Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi Gals!
Thanks for welcoming me...
You are a chatty lot =)
other threads are not so active... haha...

Here's my details:
AD & ROM: 13 July 07
Recep Venue: Raffles the Plaza
BS: White Link
AD PG: Kelvin Koh
AD VG: Should be a fren

Ya man, the weddings there are indeed an eye opener. That's why Ivied better bring some ear plugs along.... heehee

My ILs are both retired, so they are very happy to see us back. Hmmm, perhaps we can find one day when all of us are free to troop down for chicken rice balls?

Welcome again DoryMiki.. Do join us in our lively exchanges as much as u can okie?

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>latest DoryMiki

i last went to malacca when i was in pri sch.. besides the red church, i cant rem a single thingy abt the state liao!! hahah. perhaps can do the day trip thingy like wat stacy did!

huiz - i shd be able to meet u 715am tom.. i rush rush..

CSI Fan - I am a CSI Fan too hahaha... catch it every tue without fail...

Huiz - For your info, they never concluded whether is Miss Bao is with Boss Rong or the other guy (quite disappointed with the ending) and Tang Tang died when she tried to save her beloved...

Ya, DoryMiki, I managed to catch the last 1/2 hour of the show and was so utterly disappointed that it's left hanging in the air! I really want the Miss Bao to go with Boss Rong leh. I personally think she's a bita mismatch with the tailor. However, the tailor and Tang Tang looks better together.

Huiz - Same thinking... hehe...

Janf - Its Kelvin Koh from Lighted Pixels =P Thanks for pointing out though... i usually mention him as Kelvin Koh...

oh paiseh dory/csi!! i mountain tortoise leh.. oways tot lighted pixels and kelvin koh are separate.. keke. now enlightened! sorie sorie..

heehee....it's ok lah Janf...
I know coz Kelvin's a good fren of my good fren (who happens to be my PG), and I'm into photography stuff...kekeke. So I thot just put the co name lah...(but a thot just hit me...sekali there's a freelance PG by the same name, then how? hahaha...)

csi - i know theres a AD PG by the name of kelvin somethg but juz cant recall his surname.. tats why prob i got mixed up.. keke. *blur janf*

I wanted to come in earlier but some asshole staff piss the hell outta me and spoilt my mood. Pardon the language, but I'm fuming. Grr...

good morning ah mais!

need some opinion.

Q1) me and bf decide to invite some close frens to a meal post-ROM such that ROM on wed, celeb on sun that follows. Coz everyone else all working and we wanted that 22 nov date. then some in this bunch of frens (A) hppn to overlap with another bunch of frens (B). But we dun wan to invite everyone in B coz my bf not too close with them. Both of us only very close to A. Should we invite A/A&amp;B/A+closer frens in B?

complications would be some ppl may not be happy?! i'm not sure.

wah, can't believe i asked such a complicated question.

Q2) most ppl prefer lunch / high-tea?
i prefer lunch, my bf prefer high-tea. uh-oh... disagreement liaoz. the starting of the marriage prep arguments.

janf - me! me! i'm in!

huiz &amp; ivied - when customary is nearing, dunno whether i'll still be bowled over by CS. hee ;p

dorymiki - meanwhile, i'm rather disappointed w the show's ending. like no ending. most shows nowadays seem to have lousy endings. the whole story nice nice, but gives a "head heavy legs light" feel. i watched a taiwan idol drama not long ago "ai qing mo fa shi" also like that. silly ending. but ming dao is so handsome... ;D

stacy - i hvn't gone for 2nd acupunture. it's tml. pray hard i dun go there embarrass myself again.

sob! tml my last day of mc, but hand still not yet recover. thinking of extending my mc.

csi - u play around w photography? is it your job/hobby?

oh... to add on, the post-lunch is meant to be a really small gathering (abt 10 ppl), coz had we wanted smthg bigger, we would have already opted for outdoor solemnisation.

mosburger - ur lunch is wat sorta lunch? wheres ur intended venue? high-tea is good coz can sit long and can chit chat.. but lunch depends on venue too ya.

