Hainanese Brides, anyone???

my research results:

Good make up primers: Nars Primer, M.A.C. Strobe Cream

Good foundation no need make up primers: Max Factor FaceFinity, Ultima II Wonderwear, Revlon ColorStay

Haha, yah, mosburger, making up is indeed like painting the walls. My dad always like to say that too.

Wow, our thread has hit the 2000th post. Mine shall be the 2001st!

more about make up primers...

googled "how make up primers are manufactured"

about 3.49% titanium dioxide, the rest are all kinds of alcohol solvents.

titanium dioxide:

- widely used white pigment because of its brightness and very high refractive index (n=2.4)

- effective opacifier in powder form, where it is employed as a pigment to provide whiteness and opacity

- titanium dioxide also found in toothpaste for whitening

- In cosmetic and skin care products, titanium dioxide is used both as a pigment and a thickener

- found in almost all sunblocks

- As TiO2 is exposed to UV light, it becomes increasingly hydrophilic (means dissolve more readily in water, allowing the soap to clean a surface easier)

wow, we are really chatty manz!! hahaha...

Hey ah mais,
Can I just find out...you know that 2 bedside lamps that we're supposed to turn on during our wedding day...? How long are they supposed to be on for? Coz for my case, I wun be going back to new home till a few days after AD...so I dun really want to let them run on electricity, just in case anything happens. Prefer to have them run on batt. Then my parents say "cannot, batteries die out, not good...must use electricity". So I said I wun be back there till a few days later...Then they said "then when u go out you turn off. And when u get back, u turn on again?" HUH? Where's the logic? The moment u turn off...isn't it the same as using the batteries one until batt dies off? Even when u come back home a few days later and turn on, what's the point when the event is over liaoz!!! No point liao mah!

csi - my bedside lamps are electricity ones. the rule is run for 3days 3nites and off it on the 3rd day.. but since u wun be at home on 3rd day, suggest u get someone to go to ur home and off it for u coz batt operated cannot tahan for 3days 3nites..

Huh, turn on for 3 days n 3 nights? So long ah. Heng I didn't buy those battery operated ones from Chinatown that day. Only 4 bucks for one and very presentable too. Looks like I need to hunt for those elec ones. Janf, where did u get yours?

Morning ah mais.
The skies are clearer today, a breath of fresh air. hee...

CSI, what I understand is that the lamps are to be on at 12am on AD. Then leave it on till the batteries run out. The lamps do not have to be on the whole day.
The lamps are actually a symbolism of dragon and phoenix candles used traditionally in the past. Just leave the candles burning till they 'burn out'.

huiz - i got mine from chinatown. bot tog wif my other GDL stuffs..

ivied - we on our lamps when we open the room door on AD and let little boy jump on our bed. aft tat let it on for 3days 3nites till we got home from hotel stay. we din on it at 12midnite on AD tho..

csi - mayb u go ask the old folks which version u wana use ya..

yah...so many versions.
The thing is, both the versions that my parents suggested, cannot "hold water" one lorh.

Cannot use battery coz not good if batt dies out. (HARH?) Use electricity, but when u leave home, u turn off (HARH?), and when u return home after hotel stay, turn on again (HARH?). They all contradict each other...if u know what I mean...the argument/logic cannot hold water...

ya CSI, I know what u mean. if they want u to switch it on n off then might as well use batt to let them run on and on till it runs out right? doesn't this sound more logical?

ya, I find it so confusing too. I have a friend who is doing it as per janf's version. And another one is doing as per what I mentioned earlier.

Somehow I find it more logical to turn it on and let it run till the batt runs out. This is more adhere to the traditional custom of burning the candles. My mum is ok with it. She just said as long as it is turn on on AD, do not have to worry about turning on/off. The lamps represent prosperity for the couple.

CSI, seems like your parents wish to let it run for 3 days/night then perhaps u can do as per what janf is doing too?

csi - ur pama's version abit confusing leh.. u turn on the lamps, cannot turn off then turn on again leh! can only on once and off once..

the bulb watt is very low for the lamps, wun catch fire one but to be safe, better to get someone to go to ur hse to help u switch off since u going away for HM.

if ur pama wana stick by the 3days3nites principle, then the batt operated ones wun last coz batt can only last 2days max..

I am in holiday mood already. Can't wait for Thurs to be over and I'll zip off to Melaka on Friday. *starts counting down*

yah lorh...they both contradict each other. Then when I asked "how long must it be on for?" nobody can answer. All talk only. No logic. Didn't even realise they are not making sense...

