Hainanese Brides, anyone???

stacy: i don think the increase in the GST will affect the cost of the dinner cos mine
s calculated as XXX nett per table. i don think there will be any changes.

sherrie - urs definately wouldn't be affected. Cos' the finalised budget will announce in Feb 06 (after ur AD liao)

no prob cactus.
This method is good. Both sides will be happy.

ha ha Huiz, I will do the same too if I were in your shoes. I love to shop during weekdays, no worry about work and get to shop in a relax mood. Ya, that phone is nice and unique too. But hor, nowadays friends seldom call me at home, my phone at home becomes redundant. So I also din buy in the end.

Ya lor, why GST has to increase again? Though this was not a surprise news but still cannot accept that I have to pay more. Lucky the wedding and home stuff will be settled before the increase, else I will feel so heart pain when my credit card bills start rolling in month after month.

Stacy, I think your hubby is right, they will not increase the price as your contract is signed based on the earlier agreed price.

hi CSI/sherrie, the days are counting down for both of you.
Enjoy your day and do rest as much as possible before your AD. U will not have the 'luxury' on the AD. Enjoy the moment!

Yah Stacy, sometimes I wonder to myself how I am going to survive my visits to bo lao's house in Msia if it were in other states. Heng our states have more Chinese. Just know enough Malay to get through the red tape can liao. Saya tak buleh cacap banyah Bahasa!

CSI, take lotsa rest and be a meimei xin niang okie! All the best to u

Yah, not to worry about our banquet. I think the GST should follow the rate when we sign the contract?

Sigh, I wouldn't be surprised if one fine day the darn GST goes up to 10%. But then again, I also agree with Ivied that though this is expected, I still can't accept the increase!

thank god. my FIL now has 8 tables and my MIL has 3 tables. Our initial guest list of 35 tables has now ballooned to 41 tables. "faint"..

my dream of an intimate wedding seems to be more and more remote now!

hee. sherrie, I have learnt to accept that the moment u intend to have wedding banquet, the guest list will start to get longer and longer.

I too have the idea of an intimate wedding, something like the westernised ones, one dress for the whole wedding, small and cosy with close relatives and friends only. I wanted only 15 tables but it has becomes 30 now and is still rising.....

well, i can't really stop my parents from increasing their guest list cos they are paying for their own tables, except for those that will "given" by my husband. they haven't really increased a lot anyway. the issue is my FIL. my hubby said his dad will not return us the red packets that he collects cos that happened to his younger brother's wedding too. imagine only 1st degree relatives and he has 8 tables. heard he has 15 siblings or something so that 8 tables is merely for siblings and cousins only.

gosh. i don even know how they look like, really!!

huh sherrie,
your FIL will not return the red packets to you? I could not really absorb this fact. Is it a norm that the parents will keep the red packets that were being passed to them?

Thanks ladies for the compliment... hehe
My BS is from JB.. so the outdoor was shot at desaru. The sunflower is 'planted' in on the spot.. hahaa. Got quite a few gown cos i dun really like the JB gown so in addition i rental 2 gown from SG BS for my banquet.. hehe
We got couple look cos both of us are big - sized.. hahaha

Morning ladies... have another question on hainanese tradition. My MIL has requested that I buy gifts for everyone living under my FIL & MIL's household and all of my husband's siblings (married included) and my husband's nephew. My FIL is hainanese. I'm hokkien. My MIL said it's up to me to buy whatever I want. She said during her time, she bought fabric and perfume.

I would like to know ...
(1) Is it a hainanese custom to buy "jian4 mian4 li3" (my MIL used this term) for everyone staying under the same roof (including my MIL's sister) + married siblings who have moved out.
(2) What are the usual gifts to give them? My MIL said she'll leave it to me..

Many thanks!

Hey janf, missed u here.... been busy?

Cactus, frankly speaking I hadn't heard of the need to buy jian mian li manz...

Today's finally my fitting day. Lugged my 3 pairs of shoes along and my bo lao says I am mad... haha. But come to think of it, think bring one pair enough liao coz all my shoes same height wan.... how silly of me.... haha

Hi cactus_79

That night after seeing your posting, I also went home and asked my mummy about this jian mian li thingy...and she said yesh wor...i need to buy towel for my sis in-law, regardless married or not leh...

