Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Your shoe is the timeless classical kind, so I am sure will fit very well with your gown

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>Update on Diana

Hi Diana,
Hehs, wanted your AD so that can update the table...

Anyway, my new place is at Bukit Batok area... Spotlight now having discount? Ok, I go look see...Thanks!

Hi BenDi,
Your shoes are very classic. Best part, can wear again after wedding...Not bad.

I also just got my EG shoes (bot my WG shoes in HK when there for biz trip). Saw them on Sat at Tangs when I went shopping, but didn't get till today (know someone working there lah, can get staff discount...so had to wait till she's at work lorh. heehee...) Btw, Tangs will be having a big sale this coming Friday (dunno for how long), so can still go take a look...but not everything is on discount (apparently the shoes I picked won't be on disc)...

Oh, oh...I'm going for my first fitting this Friday (that's why I couldn't wait for the sale)...hehs...

just to say hi, as i chanced upon this forum... been active only under z wedding d'sign forum so far... didn't realise there're so many hainanese brides too. :P

morning all ah-mais! wah, quite a few new ah-mais in this thread ya! great!

mosburger - mayb u wana leave ur details here? wah, ur nick makes me wana drink mosburger peach tea and eat their chucky fries leh! keke.

i juz ordered a tube dress for being JM at a fren's coming wedding in dec. will post the pics here tom.

huiz - i oso bot bot a pair of heels but abit plain and tot of adding some blink blink on it.. tom then post the pic here too.. muz rem to ask my bo-lao to download for me..

Morning all...
Bendi - your shoes will go well with duchess satin gown. For mine shoes, I bot one with shiny silver dusk..wanna those fairy kinda feel..had flowy dreamy types of gowns

CSI - thanks for info on Sales @ Tangs. Bot my shoes there...hopefully that piece not on sales...else can knock my head against wall * ouch*

Oh, u muz be counting down to your 1st fitting...remember take some pics...show us here

Mosbuger - welcome to the thread...

Nellie - since can't start reno during 7th mth, prob u might want to go shop around what items u might want to get for hse...eg: lights, fridge, etc.

Good morning ah mais!

Hi mosburger!

Welcome to the family! Like janf, I also feel like eating the Mos rice burger now.... haha!

Hi hi CSI Fan,

Heehee, looks like we can all go run an ad for Tangs shoes dept liao.

Hullo janf,

Long time no see
If u need blings blings I can give u mine (if they are suitable for u). Me greedy la, bought a meter and used only a bit. Don't think I'll use them for any other things liao.

Good morning ah mais!

Nothing much to shop around now cos already knew (more or less) what I want and where to get. Now I'm just waiting for the reno to start and also any complaints from neighbours during reno. You know lah, how we singaporeans love to complain... ha ha ha... the reno is such a noisy thing. My contractor says the hacking of all the floorings takes a week to complete. Just wait and see...

As for my wedding stuff, nothing much to do now except losing weight. BTW, remember I bought a dress from an online store... it had arrived on Sun. Very nice but I still need to alter 2 areas.

2nd fitting will be on the 2nd Sept. Bought only a pair of shoes (and that was last year during my FH's sis' wedding, never get to wear it).

Bendi - I love your shoes!!! but I can't never wear those.

hi Mosburger,

Welcome!

Hi Stacy,
yah, actually, hard to say lah. The shoes I picked were from the "older" collection, but I guess there's no need to put those kind of shoes on sale as pple only buy such shoes for special events like weddings...so there's no "need" to attact buyers...hehs.

Hi Huiz,
yah lorh...we can advertise for them liao. Sekali some of us have the same shoes ah...hahaha

Hi Nellie,

When I was renovating my place, there were so many furniture and electrical appliances sale going on but I just couldn't buy them coz no place to store! So wasted

According to my contractor, there is a rule that they have to not only put up notices at the lift landings informing neighbours of the renov works going on, they also have to drop flyers into their letter box. Don't know how true man.

Hi Huiz,

Don't think so as there was renovation on the 5th floor at my parents' block. Never received flyers or saw any notices at the lift.

All I remembered (last time when doing renovation), the notice was only pasted outside the unit.

janf, very nice leh.....really very nice, how much u got that? I am actually okay with any as long as it is pointed toes and with 3 inch heels.

Huiz, I remembered mine was outside the unit too.

ha bendi!, u same taste as me, muz be pointed toes! i bot from JB City Square at this shop call SUMMIT. tink was RM 59.90 or 69.90 (forgot liao). but last wkend i happen to see SUMMIT in far east plaza too. tink they hv brot it into SG liao so u can go take a look ya.

huiz - u got pics of ur blink blink??

