Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

hayashi,
no. i've not even gone down to the florist yet. quite busy with work. when am i supposed to go to the florist?
i thought since that my AD is in Dec so can wait. hee....

allison
I am holding my wedding solemnisation and lunch reception at GCW in June. Will be using the grand ballroom (4th level) and will have the stage right in front of the 'mini garden'. I must admit that it might look a little boring with just the garden as backdrop, that why we decided to pay the $500 extra for floral decoration on stage and along the marching-in path.

so, to sum up :-

florist : 1 to 2 months before AD
food tasting : 3 months before AD.

right?
anything else to take note? ever since i placed the deposit 3 months ago, it seems that there is nothing much for the banquet except to wait for food tasting and to the florist for the wedding theme.

oh! when to chose the wedding flavours?

psmissyou,

you've left out the card printing.....

We did ours 3-4 mths b4 our AD.....we a bit more KS lah....just wan to make sure that we have enuff time to write & mail out the invites.

oh ya hor.
so it will be as follows:-
florist : 1 to 2 months before
food tasting : 3 months before
card printing : 3 to 4 months before.

btw, any of you used hard liqour on AD? duty free?

could anyone suggest any coordinator in this hotel who is gd and easily negotiable one????....

thanks......

Mag,

does the florist and the invitation cards suppliers go down to GCW to meet up with u or do u have to go down to their shops instead???

Hayashi

you have to go to the invitation cards supplier shop (at city hall area) you need to give them the details like chinese/ english names, dates, venue, no. of cards, wat kind of colour you want for the wordings and how many kinds of invitation cards you want cos some couples want both red and ivory cards given by the hotel and of cos you may also find a lot of different cards in the suppliers shop too (chrgable lor).

As for florist, my salesperson arrange florist to meet us at the hotel cos quite troublesome to go down to the shop (quite far) lor.. we select the settings and flowers base on the pictures she show us. As for colours of the flowers, i went to florists near my wrokplace to chk out lor... so no need to visit the florist Hotel appointed anymore

pinkcoco,
i didn't know that they have a new florist,do they have a website for us to view??
i also have not decided which florist to engage.

I'm negotiating with the co-ordinator for our wedding banquet at GCW. Need to know if anyone managed to get more parking coupons? Our co-ordinator is not accomodating in terms of that. Also, did anyone managed to get a free upgrade of the suite since there is so much complaints abt the one they are offering?

Appreciate your inputs. You can email me at [email protected]

Hi Hayashi!

Er... I don't think GCW has a website on all 3 florist for us to view. You can check out their individual websites though. But don't think June Florist has their own website and also, you won't get much info from there.

Best thing to do is to visit each of them to see their works. I have only visited Steffi's and Cocoon. Both are not bad.

I've just attended a wedding banquet few days ago. Sad to say the food is no good, considered the fact that it is a high class hotel (don't know 4* or 5*). All GCW BTBs, pls highlight to your co-ordinator on the standard of food ya? Service is still acceptable tho..

i just happened to drop by.
i had my wedding at GCW last sept. my coordinator was Kathy. she is nice, helpful and negotiable. the only thing she couldn't give me more was the parking coupons cos they got ltd parking spaces.

so odiey, u may wanna take note. we did ask for extra coupons but the extra ones are chargeable at $4 a piece. anyway, we didn't even finish the 180 pieces that they gave us.

hi karuri,

tks for the feedback. 180 pcs of car park coupons is definitely a lot. Your package seems to offer more than 20%. Based on my est 400 pax, 80 pcs (20%) is not enough. That's why we are concerned. Will still try to bargain somemore.

hi odiey,
my estimated no. of guests is 560. i tot it's 30% of total no. of guests? anyway, she rounded up the no. for me to 180 cos we keep saying it's not enuff. hee...

Hi odiey,
i was given 30% of total no. of guests. mine is about 60 tables this coming december. my co-ordinator is aili

Hi Niuniu, do tell us more on the taste of food and why it is no good so that the brides of GCW could inform their co-ordinators to be more aware.

Hi keruri, how's your whole wedding? anything for us to take note?

Glad to hear abt your input. I was told 20% is the max. Will feedback to my coordinator.

Now I'm concerned abt the food. Niuniu, pls elaborate more leh.

ok ok ladies.. here you go.

1. Cold dish - quite ok. The normal food with ok taste. I'll give them a pass.
2. Shark's Fins - too starchy, not much fins & crab meat got lots of shells. Not hot either. So I failed them.
3. Braised chicken fillet - cold & too saltish (even tho I luv saltish food). So I failed them.
4. Black pepper scallops with pines nuts & pods - scallops so small, pines nuts so small & pods also so small & yet they put in big serving plate. Presentation fail. Scallops got no black pepper taste also. Fail!
5. Mushrooms with vegetables - taste not too bad except too starchy. I'll give them a pass.
6. Yellow Bean Sea Bass - Fish very big, yellow bean sauce tasty & it's hot. Give a grade A for this dish.
7. E-Fu noodles - Tasty & hot. Give a grade A too.
8. White fungus with mandarin orange slices (can food) - too cheapskate. I'll fail them.

