Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Li Ann, that's dangerous. Don't get your hubby started on the collection.... keke, but it will be nice if can display them in a glass cabinet.

It looks like a rather ok day for me so far. Finished the morning round of meetings and gonna attend talks in the PM. Meeting Lance for lunch too... wa, it rhymes eh? kekeke

has anyone of you stay in Bintan Lagoon Resort and Nirwana Resort?

I'm deciding which one to stay... which one is nearer to the beach?

huiz, petrina... i think i dun want to buy hubby any of the toys le. he doesnt even want the shades cos he says must save money.

Now cracking my head to think of something special yet wun spend too much money...

tats y i say to buy the cheaper version. i think only 20plus...

safe to buy. or u can get him his fav brand of outdoor tee/shirt? Anything that he can wear/use tat's not pricy.

Li ann - just bake him a cake. Cheap and good

I've stayed at Bintan Lagoon resort b4. Has its own beach (exclusive) except not much activities at night. You can play golf there.

I stayed at Nirwana before. The beach is right in front....just beyond the swimming pool. Never stayed at Bintan Lagoon, so can't compare. heehee...

For sea sports, can go Mayang Sari (just next to Nirwana, but u can't walk along the beach to it coz if this erm, huge rock thingy separating the two).

Li Ann, I went to Mayang Sari in June. Highly recommended coz its individual huts and if u get the seaview row, the beach is just a few steps away from your doorstep. If possible, avoid the garden view coz its behind the seaview and u get to see the back door of the front row.

As for Nirwana, I find that it is a place more suitable for families. They have more entertainment facilities and is more crowded. Mayang is really good for couples. Peaceful and relaxed (but then also mean less entertainment facilities lor).

U can see the pics I had taken in my Multiply too

Met Lance just now and had a good lunch. Now so sleepy liao... kekeke

And Li Ann, baking him a cake is a good idea. Maybe u can "sneak" back to your Mum's place and make it there?

Finally back to office. Lunch with Huiz was good with all the roasted stuff. We should all go there and eat sometime. I also bought two badminton racquets just now too. 2 for under $20 at WOS. Good deal.

Li Ann: I went Bintan Lagoon before, very nice. I think for the transformer, if you really want to buy, buy those small small ones that can combine to form one big one. Those are more fun and interesting.

yah Li Ann, can you tag along? I mean, if it's a city area, at most when he's at work, you can walk around yourself...at most extend the stay there for 1 more night so you guys can have full day to yourselves...

Last year, I went Shanghai for biz trip on my bday. Since hubby's bday was just a few days before mine, I redeemed my Krisflyer points (with some $$ topped up) for a tix for him to go Shanghai on the same flight. Then I also extended my stay in Shanghai by 1 day...so we celebrated our birthdays there lorh. While I was at work, he went shopping and walking around on his own.

(hey, I just realised, for the past 3 yrs, hubby and I have been celebrating our bdays overseas...last yr was Shanghai, the yr before, Bintan, this year...Krabi. Hahaha, not really planned in that way. We just wanted to go for short trips...)

Good morning everyone,

Just wanna share this wedding blog I found in Livejournal: http://reallifewedding.livejournal.com

Really envy the foreigners. They have such beautiful places to take their wedding pics at not much additional costs. For us to get something like this, gone is a big chunk of $$ to pay for air fare la, accomodation la, and also not forgetting the PG's share!

Yes Petrina, the pics really make me drool.

Had been working hard cleaning the kitchen and the loo this morning. Hehe, better clean up in case u gals (and guy) think how come the place is so much like a sty this coming weekend. So sleepy now.... shall go catch 40 winks.

seem quiet over e wkend..

huiz, i may b able to drop by yr hse next sat but will leave by 6+ for frien wedding.. some of them going around 4pm right?

Huiz: I think if we want to take nice pictures, must go other countries liao. Nearest to us would be JB. ha ha.

Li Ann: Celebrating it overseas is going to be more fun.

Hi Kokoyln, yes yes, do come along if u can. Perhaps u can come check with Nellie if u can come together?

