Hainanese Brides, anyone???

btw, here are the unedited pic taken during my mini PS.

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/ivied2006/album?.dir=/8948scd

ivied - u looked good in the pics! btw, wats this mini PS abt? it will be done up into an album??

juz checking, ur contact for kate and dana, do they go to the destination even for 1pax?

yup li ann, im engaging stella for my fren's wedding on 4dec. for myself and bride's mum. 2pax @ $120.

Mosburger - my MUA took about 15 to 20 mins to do my hairdo. She's a really fast worker. Still haven't really decided on my AD hairdo. Most probably is my kua's hairdo.

Ivied - I changed to another hairdo after this one so I didn't have the experience of removing the pins myself. Before you shampoo your hair, use conditioner first. Let it soften your hair then it's easier for you to wash your hair.

Wow so many interesting things is happening here today! Hehe, ivied, can finally see your bo lao's pic liao. Are the pics taken at your parents' place? Heehee, for a moment I thought it your new house coz the place looks very well kept

Bendi, are u talking about your PG's blog?

hey Li Ann, I think my MUA is Ivy leh. But I trust in Jit to engage "high quality" MUAs that are all as good

Me usually v kiasee wan. The last time I went for my first fitting I charged e cam overnight ah. But ok la, on AD u must take more pics to compensate ya?
Do share with us the 2nd fitting pics when they are ready

wow Bendi, your gown is sooo nice. very Monique Lhuillier style.
You had your PS in Sydney?

Li Ann, hee.. it happens when you are overly excited over something. But its good that you are happy with the overall effects of the gowns and makeup. Now you can be a mei mei bride in 2 weeks time.

janf, thank you.
Carlton is giving us a complimentary signature poster. We do not have PS so we specifically arrange a mini one just to have our mei mei pic at the reception. hee.. No albums, just doing up a small photo montage.

As for the MUA, I do not know leh. The rates were quoted based on 2 pax. But I believe that the price will be diff should it be for 1 pax coz the MUA has to cater in the transportation cost.

hee Huiz, ya, finally revealed his ru shan zhen mian mu. And yes, the pic were taken at my parents' place.
aiyo, my mum will be terribly pleased when she hears your compliments. I can say my mum is a super mum when it comes to cleaniness. Despite living in the house for 30 years, she has maintained it well that it looks no more than 5 years. Everyone who came to my house says the same thing: "your house is very clean leh." I just smile and say: "Its the work of my mum."

wow seah, all of you are night owls ah. So late still 'tune in' to SB forums.

Hehe, I tuned in to SB late last night coz I had just returned from my company D&D and was still in a high mood and couldn't sleep. It was the first time I saw Kumar in person and I must say his figure, dressing and the way he carries himself is really wow wow wow man.... hehe

Bo lao and I were running through the banquet menu just now and my mum gave a good suggestion which I thought the hotels should consider if they hadn't done so. She suggested the hotels to include pictures of the dishes as well so that the families could at least have a rough idea how the dishes look like without guessing or wasting time asking the co-ordinator what the dishes consist of. I think her main point is that a picture speaks a thousand words

Wow, ivied, I must say your mum is a great home maker! All of u must be so proud of her

wow Huiz, Kumar is a great entertainer yah? heehee...
Not sure abt other hotels, but Marriott does carry pictures of the dishes. We made our selection (partly) based on the pictures too. hehs...but your mother has a good point...can see the presentation of the dish too.

hey ivied, nice pictures! Who took them for you? You and your FH look really good together! Got the fu qi xiang. Very nice...

Hi BenDi, thanks for sharing too...great pictures there! Gordon Jovic's works are just wow (to me... hehs)...you lucky gal!

Bendi, I do not find it leh. I think it looks grand on you. Maybe you had curled your hair so that gives you an overall impression that you look old.

Huiz, Kumar is very entertaining hor.. good to have him in any functions and he can transform a boring evening to a night full of jokes.
So did u win anything? :p

Your mum's point is valid. I too had difficulty figuring out what are the dishes so it will be better if there are pictures. hmm.. can feedback to my hotel.

my mama, I'm proud of her but hor I was so scared of her when I was young. She was so particular about cleaniness that we had to do almost everything. But thinking back now, I can't help but to thank her. At least I won't lose face in front of my FMIL when I moved in next time.