Mos - my tots

Q1) Invite A+closer frens in B..anyway, its a celebration for u n bf..so its a matter of who u wish to invite..
also, some pple in b nt so close, no need invite them lah

Q2) I prefer hi-tea. Can sit n chat long..most hi-tea food are finger food, so u can bf can miggle ard with friends..tot lunch is kinda heavy, muz sit there n eat kind

Ya I agree with janf that the mood at a high tea could be more relaxed. As for inviting who ah, hmm, a bit tough leh. If u invite only A, and tell them not to let anyone in B know, also not nice. Dilemma leh.

Aiya, this newbie staff had worked less than 3 months and last Fri asked for leave on Sat to go KL. For what? Shopping. Wa piang, such short notice and for unimportant things and she's new, still got the cheek to ask for leave. In the end, she called in yesterday say she lao sai 40x and need to go A&amp;E. Got 3 days MC. I doubt her story la. 40x lao sai dunit to be warded meh?

And some others also say I am heartless. Come on la, they behave worse than kids. If I am not firm and fierce, how to control them? Shame on them man, so old liao, even older than me, can still behave worse than kids, very very lazy, like to skivve all the time, so how to expect me to respect them??

Hi mosburger,
Q1) hmmm...sounds cheem. Dun quite understand your "A/A&amp;B/A..." bit. Anyway, (this is just my opinion lah) I would do it like this:- Invite A, but at the same time, when inviting them, just casually make it known to them that it's only a small group gathering of 10 pple (name them...A1, A2, A3,...A10). Since A1-A10 would all know each other, I think they would be ok with it. In fact, (assume A6-A10 overlap into B) A6-A10 might not even ask if u inviting B, coz they should be able to indentify that A1-A5 dunno B. But if someone does ask (esp someone from B), just say that it's a really small gathering for those who have helped...(as long as nobody from B is helping). That's how I would do lah. Think there may be better ways too...

Q2) Personally, I prefer high-tea. Like more relaxed, casual...more ang-moh/English style. hehs...

No lah, I dun really play around much with photography. I just enjoy snapping a bit here and there (but no $$ to go for the proper cameras. so only stuck with my digi cam...hehs), and I read up a bit and discuss with frens on photography. And also surf the net to see the different photographers' works etc.
Just a hobby lah. hehs...

LAO SAI 40X ONLY 3DAYS MC?! layman like me oso know tat lao sai 40x oredi on drip liao lor! when my hub was in pri sch, he had the runs for 10+times and immediately warded and on drip for nearly a wk..

huiz - think the newbie wana smoke u lah.. she tot u yday juz born izit..

mosburger, for me, I would invite only those that are close to the couple, hence A and a little of B. U can't please everyone; at most u can explain that u would like to keep it small and intimate, leave the grander one to the banquet.

I would agree with high tea too, casual and light hearted meals. However, high tea is normally between 3-5pm only, that leaves little time for you guys to chat and have fun. Since its a Sun, why not try brunch? I remember Traders Hotel has one.

Huiz, perhaps this new staff is just making use of this job as a stepping stone only, hence making all the excuses about coming to work. Don't let it bother u. Cool down......

haii, ivied, this is not the first time she tried to cheat me liao. But well, she just has to bear the consequences of her doings lor. Out she goes man.

yah man, janf, she wanna tell lie also must be smarter right?

Hey, talking about high tea. Mosburger, do u have any high tea venues in mind? There's this really quaint Copenhagen or something like that in town. Very nice place man!

the PS was great and tiring except that I was attacked by some mosquito-like insects and big red ants. my forehead was bitten and a big red, itchy bump was formed. the MUA managed to create a hairdo to cover the bump when i changed into my 3rd gown.

this BS was good and we had a good time with the photographers.

we selected our photos the next day. everything will be ready in a month's time

ah mais - thanks for the advice. i will take CSI's suggestion to name the invitees. like that very obvious liao rite.

ok, so this is what i will do. Sms the relevant ppl (A + a few from B) ask them save the date. Follow up with an email, so that they can all see who are the ones being invited.