Lance, u can take your pics in Viet! Sure very unique wan

Good morning! Our gathering this coming Sat *looking fwd*.

Huiz- abt 20 pax? Need to know..so we can plan for enough food

Ah mais - Anyone need TDF pdts? 25% off this mth selling @ pharmacy here. Lemme know if u wan..can pass it to u during gathering

hiya! Good morning!

haiz... i got think of tagging along de... but my hubby forbids me cos he is going to India and South Africa! I so very much wanted to go South Africa but it is not advisable for me to roam about alone. So cannot go... anyways, i better save up for the trip to Tokyo in Oct.

i am planning a little "overseas trip" on 18 Aug. Trip to Kusu island, pinic and nuah at the beach. My hubby wanted an inexpensive celebration so i guess this is it. We went shopping at Queensway shopping center last Sat, he kept touching the ipod holder that you can strap around your arm while jogging. Think i will get him that! Less than 100.

stacy..what is TDF?

Hi Stacy, there's going to be about 18 of us

Hey Li Ann, I hadnt been to Kusu before but it certainly sounds like a very unique idea

Oh, TDF is this brand of skincare products called "Theraputic Dermatological Formula" that are only sold in hospitals (I think). For Stacy and I who work in hospitals, we enjoy staff discount and offers (once in a while). My mum uses it and she thinks its very good.

huiz: my FH may come along. high probability... though cannot 100% confirm... And also i not baking le. i'll buy...

I juz booked my HM to australia yesterday @ SA tours... Super long queue manz, though there were 3 different tour companies on exhibition. Sg ppl simply too rich. Esp those gg to Japan/Korea. I saw the queue like zig-zag all the way... That's the longest queue ever.

I saw the donut factory in suntec yesterday next to carrefour. & surprisingly the queue was short. So I decided to try n c wats so great abt their donuts tat made SG ppl queue 4 hrs...

Verdict: Their donut was so soft, chocolate melting in ur mouth. Donut was still warm upon purchase, chocolate still dripping. I think i'll buy those 4 our gathering... Will definately taste better than my brownies anyway... haha

Ya Li Ann, your hubby is right not to allow u to go SA with him. My friend went on a tour there before and said that even things in her hotel room e.g toileteries and instant noodles were stolen!

Ohhhhh.. donuts! They are so popular now but I have yet to try them. Hehe, petrina, they are a great idea for our gathering! If they turn hard by the time they reach my place, can still microwave them right?

i think i'll buy juz b4 i go ur hse. shld be ok de. cause if u microwave, choco may melt away..

All no adverse effect to choco rite?? I'll buy all diff flavours except the cheese flavour, cause i worried nobody wanna eat it. haha

Noooo!! Thers's someone who will eat the cheese one... me lor... hehe. Actually, I cannot eat any sweet things due to my condition, so if there's cheese, lagi better for me

Oh ya, petrina, which part of Aust will u be going to, when and for how long?

Petrina - i wanted to buy those donuts from Raffles City. Alamak! the queue is always super super long!!!

Huiz - my colleague tolde me the donuts can be heated up but only for abt 10 or 20 secs, no more than that.

I think I'm going to buy rojak for the gathering instead. Saw the channel 8 show on the best 5 rojak stalls in Spore. It makes my mouth waters.

haha, nellie yes rojak... nice..

Suntec not so long queue. Because they split the quantity queue. Max 2 per person queue & Any amount per person queue. So if u wanna try only, can queue 4 the max 2 per person queue...

Is it the same one as Raffles City? There are a few different brands. Vivocity also have one but it's different from Raffles City. As far as I know, the outlet in Raffles City has no other branches.

huiz- tks for clarifying wat's TDF. I jut got mum a bottle (anti-aging series)

Btw ah mais – there is a 42% off whole cake purchase at Secret Recipe fm 6 – 10 Aug..while stock lasts!

Petrina – oh, I love to try the donuts. Same like Nellie, I gave up after I see the long queue.

Li Ann - South Africa! I wld also love to go see see look look. But agree with ur HB, its sure dangerous for a gal to roam alone there.