CSI, thank you.
Maybe its because we are both tall so we have this look.
Those pic were taken by my photographer Francis. Tell u something, when I showed the pic to my FMIL, she was admiring it and say to herself: My FH looks quite nice in camera leh. hahaha..

man! I hate working with ind**ans! They are really a bunch of people who talk so much but work so little. so suay.... for the past few projects, I have been working with ind**ans customers. Till today, I'm still correcting their errors, like a teacher examining the students' work. MAN!!!!!

ivied...thanks for the MUA contacts. I agreed with CSI that you and hubby has the fu qi xiang. And what a great idea for organizing the mini PS cos we also dun have one too so no photo montage or album to show guests. But i have compensated by making our guest book a little different by putting in our pics...i coerced him to taking a few pics with me so that i can do up the guest book

Bendi...hi hi! I think you look very sweet and pretty in the gown and your pictures are really nice! different from those overseas PS i've seen with others. Good choice of PG!

janf...have you tried Stella's makeup and hairdo before?

yup li ann, hv engaged Stella's svc on my AD for my ma and sis. next mon will be the 2nd time im engaging her svc..

bendi's pics so artistic!! somethg diff from those i hv seen.. very nice.. =)

ivied, I totally understand how u feel about working with these people. I have my fair share of shit from their fellow tong2 bao1 in the clinic too. They are the worse bunch of people to serve. Very smart to complain and argue!

Hey Li Ann, have u found your shoes? AD is coming soon for u eh?

For some entertainment on a draggy Monday morning, u gals can have a look at my D&D pics @

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/glizter/album?.dir=/a7d7scd&.src=ph&.tok=phbtP4FBKxk9EZxR

Huiz, I donch like to work with them too...always think they are super smart. Yes, some of them really are smart. But some can be totally unreasonable. Sianz.

Wow, your D&D pictures are very colourful...heehee...noticed that the theme/phrase for that night is the same as my website and my wedding dinner reception (Come Fly With Us). Everybody's quite sporting leh...to turn up in the required attire...

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherrie</TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Westerveld</TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

Thanks Huiz. Your D&amp;D looks interesting, your colleagues are so spontaneous, they are dressed up to the theme.

My D&amp;D will be next month, at the same location. sianz.. heard most of my colleagues are withdrawing from this year's D&amp;D. They all have the same complaint - food not nice, same old entertainment, boring.

I have been checking thru the sh** work of the ind**ans. It is really terrible and the more I do, the more I scold.
Ya CSI, they think they are smart. They are excellent in talking their way out and best of all, when it comes to working, their skills of passing the batons is superb. aiyo!

Haha, ya, most of them dressed up, but not me. My clinic of all theme, it's Ind**n leh.... over my dead body i dress like them man. But its surprising that my clinic won the 3rd prize in the dressing up.

Can u believe that all 4 people who came to make noise today are all their kind?? So u can understand what kind of people they are. Ivied is right, they are excellent in talking their way out.

CSI, u had a theme for your dinner? wow that's interesting! So what did your guests come in?

heehee...nah, not so much of a theme lah. it's something quite wearable, but I'm touched most put in the effort to dress for it.

Come Fly With Us is adapted from Frank Sinatra's Come Fly With Me (changed Me to Us), which is a jazzy tune. My theme for the dinner was elegance, jazz...basically, something classy, light-hearted elegance (that's why the jazz bit). Kinda like a ball (carried over from my day theme - wintry fairytale). At the back of my invite (there was no Chinese invite for the dinner cards), was a verse from the song Come Fly With Me. So most guests came quite dressed up...evening gowns and all...and the band sang a couple of jazz pieces, and a few classics.

Hey, if any of you are looking for a band to sing at your wedding, can consider A Little Dream...here's their blog:- http://alittledream02.livejournal.com/

wow CSI.. your guests are so supportive. It sounds romantic, must be a memorable night for you.

When I told my friends that my theme is Oriental, they were like: har, don't expect me to wear cheongsum hor. Can wear black colour or not? *faint*

haha Huiz, you are anti-ind**** ah. But I do agree, I can't stand talking to them, they get on my nerves all the time. haiz...

Haha ya, ivied, u've hit the right note. I used to do a little study and recorded down the % of people creating trouble here who belong to that kind. And I tell u, they make up 80% of them! Haizzz... how can people who mean yes by shaking their heads talk nicely to anyone right? haha

I am also about to say that CSI's guest are very on too! I can imagine a really classy romantic night with lotsa wine and champange

ivied, do u mention in your invitation cards tt your theme is Oriental?

Huiz, *hi five*!!!
Tell you hor, some of my colleagues even gave nicknames to those whom we simply cannot stand so now we have terms like: coconut tree, black skin, curly one etc....

Nah, after my friends' reactions, I do not dare to put the theme in my wedding invites. I just inform verbally to some. Anyhow, it does not matter to me now anymore. *shrugs*

Ok, I'm going off now. Going to catch a movie; else i may scream my head off after looking at the works of those ind**** the whole day....

JIE MEI MEN!!!!!

hellooo guys. Been so busy at work I hardly have time to breathe :P. Just thot I pop my head in here to say hi to everyone.

