Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Im still quite disappointed that I didnt get the free flow of beer or free wine... hehehe... My banquet is 4th Dec 06, 2 days after my customary & Solemnisation at SAM! Anyone else is holding their solemnisation at places other than ROM? BTW I have not signed my contract yet, my bf is outstationed till Xmas eve, we'll be signing it only after Xmas n Im still hoping to get more perks... hehehe... very cheapskate hor?

viviann : u mean 4th dec 07!
heee
Dun be disappointed that you didnt get free flow lah..
U already got a v gd deal !!
I also couldnt get FOC food tasting ok!! can only wavie off corkage & free flow
Hazie: u mean even tho u signed contract liao, u can stil bargain for more meh? Like wat?

Smiles,

Bargain to get more perks like free food tasting...cos I may be getting additional number of tables. Not sure if they will agree but no harm trying.. =)

I signed up during the UOB promo. Coz its waterfront ballrm so cant get FOC of food tasting, but i do get free flow beer and waived off cokg. And still get $888 off. So if you can wait i think its better to wait for UOB promo, usually they will have it 2 times a yr around march and sep if i'm not wrong. U can check w ur coord.

Thanks Viviann, received your mail as well.

Now looking at the different perks we are getting out of UOB promotion, seems like the promotion differs from time to time as well. I signed up last month, and didn't get the $888 off. I presumed Mona has signed up during March? If that was the case, the March promotion was better..

Hi Nclaz,
I just had my wedding at the grand ballroom. Hmm, its depends on whether you would like a straight or L shape march in. For me, I had a L shape march in and can accomodate 48 tables. The max is 50 tables I think. But for a straight march in, I think the max is 60 tables. Hope this helps.

hi ev one,

my wedding dinner went smoothly... the food as commented by friends was good.... i think younger people will like their food rather than the older generation...

Minor hiccups happen but still acceptable....

I was quite upset that they closed the bar for the free flow so fast that the Bride cant even get a beer....

Anyway, the flr mgr was vy nice to get me a bottle of beer from the nearby rest.

Thanks to Sheena and crew....

hi, i'm looking around for hotel venue and from wat i heard, the waterfront ballroom sounds like a really good place and within my budget as well. can someone please forward me their package to me at [email protected]?? thanks in advance!!! :D

hey gals... I noe this topic is unrelated to GCWF but Im wondering if anyone here has or is going to hold their solemnisation outside of ROM. Cuz im going to hold it at S'pore Art Museum but Im having a headache with caterers. Shortlisted a few like Neo Garden, Smiling Orchid, Highest Honour, Rasel. But Im on a budget for this caterer. Any experiences or comments to share?

Hi all, any of you know whats the chinese name of GCW? my parents' friends wana know the chinese name, then i realised i duno!! haha when you print the invitation cards, got chinese name and address printed or just english?

2nd question...any of you extended the use of ballroom till late for party like dance and stuff? any charges involved?

Thanks all...

i had my ROM at GPPR the outdoor cafe there... it's outdoorsy but actually indoors with AIRCON... lol... take a look under the ROM threads lotsa people have recommended that place as well, including me!!

for caterers, my ex-company used this caterer Yiloo which is really good and cheap!! their food is DELICIOUS!! can check out www.yiloocatering.com...

something wrong with internet today, can't access non-SG sites... not even google!! so can't see the pdf file as attached by viviann... i'm a bit kiasu cos my wedding actually in 2009... but hubby want 09 Sept 2009 so must quickly chope... hee... if GCW having any bridal shows or fairs please update k!!! then can have GCW BTB psuedo outing... heh... thanks...

Hi Annpual,
Where are you printing your cards? Is it T Dragon? If yes, they will have the Chinese name so dont worry. You can choose to print only the english or both. It's your choice
I always tell my relatives its near the 大世界. Hope it helps hee.

For the 2nd qn, I have no idea. But i guess if its too late, then there will be extra charges coz the banquet crew will still need to work OT right? But no harm asking. Wow, you are planning for dance?

Thanks Nami. Yeah hoping to have some party after...but maybe will just aajourn to the rooms! keke...

for the ex-brides of GCW, whats the chinese name of the hotel!? haha we dont even know! gees... should be printing at t dragon since thats the one hotel liaise with. we're 4 months away and so many things not done. darm depresseD! haha my other half darm busy at work! sianz! havent fix photographer, videographer, renovations, guests list. hmmm we book 40 tables...now got this nagging thought behind my head i may not fill up 40 tables!!! stress!