So you see I only give grade A for 2 dishes, a pass for another 2 dishes & fail the other 4.

I went for a weekday banquet. Wonder if the food taste differs for weekdays & weekends coz my fh went there last year, he said it was not bad with some dishes good. So you ladies, if you happen to be having the same dishes, pls feedback to your co-ordinators to note the above. No offence intended. Just sincerely wanna help.

Mine is 16 tables at Riverfront ballroom. It's a weekend dinner.
Does anyone of you who is also 16 tables and are entitle for a suite?

To all brides of GCW,

which printing company did you choose for printing the invitation cards? i was told by my co-ordinator to go to Tdragonscards as they already have GCW cards.

however i read in some other threads regarding printing of invitation cards and Tdragonscards seems to be of a disappointment. Not too flexible and most importantly not detailed enough...

any GCW brides face the same problem?

hi Qoo,

mine is ard 15 tables at Riverfront too.It's on x'mas day.I tot as long as u book a ballroom with them,u are entitled to their Bridal Suite .

hi psmissyou,

i have forgotten when is ur wedding day.i have not met any printing company yet,so can't tell u also.

Hi hayashi,

no lah.... i just happened to click the thread regarding printing company to do some 'homework' tryin to find some custom made ang baos.

My co-ordinator did ask me to go to Tdragoncards and they already had their invitation cards liao.... so when i was reading the thread, i was suprised to see very negative results regarding Tdragoncards therefore wanna check with the brides here...

Hi PSmissyou,

I sent my Card to Hitech at Ang Mo Kio to print. i save around 25% money.. nto that much.. Tdragon quote me $1.40 for a simple hot stamping.. which i felt is quite ex. I don't really feel Tdragon is not flex.. i just felt they quite blur...

Hi HAYASHI HAKIDA,

I was told given a dulexe room only ;( ..you sure they give u a suite... ? Should i demand for that too... hmmmm

How about 10 tables?? Do you think can hold small scale wedding @ GCW? I asked few hotels, they directed me to the chinese restaurant instead.

hi psmissyou,
sorry for the late reply. my wedding banquet would have been perfect if the curtains had been more "guai" and stayed open that nite. the curtains were drawn the whole nite due to some technical fault so the guests couldn't see the lovely garden view. so rem to ask them to check the curtains.

as for the printers, i shortlisted and visited jasvy, tdragon & hi-tech(non-appointed printer). i went to tdragon in the end cos jasvy refused to go down on the price for me. hi-tech is in amk ind'l park, if i make > 2 trips (to-and-fro) there, the savings would have been spent on cab fare to that place so not worth it. tdragon, altho pushy in sales, is less troublesome for us cos they already have the invitation cards. their cards turned out all right and gave us some freebies too.

hi psmissyou,

i have received the mails from my co-ordinator too.most probably i will wait untill august then go down and laise with them

keruri,

so which printing company will u advise?which is more value for money without giving problems or delay?
what about ur florist?Any photos to show us???

psmissyou,

i heard quite good comments from stefii florist.those ex-brides say there are more creative and friendly.

hayashi,

i guess that different people will view things differently. i will check Jasvy out as they do have custom-made ang baos. Comments for Jasvy are that though you can't bargain much with them, they are prompt, flexible and give good ideas and service. will keep you updated.

i did heard about stefii florist being more creative. yet to look into florist though... as i need to do up my solemnisation room too, will need to do some good bargaining.

hi hayashi,
i prefer t-dragon. more value for money & not much hassle. wedding cards are not my top priority so my choice was based on cost. anyway, my view is not many pple will keep our wedding invites after our big day is over. diff pple may have diff views on this lor.

stefii wasn't one of GWC's appointed florist at my time. i used June florist then. their flowers deco are typical hotel std lor, i would say they are nice. if u wan anything fanciful like what u see from magazines, those big roses interwined with ferns & organza, etc, u gotta pay more lor. i dunno abt stefii, u can ask them. but June florist is quite flexible to me cos we manage to work something without me forking out extra money to do up the additional solemnization room.

i oni have a few photos that show the florist's works. here they are:
1. Floral arrangement outside Paradiso (Solemnization room)
107205.jpg

2. Flowers along the aisle & stage view of GB
107206.jpg

3. Floral arrangement on stage
107207.jpg

If u are having a straight march-in, take note of the floral piece that you choose cos the one we chose (see 2nd pic) obstructed one of the projector screen on the same side. So do take note of this.

keruri,

the second pix is ur wedding?quite nice what..
i am quite easy with the invitation cards too,no need very fanciful one.
what about the the centrepiece for ur guest table?
bascially,i need one florist that can do up the arrangement nicely without paying for any extra cost.

Hi keruri,

you had your solemnisation in GCW too? did june florist charge you extra for the flowers arrangement at the solemnisation room? you stage looks really nice.