Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hahaha... Janf, totally agree with the majiam fail exam part hahaha...

Yes girls, its ex but we thought its very central so just try try and see if we can get it...

Do you all know how to speak hainanese? hehe... cos personally i dont.. =P

haha dory. huiz, nellie, pris, csi and stacy can speak. i understand but cant speak tho my hub is pure hainanese.. im living wif my ILs so the common language at home is hainanese followed by english..

Oh mine...
You all very li hai...
I was brought up speaking chinese at home and my dad never taught me hainanese...
I think i'm the worst among the lot, cos sometimes i dont even understand what my grandma's talking... =P

Janf - I tried balloting a couple of times till I gave up n got myself a resale flat. Wish u good luck on your BTO...esp the unit u are eyeing for..remember to take NS facing units

Ivied - alamak..i forgot abt the namecard again. Anyway, got this fm internet...Auntie lee at 385, Jalan Ujong, Malacca. Lemme confirm address tonite.

Huiz - didn't know u are so good @ suanning...PRC pple are sometimes too stubbon..trying to get their way thru'...hehee, better dun let my boss hear this..:P

Dory - I tried the balloting at Tg Bahru before, even thou its pricy, but we still can't get a unit (demand > supply), sigh! Good luck to u too..cos I have seen lucky ones..1st time apply and got it!

I can understand the language..but comes to speaking wise..broken hainan lah! Heehee.

Yah, I can speak Hainanese and manage a rather decent conversation with it coz I had been staying with my granny ever since I was born. She's those kind true blue hainam por from China kind. Knows no other language other than her own despite being in Sg for more than 60 years!

Actually hor, its quite good to know some of the language coz when go out with our family can speak it like a "secret language" that not many others will understand. Haha, can scold people they also don't know... notti notti me ;-P

Janf - Bohty ah kor also can speak the language
Hmm...he seems to be MIA...prob have gone for his HM liao. Also, Koxicc ah kor...MIA.?? hahaa

Ok, tell u ah mais how I suanned her. Basically, she says that if we were to do this and that in the manner she suggested and thinks is superior, patients will understand and accept it better than our current system. Wa, she think she so smart ah. So I told her back, "oh, ma'am, I am afraid things are not as easy as it seems in reality and NOT EVERYONE IS AS UNDERSTANDING AS U ARE".... haha, that did the trick and she went out muttering, "I am sure u ppl must be thinking I am very lor sor" under her breath.

She must be waiting till bored liao so come and irritate me to pass time. Haha.

wah, so many posts in 1 morning (but then again, that's quite usual...heehee).

This morning I had lots of meetings...haiz.

Thanks Ivied, Huiz, yupz, it's 1 more mth! heehee...but, still got lots to do.

I was just given 2 new reports to do up, but 1st week of Nov. Argghh!! How to sleep lots lots? Plus still must continue to keep track of RSVPs and write invites (mine done liao lah, but still keeping track of FH, parents'...), prepare the GDL stuff, print our church booklets, mail out the invites...still like a lot to do leh. hahaha...

Skin feeling quite dry lately. Been drinking lots of water, but maybe still not enough. haiz...

Janf - good luck for your selection!

Hey Huiz, that's a good way of suanning pple...I shd learn that too...

Yup i know its good to learn more than one langauage, but hor... no one teach me and dont speak it often so too bad manz... =(

BTW i also dont know any other dilects too =P is it very bad?

DoryMiki, I guess if stay with the older folks then have no choice but to learn lor. I learnt my dialects, esp Hokkien (and a bit of Canto) from listening to others talk. Now trying to pick up more Malay.... hehe

Mebbe if have chance can teach u a few hainanese words here and there

Oh ya, ah mais, ask u all har, where did u buy the customary stuff for AD, things like the tea set, lamps, candles, baskets (for oranges) etc etc? Is there any specific place in Chinatown that provides one stop service? Or need to get them from different shops? Kancheong spider me wanna drag bo lao along to do these shopping liao.

yes all!, i finally got a unit liao!! haha. so hapi.. i sat there looking at the screen for my 2nd choice which is 10th flr, scurry kena taken.. my heart really sank then.. so took the next choice which is 6th flr.. coz me and hub can only stay on 6th, 7th or 10th flr.. but well, its finally somethg off our chest liao..

sit there looking at the screen for 1hr majiam like looking at the stk screen at SGX! damn stressful.. haha.

Hey janf, congrats on getting the unit!! Eh, why u can only stay on those floors? Btw, what is the size of the unit u took?

