Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Hi pink, i've attended weddings in Grand copthorne waterfront. is that the same hotel you're talking about? its very nice and grand and classy. but i think have to fill up the hall then looks better. coz its big, if too little tables, it'll look abit empty. unless you fill the space with flowers and stuff. my view. anyway i've signed up with them coz like the feel there and the more exclusive location. away from town and all the buzz. got nice view compared to town too. =)

hi pink,
the ballrm that annpaul mentioned is the grand ballrm.
Riverfront shld be a smaller ballrm.
Mine is at the waterfront ballrm, save level as the riverfront ballrm.
The foyer is really very nice...very cozy...
alot of ppl like it...
Its diff fr the other hotels. Guests can sit around for a chat....N the place is big...
unlike other hotels, ppl has to stand ard.
How abt U contact yr coordinator to view the riverfront ballrm? the person who serve U in the show.
Else, U can look for my coordinator, Zephyr.
Quite nice lady.

Hello Kaye and annpaul, we have decided to give up the riverfront ballroom as we find that the room space is on the small side. We estimated to have about 220 or more guests, and worried that it will be too tight if we have it in riverfront.

Also, the hotel is not very flexible in granting us better perks, probably I think is because there is another couple on the waiting list to have the room.

hey ladies, i'm a GCW BTB. our wedding's in april 07 but i'm thinking of my invitations already. would like a theme for my weddin so thinking the invitation should reflect the theme too. from the thread, guessed T dragon is the appointed printer by the hotel? do they customise cards? is it expensive? or do they have a good range of cards to choose from? where is T dragon located? can i just drop in to see see the catalogue? we're still far away in april but just want to see see first. if cant find anything i like, need time to source for other printers mah. will they entertain even tho i'm just browsing? =P

Although I am not taking the riverfront room anymore, just to share a photo that I have taken. Its kind of simple, sweet and nice. But the walkway from the floor to the stage is short.

415837.jpg

i just signed with GCW.
one thing off my mind! asking GCW brides, my AD is in dec 07, is there anything i can do now?
like nothing i can do rite?
also saw many good reviews about the food..can i dont go for the food tasting since the food quality is quite reliable? is it too risky??
appreciate any advice..thanks thanks!

hi gals...long long time nv log in seems like this thread is very quiet now....

I need a favour...do anyone of you happen to have a map to GCW? its too expensive to purchase fom the printer...thk they charging $0.08/pc..

thanx a lot...

min...

u should source for a bridal studio now....start planning ur WG & EG design early...so that u can do your PS by Jul n get your album ready by late Oct or Nov....then no stress at that time

Hey Ladies,

Im actually interested in GCW.

Im looking at the Waterfront ballroom but the perks given are not very comprehensive compared to other hotel anyone knows if we can negotiate more of the perks? Is it true that food tasting need to pay 50% of the table price?

Btw anyone has any photos to share? (^B^)

Hi jen,

It true that you have to pay 50% for food tasting. But you can chose it as an option for your wishes given by the hotel.

As far as I know, they are quite strict on the LCD projector/screen coz they are new, so they have to charge unless you can have more tables stated than the required. For example, my wedding is on Thursday, considered weekday package 35 table (min).. right now, I may have 40-45 tables and Sheena has agreed to let me use for free if i have 40 tables and more..

I find that the perks given to me is comparable to other hotels... I don have any pics to share coz my AD is Dec...

hope the above helps..

**wave everyone**, how come this thread become ghost town liao

tannabee-wannabee (sharky_siak)

thank you for your comments.

btw which ballroom are you taking? R GCW flexible when negotiating the perks.

im taking the grand ballroom.. I can say that they are ok after you signed up with them only you have increase of tables.

coz my tables were 35 when i signed with them and thats the minimum... Now i mite increase to 40-45...

what kind of perks are you looking into??

My intention is to have ard 25-28 tables to be held in the Waterfront ballroom on a sunday, they forwarded me their package thur email after comparing I realized that have the corkage charges, some Hotel do offer waiver for the corkage. And I find that is quite a bad idea to charge us 50% for the food tasting, which most of the hotel is giving it FOC.

Jennifer...

welcome welcome....

the reason y they r charging is coz they dun haf a in-hse chinese restaurant n for food tasting they have to open a function for us....tt's wat my coordinator tell me...ha ha ha but i haf 50tables so she is giving me free food tasting...

u dun haf a lot of table so u can try to nego for some waiver of corkage like 24bottles...so u dun really haf to pay a lot....according to them they chrg corkage coz their in-hse wine is already cheap so i guess they prefer us to buy direct from the hotel but some hotel their in-hse wine is fr 50++/bottle so usually they will waive corkage as a perk...hope it helps

Hi Stefy

Thank you for reply.

Isnt corkages charges applicable only if we bring our own liquors or wines? You mean even we purchase the wines direct from the hotel, corkage charges is still applicable? Sorry if you find my question ignorance. Im jus too lost.

