Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

I also book GCW for my AD, but mine is a hi tea reception. I need some advice on ballroom reco, is anyone can help me?

Hi Lorrayne
The weekend dinner is ard $748+++, which works out to be $872... You shld check out their bridal show, usually ve discounts and more perks. There's one held jointly with Female Brides somewhere in Oct. Not sure if it's over. You may wish to call them and check.

Hi mag,

Yah, GCW getting more ex cos they are becoming popular. calculated the pricing per head, is almost equiv to Conrad pricing.

Anyone here booking wedding with Grand Copthorne Waterfront ?

I have a Paradiso solemization package to transfer:

High tea for 50 pax
1 night stay in bridal suite

worth $3800!!!!!

selling it off below half price ..

interested???? pls contact me at 98778060
(note: must book wedding dinner with GCW...but solemization need not be on same day with dinner)

voucher valid till 10 Oct 05
first come first serve basis !

i'm a newbiz in the thread..

I'm too considering GCW for my AD on 1st May.. have view their ballroom last week.. it was gorgeous.. talk to sheena too.. yep, she's a nice lady and mades you feel comfortable.. the price for weekend is 840 nett but the confirmation must be done before 10 Nov 04..

The long march in and red carpet is soo ideal for my militiary march in concept..

anyway, i'm still contemplating GCW, Sheraton and Fullerton..any comments out there..

GCW location might be inconvenience.. *sigh*..

Hi Ivy
U seem to like the ballroom a lot. So what's holding u back?
I ve attended a wedding at Sheraton Towers before but I do not like the ballroom becos of the odd shape. But the food is good. As for Fullerton, the price will be much higher for weekend. Plus the aisle is very short compared to GCW.

I personally like the big and spacious ballroom. Feels very grand.

Hi Ivy,

if u are worry abt ur guest who do not have transportation,u can consider catering a coach or mini bus for them.....Those guests who have their own transporrt shouldn't have any problem at all.There is actually free shuttle service from orchard to great world city,ur guests can also walk to GCW from Great world city,it's within walking distance.
217422.gif

Hi Odiey and Hakida

I have decided not to take up Fullerton cos of pillar blockage at the staircase.. the guest at the side might not be able to see when the couple first march in and also the coordinator doesn't encourage dry ice effect so it gonna be a plain and simple march in..

As for GCW, my HB and I like the ambience and ballroom. Long aisle is most suitable for our militiary march in but the prob is the food quality and also, ppl might not know that it's a 5* hotel (as u know the surrounding area are mostly 4* hotels) so ppl tend to accomodate on the angbao amount.

Sheraton is most ideal in terms of location, food and price but.. the ballroom layout is a minus point..

Sigh..

HI ivy,

ya, it's true abt ppl's misconception abt the hotel not 5*. As for me, it shld not be a prob with frenz and colleagues, except relatives. And for relatives most likely they will give the same amt no matter which hotel, so can't be helped.

So far all the feedback I got on the food is quite positive. My fren just attend a wedding there recently. So dun ve to worry too much.

Have you considered other hotels? Pan Pac, Regent, Merchant Court, Mariott also not bad.

Yo Odiey

Regent & MC do not have the dates available. As for Marriot, heard that their service on the AD was pretty bad and as for PP, it's undergoing reno and many ppl complain abt the coordinator service.. in fact, i can't have best of both world..

my fren also ask me to go for GCW cos the ambience and layout is better. As for the food wise, it's really up to individuals. Sheena, the coodinator from GCW personally tell me that ppl feedback the food was kinda salty cos it was prepare by cantonese restaurant.. so, I just have to take note of this area..