Nellie - I saw one episode of that show, sell Ang Ku Kuey series, after they got featured, got long long queue at that shop near my mum's place. Not tt fantastic thou. But I loved rojak..yes..i wanna a bite..kekee!

Ah Mais - I'm going Pattaya end of the mth for a conference. Will go to BBK for a night. Will go & reckee the place 1st..

yup, then it's the same company. hmmm...shd I go during lunch to try the max 2 per person queue? hahaha...the Raffles City one is like...super long queue lorh....faintz.

Wah, I tried to bake cupcakes...coz was thinking I can bring over on Sat mah...fail manz. Cupcakes fail. hahaha...first try mah. Next time when I'm in the mood again, then I'll try baking them again. heehee...

What's on the food list for this saturday?

Huiz: I missed ur post. Ok then i'll buy all flavours... spicy cheese seems good, but i juz tot the donut combi may taste farni...
I need exact head count so i can buy. scali so nice not enuff to go ard then siao liao... haha

I'm gg 7D brisbane - sunshine coast/goldcoast farmstay package. As they dun have longer package FH & I will go chiangmai/chiangrai immed upon arrival at SG. Same day flight to thailand. Stay there 4 a week plus to relax.
Cause package tour though we choose farmstay, maybe too hectic for me. so FH wan me to relax at chiangmai b4 gg back to work.

Petrina, there's gonna be about 18 people this Sat.

So far we have:

1. Curry (from me)
2. Kimchi (from me coz I realise we don't have much vege)
3. Baked wings (Mos)
4. Viet popiah (Li Ann)
5. Sushi (Pris)
6. Yee Mee (Janf)
7. Pork ribs (Lance)
8. Cheese tarts & Prata/Rojak (Nellie)
9. Cheese cake (Stacy)
10. Almond Jelly? (Sherrie)
11. Donuts (petrina)

Hmm, have I missed out anyone?

Huiz - I'll only buy rojak. No more cheese tarts. Think prata is a bit too heavy too.

Petrina - I want the Hazelnut Milk Choco one.

ermm, watever flavour u all wan, pls inform me latest by thursday... so tat i dun buy unwanted flavours or buy too little popular flvours...

huiz, no worries, i'm going to make the veg popiah.

the popiah is nice when you eat them cold. So i will prepare the ingredients first then go over there to wrap, is that ok with you? i would need ice and water and some helping hands

I'm gonna bring my wedding albun too...FINALLY!!

Petrina,
I want the Peanut Butter Glazed one...thanks! heehee...

I really went Suntec during lunch just now to buy. hahahaha...yummy! The things I would do for food these days......haiz.

The website says there's Cheese Tartar...but when I enquired, the person at the Suntec outlet told me they dun have it there. It's the Raffles City outlet with the Cheese Tartar flavour. So, must take note...

Wah, Li Ann...good to hear it's confirmed!

haiz, not sure if it's me, but I didn't feel BB moving much yesterday. Perhaps it's just sleeping...Last 2 weeks could feel it move & kick quite a bit. Yesterday...not much. Then I kena banned from doing anything by hubby, just in case it's due to stress lah...(what stress? hahaha...but he has a point. Body is different now. What used to be stress-free last time may be stressful now.) By rights, I shd be happy with him doing everything...and I can just sit down and watch TV. BUT....our TV is spoilt!! hahaha....waiting for TV guy to come fix it (still under warranty). So I was super bored yesterday. No TV to watch, no internet access. aiyoh...

Yes, Li Ann, can come and prepare the popiah at my place. I have an island in the middle of the kitchen for us to mess around... hehe. U need to make any sauce? The stove is just right behind the island.

CSI - I was a super maid over the weekend. Enjoy the no need to do housework while you can. Cos when BB's born, you'll have to be a super maid again.

Li Ann - this hotel is not near the BTS. It's a bit troublesome to travel around if you have lots of shopping bags.

i anyhow click some dates and a reservation for a twin room costs only S$57 for the boutique hotel. Sounds really cheap. But now i know why since it is not such a good location. Nellie has a point. We would need to stay near hotel to deposit our shopping bags! Very very important.

i also want peanut butter and chocolate donuts! Yum yum yum...