Wah Huiz, not too far off...today is Tuesday liao. hehs...

Huiz, Tues is ending soon. very fast, very fast....

I just attended a lonnnnnnng meeting, now so tired. Can't believe guys have so much things to say. worse still, some can argue and grouch over a small matter.

hee.. CSI, sometimes even our parents are not aware of the customs. They will listen to what 'others' are saying and come back to inform us that we have to follow. They are not even sure what is the logic or meaning of doing it.

I'm very scared of such things. So I gave my mum a deadline. Tell her upfront that she has to find out what she needs or must do. I will not entertain anything after that. (if not I will get VERY broke and busy with all the additional traditional items/customs) hee... mean of me.

Ivied, u bet man. Most guys at the end of the day are still petty creatures, despite their efforts to act macho. Haha.

Yah I agree with u too. Many of such practises are hearsay. People say need to do, so do lor. Why need to do? Dunno leh. Just do lor, better to be safe than sorry. we still have to exercise our judgement to decide which are the more logical ones that we can and have to follow.

Haha, my short term goal now is to.... countdown to KO time today! Going to Picturehouse to catch the movie "Little Red Flowers"

wow.. sounds so artistic. What movie is this? Sorry, I only know about Lord of the rings or Miami Vice. hee....
BTW, what is your mode of transport to Malacca? By coach all the way or transfer at Larkin?

Ohh Little Red Flowers is da kinda Asian artistic movies that I love. Here's a synopsis:

Qiang is a four-year-old little rebel, possessed of a pair of luminous eyes and a precociously indomitable will. His father deposits him at a well-appointed residential kindergarten in post-1949 Beijing, since his parents are often away. Life at the kindergarten appears rich and colourful, made up of a variety of cheerfully sunny rituals and games meant to train these children to be good members of society. But it’s not so easy for Qiang to adapt to this kind of carefully organized, minutely scrutinized collective life. A fierce individualist in miniature, he tries but fails to conform to the model his teachers enforce. Yet he still craves the reward that the other students win: the little red flowers awarded each day as tokens for good behaviour. But Qiang doesn’t win any flowers: he can’t yet dress himself, and doesn't play together with the other kids. He even dares to talk back to the strict Teacher Li and Principal Kong when they try to impose some discipline on him. Gradually, his charisma and bravado start to win over his classmates: their stealthy little rebellions gain steam when he succeeds in convincing everyone that Teacher Li is a child-eating monster in disguise. When their attempt to capture her is thwarted, Qiang’s resistance develops a more disturbing dimension, and he is forcibly ostracized from his companions. Will he succumb to the adult-enforced conformity around him, or will he insist on growing up his own way, by his own rules?

I love such flims, not because it's PRC or any of the racial crap about supporting our own Chinese productions, but for it's simplicity, sincerity and non commercialism. There's surely none of those "slapstickiness", action and illogical stuff in the other commercialised flims. Just a simple story on children can touch the heart so deeply

Oh me always take coach direct to Malacca. Much faster and less of a hassle. If change at Larkin very mah fan leh. And that isn't one of the safest place to be at too. I recommend that u take the coach from Queen's Street, this company called 707. Buses are huge, clean and spacious. One way to Malacca costs $15.

Hi Ah Mais,

I'm looking forward to Thurs, it's the 1st day of my block leave. I'll be off to somewhere too... it's Kuantan. Don't miss me cos I'll be 'missing' for 7 days.

I never logged in for only a while and the thread has moved so quickly again!

Thanks for the advice Stacy... shall discuss more with my FH bout both sides pama meeting up.

Actually i'm a bit confused about what GDL & bride price etc is...can anyone (maybe Janf since your AD is already over) explain to me pls?

From reading everyone's replies...i find the switch-on-till-batteries-die theory more sensible. Just like the candles in the older days! But just my opinion...i think as long as both sides agree.

Hi Pris,

You have to be careful on batteries ones. It may fail you on actual day. Bride price it depend on yr parents.

pris - bride price oso known as PinJin shd be determined by ur parents or his parents. if ur parents got requirement on how much they wan, then let boy's side know. but my mum din wana name a price coz she doesnt wan them to tink we YaoKew so let my MIL decide how much she wana give lor. the PinJin will be delivered tog wif the other GDL items on the GDL day and yishi yishi take part of the PinJin and return back the rest to the boy's side.