And last night, my mum and a bunch of aunties went to buy stuff for my guodali and wedding day and brought back so much stuff! But amongst them, a set of towels for MIL, FIL and SIL, two ang baos of S$68 ea for MIL and FIL to replace the shoes we are supposed to buy.

And i also asked two other friends who have been married, they don't have to buy anything wor... so Ivy is right in saying that nowadays custom and tradition are all mixed up and we tend to do what we hearsay...but bottomline is to make everyone happy, which includes yourself!

I guess in your situation, the stress comes from the fact that your MIL has actually asked you specifically to prepare a gift for everyone! Even if no other people follow such custom, you most probably feel obliged to do so now. I suggest you buy hankies for men and miniature perfume for ladies. Wrapped them up nicely with a little hand-made thank you card. The gift should be measured by its thoughtfulness and sincerity and not the value. That's what i thought.

Crystal, do you mind sharing with us the problems you had at PPR? I find the aisle a bit too short...cannot let me parade and hiao in my pretty gowns...haiz.... i personally don't like the three blocks of wood in the middle of the ballroom, it blocks the view of certain tables. Hence, we have to squeeze and push all tables to the front, leaving the back empty.

Huiz..we initially wanted just 30 tables, but also having the same problem...it just grew and grew...and last night, my 2nd aunt actually told my mum to give her one table for her relatives?!?!

CSIfan...enjoy your big day ya?
Feeling so happy and excited for you!

Sherrie...think we haven't "met" before..*waves*

ok..gotta go sort out my guest list again...*headache*

huiz...you going for fitting today hor?! :D

Have fun ya... i had so much fun with Jit. Couldn't bear to change out... haha... i totally supported you in bringing the three pairs of shoes. It completes the look. I would be bringing my shoes for my final fitting and trial makeup.

If you want, you can ask Jit to show you my EG and teadress.

Have fun and remember to take pics!

good morning ah mais!

janf, 'long' time no 'see' u, how's your flu?

cactus, this is the 1st time that I have heard of 'such customs'. then did u ask if your FH has to buy jian mian li for your family as well??
I think have to check with those ah mais who has seniors (grandma and grandpa) who may know better. Perhaps Huiz, Nellie or sherrie can help?

aiyo Huiz, don't have to be so gan cheong. hee.. Just bring that pair of shoes that u intend to wear with your gown will do. At least u can see if it will be mismatched or not. Most important, wear/bring the undies that u intend to wear on AD. Your BS will be able to make the necessary alterations if any, that will give u a better fit.

my nose still stuck on/off.. past nites cant zzz well so i din on aircon.. tink theres this big super bug in my dept.. one aft another colls will fall sick..

i oso no hear of JianMianLi b4.. but if cactus's MIL wans it then juz do it to pls the old folks ya..

wah huiz today go fitting ah! lidat see can secretly take a few shots of ur gowns anot ya..!

Haha ivied, the problem is, the three pairs are to be worn with each gown, one for each ma... haha. one WG, one EG and one CS.

Harr.. undies ah.... i shall see how the fitting goes first. if his padding not enough then i headache have to go find some more "supplements" liao... hehe

oic, I thought u are going for 1 gown fitting only. undies are your bra and underwear leh. This will be especially useful if u wish to have a good fit, the BS can easily determine how much alterations are required. Have fun!

Thanks Huiz, Li Ann, iViED for your replies!

Li Ann - may I ask what dialect group you belong to? I'm hokkien, husband is hainanese. I'm trying to understand if the gifts you are giving your in-laws are applicable in my situation. It would be applicable in my situation if your husband is hainanese and if it is something requested for by your in-laws.. meaning, it is a hainanese tradition. cos we don't practise this as Hokkiens..)

iViED - I never asked if my husband has to give my parents anything.. I just assumed that my in-laws will automatically give if it is inline with their hainanese tradition. Also, if my parents want my husband to give, they would have mentioned it..like how my MIL mentioned it.

Hmmm, bra ah, I thought the padding in the gown will suffice? aiyo I am soo blur when it comes to such things. Btw, is there a need for tape? Where can buy that?

hi cactus_79...i'm exactly the opp from you. I'm Hainanese and my hubby Hokkien. But cos my mum is Hokkien, so we all follow the Hokkien custom and tradition. We had two rounds of "negotiation dinner" with my FILs to clarify what are necessary. My MIL mentioned the shoes but she did not mention anything for my FSIL or the jian mian li thingy. In fact, it is suggested by the old auntie selling all these traditional stuff at Beauty World (Bt Timah). Different people whom we speak to say different things and they are all Hokkiens! ha...end up my mum spent over $300 for all the stuff...minus the ang baos that she is supposed to give here and there during guodali.

