Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Oh Nellie, Hyderabad Rd is quite good for PS...nice shots. Quaint with greenery, colonial houses (small ones)... Cool that you thought of that place.

Must show us your pics, yah?

Hi CSI,

not too bad lah that place. I almost stepped on dog poo poo... Phew!!! saw 2 other couples there.

got to wait for at least a month for my pics cos i told them no need to rush... me can wait ... hee hee

Hi Ah Mais,

I just went to check out the Cheok Keuw Bridal Co
that Ivied recommended this morning. Wa, cool place man. The shop though small, looks like a museum with so many antiques and country style patchwork that the owner made. Too bad I didn't dare to take any pics inside the shop. I saw this newspaper clipping there and I remembered the owner was interviewed in a Ch8 documentary before. She fought cancer to start this business and also dedicates lotsa her time making patchwork and decorating her house in a country style. I just went in to check out some prices. Quite exp ah....

417231.jpg

Looks like most of us are almost done with the major preps for our wedding e.g. gowns, PS and most importantly the house! All our efforts have paid off

Hi Nellie,
that's the good part about having the PS early. It releases a load off your shoulder and at the same time, u do not have to rush to get your pic.

Hi Huiz,
Actually I have not been this shop in Jurong West. My friend told me about it as she lives near there. If it is ex, then try the ones at Beauty World or that temp market in Chinatown. The prices are consider reasonable. But this shop looks interesting. No wonder she keeps telling me to go take a look. I just said: So FAR!

yup, I believe most of us have settled the major stuff, just left the minor details till the later stage. We are fast movers mah.

hey, where is Lydia? Her wedding is the next upcoming one right? She should be back to Spore already I presume.

phew...just finished n down with my minutes...can R&R liao..looking fwd to long weekend...hehee

Janf - I just realised today is 19th...and tomorrow is 20th...better have a gd breakfast tomorrow am

Nellie - wow, 7 days leave + those PH...means u onli go back opic on 25th! Wow, that almost a 2 wks break! Good manz! *envy*

Huiz - fm the pic there, can see the shop got lotsa lotsa things! I'm not surprised if they have got many traditional things that are not commonly seen nowadays

I decided to be my own boss this afternoon and spent the whole time doing my own thesis... haha

Yah, the shop is very interesting. It's like a mini museum with ancient typewriters and telephones. The boss had to put a "do not touch" sign there. I think a lot of people must have been so fasincated with them so couldn't help poking away. haha

Haii... I am going to work till die this year just to save my leave for 2007. Gonna take 3 days in Dec to go Cameron and that's it. Will bring over 17 out of my 21 days this year to 2007 and I will have 38 days to spend then!

Huiz - I m now clearing my leave for last yr..will also bring over this yr leave to next yr..but going to encash one-third of my leave..cos rather cash dry. Anyway, next yr will have 37 days + few days off to spend too!

Stacy, one of the reasons why I have such high inertia to move to the private healthcare sector is the leave. 21 days leh. Outside at most give 14 only. 7 days makes a big diff man!

wah stacy, u got heart leh! still rem i going for the horrigible experience tom! haha. i juz called my ma to tell her wait for me at the kopishop near the dentist and look at me eat.. coz i dun like to sit alone at kopishop eat..

janf, tonight musr sleep hard hard and eat good good food for dinner later and bfast tomorrow hor. den aft tt make sure bo lao make u nice porridge and soup to drink also ;-P

ha huiz!, talkin abt soups. he can tell me hainanese seldom drink soups one when i 1st got married into the hse! haha. coz as a cantonse, im very used to having soups for dinner everyday.. dun eat rice oso nvm but cannot do w/o soup..

Janf - is it true hainanese seldom drink soup? Mum will prepare soup for every dinner..cos' we find it difficult to et w/o soup...the rice dry dry...

Huiz - is it?? I dunno leh...cos my previous job also 21 days.

wah...u gals good leh...can carry forward your leave...My place cannot. Die die also must clear all before 31 Dec. Sianz...

wah, janf...eat lots lots today...

