Hainanese Brides, anyone???

stacy - 2days MC but i chinchai let company earn my 1day MC lor.. wanted to pull on 19th but got impt mtg to attend tat day so 20th then pull. yup, going back to work on mon coz my coll will be on leave and i need to cover her when shes not ard. sianz sianz.. if not i will juz take a day of leave and rot liao..

thks huiz! let me final price in case got GST etc ya.

Hi huiz, mine is a special case. I took ala carte, not set meal remember?
Actually nowadays MUA are good; with just a pic of your gown, they can transform u into 'that look'. Nevertheless, I will also be borrowing my gown out during my trial make up so that my bo lao and me can have some small PS. hee...

Stacy, yup. I'm going next week. You can pass the info to me at a later stage, no hurry.
I'm not sure if I should extract those wisdom tooth out. If it will give me prob in future, then I think I better do it fast. BTW, where is NDC?

I remember last time I also took out my wisdom at NDC. Then dunno is the DO dunno how to do his job or I chor lor, the end of the stitch thread on my gum kept poking into the walls of my mouth. So irritating. haha

Hi ivied,

icic. ya lor, good tt your BS can allow the borrowing. Hehe, I think we gals can never have enough of foto taking with our gowns!

Oh, NDC stands for National Dental Center....

Actually, I did some 'trick' when i was at NDC..

My gf went to extract hers...told me she is given dunno one junior dr..but she can't make it that day, so change her appt and she was given a snr dr. So before I went down, i went to their website to see who are the snr drs...so i tot if they give me one junior dr, i also change date till snr dentist can do loh. So when i was there, this dentist attented to me...he wasn't wearing his name tag, so i can't figure out who's he. After initial assessment, he said can take out all 4 and asked me to wait for date for extraction. During appt booking, I checked with the PSA who's he...she said..he's the head of the dept...I was like "die die cannot chg date...muz like him do"...hahaaa

Janf - ya lor..i also sian...got to work on monday...cos my dept got one ma lai ren and one yin du ren..so can't fight with them over leave rite, since its their festival (my dept onli 4 person)..hehee

wow so much catching up to do...

nellie, ivied, huiz - pls share ur pics! love to see photos!

Lucky for me, all my wisdom teeth have been extracted. I went to NDC as well and did it in 1 seating. Had 1 week MC and face still slightly swollen when I went back to work. Make sure u eat ur fill b4 u extract them ok.

ivied - do u need to ask BS before u take pics while try gown?

stacy - auntie lee also one of my favs in malacca.

seems pulling out of wisdom teeth quite a scary thingy...

hi ah mais,
here's my gown.

mosburger, yup, they are aware that I'm taking pic. As I have selected my gown so I can take pic of it.
415122.jpg

janf/Stacy, so were u compensated with one extra day of leave for working on Mon?

wahhh ivied, your gown very classical victorian style leh! Nice nice!

Oh ya, janf, me help u buy the TDF liao. Pass it to u next week la

And it's holiday time! Yoohoo...

ivied - nice gown! i luv the top part.. ur WG is OTR and EG is MTM izit? sorie, i forgot which is which liao.. =P

nah, no extra day of leave for working on mon coz mon by rite IS a working day..

Ivied - I loved ur gown...sooo beautiful. Is the back sheer back? Fm the mirror, it seems to be a different material fm the front of the gown?

Ya, some opic shutdown on 23rd, in-liue for the PH on 21st. For my case, opic still needs to work on 23rd, but we can 1 day off anyday

wow ivied! Nice gown!! Very beautiful! Long train?Good choice! Hey, I just remembered, your BS is La Belle? Who's ur designer? I dunno how many designers they have there, but my sister's fren is a designer there...think her name is Jade.

Good morning ah mais.

Thanks for the compliments. Ya, I like the upper part of the gown too, it gives me a grand and yet classic look.
Huiz/janf/Stacy, yes, my WG is OTR. The upper part is bedded front and back. Its actually the same material. Here's a clearer view.
CSI, yes yes! The designer is Jade. She is quite pretty hor. A friendly young girl too.

415266.jpg

janf, yours is a 5-days work week right? Doesn't your company compensate the Sat holiday with either via leave or off day?

thks ivied, yup, this pic is much clearer! i like the details.. but the front end abit long. perhaps u shd buy a higher heels so tat its easier to walk..

my ofc is 5day work wk, tink got compensate us 1day annual leave for the deepavali..