Surprisingly, Sheraton is cheaper by GCW for weekend rates if we calculate per person. GCW is charging $84 nett whereby Sheraton is charging $81nett (cos Sheraton is 12 person to a table)..

i got some queries for wedding lunch at GCW ..
i'm wondering ...
did u gals that sign up with them negotiate for more stuff ?
i'm not too sure of wat to ask ..
can help me with this ?
thanx ...

hi ck,

tiz is from my own experience - firstly, u need 2 know wat is ur budget and no. of tables u req'd. this will help u 2 shortlist a few hotels u need 2 see.

once u selected, u will wan 2 know wat u wan the hotel 2 provide. there r a few tings tat u wan 2 compare besides the ambience and location.
the following will affect ur costs:
- beer eg. free flow or complimentary
- wine corkage waived or not
- food tasting eg. for how many pax
other items will be:
- bridal suite
- parking
- invitation cards
- gifts for guests
- wedding coordinator's day room
- theme
- seat covers
- table arrrangements
etc etc...

Just go 2 a few more hotels and u will b very experience liao...

thanx irene,

hi JL,
ooh ... i have not set a budget ... since mine is only 5 tables for wedding lunch ...
i'm assuming it'll cost me around 700-900

i been to a few wedding shows ... but min is 10 tables at least ...
so i dun qualify ...

reason i choosing grand copthorne ..
is cause i won the paradiso solemnization package ..
and in order to use this package i gotto have my wedding banquet with them ..
and jeremy from grand copthorne is a nice guy ..
he able to arrange for a wedding banquet of 5 tables ... in a private function room ...

wedding lunch (8 course) 728+++
500+++ for decor, champagne & dummy cake
8+++ per glass of beer
wine corkage waived ...
no hard liquor for me ..
deluxe room ..
60% invitation cards
25% parking coupons ..
gifts are chocolates or cookies ..
he never mention about themes ..
seat covers are complimentary ...

the above are quoted to me ...
i've not negotiate for more stuff ...
wat should i ask for ?

hi ck,

i'm not sure abt ur winnin cos' seems 2 mi u still paying for quite a lot lor. i tink this is more like the weddin dinner package than a lunch package leh, except we got the ballroom while u r in a "function room"...but probably cos' u hv only 5 tables la.

my suggestion is tat u should discuss w ur hb whether u willin 2 spend so much on just the solemnization. unless u dun hv any weddin banquet to hold in future, i will encourage u 2 take this up la.

otherwise, i dun tink its worth 2 spend a few thousand dollars (assuming each table is $728+++ x 5 tables and drinks) just on solemnization lor.

no offence, but it more like a marketing gimmick to mi than a real lucky draw winning....

hi ck,

i'm not sure abt ur winnin cos' seems 2 mi u still paying for quite a lot lor. i tink this is more like the weddin dinner package than a lunch package leh, except we got the ballroom while u r in a "function room"...but probably cos' u hv only 5 tables la.

my suggestion is tat u should discuss w ur hb whether u willin 2 spend so much on just the solemnization. unless u dun hv any weddin banquet to hold in future, i will encourage u 2 take this up la.

otherwise, i dun tink its worth 2 spend a few thousand dollars (assuming each table is $728+++ x 5 tables and drinks) just on solemnization lor.

no offence, but it more like a marketing gimmick to mi than a real lucky draw winning....

hi jl,

think u got me wrong ...
my solemnization prize is high tea for 50 ppl and 1 night stay at the bridal suite ..

the package i mentioned on the previous posting is for the wedding lunch banquet ...
i'm enquiring on the lunch banquet ... not the solemnization ...
for the solemnization .. it's really free ....
as long as i have a wedding banquet with them ...

is it still confusing u ?

oic...hehe...mayb mi blur 2...but now i understand liao...

but then why the condition tat u must hv the wedding banquet if its free leh???

anyway, the most imprt ting is wat u want lor. like mi, costs is impt. so i always wan 2 ask for free flow beer and free corkage. but some other pple may think tat these r not imprt, they may want 2N stay in bridal suit. so, it depends on wat u wan, then u negotiate. of course, u can try 2 ask for as much as u wan, but end of the day, just make sure tat those tat u really wan, u can get it lor.