Actually 25-28 are only a rough number of tables din really seat down with hubby, in-laws and parents to work out the invitation list.

hi jennifer...

if u buy direct from the hotel then there won't be any corkage charge...but if u bring wine from outside then u got to pay corkage.....its just like a svc fee for the waiters to open n serve the wines...

hey gals!! sori MIA for a while..

busy w preps!!! my weddin is in less than a mths time!!! so many things to do still

plannin to mit up w my coordinator soon.. nw busy w invites and plannin the seatin arrangements hehe

hw r preps for d rest of u gg on?? hee

Hi Dazzle,

Resent!

Am not sure...they have a new boss on board..If u have fixed your date, you may want to book earlier..

Hi Dorami,
When is your AD? Mine is less than a month too hee. I just met up with my co ordintaor last Sat, view the ballroom setup, select the table cloths and wedding favours etc...hee

Nami.. mine is nov 22nd! when's yours liao ah?

i was there on sat too to select the table cloth n stuff!!!! hehe

so qiao...

aiya if i know then v can mit there hehe

hi nami/dorami...

long time nv chat here liow.....my AD is in 6wks time....so excited....

what wedding favours did you gals select.....me havent met up wif my co-ordinator yet....gonna go for food tasting tis wednesday...hope their standard is good....then meeting june florist next tuesday.....buzi buzi...

have u gals settled on ur AD wines? where did you get it fr?

Hi Stefy! hehe.. i'm d opp. leh.. as d date draws nearer i get lazier.. haha.. super lax leh me.. i oso dunno y.. slp a lot n chase korean drama hahaha

me choose d bears.. although my coordinator tell me d foto frame is d newest me n my hubby tot it wasnt tt nice

as for wine me hubby is settlin it.. so i'm leavin it to him.. as far as i noe he's tryin to get it fr a fren's fren who's a distributor

hi dorami....

me also these days been chasing korean drama....as a form of relaxation ha ha ha....

i just finished watching princess hrs & my girl....both veli nice show....have u watched them?

stefy.. me nw watchin princess hr.. haha.. sacrificin my slp.. so sleepy these days.. i only started watchin last weekend.. addictive haha

Hi Gals!!!
Dorami, my AD is 3 days after yours! 25 Nov...ya lor so conicidentally....didnt know that you are there too....oh did you go to the grand ballroom? I saw a couple there leh...hee not sure if its you keke.

Stefy,
I choose the couple keychain whereby they will put into a tin can. And we alternate the ket chains coz they have 2 designs.

Hmm, I settled my wine already. Getting from outside at consignment. When is your AD? Im counting down haha...excited keke.

which florist u using? which table cloth u choose? any brides who hv their wedding able to let me c their setup? my ad in jan... looking for ideas... thanks

Nami.. yup.. i did go up to the grand ballrm! haha but dunno whether d person u saw is me or nt lah.. wat time were u there??? cos i didnt c any other couple ard while there

Shers.. me usin June florist

Hi Shers,
Im using June florist too.

Hi Dorami,
So conincidental!!! I was there around 4 plus....are you with a lady coordinator? hee...

hey gals.....

just had my food tasting last nite...food's good....not much comments apart from the hersma sharksfin....decided to change to dried scallops instead...

will be using june florist as well....be meeting up with them next week to tok abt the details...anything that i can ask for more....??

gals, i also hv my food tasting last friday... food quite gd... but wan chge e cold dish for 1st dish... any suggestion?

my ad in jan, is it too early to choose florist & table cloths etc...

Shers.. florists u can visit early.. can visit both if u've d time

i didnt.. i went to June florist n decided on them w/o visitin stefis

table cloth u can choose abt a mth b4 ur AD.. then u can choose weddin favours etc at d same time

hi dorami how r u....

can i just check wat color u choose for ur table cloth....

me just chose mine....matt gold for VIP table + burgundy napkin n for other guest tables orange chiffon/beige napkin....wat do u thk???

hi hi...

i am going to discuss my package with GCW soon...can anyone advise me the package (with throw-ins)?

i am looking @ weekend dinner...my email is [email protected].

Kit - I am also looking @ 20 tables. The Waterfront is fine . Spacious...but there are 2 pillars...nonetheless, suggest that you go and check out the place... i like it the moment i stepped into the ballrooms area leading to WF ballroom... nice cocktail area too.

stefy.. my VIP table same as u

my other guest table is d 2-tone cream tablecloth w ivory napkins

i juz got a shockin call fr my coordinator tt today is her last day.. pengz..

DORAMI....who is ur coordinator???

i just met mine today...originally i wanted the pink table cloth but FH prefer the orange 1...

what wedding favour did u choose? i got the hugging salt/pepper then for my VIP table i chose a oriental looking small container...tt can put ring...hee hee hee..