Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

hi girls!

i am considering GCW to hold my wedding in dec 08. went to GCW over the weekend, the set up at the waterfront ballroom was ok, like the reception area though, spacious and nice with the bar counter, piano, tables and chairs...

their perks are quite attractive as compared to the other hotel i am considering... can get free flow beer, night stay for helpers at GCW whereas i have to pay for these at my other shortlisted hotel... but i prefer the location and feel of the other hotel... also for GCW, can make balance payment upon chekcout but the other one got to pay full before wedding date..

has anyone seen GCW's bridal suite? how's the service and food at GCW?

L shape March in can only be done at Grand ballroom, mine is Waterfront ballroom... sob sob. ;(

Hi Lee Hui Lin, they are quite strict on the perks... esp for food tasting. think there is no way to waive off, for my case. dunno abt the rest...

Yah! i bargained hard and still cannot get the food tasting fee waived.
But whenever I mention GCW to people who asked where I'm holding my banquet, they'll say its a nice place, with great food! hmm so I'm more relieved that i've made the right choice.

Did anyone contacted June florist for deco, T dragon for invites, GCW for favors earlier than the schedule given by the hotel? I'm a bit gan jiong cos my wedding is in dec and its a very peak season. Think must get things done earlier..

i am new here. will be a jan 08 bride, right now deliberating between furama and grand copthorne. i tot grand copthorne only has 2 ballrooms - grand and waterfront. now trying to make it to 30 tables so that we can take the grand ballroom coz it looks nice, at least from the pics. a pity we didnt get to see it when we were at the hotel as there was a function going on.

hey girls,

any one has pics of and/or comments on the bridal room?

am really torn between GCW and Swissotel the Stamford and i have to decide latest by next week... argh!!!!!!!!

hi strongyetweak,

same here.. shortlisted to GCW and Swissotel Stamford..
btw who did you speak to for GCW?

hi janet, I'm also a Jan 08 bride. GCW has got 4 ballrooms for wedding. Grand, Waterfront, Riverfront and Galleria. I'm doing mine on 19th Jan at the Riverfron ballroom. What about you?

Anyone knows for Riverfront ballroom what's the deposit amount?

hi shice,

I met Sheena last weekend to view the ballrooms. I'll be taking the Waterfront Ballroom if I go with GCW. If I go with STS, I'll be taking the Atrium Ballroom.

Who are you dealing with at GCW and STS? I spoke with Sharon for STS.

If I may kaypo, what are factors affecting your choice between GCW and STS? For me, it's the additional costs to fork out at STS, I can only choose 1 from the list of wishes (helper's room, alcohol (beer), food tasting, wine corkage, wine purchase etc). The rest must pay. sigh...

Hi Mage,

Didn't know deposit amounts are different for different ballrooms. Anyway, If I take Waterfront, got to pay $3K.

Wah, your AD in Jan and you still haven't booked.. haha.... my AD in nov/dec 08 and I'll be confirming venue by next week... so kiasu... hehe....

Hi strongyetweak, if waterfront is 3k then Riverfront should be around there also since its smaller! hehe!

Haven't confirm yet... still on tentative booking.
hehe!
I more or less confirm on that venue already just that haven't put deposit yet.

same, there were ongoing weddings when i was there so didn't view... anyway, going this evening to view, hopefully after viewing, i can decide..

i like the bridal suite at STS... really nice...

if the bridal suite at GCW is good too, then i may need to toss a coin to deicde!!! haha.....

strongandweak,

I'm gg for the grand ballroom.. erm.. talking abt ks, i'm making booking for my dinner is jan 09 leh.. hahaha...

i'm talking to jeremy from GCW. but i seriously dun like him and will ask to change coord. Is sheena good? as in she understands your needs and can communicate well?

for sts, i've talked to sharon.. she's a good coord..

GWC - good for the ballroom.. it's very grand and has high ceilings.. bridal suite i have not seen yet.. gg down mid may for a meeting with them..

STS - bridal suite is nice.. the view is fantastic!! but the ballroom quite small.. looking at the stamford ballroom.. ceiling not as high as GCW.. haha...

basically STS lost in ballroom and GCW lost in coordinator (bridal suite gotta see first).

strongandweak,

if u get to view the bridal suite, could you help me take some pictures too? I asked already.. there are abt 7 to 8 suites.. so can try to see if got vacant ones to view...

ask if got jacuzzi.. hahaha... :P

My HTB just made an arrangement with the coordinator to go down to GCW this sat to take a tour ard ...

