Hainanese Brides, anyone???

This colleague of mine is also partially my boss.
In my dept, if she's on leave, I can't go on leave and vice versa.

My initial date of PS was 18th Oct. It clashed with her block leave (she's going for China tour). Ok, I changed my PS to 4th Oct. This happened in June.

Yesterday, she called to ask me to change my PS date again bcos there's a global seminar in Stockholm which she and my ang mo boss need to attend. What I'm really pissed off is that the notification for this seminar was sent out in June. Why didn't they decide the date to fly there earlier?

Another fuming part is that, she wants to call up my BS and ask them to change the date for me. Hey, it's my wedding leh!

3rd, her block leave is postponed to another date.

I have always respected this da jie cos she has taken real good care of me since day 1 working here.

Change the date once is enough but not a 2nd time.

Wow...that too much of her! Somemore can call up the BS on your behalf..*faint*

Maybe u ask ur BS to tell her cost is charagable if she ask for change of PS date again. I'm sure the BS, photographer, MUA will be pissed off too...

Whatever it is, I'm quite sian liao.

Called my BS yesterday, they will confirm with me the date again.

My BS is quite nice, they thought I was another customer. This customer of theirs had postponed/changed her PS for 2 years liao.

Mine is just peanuts. Anyway, still have 2 months away. Not a problem... Phew!

ya lor... die die want me to change.

Oh ya, Misty was on MSN this morning. Didn't manage to reply her and she was offline already

Hey ah mais,

I think I am gonna have a big problem.... with shoes soon.

I have scoured nearly the entire town but haven't found a pair that is really suitable for me or one that I really like (ok la, I have KIV-ed 2 pairs from Hue and one from OG). Dieee la....

Hmmp, or perhaps I am too picky and fussy liao?

Darling huiz, I am having the same problems here. Found one actually, nice beadings with the correct 3.5 inches heels but too bad, last pair on shelf and NOT MY SIZE! I can have it custom made but need to pay the shipping fee $50 so the price will be $200+, OMG! God please me!
I am only looking at pointed type, no open toes type. If you don't mind can take a look at the others at CK Tangs. many of them are newly arrived.

Hi BenDi,

U saw yours at CK Tangs too? Shucks, I actually went down town last weekend and missed Tangs! *bangs head against the wall*

Hi ah mais,

Wow, I missed so many posts...

Hey Li Ann, actually ah...I forgot what was that honey thing about liao. hahaha....short term memory. cham...Wah, your friend lost 1 inch in 2 weeks ah? That's so good! hmmm...gotta try that...

oh, I'm STILL on the hunt for shoes too...can't seem to find anything suitable. haiz. Anyway, I'll be going KL next week for work. A few days only lah, so no time to shop...so sianz...

girls..
I think my post is nothing new but just for sharing after browsing a few at sgbrides.
These are the common brands for bridal shoes
Expensive range
-Hue - Scott shopping centre
-Pedder - Ngee Ann City
-Stuart Weitzman - Ngee Ann City
-Benjamin Adams
-Vera Wang
-Nine West - Takashimaya
-Jwest - Takashimaya
-Essex Walk
-Lulu
-Tangs

Custom made
-Ram Charles
-Leapin Lizard - Int' Plaza

Cheaper range
-Bata
-Charles & Keith
-Heatwave
-Vivie
-URS
-Vincci
Anymore?? Can share infos.

Hi BenDi,

Thanks for your list. It's certainly very useful!

I would prefer the open toe kind though. Haha, makes the feet drier and more comfortable.

I am also thinking along the same line of custom making if I STILL can't find what I want.

Hihi Stacy,

Huh, that means my profile could have disabled receiving PMs. I have just removed that setting. So my PM function is working now.

Anyway, I have dropped u a PM liao

hi huiz & all ah-mais...

That's a beautiful & cute AP Box!!!
How much time did you spend to make that? *thumbs up*

Anyone wanna get fit & exercise with me? I wanna tone up overall and lose one or 2 inches around my waist. Hopefully nothing too expensive! Those interested drop me an email ok? ([email protected]) My AD is next year July but read from Shape magazine that it takes 1 year to see true results...so i better start!

Hi Priscilla,

Thanks for your compliments
I spent about 1.5 weeks crocheting the bears and another 1 week on the box. I did take a break in between the bears and box though.