Hi Janf,

I have a pic of the blings with my shoes that I posted above, but not clear lor. Tonight I go home take more pics show u la.

Hi Bendi,

CSI's pillow looks like the ones u showed us. CSI, u can also check it out and use the lace to decorate like they have done. Think its the 4th or last pic that has the kinda style that I am referring to. Heehee, can tell people u bought it from that shop liao.

hello..mosburger! Welcome!

hee..i am also a pointed toe shoe fans...

ah mais...wonder if you received any sms...it says that Tangs is having a closed-door preview sales tomorrow! just flash your citibank card!

Hi Huiz!

yayaya...my folks also call me c*i kia sometimes haahaa!
my flat is new...near the buangkok mrt..just collected my keys last mth..so excited tat i kept hopping around hdb..heehee

Hi CSI fan,

thanks for updating my info...oh btw, my rom over liao...at merchant court about 2 mths ago..sigh..really enjoyed myself during my rom...now i still kept looking at my photos to relive the memories...keekee..

wah seems like a lot of folks here v hands on leh!! deco the box etc...for me...creativity = zero!

Hi ah mais,

Ok, here's my dressed up shoe. Don't if it's for the better or worse. Somehow I feel its the latter ;-P

398977.jpg

And janf, here's a pic of my blings.... not very clear leh....

398978.jpg

Hi Diana,

I can understand your joy too! I too was very excited and went straight down to the house after I got the keys!

huiz, my new heels but abit plain. its peach gold shade.. duno how to deco the heels.. btw, ur heels looks nicer wif the blings! no worries ya. u stick it onto ur heels?

399013.jpg

bendi...i should think it is real...cos i received the sms from messenger center 75020, the sms says "Tangs 12% % closed door sale preview on 23Aug(wed) only! Bring up to 3 friends, present your Citibank card for entry. T&amp;C apply."

Did anyone receive this sms? Anyways..i intended to go down to Orchard to shop for shoes and pressie for hubby so will check Tangs out.

Huiz...i like your shoes after you glamorized it with the bling blings.
And your pearl necklace too! i'm into pearlies recently too...and polka dots!

Janf...you may want to consider clipping on a brooch at the side of the front strap. Depending on what kind of "look" you want to create, you can buy different kind of brooch. If your mum has those 60s or 70s clip-on earrings (those retro or old rustic gold or bronze type), even better, easier for you to clip on and won't spoil the look. Let me go home tonight and take a pic on my Aldo shoes and you will know better what i meant.

Hi Huiz,

bought what from what shop? hehs...
Anyway, I went to spotlight yesterday and got some lace and pillow stuffing (time to do the stuffing this weekend). The selection is soooo wide, I see until I blur. Then finally decided on the pattern that would be suitable. heehee...eh, maybe we can offer similar kind of services like what BenDi showed us...hahaha. Nah, juz kidding.
My sewing skills not that good. Wait till u see my finished pillow manz...hahaha.

But I did draw some inspiration from the webbie...to put some sequins on the cushion...hmmm...or shd I leave it as it is...?

Huiz, you making your own pearl necklace? I'm making for my bridesmaids...heehee...but I only know how to work with wire. I'm not really good with working the clasps on string...btw, your shoes look great!

Hi Janf,
Nice dress....hmm, your heels...maybe you can put some blings on the strap that goes across the feet or thhe other strap that's nearer the toes?

Hi Diana,
Oops. Sorry. Will update again later...

Janf- nice dress..is it in 2 tones?? Champange n purple or silver? Or m i colour blind? But dress cut is nice n fitting...How much u pd for MTM? Thinking of getting dresses for my helpers as thank you gifts..

Huiz - nice n romantic song...but i can't go for these kinda of songs...cos I very chor lor...muz have those fun beat songs..hehee...looking at Seasons of Love..but waiting for ah lau to get me the mp3 music.

Li Ann - I did not recieve this SMS leh.. I m citibank card member also..wat time is the close door thingy? May drop by after wk or lunchie time?

stacy - give me ur email addy i will tell u how much coz cant divulge here. its light blue in shandong silk. there are other colors like pink, gold, purple etc. u can get it for ur JMs coz my fren pd for her JMs as thank-u gift for her wedding last yr. good gift. at least can wear again in future.

Hi Li Ann,

U using which service provider? I didn't get this sms leh....