Haha, next time we can pop over each other's place. I like to bake and u can come n mess up my kitchen with me.... kekekeke (and then get the men to wash!!!! hahahha! evil me ;-P)

oh huiz, coz we went to Suan b4, our 8Characters combined can only stay those 3flrs.. as in will Wang us lor.. not say cannot stay other flrs but since we go and Suan then better believe ya.. actually there are 6th and 7th flr left juz now but we prefer '6' than '7' so chose 6th flr instead.. unit is 4-rm and 90sqm. not facing the duno wat sun one.. so we are very glad tat we are able to get it.. the selection process will end this fri. heng my Q number not assigned until fri if not will left all the not so good units liao.. phew..

btw huiz, i got my customary stuffs from:

TIAO XIANG STORE
blk 335 smith st #01-97/99
chinatown complex

however, the whole mkt is under overhaul for 3yrs so they hv shifted elsewhere in chinatown but their fone numbers still remain. u buzz them and ask where are they exactly located now ya.

tel: 6222 2572 / 6224 8848

hey janf, thanks for the contacts. Ya lor, I was also thinking the market is now undergoing "operation". Hope they have moved to somewhere nearby ah. There's this v nice shop in Jurong West that sells all traditional wedding things also, but seems v exp ah.

heh, so now u and your bo lao should be very relieved to have one headache solved. Time for a good celebration

Hi Huiz,
Beauty World has a couple of shops that sells all the wedding stuff that u need. U can even tell them which dialect that u belong to and they will bring u a whole bunch of traditional items for your GDL or JZ. There is also one in Jurong West, near Shuqun Pri Sch. Here's the address:
Cheok Keuw Bridal Co
Blk 506 Jurong West St 52
#01-180
Singapore 640506
Tel: +65 6566 0311

Hi janf, Congrats! It must be a dream come true.
Your expressions are very cute. I can't stop laughing at your comments.

Hello Mais,

my PS is finally over. Smooth-sailing today. Took photos with the Korean tourists... ha ha ha

tired now...going to ZzZZzzz...

talk to you all tmr. Good night!

haha ivied!, u cant imagine the anxiety juz by staring at the stoopid plasma tv! somemore i no eat lunch and face nearly turned green when i saw my 10th flr gone!

yup huiz, the temp mkt shifted to oppo SGH but not sure if the Tiao Xiang shifted there anot. best to call them ask..

Good morning ah mais....

Yup ivied, the contact u gave me is near my office. I go there for lunch most of the time. Very nicely done up shop that gives me the "exp" impression. Haha. Will go there mebbe later to check out the price. Thanks for the info on the Chinatown shop too!

Nellie, glad that the day went well for u. It was indeed a great day as the haze had cleared!

janf, I do not know the name of that shop, but it is owned by 2 middle-aged woman right? They have all sorts of wedding stuff in the shop. If yes, the shop is shifted together with the market. But u have to walk right in from the food centre and will come to the stretch of shops.

Good morning!

Ivied - here the addy : Aunty Lee (No. 385, Jalan Ujong Pasir, 75050 Melaka. Tel : 06-2831009. Biz hrs : 11:30a, - 2pm; 6pm - 9pm...close on Tuesday!

Janf - Congrats! So glad u got the unit u wanted

Nellie - tt's ur day manz! Haze was not tt bad yesterday..guess tt u've got a exciting PS. Come share wit us pics or ur story ya!

Huh, Aunty Lee is at Ujong Pasir ah? That's where my ILs stay but I hadn't noticed this eatery yet. Hmm, next time must go check it out. Oh ya, can also drop by the Portugese Settlement for seafood by the seaside in the evening if u are at Ujong Pasir. Very nice and not too exp

Thanks Stacy and Huiz.
I shall go check it out this weekend.

Nellie, your PS sounds interesting. Do show us some pic when its ready orr...

Hi ah mais, here's a sample of my AD program; for all BTBs. hope it will be useful and not too confusing. hee.. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif
AD Program Sample
ADWeddingSchedule_Sample.zip (36.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Wah ivied, I am impressed with your very detailed AD program! A big thanks for sharing too! It's really very helpful

ivied - urs very detailed leh! u still hv a copy of mine as well? can post here in case the BTBs here mite wan a shorter version.. i left my thumbdrive at home today..

Looking at the programs kinda stress me out man. There's so many things to see to! I think I am still in the relag mode now, so see the program got so many things to handle I really kan cheong liao... haha ;-P

Huiz - Thanks for offering to teach me hainanese =P

Janf - Congrats that you got the flat of your choice! Where did you suan your compatiable floors for you and hubby one?

