Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Thanks Dorami..

I think the 2nd floor there were 2 couples getting married, another 2 on the 3rd floor and the grand ballroom was also occupied! So being very blur cos we forgot to bring the invite, we ended up going to all the floors hunting for the ballroom!

ok just a few more days to go...mine is on Sunday. Tomorrow spose to buy flowers and sat go for bridal car decor....i am a bit kan chiong as in "hurry, lets get it over and done with!" In a way quite sad, because after this there's nothing to look forward to. I had spent the last one year planning for wedding and it has been quite fun although stressful at times.

maybe shall buy a home and renovate. =)

milo, the deco was quite normal. Some flower stands and some flower deco on the stage. But I didn't like the pillars cos I couldn't see the stage at all. The projector for playing the slideshow was on the side, so that was ok.

ice..reali ah..*sad*
later my frens will be blocked too..
is d projector on both or one side? L shape or st8 march in?..mine is L shape...
sorri so many qns...

hehe thanks ice..then i will get my vg to do 4 mi a "live" telecast when i march in ..so tat guest who r blocked b able to c mi on screen when i march in and pour champ...hehe

At the start they were just showing repeats of the shots in the wedding album. Then before the second march in they had a montage of shots when they were young, etc. They didn't engage the VG to do highlights I think.

It was quite fun cos the couple got some of their best friends to give funny speaches.

milo,
i had the growing up montage b4 1st march in and exp highlights b4 2nd march in. Think the express highlights will interest all those (99%) who are not able to be there in the morning.

hello ladies...

weekend is here!!!!!
those who are going to be married soon, please come back in after ur're married ah! hahaa...

remember to drink lotsa water and always smile and stay happy okie...
ahahaha...

okie..take care and have fun ya ladies.. going to do my assignment liao..then slog....

Wow, u all write so fast.. almost couldn't rem if i posted here before. Anyways, I think I'll go GCW. Anybody who has done yr AD already can tell me how it went? Or what things to look out for and stuff like that? I read one thread cant rem who wrote it, saying the food is unique and her husband had a band.... can ask where did he put the band and how did they transport all the equipment to the hotel?

OH, my AD is 25 feb 06... but so far I think the service at GCW is pretty bad leh...I went down for appt twice already, BOTH times, i waited 30 mins each! For the staff to come down...in my case, its this guy called Jeremy... he's nice lah...but poor service compared to other hotels....

Main reason why still considering GCW is cos of the price mine's abt $78 nett per person.... cos its the smaller functions room.. riverfront.... and cos it looks very nice...plus got zouk downstairs...so my FH's frens can go down and party (since most are europeans and for them weddings end at 5am normally)

Where's everyone?

Bear's wedding this week! Congrats! Hope you are all ready...

Priscilla, most of the gals here having their wedding next yr... Mine was just over in Sep. Overall comments for food is very good, very unique but lots complaints abt service staff. One staff accidentally spilt fish sauce on one of my bosses' jacket. Luckily my boss din kick out a big fuss. Good thing is they offered to dry clean his jacket but he rejected the offer. No prob with mtg my coord leh, she's quite on time unless held up by prev apptm. think it depends on who your coord is.

My hubby arranged for the mini stage to be set up next to the main stage. He has to rent their own sound system from outside as GCW does not allow their electric guitars & keyboards to be plugged in to their system. They rented most of the instruments & the rental company transported all to the hotel. Tat's why I'm not even aware that they are having a performance!

Which other hotel you considering? Abt time to book rite since yours in Feb 06? Btw, Zouk is closed for renovation... Their last day was on my AD. Not sure when it will reopen...

odiey.. saw ur lovely fotos!!! nice nice!!

hee.. u got a very nice smile.. n d more i look at u d more i tink u look like wong li ling haha

ur hubby really romantic ah.. gave u such a nice surprise hehe..

hihi gals so busi tis week...
odiey i saw ur pics...beri nice...
i agree wif dorami ..ur hubby so lomantic...

i find look like a hongkong star leh...but cant remember her name...

which is the GCW wedding favour?

Dorami
tks for the compliments... think it's the effort of the make up artist and the photographer ;p

milo,
I chose 2 favours, the wedding couple magnet plus the photoframe...

hmm...interesting.. i tink i remember somethin stated like besides d normal weddin favours we have others.. i tot is juz wider choice to choose fr hehe

i thot it was better to alternate the favours so that a couple will not get the same thing...

Milo, one more mth to go... how's prep?

odiey.. i tink it's a gd idea.. hehe..

tryin to get hold of my coordinator.. gotta discuss my ROM thingy liao.. hai..

my wedding over liao....was so super fun on that day! the stupid red carpet nearly tripped me but im good with heels :P the waiters all very slow, cannot speak english, bring wrong things...but the mgr and supervisor all excellent man! sheena is excellent too and the food got good reviews from everyone! the garden lights spoilt but looks nice, i love the tealight stage decor from june florist, i love the lighting inside and the cool effect of the dry ice and lights and door opening....SOOOOO fun!!!!

so happy, just a bit wistful that it's over!

dorami
which day your ROM again? coming soon rite? All prepared? u MTM your ROM dress?

verie,
u will miss your wedding! glad that everything went well.

hehe like alot of things nt reali done...hmm..collecting my cards tis fri..will be writing invites ..confirm deco liao...wah like alot things floating in my head...
hehe my head big liao like tweety...

verie so happy for u...

Hi Verie,

You use the tealight stage decor very nice? I using that too...now confident that it will turn out nice liao...how abt the isle? I using the tree twik tealight..not sure if you know which one i am talking about...just wanna a tealight effect for the whole room...