CSI, sorry it's a lil belated but many congratulations and best wishes to you &amp; hubby. It's such a coincidence, we've actually engage little dream for our wedding as well! hsin yeow wont be free that day but bev &amp; another guy will be singing for us
. I saw what they wrote about your wedding in their blog.... wow, it sounds so dreamy and romantic....

Janf, nellie, li ann, huiz, ivied - *waves*. Hope everything's going well!

hi misty!

Nah, no worries...

Your AD is coming soon...heehee...1 more month...

You're engaging A Little Dream too? Bev's voice is wow...(all of them have such great voices).

Ivied, Huiz - yah...hahaha...most of the guests actually said I gave them the chance to dress up lah. The gown they have has been sitting in the cupboard for X years (or so they say...hahaha). It was a chance for them to "air" it a bit. hahahaha....

So ivied, what movie did you catch?

Hi Misty! Nice to hear from you.
Your AD is coming soon, rest more and be a pretty bride.

CSI, your guests are so ON! It sure livens up the mood and atmosphere.
My FSIL had engaged a live band for her wedding so we decided not to 'copy' her idea so ours will just be the 'normal wedding'.

I went to watch Andy Lau's 'Battle of Wits'. aiyo, after so many years of acting, he still talk and walk the same way. No change from his recent show 'Internal affairs'. But hor, he is still so handsome, just watch his face can already. ha ha ha...

Hello Ah Mais!!!

Took sometime to read all the missed threads.

Bendi - your photos are WOW!!!

Huiz &amp; Ivied - Met such In** while working in my previous company. A*g M*s are another bunch too. Just had another encounter yesterday. I was so pissed off. Had problem with the test system at 9plus in the morning... Guess what the dam*** support ppl replied

"We will look at this problem when our ordinary working time start 08:30 cet.

Now I will go home and have a nice sleep."

08:30 CET is 3.30pm here. My problem was only resolved at 6.10pm. Damned pissed off....

CSI - so sweet of your guests to dress up according to your theme. Can share with me the cost of engaging A Little Dream?

Misty - miss you leh, woman!!! your AD is approaching!!! Excited????

Woohoo Misty! U are back! Been looking out for u here
! So how's your house preps getting along. Your AD is approaching so soon too. Right after Li Ann's. Everything in place too?

Nellie, the AMs are very relag when it comes to work hor? Can't imagine how they can still sleep in peace when there's so many things unsolved. They could be also having the "bo chap" attitude i.e this is not really my own prob so just push it aside.

I went shopping with bo lao last night for his wing tipped shirt for the wedding. Walamak, one darn shirt like that cost $149! OG is selling the same thing (Goldlion brand) at the same price as Robinsons but with an additional 20%. But the hiao gong says don't like the Goldlion design, says the front is like wearing a bib. He rather go back to Robinson to get another brand and give the 20% a miss.... haiii, men can be so troublesome also.... hahaha

Huiz - i gave up on thess AMs. I forward the email to my users. This is to 'cover my backside'and also telling them : Hey! this is how they support after paying them so much.

Why don't you tailor-made the shirt? It's much cheaper. I got my FH to tailor-made his at my BS and it costs $88 only.

Hmm Nellie, that's a v good idea! Thanks for reminding me about tailors... hehe. What kind of shirt did your FH make? I wanna make a wing tipped one. Do u have your tailor contact to share?

Nellie/Huiz, hmm, that is their way of working. I had difficulties dealing with them too. They do not see the urgency and will never let work interrupt their daily lifestyle.

But hor, when they are down here, they have to follow our pace of working. They will work till the wee hours should the job requires them to. In fact, I find that dealing with AMs is easier than with ind***.

Li Ann, ask you hor. U mentioned about using tapes to create that cleverage. What tapes do u use? Where can I buy? So u will be able to DIY on your AD?

Hey ivied, I got the tape that Li Ann bought. Wanted to buy tonight but since I was loitering around Robinsons last night, I went to get them. But I think the tape is more to hold the dress to the body rather than create a cleavage, unless Li Ann has bought another kind for that. I did see this silicon pad at the lingerie department for that purpose. Btw, the tape is $15.90 for a box of 30s. Can be bought at the counter nearest to the lingerie section.

Our BS designer did also mention that to create cleavage, can use the normal maskin tape. Am I right Li Ann?

Hallo all,

Managed to log in..got error these days when i try to log in.

Huiz - those tape u've got is it hollywood tapes? $15.90 for 30s..tt's quite a lot..30 le!

ivied - hahaa...we also give our indian colleague this nick...juan mao (curly hair)..can't stand her too! Only talk, but no action! So pissed with her also. Didn't know u also Andy Lau's fan...my gf jioed me to go HK with her next yr..she wanna catch Andy's concert!

CSI - wow, glad all went well. When are you flying off for HM?