Ivied - WA! thanks for sharing, its really comprehensive... =)

dory - i went to master neoh, 98517223 at bedok blk 85 (forgot the blk #) liao. tat was few yrs back when we contemplating whether suitable to get married anot and the master gave us each the flrs we can stay so we sat down and see which are the common flrs tats Wang to us lor..

YES! I do, janf. Here's a shorter version.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif
AD Wedding Schedule_janf
ADWeddingSchedule.zip (15.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Huiz, do not panic. Relax.... U still have quite a couple of months to work things out. U can list out the outstanding stuff required and draft a schedule/plan to delegate your work. Here's one for your ref.
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Wedding Plan Sample
Wedding Plan_Sample.xls (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hey janf, don't mind I ask a qn hor. Would the master tell a couple outright that they are not suitable to get married?

Waa ivied, u read my mind! I am also planning to start doing a wedding plan later in the afternoon if I am free today. Heehee, now can use your sample that came just in time. Thanks again!

Oh mine...
Lets say if the Master say not suitable then how ah, will you all still proceed?

hmm... i'm quite pan dang one...
I will be upset if Master really say so...

ya lor. same here. I think I will be worried sick and have endless sleepless nights. haiz..

Huiz, not a prob.
I just hope these templates will help u gals in your planning for the BIG day. I was thinking on the same line too so I start to work on these templates in order to reduce my stress level. Year end is my busiest period at work so I can't afford to break down with both stresses at work and wedding prep. I will cry.............

no lah huiz/dory!, fortune teller wun tell u outrite whether u suitable anot one! they will ZheShou if they do so! they will only tell u based on ur 8Characters, how u can help ur partner (perhaps by doing certain thingy etc). for my case, master told us tat we in previous life nvr finish our life tog so now come back into this life and continue.. somethg lidat lah! tat time when he told us, we kept luffing non-stop, come to tink of it so rude of us! =P

duno how true he say but since one wana go see him then somehow gotta believe abit of wat he say bah..

janf - blk 85 bedok...makes me drool abt the bar chor mee....yummy!

ivied - tks for sharing! Really comes in handy when BTB are planning for wed prep!

hee.. me too. Whenever people mention Blk 85, I only know peanut soup, hokkien mee, bar chor mee, fried chicken wings....
grrr... my stomach is growling already.

no prob Stacy.
Anyone needs a seating plan?

Hello Ah Mais,

I just woke up. So tired after 2 days of PS is over. no attack of insects and ants in Singapore.. YEAH

I'm so glad that the weather is very cooperative on my 2 PS. Went to Tian Fu Gong (temple), East Coast Park and Alexandra yesterday. Tried the railway tracks, can't go in liao. What a letdown!

Hopefully all pics turn out well.

Oops! Forgot to congrat Janf for getting her lovenest.

Me same as Janf. Got fortune-teller/geomancer to select my wedding date and my house.

Hey Nellie,

U still on leave ah? Me also wanted to go the the railway tracks... very very gian. But my PG also told me they are v v strict now. Don't let anyone go in. No matter where u try to sneak in from, they got ppl to catch... sigh...

Which part of Alexandra did u go to? Tian Fu Gong is a very good idea!

yup, i'm on 7 days leave, started last thurs.

really got no chance to sneak in... me so disappointed

I think it's called Hyderabad Road. I wore Kua mah so I wanted to go and take my pics in a temple. Got Korean tourists took pics with us.. so cute.

nellie - how u got fortune teller to Suan ur hse?? as in u asked him wat blks, flrs numbers suitable for u all or u brot ur fteller to visit the hses??

Janf - he's actually my in-laws' friend. they went to him for our wedding dates. at the same time, he also told them the directions which are suitable for us... meaning the entrance of the flat that's suitable for us.

so based on the directions given, we just hunt our lovenest down. After we got our keys, we then asked him to look at our flat, telling him what we're going to do for our reno. he'll tell us whether it is suitable or not and also colours suitable for us in the house...

hmm nellie, my fren oso did the same thingy as u for the hse part. he brot his pa's fren whos a fteller and he juz gave advise like here gotta put wat then will Wang them etc. so now in his living room got a waterfall feature.. serves as a beautiful deco and can Wang my fren and his wifey.. keke.

i just need a fish tank at the balcony and a grey carpet at my entrance. He'll also advise where to place your bed and you hob. this is very important.