Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

If u want to have the garden as the backdrop of the stage, think there is a max table number in order to have that arrangement. (i think less than 45 tables)

As for the min, weekday is 35, Fri&Sun is 40, Sat is 45
Max i think ard 60 or is it 65...better to check with the coordinator.

All GCW ballrooms have topdown glass walls (one side of the walls) to allow daylight into the room, so it is not like a typical seminar style function room.

anyone knows if Grand Cop. Waterfront is considered four or five star hotel??

My friend kept arguing that its a four star onli.

thanks for replying girls!

I thought it 5* too lor!! but u know there are ppl who act blur can give lesser ang pao mah
hahaha.... anyway my wedding over... wait till its her turn lor

Mag...i totally agree...most ppl will think that GCW is a 4* hotel...cos of "Grand Copthorne"...cos i think most of copthorne's hotel are 3.5* or 4* only lor...heheh

That is 1 of my concerns as well...wait we hold wedding at 5* and ppl tot is 4* and come with lesser ang bao...heheh :p

Hahah...Mag...i understand how we will really jump when we receive angbaos like that...but hor, usually angbaos from couple is always lower than singles... invite singles...no couples...hahha!

Thx BugBear & Xiao Min for the info..
If the location is so inconvenient, can also book a bus to actually fetch the guest from the nearly MRT station which i believe is tiong baru right?

bugbear

then why dun they eat one and half partion wil do! angry!!

So even bring kids and give onli adult share of ang pao! crazy ah!

I had my wedding in GCW in march earlier this year and u will never guess how much one of my colleagues gave me in the Ang Bao.

He gave me a $10 Ang Bao. He's an Ang Mo. I invited other ang mos too and they gave me around $60. Imagine the colleague who give me $10 still got the cheek to ask me if I made $$$ for the wedding? He asked me not once but twice! Heard from other colleagues that he eat the most, drank the most wine and beer.

hello CC2,

I tot the $30 ang pow tat i received from one of the guests is oredi very low until I read ur posting. mwahahahahahaha.....

Did ur ang mo friend intended to put in $100 instead but mixed up with our currency's color?

CC2,

In future if ur Ang Mo friend is not married yet and inviting u to hiw wedding,u give him a piece of big sweep in the ANg Bao can already.
So bad of him,doesn't he knows the culture here

Ah yo...CC2, that guest of urs is really something leh. Doesn't he ask around for the market rate?
very sad hor...to receive such ang baos.

My ang mo boss quite cute leh...they will come and ask us what they should do when being invited for weddings...or during chinese new year, what should they do, etc...

Sometimes i think if got angmo guests, wine and beer consumption will be higher...

Hi Piper,

Dun think so lar, $10 and $100 different in size and colour leh! Anyway, from his habits in office, can foresee that he's not that kind who will give $100.

Hi hakida,

He has been in SG for quite sometime, even though u not sure of the culture, can ask ard mah! Imagine he invited the office to his hsewarming and specfically state that guys must bring meat and beer and the ladies must bring soft drinks, chips or sandwiches.*roll eye balls*

Hi bugbear,

Understand from another colleague that he did asked him wat's the market rate and the other colleague told him at least $60 and in the end he still give $10! Really cheapo! Then those colleagues at the same table as him told me he drank the most and eat the most! Still got the cheek to ask me if I made any $$$ from the wedding! Not once but TWICE!!!

Hahah...this guy is really cheapo leh...still excusable if he is ang mo and don know the market rate...but after asking, still give only that amt...and still can ask if u made any $$... :p

Hi CC2,

Do u have any photos of ur wedding day BR decorations to show?Which florist and printing company did u go to?

Really?? Only $10. Wedding dinner leh.. he is so bad. Thought for hotel, min is $80?

Any idea how about Marriott? 5* also?

bottle

Marriott have to be a 5* lah... orchard central area somemore

Everyone,

I think angmo usually practice giving gifts leh....

Hi hakida,

I have sent the link of the photos to your hotmail account. I went for Stefii and Tdragon.

Cos mine is a weekday so some give $60 though it's still not enough to cover the cost.

CC2

yeah ppl will act blur give 60 want... some of my guests also gave 60.. just hope tat more guests will give 80-100 to cover back lor :P

My mom relative, the whole family came, 2 adults with 2 kids and gave $50! My mom say must note down clearly and next time her children get married will give her back the same and if the venue is restaurant then give $20 will do! hahaha...

