Hainanese Brides, anyone???

oh my gosh! so in advance worh...heehee...thank you!! thank you, ah mais...!!

yah, my PS is next week...6 Sept. So fast Sep liao..haiz.

proposed dinner date - 8sep (fri), 730pm

Janf - OK
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan
Li Ann
LambZzz
Misty - she will help us eat at her home!
iViED - OK
Huiz - OK
Stacy
Nellie - OK
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana

cafe cartel is fine wif me. another place is MFM at plaza sing. heard its betta than Fish & Co tho i no try b4..

http://www.manhattanfishmarket.com/

wheres csi, li ann, stacy?!

hmm, manhattan is a good idea! PS is usually not as crowded. Furthermore, their food is rather healthy too.... not so oily

Yes, the timing is fine with me. I have direct transport from here to PS. I am one "poor" soul who works in far flung Timbuktoo.... kekeke

sorry ah mais, very very very busy with work today...

aiyoh, no need to change date just to accomodate me lah...so pai seh...

now you all change to 8 Sept, I also cannot make it. (lagi pai seh...) Coz I'll be away on biz trip from 7 Sept to 10 Sept...

You gals go ahead without me lah...I'll join you all at the next session...

So sorry manz...

Neither do I. I'm ok with both dates, time and venue.

Perhaps we put it on 8 Sept. We can wait for a few more days for the rest to response. How about it?

CSI, me this new ah mai can't get to see you. Next time must come orr...

Let's set the date as 8th Sept.

If we have more than 5 ah mais joining, we'll go Plaza Sing.

If not, I'll drive you gals to somewhere else to eat.

Has anyone of you tried Steamboat Porridge?

Ok, me on for 8 Sept!

Steamboat porridge? Something new to me leh.... Nellie, can describe more to this suaku here? ;-P

Just bk today..m bz clearing mails and and got so many post to catch up...wow..all hainan mai so talk*****..hehee

Abt gathering...m in for it. But can't make it on 8 Sept..cos meeting my designer for EG design. 4 Sept is fine thou...count me in for next gathering then

CSI - U gown is nice...seems like bustier gowns are still the fav
I'm having bustier gown also. Btw, didn't down so much details alreadi donw for 1st fitting..

Steamboat Porridge : Almost the same as normal steamboat except the soup base is of course the porridge. This steamboat porridge originates from KL I think.

It's located at Joo Chiat.

Hmmm... Since Stacy can only join us on 4th Sept. Shall we change back to this date?

Wa, porridge soup base sounds interesting. That means its rather thick and fragrant lo

4 sept ok with me too. We shall see how many can come and then confirm the venue later

Count me in!
I have seen the steamboat porridge before, at those shops behind Bugis Junction. sounds interesting.

I didn't know there's one behind Bugis Junction.

I only been to the Joo Chiat one once. It's the 1st to open. Heard that the owner paid abt $100,000 for the franchise fee.

M soooo touched! If 4th Sept, then I can join. If most can make it on 8th, then I join next gathering

Heard abt the one at Joo Chiat. Was also featured in TV show..channel U, I think. Been wanting to give it a try..

If its 4th sept then tt means there'll be, at the moment, stacy, nellie, janf, ivied and me. 5 of us.... hope the rest can come in soon to confirm

<font color="ff6000">heh gals - i had been MIA-in for quite some time....been busy busy....n its great to see some dinner gatherin being organised...but i cant make it leh...4th sept...unfortunately...</font>

Updated....

proposed dinner date - 4sep (Mon), 730pm

Janf - OK
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan - No
Li Ann
LambZzz - No
iViED - OK
Huiz - OK
Stacy - Ok
Nellie - OK
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana

hello! wow..the thread is moving fast man!
I hope i din get it wrong..so its 4 sept then...ok, i'm in too!

later~~ going back to my proposal~~

harlow all ah-mais!, me was on course today and now then login.. juz finished reading all postings.. so chg to 4sep izit?? im okie wif it coz my frens now wan gathering on 8sep and i told them "huh?!"

aiyah, why lambzzz cant come.. good to know liann coming! so go eat porridge where? i told my bo-lao we going eat porridge, he went "shd go 7th storey eat hainanese steamboat mah!"

haha..

Okie here's another update....

proposed dinner date - 4sep (Mon), 730pm

Janf - OK
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan - No
Li Ann - OK
LambZzz - No
iViED - OK
Huiz - OK
Stacy - OK
Nellie - OK
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana

The list's getting longer! Now we have 6 of us.

hahaha, janf, your bo lao's idea very interesting leh.... a gang of hai nam mais go eat hai nam steamboat and the boss there is a hainam nang too
(If I am not wrong. Coz I heard many staff chattering in hainanese when I brought my ILs there the last time)

hi ah mais,

Wah...missed so many posts in 1 day. heehee...

Yah, so sorry...I can't make it on either day. Will join you all at the next gathering...

Yah, the 7th Storey steamboat is nice! And the boss is hainam nang. Love their chicken rice and the chili. So shiok! Hainam style manz...

nellie's car cant sit so many of us so prob gotta settle on a place to wait ya.. wheres the exact porridge place?

Hey ah mais,

Me hibernating at home nursing a cough and runny nose now.... blehhh

Ya Nellie, which particular spot is the porridge place at Joo Chiat? We can go right down there to meet up lor

huiz...such a coincidence...me too down with a nasty cough..but no mc...still got to go back to work...now eating da bao lunch and checking forum all at the same time... really ah...it is blood sweat money that we earn ah...