As for venue-wise, me loved the food from Min Jiang. Like sichuan food very much. Initially decided on either lunch (11-2pm) @ Min Jiang, One North or High Tea (3-5.30pm) @ Min Jiang, Goodwood Park Hotel. Then again, I only tried lunch/dinner @ Min Jiang both venues before, dunno how's the high tea. So I welcome suggestions for high tea venue.

Thanks for all the feedback, so high tea it shall be. Now hav to think abt comfy venue for 10 ppl.

CSI - u got it rite abt A/A+B/A+some in B despite my confusing statements. ;p
A refers to one grp of frens, very close.
B refers to a diff grp of frens, not all as close.

huiz - that fellow such a lousy liar. no need to be too nice. later take more advantage.

csi - i also meddle w photography/video stuff. but more for work, coz i'm i/c of photo/video for work events. no money to own my own prof cameras too, but @ work get to play with Canon 350D. planning my wedding early, coz i wanted to make a wedding MV for our personal collection. shooting commences this dec. ;p

nellie - welcome back! good to hear that u had fun (minus the mosquitoes)!

ivied - traders hotel food not bad. will check it out.

huiz - oops, me mountain tortoise dunno where is Copenhagen. i googled "Copenhagen" and it returned results of its location in denmark. oops. where is it?

Hi Nellie,

Aiyo the darn mozzies. Really need tons of repellant to keep them at bay. But glad to know that the stylist did a good job

Hey mosburger, me found the info for this Royal Copenhagen place for u liao...

Royal Copenhagen Tea Lounge
Takashimaya Shopping Centre, Level 2 Ngee Ann City 391 Orchard Road (S)238872
Tel: 6735-6833
10am - 9.30pm daily
High tea set ($19.90) available between 2.30 and 6pm daily

my makeup was really thick when i changed into my 3rd outfit. really loved my 1st outfit and the waterfall.

I'm the tallest bride in the BS. the MUA 'transformed' me into an Eurasian... ha ha ha

wah!, im awaiting to see eurasian nellie in action leh!! keke. lidat can see pics soon liao!

huiz - forgot to tell u, some parts of the video mite be too boring for u (tea ceremony etc) so juz fast-fwd hor.. disc1 is morning session and disc2 is solemnisation+dinner.. total abt 2hrs+.. u can yawn liao.. haha.

and a big THANK U for helping me get the stuffs.. paiseh.. =P

hey mosburger, hmmm,, ur email idea is not bad...yah, that's a good way to "hint" to them who's invited...hehs...

Wow! you're shooting ur own MV! that's cool! I wanted to do so too...but, despite planning it early, hahaha...no time to execute. so, too bad. hahaha...

Ivied - yah, probably we no yuan fen...hahaha.

nellie - good to hear that you enjoyed your PS. Wah, so fast you can see your PS pics already ah...that's good!

hee hee.. usually not so fast to see the photos one. normally they develop the photos into hardcopy to let the couples to choose, same as singapore. bcos we're going off on mon, we select thru the computer.

hey janf, no prob manz. ju shou zhi lao ba le. If there's any pharma thing u need and the pharm here have it at a cheaper rate, just let me know. I can help u get it. And this goes to all the ah mais too

Actually I really appreciate the CDs coz I will have a better idea of what is going to happen on the AD. I seldom go to people's day time customary, so this will be a good prep. Can slow mo and record down the "steps" also... hehe. Thanks so much gal!

Nellie, so do u need to go there to pick up the album or they send to u?

Hi Janf,
You going for BTO selection? Which area?
Me went for the balloting at Redhill and till now after 5 weeks still no news from HDB... So sad...