Hello Everyone!
Thinking about using the Paradiso for my solemnisation. Anyone has any pictures to share please? I am not in Singapore and I desperately want to see how the venue looks like before I pay them the deposit...
Please, pretties?

Hi Everyone

Does anyone know what is the corkage charge for per bottle of wine bring in during wedding dinner?

hi ck, wow, you are that lucky person who won the solemnisation package at the Female Brides bridal show is it? I am holding my solemnisation there too but no high tea needed as I am doing it just before the dinner.

Hey any of you guys with Grace? Is she nice? I was with Chris but he has been transferred to corporate side. *sigh* kinda liked him he very jovial, just that he not into details and he always forget who i am.

Do you think I should pay $500 to decorate the Paradiso for solemnisation? Also, any of you guys ever served cake (your own) and drinks after solemnisation? I was wondering whether I should do that as the wait between solemnisation and dinner is a couple of hours, i scared the guests die of hunger!

Hi Martha

I'm having my solemnisation before my dinner too! I'm having it at the promenade instead of paradiso. Wanted a outdoor solemnisation. My co-ordinator advised us to hold the solemnisation around 630 so that the guests wun have to linger around too long before the dinner starts and thay can directly proceed to the pre-dinner cocktail after that.

hi ice, is yours like a christian service thing? Im thinking if it takes like an hour then 6+ may be too late. I LURVED The promenade its so romantic and nice, but scared the weather in October may not be sunny and fine and i'd hate it if it rained and had to be transfered indoors and dun get my money back
so we decided on Paradiso.

Hey btw, anyone knows if we have to include makeup artist and coordinators etc for banquet? Do they hang around to eat or do they leave after they finish up with your makeup?

Thx!!

Hi Martha
Yup.. Its supposed to be our solemnisation by our pastor... But it'll be a simple one as we're only inviting very close friends and family to attend so we dun think it'll take that long. I'm also afraid that it'll rain but since we're getting it for free, might as well take it!

Based on my the weddings that I've attended, the make-up artists normally leave immediately after they finish, so I dun think you have to include them. Don't know about co-ordinators... Maybe they should be too busy on your wedding day to eat???

hi ice, hey how'dya get the promenade for free! I begged and pleaded with the coordinator but he say must charge me 500 bux! arghh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

so ok, the makeup artists usually goes after the job lah...

can i know about your solemnisation procedure? i am a new christian (few years only) so dunno much about this...
thx!

Martha,

I'm not too sure what your arrangement is but for us if the weather is bad that day we're just holding it at the ballroom. As they do not need to set up/block out any other rooms, I guess that's why they are giving it to us for free. OUr arrangement in the contract was that thry'll provide only 30 chairs, and a table. Additional deco has to be seperately arranged.

Hee.. I'm a new Christian too, so can't give much advice!

Morning Gals!

I am thinking of having my wedding at Grand Copthorne this year end.

Can any ex-brides or brides-to-be pls share with me your experience with GCW?

What are the perks they give?

Appreciate if you can share your photos with me too.

Many thanks!

Morning Gals!

I am thinking of having my wedding at Grand Copthorne this year end.

Can any ex-brides or brides-to-be pls share with me your experience with GCW?

What are the perks they give?

Appreciate if you can share your photos with me too.

Many thanks!

bug bear, you gotta go for the bridal fairs. I went for the female brides one and they gave free corkage for all alcohol, one free table and some other minor freebies. However, I couldn't get FREE USE of the promenade like ice did!

Bugbear,

The last time I heard from my co-ordinator in Feb, there was a supposed to be a fair in April/May, but it's cancelled. Think you might have to call them up to ask. My co-ordinator was also trying to arrange for us to sign the contract at the fair so that we can get more freebies, but too bad they're not having it.

Ice, your coord so nice. Try to arrange for u to sign your contract during the fair.
Who is ur coord?
When's your AD?
What are the perks u getting now?

Mind sharing with me what exactly made u decide on GCW? I have shortlisted a few hotels, but i just can't make up my mind which to commit.