Considering GCW, Hilton, Swissotel and Holiday Inn Park View nw ... but seems like GCW rather prompt with their service ...

Got the best impression of them so far ...

aiyo shice, u want jacuzzi some more!! haha...

i will definitely get to see the bridal suite as today's appointment is purely for that... will try to take some pictures and show you lah.. will probably PM you because not sure if it is ok to put up the pics in a public forum...

Sheena is a pleasant lady, no problem communicating...

So, for me, both the coordinators are good, GCW has the upper hand on perks and costs as we have to pay more for STS since perks are limited...

Taking Atrium ballroom at STS, love the idea of a private cocktail reception and ballroom with private toilets just outside the ballroom, more cosy feel and won't get strangers walking around the reception area.... although the reception area for Waterfront Ballroom at GCW looks cosy and great too with the piano, tables, chairs, bar counter and if any of your guests can play the piano, can use it also....

Quite ok with both ballrooms at GCW and STS as both also got 2 pillars and ceiling height about the same I think, but STS may have a slight advantage as they have a few beautiful themes to choose from whereas GCW plays with colours and has no specific themes.....

Location wise, preference is STS.

1 thing not so ideal also deposit for STS is higher lor and balance payment must pay full 7 days before wedding... heart pain to pay 1k more esp. since my AD is still long way to go... hehheh.... always best to have more cash mah...

So most likely the deciding factor is the bridal suite lor...

Hey Mage,

I'm taking riverfront too. Do you want to view the decor layout for the ballroom? Jeremy mail some weddings layout for me. Anywhere i was given a tour to their bridal suite when i signed my deposit. It's not what i expected. But no point changing as GCW is known for their food, yum!

hi jojo,

what do you mean by the bridal suite was not what you expected? was it a "real" suite with separate living room and bedroom? when did you visit?

Hi Strongyetweak,

Well, we were shown a suite (with a living area (sofa + tv) on the 28th flr by our coordinator somewhere in mar07. It's not very big though the view is nice. To me, the room will be cramp up if more than 5 pple crowd at the living area, so you can imagine the floor area. Not too sure if it the "real" bridal suite as some ex bride commented that it was nice during their wedding though i specified to my coordinator that i wanted to view the bridal suite.

hi shice,

sooooooooooo...... sorry......... i forgot to take pictures of the room!!! Was rushing for the appointment and Sheena has another appointment at 7pm, so I kan cheong as I didn't want to eat into her next appointment and then i forgot..

anyway, the bridal suite is what jojo has described. It is a little small in area but if you look at it in another way, it is rather cosy.

STS wins for the bridal suite... so far, personally, non of the bridal suites i have viewed at other hotels (marina mandarin, oriental, pan pac, raffles) beat STS...

hi mage,

it's huge, very high floor (60 plus) and hence fantastic view, beautiful bathroom, got tv mounted on the wall near the bathtub so can watch tv as you soak in the tub, got private area for breakfast on 65th floor, the entire few floors only has suites, very exclusive, feel so "high-class" (feels good to be high-class for at least a day in my life!! haha...) .... oh.. also got coffee machine in the room, so can brew complimentary coffee... hehe....

when i first stepped in the room, i went "wow......"

you got to see it to know how nice it is!!

it is so nice, 1 night confirm not enough one... but to extend one night is very ex... the suite is around 1300+++ this year, and price will possibly go up when during my AD period...

Hi Shice,

The view at GCW should be good as the bridal suites are situated at 20+ floors onwards. It only depend which view you will be given, the city or the river.

Hi Mage,

Pics Sent!

hi shice,

the bridal suite i viewed was "city view" so in my opinion, so so only... maybe it'll look better at night with lights from the buildings...

ic.. have anyone seen novotel clarke quay? is it up to par with swissotel stamford or GCW? I'm soooo tired of hotel viewing le.. sigh.. maybe some kind soul can just give me ur opinions..

I only have the layout for the riverfront ballroom. There are some pics of the Grand and waterfront ballrooms posted by ex-brides of GCW in the previous postings. Unless you are looking at riverfront ballroom otherwise my emaildoes not serve any purpose. Think it's best to arrange appointment to view the site personally. It really make a difference.

okay jojo,
thanks, I thought you had pictures of the done up grand ballroom. I have visited the hotel but it was when the ballroom was empty..
nevertheless, thanks!

havent been here for a while. i m taking the grand ballroom on 15 jan. if anyone of u needs the package for 2008, leme know