Huiz...if you need "supplement" or extra support, can try nu bra. It's this two sticky silicon bra pad that you use to stick to your breasts for support. There is a clip in front to hold the two pads together. Jit suggests that alternatively we can use musking tape to tape instead. He says results are better too cos you can create better cleavage! i need that too...i kiasu...gown got padding, i still use nu bra and then musking tape!!!

I also bought those fabric tape to tape any opening of the gown to your skin so that it will not be flapping open...cos my gown is bareback.

And Ivy is right about getting the undies...end up i have to buy a super low cut g-string then can hide it behind my gown...

Hey Li Ann, where did u get the silicon thingy and the fabric tape? How about the musking tape? Is it the normal kind?

huiz - silicon thingy can get at major departmental stores. i bot mine from metro. wait for sales then buy more worth.

yep yep...i bought the bra and fabric tape at Robinsons. You can get the fabric tape at Topshop, Watsons too. I think it is cheaper. As i bought mine in a hurry, so i've no time to compare prices. I bought the fabric tapes (ready cut small pieces) at S$15.60 for 300 strips. I find it damn ex. But it sticks better than double-sided tape. I cheapo once and use that and the it doesnt stick due to perspiration.

As for the musking tape, you can get them from any bookstores or stationary shops. You can ask Jit the techniques of taping...keke...it sounds painful...

i haven heard of jian mian li too...first time i am hearing it...hmmm...i think my MIL and SIL are quite unaware of such customs themselves..both SILs are married anyway and i dont think they went thru such customs themselves. my husband's family is teochew but they also do not practise the teochew custom of fetching the bride before dawn...

Hullo ah mais,

I am back from my fitting and I must say I am very very happy with the outcomes. U can see the not-so-completed gowns at www.huiz.shutterfly.com

I simply love the back of my WG and also the CS (though my sis says I look like a yam.... haha) for its sweet colour and classical elegance.

morning all!

aiyah huiz, my stoopid ofc got ban us from visiting shutterfly so i can only go home see ur meimei gowns.. bleh.

Good morning.

Huiz - ur BS veri good leh...1st fitting n the gown is almost complete..its even more complete than my 2nd fitting. Ur EG so low cut..hmm...got to get super low cut undies
. I love ur WG n EG..WG always looks grand. Ur EG looks nice on u..got shape leh..haiz..mine is one straight one..can't see my waist

Li Ann - the masking tape sounds painful le..can imagine that. But just wonder the technique to do it...hmm...

Oh yes Stacy, I was telling Jit I cant imagine the pain when we remove the tape man. Its normal maskin tape leh.. sure damn sticky n painful wan lor. But anyone has any tips how to put tt on?

My WG i tot is a bit tight leh... can see belly button liao. But Jit says its fine, too loose even worse not nice. As for the belly thingy, he asked me to buy surgical tape to stick it over then can't see liao... haha

I think I like my EG and CS more than the WG... haha. Really like all the back of all my gowns too

haha...huiz, ur BS guy very funny...all kinds of tapes can be used. Surgical tapes, masking tapes..haha. Can u imagine when u remove ur gown to change...all the tapes ard your body. Ya, masking tape very sticky leh..even a small piece of my arm n pull out..can imagine the pain..ouch!

I liked the WG...its so grand..Think all WG looks grand. I liked my WG > EG. Sad thing is i get to keep my EG but not the WG...

huiz! nice gowns! wah....you have such a smooth back...I have lots of pimple and marks on my back that I can't wear such bare back gowns, dresses....

hey Li Ann, thanks. heehee...yah, me trying to relax. can't help but feel that there's a lot left to do...

huiz!!!!!

Your gowns are so so so so nice!!!!
I love all the back details of your gowns...love the way the WG layers off at the back to give the victorian look...and the ribbons and flowers very sweet...

And your EG is a stunner! You really have the height to pull off the EG man... hehe... very sensuous and sexy...like want to unwrap you like that...haha....and the color is so nice!

Your CS is the best CS i've ever seen so far..really...very elegant and unique. Are you going to wear it during dinner? Hope you do so...don't waste...you have such a nice body shape to carry off the CS.