Annpaul,
Don't be stress! Hee. Relax. Perhaps you want to list your outstanding action items down? Then have a deadline for each. Hmm, I dont have VG coz I ask the bros to take them. You are renovating your house now? When is your AD? Hmm, though it doesnt sound nice, but you should have a so called 'backup list' coz there will definitely be people not coming after rsvp.

hi Viviann and Mona and any other GCW brides, can send me your packages as well? My email is [email protected] or [email protected] thanks in advance!!!

finally managed to download their standard package... I also just called GCW and asked them if they intend to have any wedding fairs or shows... they said tentatively they arrange on 25th March 2007, to be confirmed again... :D

faithz17 -- I think if I were to send u my package wudnt be much use cuz mine is going to be the 2006 not the 2007 one... But will send u a list of the perks i managed to neg n get... N I think if ur date is not that rush, go for the wedding show, can get more perks. I wished I had went for their previous shows...

Hi Annpaul,

I am in the midst of looking into booking a photographer for AD as well, I can share with you via email or PM you the few contacts I have, if you are interested.

thanks for ur package viviann... helps a lot in reminding me wat i should keep a lookout for... do you have pics of ur wedding???
can share the link??

Hi Bliss,

use the price mutliply by 1.1655 but this is for 5% GST...

just add another 2% for the GST hike...
=D

Hi Smiles,

I just had my wedding last year Nov. It is great! My relatives and friends are full of compliments on the food, decor and service. The banquet manager is very professional and even help me to look for my hubby after our photo taking, coz we minggle with our frens after that. My event manager is also very helpful following up with all the minor details that I might have overlooked. So, I definitely will recommend GCW.

I'm considering GCW for my wedding in 08. As i do not have many guests for my wedding, i will have to settle for the riverfront or Galleria Ballroom. Anyone had theirs there? Guess the popular ones are Waterfront and Grand Ballroom.

Will it be early if i make a deposit this month for my wedding in Apr next year or i should wait till the wedding show (heard that it's in Mar07?) to book to get more free perks? I'm just afraid that they will not have the date i want.

hi nami, who was ur coordinator/ event manager/ banquet manager?? not the same person??

actually jojo, you can try making a tentative reservation first... so you chop the date, but haven't nego the perks... then if he's a good coordinator, he should tell you about the upcoming show and advise you to wait till then... or you just tell them to hold the date first, then pending you to sign... then give lotsa credible excuses until March... then you have both the date and wedding show perks!! heh... ;p

Hi all ,

I have to decide either Hilton Hotel or GCW , anyone been to these two places? I only have 20 -25 tables.. i m not sure which ballroom they will give.
Anybody can give advise??

thank you

Hi Faith and Smiles,

Thanks! Both are different. The event manager is the one whom you met up with all these while to discuss about the package, tables etc. The banquet manager is the one who will be there the entire dinner making sure everything such as opening of doors for march in, serving of food etc is smooth.

My event manager is jeremy. As for my banquet manager, hmm i need to ask my hubby. Fogotten his name haha coz he was only introduced to us on the actual day and mostly dealt with my hubby. Coz I was busy with my makeup etc hahaha.
Let me check and update you gals tonight

Hi all...havent been to this thread for a while. I've found out the chinese name of GCW finally after going to the printer for the invitation cards! haha but i cant put it here coz no chinese software.

anyway can EX-BRIDES of GCW please send me pictures of your wedding if you had use Grand Ballroom, Paradiso Room and the outdoor place??? I wana see the deco and effects. Please please please send me pics can?

[email protected] thanks much much in advance

hey all...i'm using the Paradiso room for solemnization just before dinner in grand ballroom. now thinking of changing it to outdoor leh. but there's the construction outside. can anyone advise if outdoor is a good idea?? how does it look?

anyone using JUNE florist oso? did you top up the standard stuff given? the standard stuff doesnt look impressive. the flowers all so standard wan, like roses. hmmm...wanted something different leh. have pictures of your flowers and deco? please send to [email protected]

thanks much!

hello ladies...
Just want those who are planning to have their dinners @ GCW to know that it is a damn good choice...
I had my dinner last yr in June and my guests are remembers my wedding dinner instead of those we attended in Dec last yr or jan this yr...
really really great..
I had 50 tables... services were great...

have fun ladies...