Speaking about hainanese steamboat, yep! i like the 7th storey steamboat...i like their soup better but my parents like the traditional hainanese clear soup style...which is located at the basement of Golden Mile... you walk down the basement will feel weird thinking if you have found the wrong place, but once you made a turn at the corner, voila! The steamboat FULL of people! Their chicken rice and chili also very nice! And the lime juice! yum yum!

Hi Li Ann,

Glad that u are taking a good break away from work. Do take more rest and good care alright? Don't end up like me, from sore throat, it developed to a cough and now comes the flu.... grrr....

Yaya, I used to work at Raffles Hospital last time and always went there for their koi bui.... shiok man. Oh no, my gastric juices are killing me now.... ahahaha!

I need to fight my sleepiness (from the meds) now and press on to try complete my essay very very soon.... zzzzzzzzz

good good, the list gets longer.
Huiz, your description is cute. hmm.. a group of hai nam mais eating hai nam seafood owned by a hai nam boss.

Huiz and Li Ann, do take care. With the coming haze and unpredictable weather, it is not easy to recover. I shall imitate my father's words: Drink more liang tea.

Hey, me this hainan mai do not even know the restaurants that all of you mention. I must go try else I have no face to claim my heritage. hee... BTW, where is the place that we are meeting? Do you have the address?

zzzzzz..... I'm back. Slept whole PM but still feel weak and sleepy now. I hate the flu meds.

Bad luck really doesn't come alone. Woke up to find my PC not able 2 start up. Super sian man. Now have to wait for my dad to diagnose what's wrong with it. Hope he doesn't start nagging again

ah-mais, i will be on course tom and wun be logging in until wkend.. so hope can finalise venue/time by wkend ya.. in any case, huiz has my mobile..

im starting to feel feverish too now.. totally drenched in this morning's rain.. tink i cot a cold liao..

hi ah mais...

Oh dear...Huiz, LiAnn, Janf...do take care. The weather's been pretty cold...drink lots of water and rest well. It's been raining so hard, I'm crossing my fingers and praying hard that it does not rain on my PS...*worried*

Sorry Ah Mais, I was on urgent leave yesterday.

I heard abt the 7th story hainam steamboat. It's near Bugis Junction. Haven't tried this yet.

As for the steamboat porridge, it's quite inaccessible without a car. Mine is only a salon car, I can go 2 rounds to pick up all ah mais, no problem.

My FH also fell sick yesterday. Weather's pretty unpredictacle. Got to take care.

Why don't we try the hainam steamboat since it's our first meeting and all of us are hainanese? It'll be very memorable.

Good morning all ah mais,

I am back at work but am literally half dead. Might go take another MC from the Drs here later.

Ya, the steamboat is a good idea since Bugis is more accessible. Saves Nellie the trouble of going 2 rounds too

Good day all!

Its Friday...n I'm sooo tired. Really looking fwd to the break on weekends. Didn't feel well either, stomach bloated and felt like vomitting..sian! Weather these fews days not so good...muz really take good care ya...ah mais!

Li Ann - I've been to the steamboat @ Golden Mile. Their food is wonderful..but one day, I accidently walked passed their kitchen...wah, can FAINT...that y they always says those food that are tasty, u muz see the kitchen..they must be too busy to clean the place.

CSI - *crossing my fingers and toes* for you....no rain, no rain on your PS.

Nellie - Agree, we should just go steamboat at 7th storey hotel, since its central and accessible via MRT. No need to trouble you making the 2nd trip.

So shall we confirm our gathering on 4th Sept, 7:30pm at 7th storey hotel for steamboat? Need booking?

hi hi everyone!
Seems like most of you are down with the flu symptoms. Do take care orr...

CSI, pray pray for you too. *No rain* *No rain* *On your PS*

Where is the 7th storey Hainam steamboat? Can provide me the address? We shall meet at the restaurant direct. Who's making the booking?

Wow, i haven't logged into the forum for awhile and i suddenly feel lost. Is there a gathering??? Feel a bit pai-seh to ask but is it by invitation only? *blush*

iViED, the 7th storey hainan steamboat is opposite bugis junction. Don't really know how to tell you the exact location. Sorry.

Hi Ivied,

7th storey steamboat is opposite bugis junction, the field behind Seiyu, next to Parkview square. Er...if not, I'm taking MRT..we can meet there n go together.

Pris - welcome back. You are most welcome to join us for gathering on 4th Sept, 7:30pm...join us if u can...since its 1st gathering for all here too!

Hi hi Priscilla,

The more the merrier! Do come along if u are free too

Yes, it's opp Bugis Junction. U see this oldie looking 7 storey hotel and that's it liao. It's just next to Tan Quee Lan Street (where the Graceful Image Bridal and X Zen Bridal are)

402009.jpg

Hi Ah Mais, I've attached the map. Hope all of you can see clearly.

Let's all meet at Bugis Mrt and go together.

Priscilla, pls join us.

CSI - bless you on your PS. Weather will be fine and everything will be smooth for you.

Shall we PM each other our contacts?

Janf - Ok
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan - No
Li Ann - Ok
LambZzz - No
iViED - Ok
Huiz - Ok
Stacy - Ok
Nellie - Ok
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana
Priscilla

Priscilla, do let us know if u can come along too so that the list can be updated okie?

As for booking, I will go ahead to make it perhaps this afternoon for tentatively 7 people (Pris included). On meeting up, shall we meet outside the now empty Guardian at say 7.20pm?

I will PM those coming my mobile

Thanks alot. I'm ok with the arrangement.
Say we meet 715pm at Bugis MRT station? We can wait at the old Guardian Pharmacy entrance.

Priscilla, do join us.

Nellie, I shall PM you my contacts later. Maybe you can be our lead and consolidate all our contacts?