Congrats verie.. great to hear everythin went well for u

odiey.. my ROM is 5th Nov.. less than a mth away liao.. mostly prepared.. wil b meetin my coordinator nxt tues to finalised d details.. hee..

mostly done.. invitations mostly out..went to buy a precious moment figurine as my cake topper yesterday.. my dress is MTM.. hee.. all ready.. like it a lot keke

milo.. invites is a big headache leh.. even for me.. juz ROM i oledi wana cry liao.. hai..

Morning gals...

these few days quite busy at work, no time to log in except occasionally for a peek... hahahaha

odiey, received your AD pics liao. They look great! Can really see the happiness in you and your hubby.
Now I see why the girls say you look like Li-Lin! Really got resemblance leh! And you have the cutest nephew! hahahaha!

milo, have you pressed the panic button yet? heeheehee. But think you got a lot of things all done liao, so dun worry too much. When are you collecting your album? must share ok? heeheehee

Dorami, how are your ROM preps going?

Verie, congratulations! glad to hear everything went well for your wedding! Haha, you confirm what I keep telling my FH, that I will go into withdrawal from missing wedding preps once my wedding is over. hahahaha! Did you take any pics of the tealights decor? CAn share?

Priscilla, I only took a couple of raw pictures from trying on gowns at my BS the other day, so not much to see. Share with you better shots after I go for my PS tomorrow ok.
Oh, and I think in terms of coordinator service, GCW is one of the better ones I've encountered. My coordinator always replies to our queries promptly and has never been late for our arranged meetings leh. PErhaps you might wanna highlight your concerns to Jeremy? I'm sure he has his reasons for being late.

verie, good to know that your wedding went well!

Gals, verie just reminded me about the waiters problem. I encountered the same thing when I went to the wedding dinner a few weeks back. Seems like they hire part-time PRC waiters. The worst is that the gal serving us can't understand much english. When we asked for wine glasses, she kept giving us the wrong glasses (beer, then brandy). In the end we just drank wine in the brandy glasses cos we already made her change the glasses 2 times, and too tired to explain to her!

Hi dorami,

You put in so much effort for your ROM hoh, really envy. Mine is a super simple one..just a few family members at the ROM and went for a expensive yet not nice lunch....so sian..dun really like my dress and flowers etc...didn't really prepare therefore turn out not something i wanted..

So when you will have your customary?

Sherl.. pretty much done.. gg to meet my coordinator nxt tues.. my guest list is growin by d day so tt's my biggest headache..

my dress is ready hehe.. yipee.. went for my 2nd fitting juz a few days back

btw wana ask u abt ur wine lobang.. did u mention star cellar??? hw much is ur per btl ah??? i went with my frens yesterday for wine tasting.. my frens are getting married in May .. wana noe wat's d usual price u gals buy

yipee.. dun envy.. u nv c a big hole in my pocket.. haha..

i'm so tired over d guest list .. hai..

my customary is 22nd Nov 06.. still a loooonnnnngggg looooooonnnnnnggg way haha

when's yours???

Sherl.. mayb u nd to update d table when u r free hehe

dorami..i had my ROM in 2003, 2 years later, which is 8Dec05, having my customarty...quite fun preparing though...but the sian part is everything i do, my FH only follow...guess thats is the problem with men...
so you hold your customary dinner at GCW also? BTW, i got my wine from parkers wine..good choice, even when i ask ard the other friends who drink wine...they import so better quality and price compare to winebos. price bet 15-17+..only 20% deposit..can call them at 65353987.

Dorami,

when you go star cellar, look for Alan. Very nice guy, and think he's the boss or manager, so he has more say, can give you better offer.
I bought the winfield red blend, at 14.50. Quite a lot of people take the wolf-blass, but I don't like the taste, so it's out. Try to order in bulk, and bargain for a better price then. I went in a group of four couples, so we managed to get some discounts.

Heheh... yeah, too many people liao, we have lost count again. hahahahhahahaha... let me have your PS details again later ok. I go update when I'm free.

yipee... Yup, it's more expensive, but seems like it's very good quality, apparently quite a popular choice among wedding couples. I cannot remember how much was the wolf-blass liao, but should have still been less than 20...

Yah, believe Wolfbass will be a good choice, but out of my budget so never consider it...
Now i am thinking to mixing my wedding favours ..which are the best choice huh? any comments? find the bears rather cute but useless

Thks gals for ur recommendation.. i'll go chk them out one by one hee.. at least i noe wat price range to look out for ..

yipee.. woah.. so ur AD comin pretty soon too.. muz b gettin all excited hee.. got PS fotos to share???
my FH is pretty much into d preps with me.. which is pretty lucky for me.. else i wld b very lost.. usualy i do my hmwork n he goes on d searchin spree with me haha

heheh... yipee, believe it or not, I've never actually seen any of the wedding favours! Will discuss with my coord again closer to my AD, as my coord says since my AD is next year, the hotel might have changed wedding favours again by then.

But I thought the magnet and photoframe that odiey used looked good and are quite useful as well - quite a good choice. My first preference is rosebud tea, but I dun think GCW has that favour....

Dorami, i still waiting for my album...PS in July but still waiting till now..sad right...usually they know you not hurry and AD not near, they will drag you..sian..will try to upload some when ready..

Sherl, last year my friend's wedding in GCW have a very nice fridge magnet, but my coordinator say no more liao...most likely would be keychains and maybe another 'useful' favour lah...will see again...
BTW do you gals be showing any montage? i have lobang for cheap projectors...GCW charging $300+++, i can get 1/3 of the price