Hi Janf,

Hmm, your shoe looks more silver in the pic rather than peach gold. Ya, I got those cheapo super glue and stuck the blings on my shoes. Hope it wouldn't fall down man... haha!

I think your dress is violet isn't it? I love violet/purple!

Hi CSI,

Hehe, I mean u can make one and people will think u've bought it from the shops
I think hor, PM designs don't really go with sequins leh. Btw, what kinds stuffing did u buy? I bought this big bag of fibre fill the last time.

Hi both CSI and Li Ann,

This is the first time I am making any jewelry. Haha, so hopefully the final product turns out well.

Do show us your completed pillow yah?

Hi Stacy,

My hubby heard the song last night and thinks its nice and grand. So thankfully I have his approval too. So should be using this song if I remain "fickle mindedness" free.... haha

Seasons of Love... I wonder if its the same one that I've heard Sandy Lam sang.... this is the one: http://www.haoting.com/htmusic/25033ht.htm

Actually I too plan to use this song for either the 1st dish or just add it into the compliation I have for the night. Great minds think alike
.... or should I say hai nam minds think alike.... heehee

huiz - my room lights are yellow lights tats why the pics turn out otherwise! haha. the dress is light blue, not purple. shoes is peach gold.. somethg lidat lah..

back of dress..

399058.jpg

huiz - i mtm from this fella called kelvin. he used to operate a push-cart at far east sq but now from an industrial complex liao. his JMs dressses are nice and variety of colors to choose from. hes a 30+ be-spectacles man.

kelvin's add:

blk 623 aljunied road #06-05
aljunied industrial complex
hp: 93801815

Ha Ha Ha... I think so too

Janf, tell me the price of this JM dress too. I haven't decided my JMs' dresses too. All of them different sizes. Headache....

Hi Huiz,

Oh i see...heehee...yap, will show u all when it's done...heehee...

Janf - eh, not bad leh...light blue can look like purple under the light, quite nice! Hmm...I was also thinking of MTM some dresses for my bridesmaids, but...got no budget for that lah. hehs. I think it can come up to quite a bit, as gifts...So in the end, I bot the material for them, and they go MTM on their own...heehee... :P

Janf - my email at [email protected]

Huiz - that's the song...but m looking for it sang by someone else...if can't get...then will use this! Thanks for sharing.. Think maybe all hainan mai got certain similiar taste...wahahaa

Hi janf,
I bought the material from one of the shops along Arab St...(it's called Arab St. right? the one near Jln Sultan area?). A few suppliers were selling the same Shantung silk, but at various prices. They say coz it's where the material came from. Japan/Korea is the best, apparently...but not that I can tell lah...

Hmmm, Janf, can let me know the price of urs too, pls? coz my bridesmaids haven't made their dresses yet, so I can pass on the contact for them to consider...my email is [email protected] Thanks!

Oh Huiz, sorry, missed out one of your posts...Stuffing ah...I bot from Spotlight. Some white fibre thingy that can be used for stuffed toys too...the smallest bag I can find seems like a lot of stuffing...hahaha. Maybe can use it to make a pillow for the home when I'm free. hehs...

Hi Janf,

Aiya I wouldn't sell them to u la. I can post it to u and u can use as much as needed
I don't need it liao. U can send the leftovers to me if u wish lor

Hi CSI,

Yah, I love Arab Street.... such an 'exotic' place full of gems. Enjoy shopping there coz can get cheap and good things for my crafts.

And ya lor, the stuffings seems to be so much and don't know when then can finish using!

Hi Stacy,

Who's the song's original singer then?

huiz... just received another ads sms from UOB credit card... mm...am i the only one receiving all these sms? I'm using StarHub btw...

Anyways...can't wait to shop for my shoes at Tangs tonight!
And Spotlight too...

CSI fan... do you know when the sales at Spotlight will end? I so goon...go and buy sponge instead of the fibre fill for the pillow...keke...really ah...creativity zero though interest cum passion 100% :p

Hi Janf,

Hi Li Ann,
Not sure when the sales at Spotlight end...actually, I'm not sure what kind of sales they are having too! hahaha...coz I just went for what I needed, felt that the price was ok, settled. hahaha. The lace was $1.8 per m (seriously, I dunno if that's cheap or ex, but oh well...
) Hmmm, is sponge better? Aiyah, Li Ann, you are not alone...My creativity also zero. That's why u see my pillow so simple one. Until Huiz suggested putting lace...and then I saw the webbie BenDi posted here...hahaha. I need to get my ideas from other pple...so cham... :p