audio CD (meaning those that can be played on any normal CD player away from the PC). Does anyone know if it is done this way, will the song quality be somehow destroyed and would sound funny when I play it on the player? Someone told me this could happen, but it sounds ok to me when I play it.

Just kiasu wanna be sure nothing goes wrong ;-P

hi hi ah mais. me 'back' liao.

Been really busy, both work, wedding preps and new room. Pris, for me, I wanted to clear my room before I get 'married off' so I have been quite diligent in packing and unpacking my stuff the past few weeks. BTW, the new shopping centre in AMK is opening in Mar 07 so we may see each other there after your AD.

Stacy, saw your pretty pic already. Your necklace is provided by the BS? I find that u look so demure when u are tilting your head sideways.
Your hubby looks quite different with the suit on, looks like a businesman from Raffles Place.

I have been receiving calls and SMS from friends lately that they are not able to attend my wedding. aiyo, I have to keep adjusting the guest list and re-shuffling the seats. Now wonder if I can meet the min number of tables or not....

I will also be going back home frequently. But only thing is that I can't stay there overnight as there is no room for me.
Perhaps just to see how my parents are and chit chat with them.

Huiz, Windows Media player 10 allows u to convert songs in MP3 to audio format and you will be able to play them in normal players as well as sound systems. Its best that u arrange a trial run of your slides and songs 2 weeks prior to your AD so that you can have a peace of mind on the AD.

welcome back ivy!

yeps... guest list is a headache and remains so even on the AD itself. Now seems a bit late to activate your B-list and C-list invite but it may help. Else we form one table for you?? ;p

Huiz...yeps, advisable to do so. My friend who is a DJ and did the song compilation for me. Said that it is important to make sure that the volume of every song needs to be adjusted to make sure that there is no one song suddenly very loud and then the other soft. And also to make sure you arrange the songs in a manner that has either a increasing tempo or decreasing tempo. usually you start slow and soothing...then as the guests warm up...past pace songs are good to lighten up the atmosphere... else after booze...ppl start to doze off with slow songs...

keke....all DJ talk la...i'm lucky to have him and some professional help. If without, i think more importantly is the volume thingy and to make sure that you try playing at the hotel. There is no prob playing at his and mine players and computers but somehow got problem playing at the hotel sound system.

Another boo-boo my friend experienced during his wedding is that they never rehearse playing the express highlight and the montage, end up the song came out later than the slide show so the mood was all different. Disappointing for my friend. Hence, advisable for you to either get own friend to play that particular song for you or really rehearse it properly with the hotel technician to ensure that he pays attention to the timing.

Haha, so many technical things to look out for in burning songs ah? Me didnt know about all these. But anyway all my songs are oldies kind and have about the same tempo. Volume wise, I will be playing all softly so I hope they are all fine.

As for the music of the montage coming out later than the pics, what prog did ur friend use to make the slides? I know ppt has this prob. On one PC everything works well, but on another things get haywired. so that's why I used the programme to burn it into a vcd. Most laptops should be able to play VCD i suppose?

hee Li Ann, that is a good idea. :p

I think I shall take your advice by playing slow and soothing instrumental music initially, then when the crowd has warmed up, shall play some oriental songs for them.

ah mais, me really sian now. I'm left with only 2 weeks to go but things seem to go wrong.

My ROM dress is really terrible, no matter how she had altered, it does not look fitting at all. My FMIL, who made her gown at this same seamstress, also complained non stop, saying that not a single part of the gown looks good. Now she is going to Arab St to source for fabric and get another seamstress to sew up a new gown for her. jia liat.

Then my PG. Till now I still can't decide if I want to keep him or not. Cost is definitely a big hurdle that I have to put through. aiyo....

Then my JMs, mostly married and/or with kids, can't help me for the whole day. Now I have to source for 'back up'.

Guest list is also a big headache. Now I finally understood why couples whine and grumble when it comes to guest list. People do have funny excuses when it comes to replying the confirmation on attendance. U get to see the 'other side' of your friends.

sorry ah mais. jammed up this post with my complaints....... I'm so sian and sick of this wedding, can't stop complaining. Just need to vent it out.

Hey ivied,

Anything that we can help?

Hopefully your FMIL can find a good seamstress soon. Btw, isn't your ROM gown and EG done by the same seamstress?

I foresee the problem with my guest list and right now I am beginning to sms all my classmates for their address. So far only one did not give me the info coz he said he cant come. The rest all gave me so I take it that they can come. In my sms I also mentioned the date. So if they cant come, I think they would tell me immed.

Huiz, thanks for the offer.
I think I have to figure a way out somehow. Just don't feel the excitement about the upcoming wedding...

This seamstress is at Tanjong Pagar Plaza, called Sharon Fashion. I went to her coz her rates are cheap. The seamstress who did my EG charges me $380 (fabric + workmanship) for my ROM dress while this one charges me $200.
Its true, gowns are not easy to make. The cut for a normal dress and gown differs a lot and only an experienced one will be able to do a good job. Now I finally learnt my lesson.
kao_cry.gif

Lucky your sis has decided to rent in the end.

Huiz, I was in your shoes before, as I had heard from my married friends how difficult it is to manage the guest list. But as my date is drawing near, and when the invites are out, you will hear people coming up with excuses about not attending your wedding.
I had one who told me that she had just changed her job and can't make it to my wedding. My goodness, when I saw her, she had just knocked off and its only 6pm!!!
Then another one sent me a note by post, state that she can't attend my wedding. She was the one who said that she will come no matter what. I give up.