And all ah mais,

I FINALLY got my shoes! 2 pairs somemore man. Got them at Tangs. I'll post the pics later

Hi Ah mais,

Here's my WG and EG shoes....

396944.jpg

396945.jpg

I really like the WG shoes (1st pic). The EG pair is kinda plain so I bought a string of diamonds from Arab Street to spice it up

396946.jpg

Hi BenDi,

Go down Tangs to have a look if u haven't la. U may just find something u like since they have quite a good variety.

Hi Ah Mais,

I'm back...so tiring...even thought it's KL only...but I guess if its for work, it's always tiring. hahaha...

Hi Huiz,

Your shoes are nice! Hmm...what are you thinking of doing with the string of diamonds? My goodness...you are creative manz...!

Hi CSI Fan,

Welcome back!! So envious of u gals who can travel for work.... heehee.... me always stuck in this asylum of insane Singaporeans.... siannn.... hahaha

Me plan to stick the diamonds on the straps and also the circle of the EG shoes lor. Both are actually those "diamond dust" kinda shoes. I still prefer to have one with "real" diamonds.

It's not easy for me to find suitable shoes coz I have a bone jutting out at the side of my feet. When I found that this EG pair could fit but is not a diamonte one, I went ahead to buy first and decided to do some "patching" later lor ;-P

Hello Ladies~

I'm doing my emcee script now.... Encounter problems ler~~~~~~~ haiz...
Anyone know how to add in the Soleminzer part?
Cos my after my 1st march in, i will be having my soleminze. Hope someone can help me....

Halo gals...

I am also a hainanese bride...pure one...haahaahaa!! happy to join all of you here

Here are my details:
BS - TBC
AD Venue- Either Regent or Four seasons
Photographer - Raymond D'Nuptials

Hi Bendi - have you confirmed your photography session with Jon Keng? my friend took his services for her ROM last year...not v impressive though...in fact it was quite bad that she cried!!..her husband was also not too pleased...when they kinda of like "feedback" to him..he even show attitude to them lor....
i saw him on the day of my friend's ROM itself..he quite aloof leh...maybe bad mood?

Hi Diana,

Welcome welcome to our hainam mai family! Me also a pure one too

Looks like our hainam clan is growing bigger and stronger yah

well DIana, let me welcome you first. hehee..my name is also Diana, but I believe we have diff surename. ahahha.

YES we have comfirmed our package with them, well, kinda worried when saw your post. Frankily speaking, this jon is not taking actual day ps anymore, so we got Wayne, his associate to do it, charges very low, $1200 but then we are able to communicate with him, I am able to tell him what exactly I want for my wedding day, what to take and how to take, well, I know normally ppl don't give so many comments and ask this and that from photographer, but I am that type that will and will be very strict in what I want, that's why I really spent on things that I think is worth spending. $1200, what can I expect more actually, we are more interest to see our overseas photography than the actual day one.(charges $400/hour) Hahaha..I saw their work and I also believe their skills improve a lot. I got lousy photos for our ROM photos too, from sh*k*. Anyway, let me share this with you
www.chinweiamabelweddingday.myphotoalbum.com

She is a very lady and that's how I got to know jonkeng.

Hi Bendi,

sort of decided on Regant lar..but backside itchy ..want to know about Oriental's rates...heeheeee...
think selecton of banquets really gave me a big headache!!...at first I thought it was going to be an easy affair man....sigh.must share with me your photos ok?

Oh ok..now just keep ur fingers cross that Wayne will do a good job...
...my friend was really upset with jon keng...he completely ignore their sms u know!!...and i still remember on the day of her ROM, he refused to take group photos...saying something like it will "defeat the purpose of his style"...coz he is more into photojournalistic types..gosh!!...I mean well this we can understand coz some photographers stick by their principles etc etc...but even then...the photos turned put blurry and not photojournalistic at all!!I think i anyhow use a camera snap...also can take nicer photots than him..serious ok??
i am quite happy with my ROM photographer leh...*smiles*...if u want, i can show u...
will be engaging him for m AD as well...

Hi Huiz - thanks!! so happy to be here too...oh btw my hainanese also cannot make it one..haahaa!! everytime i try to speak..my family will laugh like crazy..!

Wow Huiz,

your WG & EG heels are nice and you're really very creative! Do show us the end product after you have finished sticking the diamonds to your shoes ok?