Wa siao liao, my SIL just sent me a contact for bridal makeup in Melaka. Charging RM280 for the following:

Make-up
Hair styling
Hair accessories
Hair colouring
Body glittering
Wig (periwig or synthetic hair)
Eyelash extensions (or synthetic eyelash)
Ampoule

Is it a good deal? It's by a make up school and I hope they can do a good job man! Most prob I will get them to send me some pics and if everything ok I might just hire them la. Give me one less headache of hunting for something in a place I am not so familiar with

oh Huiz, I think the ones that u bought is the hollywood tape. I have that too, yes, its to stick the tape to the dress to prevent being exposed.

I had bought the silicon bra too but somehow can't create that cleavage leh. Maybe I did it wrongly or mine is simply impossible. ha ha..

normal masking tape ah, will it be painful when you peel it off? I very scare of pain leh.

Stacy, haha on the box didn't print the word "Hollywood tape" but the salesgirl said it is lor. But hor, 30 sounds like a lot la, but when u see how tiny they are, then it really seems exp lor.... heehee

Yah, totally agree that these people only know how to talk, argue unreasonably and make life miserable for people. So that could explain why most of them are lawyers.... haha

Yah ivied, the pain I think is unavoidable. I did mention it to my BS guy too and well, we all came to a conclusion that we need to sacrifice for the sake of beauty lor... hehe

Huiz - It was tailor-made at my BS. You can ask if your BS provide such service or not.

btw, make-up in Msia, everything is chargeable.

Ya lor Stacy, that's why I need to call them and check later. I will not reveal that I am from SG first, just afraid that they will take the chance to kam my chye tau. Haha thankfully I bought a calling card, so can call from the opic.

Nellie, nope, too bad my BS only makes the suit. I guess we will go down to Peninsula Plaza to check it out.

I hope that they will bao everything they had listed down in the RM280 I pay man!

hi all.. on MC today..

went to work as per norm this morning and scurry at lil india station i felt a sharp pain on my left tummy and next sec, start to breathe very hard, see dark patches and cold sweat liao.. i know anytime gona faint coz its not the 1st time i kena such thg b4.. quickly hold the pole and rush out at the next station and rested at the bench.. i tot i mite as well go to work since oredi on the way but i still dun feel good at work so told my boss i going see doc..

waited for so long to see doc and she tell me i got colic (wind).. then dun wana giv me MC! forget it then, i take my own leave now juz reach home.. okie, gona zzz liao.. tom i go back ofc then catch up on past postings..

Take care janf! which darn dr har, still don't wanna give MC!

Haii, and why is it Little In**a again. Seems like most of us are having a bad bout of luck with things to do with them lately

HIYA all Ah-Mais!!!

Sorry like "shouting", very very long never log in...been very caught up with work. Work never ends though it's the school hols now. Already starting planning for next year! @_@

I've more or less confirmed my ROM date! FH &amp; i picked 17 March 2007. When i told Ivy then i realised it's on Huiz's AD! Hee...so coincidental! Will be going for my 1st gown appointment next Monday...am very excited.

Huiz, yes, you betta not say you're from SG else they'll straightaway shoot their prices up!

what doc is that?! colic and still no MC??? co doc is it? janf, u take good care. take some fresh ginger tea, it may help.

Hi Stacy, finally get to 'see' u.
hee.. We all give the same nicks to them. wonder if they call us something else too....

Huiz, that is quite an extensive package leh. But why is there hair colouring? Do u have a tea ceremony in the day time? Hence day and night make up?
BTW, my dad and FH made their suits and shirts at Men's Traditions. The shop is at Peninsula Shopping Centre #03-27. U can take a look.

Hi Pris! Long time no 'see'.
Have fun trying out all the various types of gowns.

ivied, do u have the contact number of the tailor? I need to sound out a few shops to get a rough idea of the price. thanks leh!

Huiz, those tailors seldom entertain calls one. But anyhow, here's some contacts for your ref.

1) Men's Tradition
Peninsula Shopping Centre #03-27 Tel: 63369286
Look for Daniel

2) Personality Menshop
Peninsula Shopping Centre #03-24 Tel: 63334790
Look for Eric

3) Dickson Tailor
Suntec City #B1-52, opp Subway, Tel: 68369078
Look for Mr Wong

Wa piang eh! The Melaka MUA charges RM580 if I want the boss to do it. But this includes the eye lashes and ampoules. If done by the other artists would be RM 280 excluding the 2 items. wooh, so exp! U can see their webby at www.starbizz.biz if u r free.

Now wondering if I should just spurgle and cut down on the hassle of hunting around.

Hi Ivied,

thanks for the contacts. i called Men's tradition and they quoted $65 for a normal cotton wing tipped shirt. Need 2.5 weeks to complete. Sounds very reasonable leh. Good man, I told bo lao we should go down next week to get it done ASAP liao. Not much time left to the PS.