Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

hazie...my coordinator also Sheena....very nice lady....

Just attended one of my friend's wedding dinner at GCW yesterday. Food wise it's ok but service is poor. Most guests are not served drinks when seated. Drinks are not re-filled when empty while the waiters stand at the side chatting away. Our table is full with 10 guest but short of 1 chair..During the food distribution, twice the waiter did not prepare sufficient serving plates. Used plates and spoons not cleared properly after each dishes as well.

Service got to improve.

I have read abt bad service sometime back....but why are they not doing anything abt it? Wonder when they are going to improve

tabbabee,
think its probably 1.5X numbers of table.

I'm looking for a wedding favours given by grand corpthorne waterfront. It is a pair of bear, A Groom and a Bride. I just need a pair.

The groom is "dressed" in black, whilst the bride is "dressed" in pink with a veil.

I need it urgently to use as decoration.

If you have it, pls PM me! Really urgent!

Thanks a mil in advance.

so quiet over here.
Would like to check what wedding favours did you gals take from the hotel?

For those who are considering GCW, heard from my coordinator they have jus released a new package for 2007/8. Generally an increase in all prices..

i havent chosen the favours yet. Any idea what they have? I hope to get some practical stuffs... cos some guests will just take and throw..

Hazie:
I have no idea too abt the wedding favours.. will find out when i go down tomroow to confirm booking

Mine is Jeremy. Urs?

Hi gals, i will hv my wedding at waterfront ballrm in Mar 2007, my previous coord is zephyr then change to Alvin. Usually when you meet the coordinator to confirm everything? (wedding favor, table arrangement, table cloth color, etc?). Coz i requested to meet the coord, but the coord replied that what is the purpose of meeting? He asked me to go directly to tdragon for invites and to the florist for the themes... Is it the usual practice?

I am thinking of doing my solemnization at GCW... the Promenade is beautiful but the concern is the construction site, abit unsightly

My wedding is in June 2007

Mona,

For the cards and flowers you have to choose them yourself, GCW does not do it for you. Table linens and favors can be choosen one month before the wedding.

Chovin,

I had my wedding at the promenade with the haze AND construction going on. So far my pics turned out quite nice thanks to my photographer.

Dreamer: not sure abt that. You can give them a call and check it out
but as far as i noe, the prices for GCW package next year has increased 20-30++ bucks

Mona: for cards, we can liase with t-dragons and flowers are done by June florist

Hi Hazie,

Thanks for replying to my request of sending the package. It was my oversight, didn't realise yours was for Grand Ballroom. BTW, we have signed up with GCW as well. Sheena is my co ordinator too.

I have fed back to Sheena about the poor service as I have heard my friends telling me about it too. Hope they'll do something to improve on that soon.

mona....yup tt's the usual practice, flowers wif peggy of june florist n cards wif t-dragon...

but to warn u t-dragon is more ex than other printers if u budget concious maybe u wan to chk out other printers first b4 confirming wif t-dragon, u can still take the cards fr them to print outside.....

Anyone 'feedbacked' abt lack of taxis to the hotels? Think they should change the position of the taxi sign.
When we went down to sign contract a couple of days ago, we waited sooooooo long for the cabs! No one turned in despite seeing so many empty cabs passing by!
Gosh. going to pose a problem on dinner night

I think it would be better by the time the dinner ends. Cos people will go chiong and the cabs will happily wait at GCW

i'm back....the wedding banquet was wonderful...no hiccups food's very good n service is not too bad....

good luck to all future brides...

hazie...thk u better not try coz i heard last time got couple got caught n fine for it n they got to compensate hotel for their loss.....

velynn...try to nego for a max amt...for mine i paid 500+++ for unlimited bottles coz mine is the grand ballroom n we drank abt 72btls..

Hi velynn, the new package is definately more expensive compared to the old one which goes by the head count for corkage count. Think can negotiate on this part to be lesser (like what stefy did)
If can confirm by the old one, better do so fast.
For me, me managed to sign on using the uob promotion:
-Free flow of beer,
- wavier of corkage for wine / liquior for subsequent bottles provided we buy certain bottles from them
So it all depends

Hi smiles,

Did they state how many bottles you have to buy from them? I signed up using the uob promotion too and can't decide if we should take the free flow of beer or wine still.

Hi cif,
yes they did,but we were thinking at least we ARE getting something out of them (wine), not jus paying corkage alone..
we also faced the same dilemna initially, you had to consider your guests drinking preferences, and the costs involved lor..
extra barrel of beer is def more ex than wine..
whos ur coordinator? whens ur AD?

Hi smiles and Stefy.. thnks for the advice.. will chk with the coordinator when i meet up with him... x my fingers... =P
Uob promo? is it still on?? free flow of beer... good deal leh....

Hi Smiles,

You have a point abt not merely paying for corkage
i wish I can ask my guests "wine or beer?" when they rsvp to help me decide, ha ha. My AD is 30 June 07, when's yours? My co ordinator is Sheena.

Velynn, the UOB promotion is now over, it ended sometime in late Nov. I heard that if you sign up during wedding shows, there's some savings of a couple of hundred dollars as well.

cif: HAHA! I wish i can do that too!

Mine is mid Nov. But is there wedding show by GCW coming up?
Aniway think it will be the new package.. which is more lugi...
only 1 night, min no of tables reduced to 35, corkage by per bottle..
but now i am a bit worried, stefy's guests drank soooo many bottles of wine!!
Stefy: how many tables did u have?

I am also signing up with GCW. My coordinator is Alvin. A really nice n funny guy. Easy to negotiate with, not sure whether is it cuz he is our fren's fren or he is always that nice. But though we didnt decide to sign on b4 the price increase he still gave us a really good package with alot of perks FOC and let me change alot of things on the menu. But maybe this is their usual practice. But I would definitely recommend GCW. Cuz initially we were thinking of Amara hotel too but the coordinator was difficult to negotiate n the ballroom wasnt all that nice... too small... so we decided to splurge more n get a better deal n place... Oh yah i wonder if anyone can share their package for 07 with me? I mean with all the perks they r getting? [email protected]

Oh yah

Gals juz so u know, GCW oso has a goldheart VIP promo with free extra LCD projector & extended nite use of the helpers room

I dunno whether we will really need it but no harm getting it free juz in case you might suddenly need it... Hee heee... Typical kiasu singaporean mah...

Hi Viviann,

Would like to share with you my package but I have signed up using the waterfront ballroom, so I don't think it'll be of any use.

Ummm...I think I don't have the negotiation power like you girls cos I am using the waterfront ballroom. The grand ballroom is really nice, good that all of you managed to sign up for that one

To all

I wonder if anyone managed to get free bots of wine without the uob promo? I thnk whether I shud ask for more anot... hehehe

CIF

I think whether u r taking the Grand ballroom or waterfront ballroom, theres no harm negotiating more... After all, we r spending like at least 10 to 50 k...

Rain

U've got mail!

snowbells, CIF, U've got mail!
Btw my package wasn't exactly the best cuz I didnt get the UOB promo with free wine or beer but I did my best! heehee