Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

I recently tried bargaining for more stuff at GCW. Realised that the food tasting must pay 50%! That's about $400. Did any1 managed to get that waived off? Also they don't seem to give a lot of perks. I tried to get them to give me free flow of beer and stuff. But most of the things i asked for were rejected.

Did any1 have better luck while "negotiating" with them?

Hi Table (Desk),
I signed with GCW last year, same here my food tasting muz pay 50% and i din manage to get my free flow of beer and wavier of cockage fee for wine. quite disappointed too!

hi dorami....okies thanx...i need abt 350-400 cards so shld be a lot more ex...
u took the cards provided by the hotel ah....

will go next week to check them out wif hubby...

stefy.. yup.. there r 2 types.. 1 red n 1 cream.. can choose both if u wan.. i tink Nami did tt.. i only choose d red 1 cos my hubby like ang gong gong ones..

Hi Dorami & Stefy,
Yup, I did that 1 red and 1 cream. As long as the mould of the wordings follow the same direction, there is no extra charge.

Hi Sherl,
Can you send me the soft copy of your self-printed map and instructions too? Hee. thanks!

hey table...there's a promotion going on now coz of the wedding show in sept. there's options of free flow of beer or one bottle of wine per table or waive corkage charge for wine. thats the options given to us. cant waived the 50% food tasting coz they dont have their own restuarant and need to use a function room for food tasting. take it as rental charge loh.

Hi annpaul,

Are there upcoming weddingshow for GCW?
Can i have the registration infomation?

Anyone have 2007 wedding weekend package that can share with me?
Any wedding photos to share also?

My email: [email protected]

I went to negotiate with them. After much persuasion, I managed to get the following:

1) 2 nite stay at suite. But have to forgo the helper room and the 1 nite free stay when you use UOB card to pay.
2) Waiver of wine cockage
3) 30% carpark coupon

Hi princess ling, I had to some persuasion before he agreed to waive the cockage charge.

Ann Paul, the promotion you mentioned must use UOB card. And you must have at least 25 tables. At least that's according to the guy we spoke to. But he agreed to give us the cockage waiver even at 20 tables.

As for the food tasting, its quite bo hua leh. Other hotels are giving it free. So for me, I'd rather sign up with other hotels. Cos the dinner alone will cost $400 nett!!! In my opinion, thats not a good deal at all.

Too bad. Cos their package quite match my requirements. Only thing is the food tasting and refusal to give free flow of beer. One thing I like thou, is that they offer alot of choices on the decorations. June Florist is apparently quite good at their stuff.

Hi Belle,

Mine is only 20 tables. The price I got was about $840 (can't rem the exact figure). It includes all taxes.

You are probably getting the grant ballroom. I'm only looking at Junior Ballroom.

Hi Dorami,
Haven't leh hee. Actually wanted to but then last minute change of plans. Only manage to book HM. Next weekend will be collecting them
When are you collecting yours? Did you take the hotel's one or other designs?

There is a wedding show soon on end on Sept.
I just got the package from them. ya i will have to take the Grand ballroom and that is much more expensive. $808+++.
Hopefully during the wedding show the dinner could be much cheaper cos it it beyond my budget.
Do you think the wedding show will be cheaper per table?

Nami.. Latest Sept 11.. Connie say she'll try rush out for us by Sept 9.. hopefully can b by d 9th

i took d hotels's designs.. but i only took d red ones.. ur design is oso d hotel's?