Hi Diana,

Me can speak Hainanese coz I had been living with my granny since day 1, since I was born. But my dad is always saying that it's still not up to standard! Hahaha!

Hi Priscilla,

I have stuck them on liao but haven't taken a pic. I decided to stick only to the circular area in the middle of the 2nd shoe. Stick on whole shoe will make it look too heavy la. I will take a pic tomorrow and post it up. Honestly speaking, I think its still so-so only.... hahahah!

Hi ah mais,

*ouch*...spent Sunday painting my new home, now whole body aching. Painting the home is one good way of spending time together...and the best part is, we quite enjoyed it! hahaha. FH was quite worried at first, that I would feel sian sian about painting and leave everything to him...heehee...

anyway, I've completed my ring pillow (erm, ok...the cross-stitch part. now for the stuffing).
Just to share lah...

398355.jpg

Hey CSI,

It's really very nice! Have u sewn up the sides yet? Would be good if u can add in some lace in the hem.

Good morning all!

Welcome to all the new ah mais!

Hee Hee... I've been MIA for a while. Got my keys finally.

Chose my tiles on Sat.

CSI - How I wish I could paint the house myself, could save a lot of money but I can't. There are too many tricky areas for me to do so.

Hi Nellie,

Where did u go for the tiles?

I got my contractor to bao the painting for us also. My wall has 2 colours, light yellow on top and light orange below, underneath the cornice partition that is in the middle of the wall. I got them to do it coz I am sure if I were to do it, sure will dirty my precious cornice ;-P

Hi Huiz,
Thanks! heehee...yah, I was thinking of adding lace too...but I haven't found any lace patterns that I like. (so fussy horh...).

Hi Nellie, aiyah, my home is very small and simple...no cornices, nothing. Just one false ceiling. heehee...so quite easy to paint lah.
Just very tiring only...hahaha.

Hi Huiz,

The tiles place is in Toh Guan, can't remember the name, something SOON...

My walls will be white totally, no other colours.

Hi CSI,

U can go Spotlight. They have a good selection eventhough it could be a bit exp la. Get those that have a wavy or zig zag edge (rather than a straight edge)and also is a bit gathered (rather than those flat flat ones - I feel that its quite hard to work with these).... really looks much better

Nellie,

Guess its Soon Bee Huat isn't it? This seems to be THE place for tiles. Very nice selection they have.

Crystal - sorry..I wouldn't be having the Soleminzer part...can't help u...prob u might want to post a question to the wedding planner (wedding acts) in SB forum, ask them?

Diana - welcome. I also speak broken hainan. Only can understand by listening...can't make it when i open mouth.

huiz - remember the diamonte...glad that u fix-it. Last weekend, I went to those bead shop to enquire abt diamonte...got hot-fix type...means can iron on fabric materials shoes...My ROM shoes is in fabric material..maybe can try. Other type of diamonte can be sew using needle n thread.

CSI - nice cross-stitch. U've muz have spent much time on that too
. I cannot lah...no patient one
Wow, really pei-fu u and your guy...paint the whole hse by yourself. Me n hb tried to do some touch-up..cos painter didn't do well...also created a mess till we got to ask painter come repaint the whole ceiling.

Nellie - Congrats! When's reno starting?

Hi Stacy,

Do share with me your experience and also the pics of your completed shoes okie? Me still can't figure how out best to press the big iron on the small shoe area leh... heehee

Despite the dust, all the hassle and the $$ involved, home renov is really exciting. I couldn't wait to see the final product then

Hello Diana...welcome!

Just finished my EG design...time to start sourcing for my shoes too!

CSIFan...your cross-stich very cute leh...i'm also thinking of embriodering a phase like what you have on your ring pillow too...but cross stich is easier....but clash with my design...i wonder what other methods to sew the wordings onto satin cloth? Huiz...handcraft guru...any idea?

and i'm so envious of you all...in the midst of renovating your lovenest... i think i won't have it so soon so can't join in the fun yet...

crystalz... have you tried reading up other threads with the scrip? try searching thru the ROM threads?