I ask all ah mais hor. I'm actually not quite comfortable in bustier; feel that the fats above the bustier is too obvious. But this is the only gown that I fancy. Initially I wanted to add a spagetti strap but it will spoil the outlook of the gown. how how? Should I add on or not?

thanks janf. I will take note of it.
I intend to have a can-can underneath and with a 2.5" shoes I think should be ok. I can't wear too high a heals else I will tower over my bo lao.

aiyoh ivied!, where got fats?!! at least u can fill the bustier and i tink its juz nice. no need add strap etc..

mine was oso a bustier then but the can-can was damn heavy and its sewn onto the gown and i had a thick strap (more like a chiffon sash kind) attached to one side of the gown so tat it wun fall off.. u see me so flat, got prob 'filling' up the bust area, boy! amend and amend until it fits.. i so scared my hub will step on my gown and kena butt of the joke (rem the stories we talked of during the 7th storey nite?!)..

my advise - no need add. u fit juz nice into the gown. perfect.

heehee...Ivied, actually, I've never met Jade before. But it's my sister's fren, so my sister was telling me lorh. heehee...

Aiyoh! where's the fats? Like Janf said, like that u can fill in the bustier nicely. Me? flat until gotta add padding. Even after adding padding, I still think it's kinda flat. Am considering wearing those silicone bra thingies under the bustier, for that added omph. hahaha.

I think with a can can underneath your skirt, it won't be long liao. It would be just nice.

haha... janf/CSI, actually I was wearing silicon bra with an additional inner padding leh. Mine is also very flat. Its just that I used to be quite fatty so the fats near the armpits stays despite me losing weight. And now I have become quite conscious about it.

Ok, I shall listen to u gals. I decided: I won't add.
And I shall add a can-can to increase the height.
Thanks ah mais!

haha csi!, me oso wore silicon bra during my AD but still flat.. i resigned to fate tat nothg can be done to give the oomph factor coz me dun even hv the bare minimum to start off wif! tats why i oways envy fiona xie.. babelicious..

ivied - juz make sure ur gown is really fitted to ur body. tight and cannot breathe oso nvm, as long wun shift ard can liao.. yup, add a can-can shd incr the height..

missed my long long train.........

415309.jpg

wow janf. Your gown is SUPER long. I think this is full catheral train length right? I did not notice that in your AD photos. wowwwwwwww.....

haha! yup, my train is the full super longggg train.. tink 1 of the AD pics got captured but PG din develop into hardcopy so i din upload. the pic quite small coz he took from far to get the full length pic..

the train really gave me a headache on AD! had to carry it on my hands like carrying a bale of cloth!! my JM oso complaining when she help me carry.. haha.

theres a translucent sash on my right shoulder if u notice.. tats the support i needed to prevent my gown from dropping! haha.

Wahhhhh, ivied, u've got me drooling all the way from Melaka!! I love the intricate beadings of your gown. Its a classical beauty!! This is one of da best I have seen so far manz!!

Haha, I also join the "flat" club. I am also having a headache how I can add the extra oomph to the front. I told my BS designer to give me thick thick paddings!

But then again, oomph or no oomph the most impt thing is that the gown must fit very well. Don't end up like the horror story that we heard during our 2nd dinner.. the one where the bride's gown fell down. Heaven forbid!!

Me now nuar-ing at my ILs place. Waiting for my bo lao to come back tonight. He's not taking leave today so can only set off from Sg at 7pm tonight.

Okie me gonna visit my aunt now.... will be back tonight.

harlow huiz!, wah u reach malacca so fast liao ah!!

why u din wait for bo-lao to knock off from work then go wif him tog?

ya manz the bus was suuuper fast. got up e bus at 8am in Sg and reached here at 1115. Cant believe it. Nex time if anyone is taking coach to Melaka, I recommend this company. Fast, clean and comfy.

Oh me came early coz my mum is coming too. She wants to come earlier to visit her sis and yak yak yak before the wedding tomorrow... hahaha

Yah Janf, this is indeed the month of weddings man.... poor pocket.... heehee

Hi DoryMiki,

Welcome welcome!!
kao_welcome2.gif
So nice to meet another ah mai here! Care to intro more about yourself?

hi dorymiki! welcome to this thread.. we are a chatty lot so juz post when u are free.. keke. perhaps can give us the following details so tat one of the gals here can do the update?

AD
Solemnisation Venue
Recep Venue
BS
AD PG
AD VG

Hi DoryMiki, Welcome Welcome! Nice to have a new member in our clan.

Huiz, thanks.
I like this gown alot too. Love at first sight. hee... so shiok to nuar. Bet u can have a good rest after the past dreadful days at work.

janf/Huiz, this month is super peak period for marriage. I think Dec is another one. This is the cause for having friends and relatives all round the world. ha ha ha...

yah, Ivied, Agree with Huiz. It's a va-va-voom gown!! So what's ur EG gonna be like?

Hi DoryMiki, welcome!! You'll fine us a chatty bunch. hehs...

Hullo ah mais....