Same here. My mum has to cook soup every night if not we can't swallow the dry dry rice. But then I think they don't mean that Hainanese don't drink soup in the literal sense. They mean that we do not take so much trouble to dun4 tang1 like the Canto do.... you know, those thick herbal soups that needs hours to cook. We are the kind who makes simple soup to go with the rice only I guess.

Stacy, u were from private health previously? I was too and was given only 14 days ah. And my bo lao also thinking of hopping over to private who is gonna give him 14 days also. So that's why I have the impression that pte is very kiam tiap when it comes to leave.

CSI, can u then encash ur leave if u dont use all?

So tired liao. Time to go home!

yup, wat i meant was hainanese dun bother to DunTang like the cantonese.. my MIL oso make simple soups like veg soup, potato carrot soup etc.. my ma eventho hainanese can cook the cantonese style soups very well.. but of coz she married a canton man so of coz gotta learn.. keke.

damn chiam.. im eatin cup mee while typing now.. whole family sent my bro-in-law to airport and no dinner at home.. haiz.. i juz sent a sms to bor-lao to complain! wahaha.

Aiyoi, janf, I realise something, haha, seems like Hainanese mums like to make potato and carrot soup hor? My mum also make that very often ;-P

Hmm, bo lao didn't buy u dinner before he went airport ah? Need to pull his ear.... kekeke

hmm... my mama also cook potato and carrot soup frequently.

nellie - your PS must be fun! how many locations did u shoot altogether?

janf - congratz got ur hse. me waiting for ballot results. hope got good news.

me went back to work yest. a whole mountain of stuff awaited me.

just piah finish 1 video over 2 days, then tdy did preview w colleague then discover mike spoilt during filming process. tml need to do a reshoot. else my documentary no programme host. this is the worst part of the job. coz reshoot, means re-capture, means re-edit. already cannot finish the mountain of books and papers, still must cope w this.

Stacy - I got to return to work on 23rd. still have to work on PH. my company only allow us to bring forward 4 days of leave to next year else will be forfeited. no encash...

Ivied / Mosburger - it's really good to settle most stuff as early as possible. now i can let go and binge a bit. ha ha ha... had 4 locations in Kuantan and 3 in Singapore.

our famous hainanese soup is the mutton soup. difficult to 'dun' lah and cannot drink regularly... very heaty

Huiz - silly me...was referring to my previous opic..a pte co..but not in healthcare lah...*paisay*

Mos - there will always be work...so take it slowly and steady manz! Don't stress urself too much ya! Ya, understood that shooting damm sian one...ever did one for opic..i mean got professional do lah..i was only the 'model'...onli 5 mins of video but took me almost whole day of shooting..sian!

Nellie - har..ur opic still operates on PH? Orh..mutton soup..the one at bedok interchange is not bad..*nice*

Wa Stacy, tt's something very cute and innovative! Wonder how they add the white and normal choc to form the pattern on the groom's suit.

Ohh I love the mutton soup at Bedok! Surely wouldn't miss that whenever I am there.

Jus sms janf. her appt is at 9am. All the best to her

Haha ya,I am so fascinated by them! Esp the first pic. They really good leh, can make the strawberry stand up so well somemore. Haha, I too can't bear to eat them. It's food for the eye only ;-P

wah Stacy...the pics are cute manz! But wun bear to eat...hehs...

Huiz - nope...can't encash the leave if we dun use. If dun use, forfeit lorh.
Some MAS rule lah...and another rule is that we have to go on 1 week's block leave (the banks are 2 weeks block) every year...

Stacy - it's bcos the other countries' market are still in operation during our holidays. and i'm always on support during PH.

CSI - so troublesome... MAS regulation. luckily, my company only have need us to go on 1 weeks' leave. if 2 weeks, i'll die, where got enough leave to be deducted?

Wa like a bit wasted to go on the block leave when the staff has no plans to do anything. If the following year need more leave for things like wedding preps than need to take no pay leave?

Can't wait for today to be over! Going to check out Vivo City tonight. *suaku*

Huiz - I'm checking VivoCity tonight too... maybe we'll bump into each other. luckily, we have marriage leave of 5 days.

same same. I have marriage leave of 5 days too. And it comes with a small ang bao.

It is really quite a waste to go on a week's leave if the staff has no plans. But what to do, this is the rule, unless they changed their minds at a later stage.