My suggestion... usually emcee will announce the entrance of the wed couple and invite the guests to stand and applause right? You can still have that...and while you and hubby is walking down the aisle, music is still playing in the background right? as you gradually approach the stage...either have your emcee quote a phrase to do the opening for the solemnization or just simply says "today we are all here to witness the matrimony of xxx and yyy. As they exchange vows to seal in their love for another, may we invite the guests to be seated and the couple and JP xxx to come on stage....
I guess at this moment the music can either stil be the same or has changed to another one and plays louder as you and hubby and JP walk up the stage and also the witnesses from both side to be seated...and then i think the JP would begin his speech...music then softens....and then at the end of the whole thing...when JP pronounced you husband and wife and then you exchange kisses, your emcee can say something cheeky here to add in some fun or you can arrange for some wedding bells to be rang or something like that... can be quite sweet and you and hubby can walk down from stage in your friends and relatives' blessings...

hehe...just some thoughts running thru my mind now....i guess the important thing is to add in one phrase or two to string the events together to let guests know what they are supposed to do...stand or sit or clap or keep quiet... i guess once you have the sequence of events in place then you can throw in the music or speech in between... i hope this helps...

Wa Li Ann,

U can go take up sideline to be wedding planner liao. Your suggestion is very well co-ordinated!

Hmm, as to how to sew wordings onto satin, I guess the easiest is cross stitch followed by embroidery, which u would need to get an embroidery hoop to make the job easier. The other alternative is to find someone with those kind of sewing machines that can sew words. I think u can check out this shop at IMM that does custom made t-shirts for people. I have seen a few of those machines in their shop before.

Yes Huiz! that's the one!

CSI, I wish to have a smaller flat too but FH had applied for a 4-rm flat b4 so we can only buy 5-rm or bigger. Reno for smaller flat is cheaper too. Unlike now, the reno is burning a big, big hole in my pocket.

Stacy, the contractor can actually start this thurs but MIL said start next month. So, no choice lor, wait till next month then start.

Ah yes, the 7th month and all so can't renov now right? Wonder if there is also a rule to avoid the second 7th month or not?

Btw, I was at Plaza Park Royal (my dinner venue) for dinner on Sat evening (coz hubby won a voucher during the wedding show). Decided to drop by the banquet room to take another look coz I have this strong feeling that all the rooms will be empty. Indeed it was man. All empty except for one which was used for a private family dinner. They seemed to have a good deal man, the whole big ballroom all to themselves.

Hi CSI fan!

my AD is 4 oct 2007. Went to a geomancer to get the date one lor...heee...wat about u?
a bit piss with Regent...want to charge me at $700 for 2 projectors...v ex leh!...my fren's sis had hers free..maybe because she had more tables than me so more room for negotiation.

wah.. u paint ur flat on your own ah...a bit siong right...but so long as u enjoy urself can already..
i think i not so hardworking as u..
me cannot start reno until the two 7th mths are over...btw where is your new flat? mine is at buangkok..

Huiz is right..u can go Spotlight..anyway now they having discount..u can go there see see look look.

Hi Li Ann and Stacy - thanks for the warm welcome!!.oh btw, I also understand when my mum scolds me in hainanese leh...she always scold me "suay c*i"..wahahahaa!!..if u know wat i mean...keekee

Hi Huiz,

i heard that some people will want to start reno during the 2nd mth of the 7th mth lar...they sid 2nd mth not so bad..but of coz to play safe..still better to wait till 2 mths are over...

I do agree that reno is very ex, I just touch up here and there early this year and spent about 22k including plasma tv, washer and dryer. now we estimate will spend approx. 15k for wedding.

ah mais,
I've got my wedding shoes, cheap at $59, i just bought it after seeing the price, now just hope that it matches my gown.

regent charges 2 for $700, is quite standard actually, other hotel also charges more or less the same. but oriental FOC ..hehe.. i got quite a good deal from oriental, the only thing is that we need to pay 60% for the food tasting, which we are going for it.

Hi Diana,

Aiyo, Hainanese like to scold people with that c*i word ah. Haha. My folks too. Even when it comes to calling children affectionately (c*i kia) they use that too ;-P

Is your flat a new one? Think Buangkok has new ones ya? And that makes us some neighbours too. My place should be rather near to yours

For me, I spent not more than 10K in renov (excluding furniture) coz the previous owner left it in quite a good condition. Plus its only 6 years old so still in pretty good shape.

Bendi,

If I don't remember wrongly the Americaya outlet at Plaza Sing is having a sale?