Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi Huiz,

The package there is all MTM...(I think...hahaha. I didn't ask abt OTR...)

It's lace and sequins...

the EG is not completed yet...and the fabric is so erm, "reflective", that when FH took picture, can't really see much. Have to take without flash lah...but, we didn't know till after that, so boh pian lorh. So far, no nice pics of EG. hehs...maybe the next round of fittings lah.

Hi CSI fan,
That's a nice gown! I like the turnout of sequins. We shared a similar taste leh. Mine is a bustier ballgown with beading and embroidery on top.

The bottom half of the gown is lace or chiffon?

Hi iVied,
Thanks! Similar taste, yah? heehee...cool...

The bottom half of the gown? Erm, the embellishments around the border of the skirt are lace and sequins. On top of organza. Beneath the organza is satin, I think...hahaha...didn't really take note. at the edge of the skirt, I'm not sure what material that is...probably, like Huiz says, chiffon...

I so need to lose weight manz...got no waist!! hahaha...

i like csi's 1st gown! try not to eat aft 8pm, shd help in shed some pounds..

huiz - forgot to tell u u really tall and lanky leh! really slim..

hohoho, janf, thanks for the compliments... but I don't know if it's the heels I was wearing that was playing the trick or not.... haha. Me 1.65 but I've always dreamt to be at least 1.7!! Haiiizz... ren xin bu zu.... keke

I am impressed with your long straight hair too! I cannot maintain hair till such good condition. Sure end up looking like a mad woman.... hahaha ;-P

huiz, i 1cm taller than u leh! but how come i like a dwaft in frt of u?! haha. mayb i juz woke up, so shrink abit.. haha. my hub asked me if the hainam mai looks hainam mai anot, i told him dun look like leh.. plus u look young.. =)

my rebonded hair oredi 2yrs liao.. time to rebond again.. its messy..

Hello Ah Mais,

I've been missing!!! Now I'm back!!!

CSI - your gown is really beautiful. Hopefully mine will be.

I have a suggestion. We should set a date for kopi one of these days. Language used for that meeting will be our broken hainanese. It would be so funny!

heh, so u see, my heels are playing tricks.... not u shrink la ;-P Haha, looks can be deceiving lor... me not very far to the big 30 mark liao loh... plus my bday in early part of e year, so will have to add one more year very soon ;p

haha, I really don't know what is the typical look of a hainam mai. My mum can tell, but not me. The furthest I can go is to tell a Hainanese from their names.

Nellie!

I support u hands and legs up! We shall go and xie4 koh bee & kong3 gou3 (hainanese for "drinking kopi" and "talk story") one day.

hi csi fan,
hee.. maybe that's why we are Hainanese mais...

and no, u don't need to lose weight.. in fact u are busty and that is suitable for the bustier gown that u are wearing. (the worst fear is when u lose weight, the bust area loses its fat too and the outlook may not be nice)

One way to create the slim waist effect is to wear a corset. u can try.

huh, i cant speak a word of hainanese except BongGang and JiakBui and other swearing words leh! but i can ustand the full language lah.. muz go the traditional hainanese kopitiam and drink kopi then got feel.. haha.

can shunpian discuss abt the JMs dresses tat some of the gals here discussed abt last wk.. li ann was juz asking me abt it over email..

ivied - wats ur surname?? Han or Foo?! keke.

According to my dad, the common Hainanese surnames are Han, Foo, Long, Yun, Pang (Fang in Mandarin.... anyone here with these surnames? Mine is Goh though....

my ma is Lim and my hub is Wang..

tink we can hv it on wkdays evening betta.. but all kopitiams cant tolerate customers who sit there for hrs and dun move coz turnover rate is high..

Aiya sorry, Pang in Hainanese is Feng in Mandarin... not Fang....

How about going for a dinner after work? Can rot there for long long... kekeke

can go marche and wun get shoo!

huiz - Pang is Feng meh?? which Feng? the 2 water-strokes and a ma (horse)?

Yah marche good idea.. like the food too
ya lor, its the 2 stroke horse word.... heehe
i have seen a few hainanese with this surname ah

huiz - im the 2stroke-horse word leh! but im a cantonese! Feng is a true blue cantonese surname.. same as Feng BaoBao.. so i tink Pang in hainanese Feng mite be a case of mis-spell while registering at the immigration..

Hmm... my dad did say before that both Cantonese and Hainanese both use this name. And I heard him pronounce it something like "Bang2" before...

Is your mum a Hainanese and your dad a Canto? Me hubby also Canto....

hi janf and huiz,
my surname is 'Cheng'. Its pronounced as 'Zeng' in chinese. My mum's surname is 'Han' tough.
I'm a pure hainanese while my hubby is a pure teochew.

I had a gathering with my hubby's friends recently and come to know that all the wives of his buddies are hainanese. hee..
I found the following combination:
Hainanese wife + Cantonese husband
Hainanese wife + Teochew husband
Hainanese wife + Hokkien husband
Hainanese husband + Beijing wife

wah, I missed so many posts in 1 afternoon...hehs...