Hi Dorami,
I think they should be able to rush it out. No worries. Coz mine came earlier than she promised too hee.
Oh I didnt leh hee.....i kpo lah look at all other designs and choose something different haha

Hi Table,
u managed to get the wavier of cockage fee? wow! i tried so hard but they dun wanna give me, no free flow of beer as well! so ya not getting Grand copthorne waterfront?
Ya, i agree that June's florist is quite good!

hey belle...you wont be able to cut the price per table even at the wedding show wan. only more freebies and perks. i know why i get more stuff liaos. coz i have 40 tables mah. get 2 nights stay, 2 helpers room overnight (1 room from the UOB promo), free flow of beer/free wine corkage/1 bottle wine per table. we havent decide on that. will taste the wine during food tasting also. yah loh. agree the food tasting part still have to pay half of the cost is a lot man. oh well. but i'm sure the food is good stuff lah.

hi princess,
Yup free cockage waiver. I sort of insisted on it, cos I'm already paying so much for the wedding. And someone wans to charge me $ for opening wine and liquer? I kept saying to myself "No Way"! But free flow of beer I didn't get. I also couldn't get the waiver off the food tasting. That is one of the factor that made me decide not to get GCW. I don't wanna pay $400 for food tasting when other hotels are giving free.

btw, share with you. I was only negotiating for the junior suite at GCW. I managed to get 2 nites stay as well.

Hi Table
Thats very good. I juz got 2 night stay at the bridal suite. is different from junior suite right? I also insisted on the wavier of cockage fee. but tink they know i quite keen on GCW, maybe thats y...

No la. My 2 nite stay is the same as ur 2 nite. THe junior suite i'm talking about is the smaller ballrom. Max can hold 28 tables. Urs is grand ballroom. If book grand ballroom, they automatically give u 2 nite stay. Have you signed up yet? If not try again to bargain for it. Cos all hotels i asked agreed on waiver of cockage. I think waiver of wine is very possible.

dorami....

me finally settle my invites liow....i pd $230 for 350cards hotstamping....+1 logo....cant really bargain with them coz they say its fix price...hee hee hee...

also settle my PS pics today spent abt 6hrs at the BS trying to select all the pics n bargain....tiring day man.....

stefy.. so u took d hotel design or sme other design?

dun forget to share ur pics w us when u get ur soft copy.. hw much did u top up? me stil waiting for my layout hee

Dorami..i took some other design....got 1 is red color with the couple in traditional costume 1.....
cuter then the hotel card...hee hee hee...

pics at...i top up 1.5k cash onli coz the rest i use other things in the package to exchange....will show u the pics when i get soft copy lah...but no so soon....

hi gers,

I just went for my food tasting last week.. Everything went well... Food was good.. Except for 2 dishes that I picked din really suit my taste... I picked the Crab Claw in Teochew Style and the Last dish as Glutionous Rice..

Gona go to T-dragon to choose and print the cards liaooo.. Any suggestions gers??

tannabee.....if u can afford better go down on weekdays....they can serve u much better lah....

heard from some other thread tt there is tis printer focal which is quite good as well...u might wan to check it out...
saw it in the dec06 thread...

Hi tannabee,
I went to T Dragon on a Saturday. Agree with Stefy that weekday will be a better choice. But I was quite lazy and just settle the cards over there hee. I just got my cards and everything goes well

Hi rain, i got a bridal suit for 2 nights and 2 standard rooms with one night each. can use both as helpers room or use one on that day and the other use on anniversary.

Does anyone of you have any idea if it is ok to put 11 pple in 1 table...hmm lets say if there is no choice coz 1 group? I wonder if it will be squeezy leh coz I have never went GCW for dinner haha.

nami.....can actually fit up to 12pax as theirs is the 6ft table...
so dun worry yeah...me gonna arrange mine in table of 12 also coz i feel table of 11 a bit weird coz most of my frens come in couples...

Hi Hazel,
We need to pay extra for the 11? I thot the price goes by per table unless the extra one is a Muslim or vegetarian?

Hi Stefy,
So did you pay extra? So are all your tables seated in tables of 12?

Hello, anyone had your wedding or attended wedding in riverfront ballroom? Is it cozy, romatic at night? I attended the wedding show in september. The ballroom looked bright and clean. Quite nice. But I am not sure if it is still so at night, as in the lightning in the room, atmosphere. Please share your experience with me.