Bo lao and I just experience a rather embarassing moment at my aunt's place this morning. Her son got married and she wanted him to serve us tea! Omigosh, I didn't even prepare angpows. My mum said there's no need to coz my customary not over but my aunt insisted since we had already ROM. So I had a mad scramble getting angpws ready. After that, everything was just so akward coz we really didn't know what to do i.e. when to hand the AP over to the couple etc. Haha. What an experience.

ivied - your gown is very nice! i like the upper part's designs.

you fill up the bustier nicely. i thot the fats u mentioned not very obvious, but if u are very conscious abt it, u may want to do push-ups with bent knees, do abt 10 per day will do. can train our back muscles too, so from the back look nice nice too.
my bf very much into exercises, but me the lazy bum always dun listen. ;p

janf - your long train is really nice. ur BS fitting room quite big leh... cool, some BS fitting room very small, turn one round inside also difficult.

huiz - ROM considered engaged/married?

dorymiki - hihi!

yest me 1st time went for acupuncture (correct spelling?)

doc laff at me, screaming and shouting for nothing. guess what, after the needles went in, actually not painful woh.

my bf bring me out of the doc's room also face all blushed. haa, so malu.

ah mais, anyone of u got watch sat/sun ch8 7pm that HK serials "feng wu xiang luo"? really love that cheongsam that the Bao Ge Ge wearing?

U all think possible to get/make smthg like that?

Hi mosburger,

I guess times have changed. After ROM the couple is considered legally married so the customary is just a traditional practise lor.

So feeling better after the accupuncture? Heard that it can be very effective. I am still considering if I should go for that for my chronic sore shoulder.

Aiyo, I am great fan of the HK serial!! But just too bad I might not be home in time too catch the last epi tonight. Those who are watching can pls tell me the conclusion? I still prefer the Miss Bao to go with the Boss Rong.

Ok I have digressed. The cheongsam I think is no prob to get the tailord to make. Can get the 8 days or i weekly mag and show the pics in the synopsis section to the tailors.

Ivied,

Ya, I also think don't add strap better. Coz it could distract attentin from the design in front.

Backed fm my malacca trip!! Had good food but didn't get to try the chicken rice ball, cos there was a long long queue. Many couples in malaysia got married yesterday, saw 3 couple @ Malacca Christ church taking pics, and later while I came down to Kulai, there were 4 couples having wed dinner at the restaurant I was having my dinner! Malaysia wedding rather simple thou, their relatives were in tees and jeans..but dinner started at 7pm..early hor!!

Ivied - I got the namecard for the nonya food - auntie lee, but left the card at home, give it to u later ya. Anyway, here a pic of the chicken rice ball shop + auntie lee

Huiz - ya..wat a experience, especially u were not realli prepared for the tea to be served by the couple! Hehee...at least u learn something new!

Dorimiki - welcome, welcome. Update us a little bit abt urself

Mos - hw are you feeeling now...better after the accupuncture? I missed yesterday show..but I watched it almost everywk...loved their CS..very elegant.

ok, some pics for sharing - auntie lee restaurant @ malacca
415787.jpg

n the chicken rice ball @ jonker street.
415788.jpg

Hi mosburger, thanks.
I was lucky to find this OTR gown that fits my requirements. I like gowns with details. I have been to like 7-8 BS and to MTM this heavily beaded gown would cost min $2k. I almost wanted to change my mind to a simpler design. Lucky......
I will heed your advice to do push ups. I think its been years since I last do push ups. hee...
It must be quite embarassing for you when u came out of the acupuncture room. hee.. Now u have tried once, so I guess the 2nd time round will be just fine.

The CS in that HK serial is not difficult to make; its the fabric. U have to find the right type of fabric to make one that suits u to a T.

mosburger/Huiz, thanks.
I have decided not to add on the straps.

Ah mais, I must really 'kow tow' to all of you. I had a mini-PS today and all I can say is: SO TIRED. Worse still, my bustier keep 'dropping' and I had been adjusting through out that 2 hours of PS. I have informed La Belle that I have to do a re-fitting again else I can't stand pulling my bustier the whole time on my AD. hee... But PS is REAL tiring. I smile until I gave up and tell my PG to just shoot without telling me to pose. My bo lao is worse. He is so tensed up that his face is so straight and tight. ha ha ha.. Lucky my PG noticed my bo lao's uneasiness in front of the cammy so we started chatting instead of posing and finally catches some pic of him laughing. My, I'm like the mother coaxing the kid to laugh.
Thank god this is only a mini one, I can't imagine my bo lao and me shooting a full day PS. We were so happy when we called the day off. YUPEE!

Hey Stacy, thanks for sharing the pic. I will definitely look out for those 2 shops.
I have been a greedy pig, I will go look for the eating outlets if there are recommendations. hee...

I'm rather long-winded tonight ah. paiseh paiseh. hee...

Huiz, it must be 'pretty exciting' for you and your hubby.
Can imagine u two scrambling for a ang bao. hee..