I'm so happy for you! :D

Now i cannot wait for my turn for the final fitting and trial make up! :D

As for the musking tape hor...Jit never teach you how to tape? He taught me how...mm...let me try to explain it in words. First, you start from the right. Start from the top of your right breast, pull a strip of musking tape towards the center of your cleavage, making sure that the tape "scoop up" and supports your right breast and pushes it towards the left side. Then to the same for the left breast. End result is to see a huge V that is formed by the musking tape, and of course MORE CLEAVGE
Then for the ultimate oomph, take another strip of musking tape and pull it across both of your breasts, the strip touches the pointed edge of the V, making sure that when you tape, you pull it upwards towards your head...this is to "lift up" your breasts.

So now you have a deep cleavage and a nice firm shape that will make you the envy of the night! Glorious wonder musking tape!!! :D keke....

<font face="vrinda"> <table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherrie</TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Westerveld</TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

good morning ah mais!
wow.. Huiz, your WG is nice! Its very Silverlining style. I also agree with Stacy, I like your WG better than the EG and CS. Your BS is fast, 1st fitting is already done up with the outer fabric and stitches up the design.

What I suggest is you can wear the silicon bra, then tape up the corners to your padded bra on the gown. Your EG and CS is super low orr... have to get those seamless super low cut undies liao lor.

and ya, u can add a flower as decorative for your CS. It will add that extra charm to your look on top of that nice nice CS.

Your back REALLY flawless! Smooth and beautiful.... (^_^)

damn chiam! everyone wowing away and i can only read!!! arghh..

huiz - can send some of the pics to me boh?! i cannot tahan till tonite then see at the rate the gals are wow wow wow..!

Hey gals, haha, I think I also like my CS the best too! Stacy, i tink the WG looks a bit strange with the ribbon leh... what u think?

Acherly hor, CSI, my back also not so perfect... got small small white heads.... I scrubbed my back like mad the few days before fitting... hehee

Wa seh Li Ann, I must go home n try man. Sounds cheems and painful!! but then I was telling Jit its worth the sacrifice. And I asked to see your EG but he said its sent for alterations. Got to see your tea dress though... the straps are up. The colour v classy and on the overall it looks v v cute

I planned to wear the CS during tea ceremony only, but then I think its such a waste to wear it for such a short time only so I have decided to wear it again to send off the guests at night.

okie no prob janf, I send it to u.

Haha I am a real big time failure when it comes to the front! Jit has to add on another padding... so u can see how pathetic I am. Jit jokingly ask me go home drink more Magnolia. I am really gonna find ways and means to boost tt up man...

And Li Ann, me also like u need to buy super low undies liao!

ivied, I think he's adding some chinese buttons on the tigh area and the collar... so see how it goes lor

Huiz- my WG have a sash at the back...Shirley did a sample for me to see..not up yet...i find it funni too..dunno how..it will only be ready in 2wk time. For ur WG, do you have any pink flowers or embroidery. If yes..then its ok..else suddenly one pink ribbon will look werid. Size wise is just fine.

Janf, I email u some pics liao

Stacy ah, my embroidery is in silver wan lor... then plus some clear beadings. I still find it weird.. dunno la.. see how. go home ponder over it then call him to discuss further.

huiz - ur WG behind is netting kind rite? same as mine, i luv my WG.. but the netting for mine quite low and li ann/ivied are rite. gotta get the low waist undies. no need g-string. u go street21 CK got sell the low waist kind.

wah, ur CS really so bare behind! keke. but nice.. =)

Yeap, janf, the back is netting.. all the time i tot its gonna be duchess. I prefer to wear low waist undies rather than the g. its a bit uncomfy leh. But one worry abt undies worn under the EG is that the mark can be seen a bit... phew, what a challenge to get the right nei zai mei.

ah mais...

Just to share share an idea with you gals...

I've sent out an e-invite via this website www.evite.com to my friends and most of them complimented on the convenience and cool way of getting guests to rsvp.

I then follow up with the actual invitation by mail or hand.

For those who are about to send out invites or notifications to friends can consider using this method.

When guests rsvp, they can reply with a message. You'll be pleasantly surprised of the cheeky things they will reply...this is quite a pleasant surprise for me actually...And they can read each other's comments so it is quite funny what some friends from the same group say...

Yes I have used this site before to invite my friends to my place for a small dinner. Very cool and sophisicated I must say. I like it too