Good morning ah mais!

Janf, u going on half day leave today ah? Which area is your BTO unit in? good luck to u gal! We shall all keep the hopes high for u and TH

Fernvale Vista near Jln Kayu. huiz shd be quite familiar since we both are HG-landers.. haha.

dory - its lidat one. HDB oso took nearly 2mths b4 they got back to us.. everytime i try for WIS, oways dun kena. we were so hapi tat at least this BTO got chance but of coz BTO will hv to take eons to build lah.. grr..

juz chk website tat the unit we wan oredi taken this am liao.. haiz. now juz pray hard tat our next few choices can wait till i cum in the pm (appt at 345pm).. PLS WAIT FOR ME!!!

Oh that one... that one looks nice...
When is it completing?
ME too, everytime i try for WIS then always dont get it too...

GOOD LUCK!

Orrr ya I know where it is. My friend also stays around there. Nice area leh. Not noisy and air seems to be fresher. Then when hungry can anytime pop over to Jln Kayu eat prata.... heehee

expected TOP in jan2012.. but bor-lao's cousin who works in HDB say by mid2010 shd be ready.. hope so lor.. its nerve-wrecking refreshing the website now leh! i whole morning did nothg besides post forum and chking HDB site.. haha. =P

dory - redhill flats very pricey ya.. easily 300k and abv..

haha huiz! why everyone tink of jln kayu=prata?! my ma oso said "oh, at jln kayu ah.. lidat can eat prata wat!" faintz.

there abit mafan now coz nearest train station is LRT. hopefully they will upgrade the bus svcs there so tat its easier to commute to NEL.. now i stay at kovan, its sooo convenient for me to take NEL to dohby ghaut (my workpl)..

Another good place to go if u stay there is the Seletar Airbase leh. Wa, so nice and quaint man the place there. Can go enjoy the ang mo houses while sipping tea in their cafes.... heehee.

Ya lor, there's the LRT and a few buses there only. Think shuttle service. But think as the area gets more populated, I am sure things will improve wan lor.

Wa, Redhill flats 300K or more? What size? Don't tell me its 4 room hor.... can faint man. My EA resale is around that price ah.

Heh, janf, nevermind la, if boss not peering over your shoulder then just conc on e web now ;-P

my boss not ard whole day so im king liao!! wahahah.. waiting for time to pass now..

redhill, tiong bahru, queenstown etc all not cheap.. these areas are juz like toa payoh, bishan, amk lor.. i tried for toa payoh, bishan, amk b4 all no kena.. really depressing.. i told bor-lao tat when u recd the letter from HDB and it goes "we regret to inform u that..", the feeling majiam like failing an exam.. haha.

Huiz, I have been to Copenhagen too! Ya, it has nice atmosphere and the desserts are good.
However, we can't chat too loudly else the place will feel noisy and rowdy.

Nellie is having her PS today right? She must be very excited.
CSI, its counting down for you. Today is exactly 1 more month to your BIG day.
Is everything going on well so far?

janf, Fernvale is nice and quiet. And u can just drive by anytime to jalan kayu for food.
Hope u can get the flat that u wanted. GOOD LUCK!

Stacy, do u have the address of auntie lee (is this correct?) ? My friends now all siao over the holidays and they are planning to go up to Genting after the wedding. my god. I feel like travelling around M'sia.

Sickeing PRC woman. Came in to argue with me 2x and I suanned her back. She got my suan and walked out. Haha, so shiok manz ;-P

Haha, ya ivied, I also told my bo lao that I wanna go Copenhagen too. Think the Sun after Hari Raya I wanna go. Yum yum.... Hoho, I understand how u feel about the holidays. Very excited and hoping that the time will standstill during the hols and not return to reality in Sg!

CSI, most of the things should be in place now I suppose? Relax and sleep a lot lot so can be mei mei then okie?

Today's haze situation seems to have improved. Hope Nellie's PS is going on well