Huiz and Stacy are so lucky. I have to work for 6 years to achieve the 21 days that I'm having now. And this leave can only be brought forward for a year.

Stacy, that is cute! I can't bear to eat it. hee...

I went to Vivo city last weekend. It is big and spacious AND terribly crowded. My bo lao and I gave up after walking for less than half an hour. It reminds us of the shopping centres in US.

Wa Nellie, that's a luxury of 5 solid days u have. I have only 3 and there's this stupid policy that the staff has to take it within one year of the ROM. Since my AD is more than 1 year after, I have no choice but to take it right after my ROM to enjoy it first. Don't want to keep till forget then later lugi ah. Haha.

I should be able to reach Vivo around 7+. Hopefully we can bump into each other (and our other halves?) too

Same as Ivied, I'll also receive an ang pow for wedding.

Huiz - I'll reach there around that time too. Will be catching a movie there too.

Siao liao. I just remembered today is Fri and eve of holiday. Vivo is surely gonna be packed worse than a sardine can. So Nellie, if we really bump into each other, its time for us to buy 4D tomorrow. Haha.

Wa ivied, got ang pow some more ah! So good! I had worked in pte for 1.5 years right after my grad 5 years ago and they gave me 14 days. When I joined semi private after that, it had been 21 days all the way. But they are not so generous when it comes to giving $$ lor. So I guess gotta give and take lor

Yah...a bit wasted lorh...to take 1 week's leave when u got nothing planned. But what to do? haiz, regulations...

Oh, we get 5 days marriage leave too...When I was working for gah-men, it was 3 days marriage leave plus AP. so, yah lah...give and take lah. hehs...

Oh...Vivocity...saw yesterday's Wo Pao (My Paper), they mentioned that there's no network signal in there, so cannot use HP? Anyway, enjoy yourselves at Vivo...

Huh no network? and they dare to call themselves the largest shopping mall in Sg? Aiyoyo!

Just read an sms from janf sent at 9.22am. My hp was hidden under my pile of files and so paiseh only saw the sms now. She said everything was over before she knew it and the whole experience is finally closed. She wishes to thank the all ah mais here for your care and concern

ya, u can't expect to have the best of both worlds. I wanted to leave the current job actually but considering that I will still be in probation during the month of my AD, I changed my mind. Some co nowadays do not allow staff to take leave during probation period or else will be terminated. My friend gana this and hence she is jobless now.

CSI, u can hint to your bo lao that u two can go for a short trip every year during the block leave.

No network signal in Vivo? I did not encounter that last week, I'm not sure. Ya, anyway, enjoy yourself there. Its quite nice and have fun walking.

hmm... janf has overcome her fear. good good.
most probably we shall see her in here later in the afternoon. hee...

Ya ivied is right. Most companies do not allow staff to take leave during probation. So have to think carefully before resigning in case the new job probation clashes with any impt dates. Some positions like mine has a 6 months probation period!

Oh, janf will be going to her ma's place to rest. She said there'll be no Net access. Prolly can catch her here tonight

ok ah mais, me going off now. Co is giving us early release. yupee!

See u all next week. I'm off to my short getaway in Malacca. FYI, I'm going up Genting for a day too. (to enjoy the mist. hee....)

harlow all! im back at home liao.. now feel a 'hole' in my mouth.. haha.

the dentist used his fullest force to pull out the tooth, i so scared the row of teeth come out as well!!

nellie and huiz go explore vivo ah.. hub oso wanted to go tonite but i told him i got 1 hole how to eat there?! so prob over next few days see got chance to go anot..

It's so crowded in Vivo and not all the shops are opened. The foodcourt is packed too. Caught a movie there and sat at the 1st row from the front. my neck aches now.

Yeah man Nellie. We almost gave up on the foodcourt but heng managed to find some seats near the entrance. There indeed were so many people there that we ended up shopping for household stuff at Giant. Bought a $7.90 toaster. Haha, I was telling bo lao that just treat it as buying a toy. If spoil than spoil lor.

we didn't go into the food court from the main entrance. We went up by the side entrance next to the bak kut teh. we found seats there and just eat bak kut teh cos too hungry to search for other stuff to eat.