Hhmm...but hor...do the kids get a seat? How old are the kids? I have nieces/nephews oldest is 6yrs old...i planning to put those with kids into table of 11...heheh...else if the kids also take up 1 seat...they family give $200 also not enuf leh

CC2, got the photos link. thanks!!

hayashi...i think most of the time we lugi on relatives...they will just give u a sum and the entire family attends the wedding...even the kids will take up 1 seat

their background middle range wan lor.. one 8 years old, the other 3 yrs old, but its ok anyway cos they give ang pao to my mummy not me :P

We din even know that the kids are coming. Some distant relative which mom was not very keen to invite but grandpa says just invite lor. If they want to come then come, dun come also never mind! Those 2 kids occupy 2 seats ah! The closer relatives are okie, some gave $500 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Apparently, that relative is not in financial difficulties,her sis who is not very well off gave $120 for 1 pax!

CC2

yeah... some relatives gives quite alot.. have to give credit to them too hehee..

maybe kids still young, thinking you cant get yr revenge in the near future mah..

my friends and i attended 1 close friend's wedding. one of my friend came with her parents and she gave $500/-.

i guess that close friends are still the best as i believe they do understand on the financial part for the newly-weds.

CC2, you use stefi and Tdragon? how are their services? could you show me the photos too? thank you!

CC2, can i view the photos too? i'm also interested in using Stefii's. Tks!

CC2, how was the feedback for your banquet? Recently heard from my fren that her colleagues were complaining abt the service, so a bit worried. those having their banquet soon better highlight to your coordinator...

Morning All!!

Yeah...i also feel that friends & colleagues usually will not let u lose out too much...they would at least come with something more or equal to the cost...i think usually we lose out on relatives, especially the elder folks lor...

Hhmm...I thought GCW no longer uses Steffi?? The last time i talked to the coordinator, she told me that they are not going to use Steffi already...i was also thinking of using Steffi if i booked with them

wats all the fuss about flowers with Steffi??? In my opinion, cant realli see the difference between roses wan leh... anyway all the florist will be using 'easy to find flowers' like lilies, roses, daisy... cant realli tell which is good or bad mah rite?

Heheh...mag, i think the only difference is their style of arrangement, etc...cos some florists end up having quite cheena lookin arrangements...also to see what kind of variety they have lor...some on have a few types of floral stands.

Bugbear

But you think huh.. now quite a number of btbs want the same florist... the arrangements scally all about the same ah... I think they have a mass similar designs for banq weddings wan lor..

true also lor...but sometimes some florists really got quite pathetic foral stands lor...but some very creative...even similar looking stands, they can add some touch to it and it will look better lor...

but for me..unless they have choices on florists, like GCW, else i wil just stick to their basic florists...won opt out and then go look for external florists...unless their deco is really that terrible...which i don forsee will be lor :P

bugbear

aiyeah sure got standard wan lah.. hehehe.. anyway u can onli see their design base on photos, if on that Big day, the one who decor the stands not good also come to the same lor
Dun get too stressed out by this issue ok?

i think the service for the hotel really depends on co-ordinator. my friend told me that he was the heng tai for one of his friends, banquet at GCW too. during the evening time, the bridegroom and him were talking to the co-ordinator, banquet manager, system adminstrator and a few others.

He was quite impressed that everyone came down for the briefing and at one go, the bridegrrom informed all of them what was his expectations and get them to test everything prior to the banquet.

My friend told me that for his own wedding at inter-con, only co-ordinator came and disappeared after that.

Hi psmissyou,

Their services were quite good. Steffi gave quite good advices and as for June, they din give any advices, just show us some photos. Stefii got more choices of stands. As I wanted a higher stand for the VIP tables, Stefii got a few choices whereas June Florist quite standard.

Hi KC,

Food was good though some guests commented that the Udon was not nice. The rest were ok and quite a number of them like the red wine duck. I guess sometimes it also depends on the chef's mood and the number of tables u have.

Hi odiey,

Service was good. Their banquet and catering staff were very understand and helpful. They try to help go fulfill to my needs and different request.

thanks CC2. i've received the photos link.

i've no idea who is the co-ordinator was but i guess we should let our own co-ordinator know our needs and wants early.

I'll b holding my dinner in the Grand Ballroom, but i only hv 35 tables(wkdays). Do u tink the ballroom will look very empty...?

tks...