CSI, sorry, I missed your post. My EG is a mermaid cut.

Hullo all,

I am back to Sg at around 8.15pm (started off at 2pm)! Was caught in the darn jam for one hour if not, I could have been home much earlier for my HK show. Aiyo, but I was so disappointed with the ending leh.... it's as if there's no ending!! Grrr! So much for my excitement.

Stacy, u were back very early! I supposed u stayed overnight? Where did u put up? And yes, the Chung Wah place was where I ate the rice balls. My ILs went all the way there yesterday morning to buy that for my breakfast. Heehee. I am so grateful.

My cousin's dinner last night was typical of most dinners in Msia. Had karaoke blaring from the stage and even had those 7th month singers belting out badly enunciated songs. Yucks. *faintz* The worse was this local singer (some singing teacher as well), went on stage to sing but the real motive was to sell his CDs. The bride happened to be one of his singing students and the actress in two of the MTVs, so that was one selling point he could make use of.

My other cousin told me NOT to have anything like this for my Msia wedding, just play some soft music will do. At least let the guests have an easier time talking to each other without shouting. Ya man, I agree. *hands and legs up*

My mum and MIL had some chat in the car over the Msian wedding arrangements. I didn't image she had most of the things thought out. Good la, then I leave it to her good hands.

Ivied, where did u have the mini photoshoot. Share with us the pics if u don't mind okie?

Back to work tomorrow.... siannnzzzz!! Why does good times have to end sooo soon?!?!

Hey Stacy,
Good to hear that you had a good trip!
I just realised from your photos, that I've been to Aunty Lee's before. It's owned by my fren's aunty!

Huiz, you had a great trip too!
Actually, Msia weddings are quite spontaneous...Well, at least you dun have to worry so much abt the arrangements for the Msian wedding

Oh yes, spontaneous they were. The guests had no qualms about going on stage to sing too. They were so eager to "show off" their voices. But honestly speaking, some of them were really good. It's a pity the lousy sound system did not pay them the due credit.

morning all.. wah sianz.. wkend passed so fast..

ivied - show us the pics when ready hor!

huiz - u brot the cleanser to work wif u? wan me to collect from u today? let me know how much coz i need to rob bank later..

Hi morning all,

As usual, I HATE coming back to work after hols! My whole table is in a mess. So many things piled up. And idiots have been calling me first thing in the morning to ask for this and that. I told them off to please give me a breather first larh!

Hi janf,

Yes, I have the cleanser with me but I am afraid I can't meet u tonight coz its my bo lao's bday and we are going out. Tomorrow night can? Hehe, and u need to rob the bank of $39.50.

HaPi BiRtHdAy to huiz's hub!

can can. tom then i get from u.. wat time will u be at the bus-stop every morning to catch the buses to amk?

good morning ah mais. (^_^)

Huiz, so u can have one less worry now. Let the mothers do the job.
I will be attending one dinner at Melaka this week. Man, after what u have said, I think I better get my Spore friends be prepared too. It should be quite an eye opening. Furthermore, this dinner that I'm attending has 50 tables or more.

My mini-PS is at my home.
That is the agreement that I have with my BS for renting out the gown without having to dry-clean it twice. But I can say it is quite funny sometimes. Imagine u have to be intimate with each other when there are so many people looking at you. (2 photographers and all my family members)
I shall show u all the pic when its ready.

Thanks janf for the well wishes! Is it ok I meet u at the bus stop at 7.15am?

Hi ivied, do u know if the wedding will be held in a hotel or restaurant or even a community hall? I had attended both restaurants and community hall (actually its a school hall) dinners and both had karaoke. Better bring ear plugs! I attended one hotel wedding in Apr this year (Renaissance Melaka) but that was ok. None of those loud stuff. The bride and groom was my bo lao's old school mate now working in Sg. So I guess if your situation is similar, your ears might have a better time ;-P

Aiyo ivied, it must have been a real experience for u
Can't wait to see your pics too.

Good morning...

Huiz - haha...think that's typical malaysia chinese wedding. We stop over Kulai for dinner, there were 4 wedding that night at that restaurant, wah...all karaoke..somemore they were 'shouting' at their top of the voices...imagine 4 gps of wedding n each competiting whose the loudest..hahaa.

Nope..I was at malacca for a day trip, didn't stay over
. So nice of ur IL to go all the way to Chung Wah to buy u breakfast..I didn't get to eat the chicken rice ball..u see the crowd at the pic??..haha

CSI - wow, auntie lee owned by ur aunt's friend har! Auntie lee's food is nice..the church gp always organise visit to Malacca, sure go lunch at auntie lee's restaurant

Ivied - alamak..left the namecard in my bag again..muz remember to give u the address of auntie lee ya...!

Abt ur PS, muz be fun