GDL day got a number of thgs to do one. 1st of all, ur mum gotta list down wat she wans for ur side and ur MIL gotta list down wat she wana get in return. basic stuffs wld be some longan, red dates, wedding biscuits etc. hainanese are the simplest! think we dun hv much requirements.. but still u gotta chk ya.

yup, bohty's rite. batt mite fail on u so if u wana get batt operated lamps, standby many many Energiser batts!

Hi Pris,
Betrothal or Guo Da Li - Normally, bride's mum will ask from groom the following:
a) cakes
b) hard liquor
c) roast pig
d) betrothal jewellery for the bride
These items are normally delivered 2 weeks prior to AD.

Bride's price or Pin Jin - An amount pre-agreed during wedding negotiations. This is presented in a red packet from the groom's family to the bride's. A portion is expected to be returned to the groom's in a red packet.

Return gifts or Hui Li - Bride's family will replace the hard liquor with orange syrup. In addition, a even numbered of other gifts are returned to the groom's family.

Bride's dowry or Jia Zhuang - These are presented from the bride's family, typically bride's personal items or household appliances. Common items are:
a) tea set
b) beddings
c) set of wash basins and buckets
d) gold jewellery

These items are delivered with the return gifts on the day of betrothal or few days before the wedding.

My auntie came over last night to discuss with my mum about my AD. She told me all of these so I just relate back to you. I happened to come across this website, perhaps it could be of use to u. http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/betrothal.html

I insist that I do not want any of the above. I find it too troublesome to follow. My auntie got VERY angry with me. hai....

Hi bohty,
How's your AD? Going away for honeymoon? Any pic to share?

Hi Nellie,
Enjoy your trip! We are going to miss you. hee.. Do show us pic when u returned. BTW, will u be having your PS there?

Hi Ivied,

I'll be having my PS there but I have yet to decide which BS to take. They are not as flexible as Singapore's cos you have to take whatever is in the package, can't do any changes.

Ah Mais,

I have 2 packages below, please help me to decide:

1. RM$2399
- 12" x 15" album (25 poses)
- 5" x 7" album (20 poses - for mother)
- table-top photo (1 pc)
- 3 sets of gowns and suits for bride and groom
- 1 CD with 100 pcs of unedited photos

This BS is less than 2 years old. Top in Kuantan.
2 photographers will be taking the photos during the PS. I have to reach this BS at 10.30am for makeup and hairdo.

2. RM$1399
- 11" x 14" album (20 poses)
- 5" x 7" album (20 poses - for mother)
- portrait (1 pc)
- table-top photo (2 pcs)
- 24 pcs of photos for distribution to relatives
- 3 sets of gowns and suits for bride and groom
- unedited photo (soft copy) at RM$10 per pc

This BS is more than 10 years old. Only 1 photgrapher.
I have to reach this BS at 2pm for makeup and hairdo.

NOTE : I'm only doing outdoor PS.

HOW TO DECIDE????

Huh, Nellie, the second one charges RM10 for each soft copy pic??? Have u also had a chance to take a look at their gowns?

Huiz,

yup. I will only be able to reach Kuantan on Fri. Have to confirm which BS to take by today cos they need to reserve Sat for me. I'm keeping my fingers crosses on their gowns.

The 1st BS has knee-length wedding gowns, the 2nd one doesn't have.

I'll be borrowing a knee-length WG from my BS here to bring over (just in case).

Nellie, it actually depends on what u want. Do u require pic for distribution? Is a portrait important to you? For me, I prefer package 1.

Package 1
2 photographers - can have different shots at different angles
day time shooting - Outdoor shoots require sufficient light so that pic will turn out nice.
Unedited pic in CD format - good for keepsake

What about the photography skills between these 2 BS? Which do u prefer?

nellie - i wld prefer pkg 2 coz i dun see the need of return of unedited pics to me since all the nice-est pics are in the main album.. and the pkg comes wif 1 potrait! can hang up in bedroom ya..

but of coz u got to be comfy wif the one u prefer..

ivied - u told ur aunt u dun wan wat??