Hi Janf, Nellie...Thanks!
hehs...I didn't take much pics with the 2nd gown, so, can't see the effect of it also lah. hehs...

My surname is Tan...so common. hahaha. My ma's surname is Ann (but pple always dun believe and spell it wrongly for her & her siblings whenever they register for anything).

Actually, yah...we've been chatting so much here...shd meet up lah, horh? My JMs all so xin1 ji2, they made their clothes liao...hehs. When I called them to tell them abt this guy that Janf recommended, they told me "Oh, I just sent the fabric to the tailor liaoz...". Alamak. hahaha...

hi hi..
I did not catch the thread on the tailor recommended by janf. Can you re-post again?
do they make evening gowns?

and ya hor. I also wish to see my ah mais..

any propose date? I can learn a bit of hainan words from huiz too. hee...

aiyo ah mais... today v talkative hor... flooded my inbox leh
kao_dizzy.gif

CSI... lovely gown! the embellishments are gorgeous.. really make the gown so glamorous. And Amanda is so kind to lend you another one for the photoshoot. When is the shoot? Cant wait to see ur EG

You all going to hv private gathering without me ah
kao_sad2.gif
. Hehehe... never mind lar... the dwarf shall join the next time

Hi Misty,
thanks...yah, she's really very kind. She surprised us with that offer...
Think it's coz she felt bad that she couldn't complete my EG in time for the shoot, but that's also my fault. We only decided on PS at last min. Took a loooong time to persuade FH to go for PS...

PS is next week. Hmm, I'm still thinking of where to go, what props to bring, what look to create... Can't seem to find my old violin lah...hehs. It's somewhere in the storeroom...otherwise, can use it as a prop.

Hi ivied,

Hey u have the same surname as my Ma who is a pure hainam por also.... she is a 'zeng' and translated to 'cheng' in English too... whoa, looks like we hainam mais here really have lots in common

Heh, can la, I can teach u some words.... but I betta go brush it up a bit first.... dont lao kui.... kekekeke

Hi CSI,

Me also have a friend by the surname Ann and he is a hainanese too. It's "an1" as in "an1 quan2" (safe)

So ah mais,

When shall be an auspicious date for meeting? And Misty, do let us know when u'll be back so that we can have another meeting then?

hi huiz,
(yes, I'm still up doing work..sianz).

You have a friend by that surname!!?? Yes yes...an1 quan2 or zao3 an1. That is quite a rare surname leh...what's ur friend's name? Sekali my cousin or distant relative ah...

Oh yes, I noticed that when I was younger...hainanese tend to talk damn loudly...hahaha. I talk quite loudly. Wah, imagine, when we meet up, we'll surly be the loudest table in whichever place we go to...muahahaha...

Hehehe.. Huiz, alamak! No wonder lah.. it's all the fault of my genes!!! I do talk very loudly ah... so do my grandma. When everybody's at home... very noisy ah. My FH sometimes says to me 'excuse me, I'm not deaf hor, no need so loud' ;P.... kekekeke.... not very lady-like :P

Wow!!! SoI knock off at 4pm and our thread is so active!

Hello Misty, we'll have another round when you're back.

Can I propose the date 4th Sept at 7.30pm? Venue : Marche at Suntec

Surename of my mother is SOH (Su), Father of course TAN (Chen) lah... ha ha ha

Yes, I must admit that we Hainanese really talk loudly.

Wahahaha!! Me talk rather fast and very loudly too! So u can imagine how my house is like with all pure hainam nangs staying together. Worse still when my relatives come over, alamak, really worse than fish market!

And don't underestimate my 90+ wheelchair bound granny.... she still has such a shrill voice

Hehehe, janf, I love the way put it.... about the shouting ;-P

Ok, great, coming Mon 4 Sept @ 7.30pm is fine with me!

wow ah mais..
so many news on just one night.. hee..
ya, i agree. hainanese really talk quite loudly. it will be worse when all the men are sitting down talking, they really sound like they are shouting.
Now i know where my genes come from. My FH always say i talk so loud, not like a lady at all. hahaha...

Im ok with the date, time and venue. Then i can pick up some skills on hainanese language.

and thanks janf and CSI fan. I saw the thread. But my JMs do not wish to wear the same outfit. They gave me an expression: har......

proposed dinner date - 4sep, 730pm

Janf - OK
Crystalz
Stepford
CSI_Fan
Li Ann
LambZzz
Misty - she will help us eat at her home!
iViED - OK
Huiz - OK
Stacy
Nellie - OK
Bendi
Violetcrystal
Diana

ah-mais abv pls respond..

Hi ah mais,...

I can't join you gals on 4th Sept...hehs...coz that's me birthday...so will be out with FH for whole day (yah, I took leave...heehee). Let him plan my day for me. heehee...

aiyoh why u all wish csi so many days in advance! next mon wish her mah.. keke.

or we shift to another date so tat more ppl can come? if not only 4 of us.. 5sep?

tink csi's PS is next wk but duno which date..

Me any day ok wan.... just inform me early can liao. Hmm, we can also have another mini celebration for CSI's bday too?