WAH PIANG EH!! I feel like biting this idiot's head off. Put up a show in my office and when I went out to hand him the document I prepared for him (after asking him to wait outside), he shouted and wagged his finger at me in front of ALL the people waiting outside! Bloody idiot. Humiliated me when I had done nothing wrong. He claimed that I was rude to ask him to wait outside!!! ^%$^&$^$&^%!!!!

janf, I told my auntie I do not want any of the customery stuff. (GDL, PJ, JZ) I did not tell her the real reason ($$$), I just said its too troublesome. This wedding is fully paid by my bo lao and me. We did not ask our parents to pay up a single cent.

ya Ivied, I agree. Don't need so much of these stuff. Buy this buy that and sending back and forth is so troublesome. It also doesn't mean that the marriage guarantee will be 100% perfect if we do these things right?

Nellie, are u not doing your PS in Sg at all? I would go for the first one too.

I feel like crying now... booo...

oh ivied, ustand now.. i also felt mafan tat time and tot can minus some of it but old folks still insist muz hv.. but of coz we got parental support coz hub told his ma since they wana hv all these then they pay for it.. keke.

as for PJ, juz a yishi yishi amt can liao if u all dun mind.. for our side is PJ is a big thg.. coz kpo relatives will ask how much boy side give etc.. damn wuliao one lah!

my JZ still sitting in my room collecting dust! my mum muz buy me a suitcase wif new clothes and undergarments.. the suitcase still sitting in the corner of my room and the bathtub still in another toilet.. faintz..

I don't know abt their skills. My aunt in Kuantan told me both not bad. For price wise, I'll prefer the 2nd one. It's RM$1000 difference! But there are some stuff I don't need in Package 2 and he refuses to exchange other stuff. I need soft copies and that's for sure. For package 1, I think they have newer gowns cos the shop is less than 2 years old.

Huiz, don't let the incident bother you. There are ppl who just enjoy causing misery to others. Brush them aside. Just look forward to your Malacca trip.

nellie - which means u wun be taking indoor shoot at ur SG bridal oredi? if the table-tops in pkg 2 can chg for 1more pc of 11"x14" oso good..

ya lor, I don't understand the usage of such stuff. Furthermore, I will be moving in with the in-laws. From one big room to half a bedroom, its kindof sad leh. hee... I do not even know how to pack my room now, so many stuff but so little space to keep.

janf, its true. When the parents want it, they have to do something about it. Everything come from us is adding a serious burden to our pockets. The suitcase and bathtub is part of your jia zhuang?

Huiz, when is your PS? So your gowns are ready? What happened? That earlier episode is haunting u? Don't think so much about it. There are 'funny' people like that all the time.

Nellie, thank goodness u only doing outdoor PS in Msia. Honestly speaking, I think their indoor sucks. Very outdate and they use lotsa digital art which I hate. But then again, their outdoor is good! Nice environment too.

Yah, I just let him off without pursuing the matter. I could have called the police, which is something very common at my workplace.

ivied, my PS in on 4 Jan 07. This explains why my BS is still taking his own sweet time with my gowns! He hadn't called me for first fitting yet and I am also paiseh to kachiau him all the time. So i guess I just having to guai guai and wait lor... haha

Yah, funny and insane people indeed. Nellie is right, I am going on holiday soon! so it's happy thoughts all the way from now

WAH!, I DAMN PISSED NOW!!!

some stoopid public called me say wana see my boss by hook by crook today. oredi told the uncle tat my boss not in ofc WHOLE of today but he still insist wana come down to see him?!?!?! told him nicely "uncle, u come down oso no pt coz my boss REALLY not ard.." then still can shout at me how come my boss not ard....... my boss not ard GuanTaPiShi!!! Pui!

Alamak janf, looks like all the mad dogs are on the prowl today. My bo lao always like to say that "is this the full moon day when all the mad dogs come out for some moonlight to recharge??"

huiz - cool down cool down. some ppl are just wierd. like i've been on mc for a long time liaoz, tis morn early early still got a parent's call ask me check on her kid in sch. pengz. but bobian coz part n parcel of work.

ivied - did u try explain to your auntie again? sometimes older folks are stubborn. my mama also stubborn type, but i always throw her the question "What function does that item serve?" then she will go and think herself. me only prep for ROM she also super kanchiong. she see other young brides got proposal ring, engagement ring she also question why i only got one ring and i dun wear. haa... so i explain my situation to her, wat i need to do at work and at home, and i get her to think abt the question lor.

nellie - i prefer choice (1). abt 2-3 yrs i ago i took family photo + convocation photo in some KL photo studio, coz my grandma old old cannot travel to sg, and i think most shops can negotiate. my dad was the one who asked can add this add that, so that i can get my individual shots as well as his own individual shots too. so maybe u wanna get the tel no personally ask or wait go there and ask them again.