Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

happe

HI 2003bride,
I think the pricing is out already. THe 2003's pricing is valid from Sep 2002 through 2003.

happe

I've checked it... it sez $718+++ for the weekend menu (for 45 tables).

happe

Hello cldc75,
the weekday menu is $598+++ (for at least 35 tables, I think), and is effective from 7 Sept 2002 to Aug 2003.

happe

Hello 2003bride,
You can try negotiating with the Coordinator. Both my FH and I actually have fewer than 45 tables. We were targetting about 35 tables, but we loved the place so much, that we decided to book it anyway. So initially, we told them that we would take out some tables for another occasion (eg birthday celebration) prior to the wedding.

But now... our guest list gets longer and longer, so we won't need to do that after all!
The Coordinator also negotiated with us to have at least 42 tables + 2 reserves.

With regards to number of tables, 45 is just nice for the L-shaped walk-in. However, if you have more than that, it will be the straight walk-in. If so, the ballroom can take up to about 55 tables, I think

bunnie

hi 2003bride,

i doubt they'd accept a 40 tables for wkend. when i spoke to them in november, it was 45 n they seemed pretty strict abt that.

anyway, when i booked my din reception wif GCW in november this yr, there was a promo wif dbs card. so long as u pay the deposit with any dbs card, u get an extra barrel of beer, extra nite stay in d hotel, $30 off per table, etc.... not sure if they'll hv a promo again tho.... thought u'd like to know....

cheers,
bunnie

Z

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Anyone had a deal with GCW? Can you advise me what to look out for? Who did u liase with? Thanks.

wombat

Has anyone used Grand Copthrone Waterfront? Are they flexible in designing menu to suit a budget? comments about their service??

bubbles

hello Wombat,
will be holding our wedding there in less than a month's time. I'm sure it'll be ok to negotiate with them about the menu

So far, we have pleasant experiences with them. Very nice people... but can't say very much until after the wedding

wombat

Hi bubbles,
So is yours a weekday or weekend pkg? I'm considering a weekday pkg. What extras did you get in addition to the std item? Hv you tried their food?

bubbles

hi Wombat

mine is a weekend package. can't really remember the extras off-hand, but will check it up for you later... but I made use of a promotion about a year back which gives us an extra barrel of beer .... and some other things that I can't remember.

Also, just went for my food-tasting last week. Was really nice -- enjoyed the courses! very tasty

springly

Hi Bubbles, glad to hear from you that the food at Grand Copthorne is nice. Is it more like Cantonese style? Which package did you have? My MIL is quite particular about food, thus we've to be very careful on this. Btw, did your parents or in-laws went for the food tasting too?

Hi Wombat, Bubbles, who did you all liase with? I talked to a lady (quite small size) and yes, she's able to design a menu based on our budget. But the thing is she hasnt got back to us. It has been almost 2 weeks.

bubbles

Hi Springly,
I took Menu 2... my fiance and parents all felt that it was the better menu. But, we might make some substitutions from Menu 1
On the whole, everyone enjoyed the dinner -- my parents and his family
Hope you will like it too!

As for my coordinator -- the person we liaised with was Grace Wong. She has been quite helpful. We will be seeing her tomorrow to finalise some of the details

wombat

Hi Bubbles,
Glad to know of the +ve things like good food and service. I have not meet up with them yet. So far Grace Wong has been feeding me info through e-mail correspondence. But will most likely go down this week.

Springly - What budget did you give them? I am surprised they took so long to come back to you. Guess you are like me scouting around

BTW, do you know what is the normal practice if you don't meet the min tables specified on the actual day? my current estimate is very close to 35 which is their min for weekday.

bubbles

Hi Wombat,
we had a similar problem with meeting the number of tables... but managed to negotiate with Grace. Try to discuss with her.

We were afraid that we were not able to meet the number of tables, so suggested that we would take some tables out for another occasion (eg. to celebrate a birthday), but the catch is that you have to use these tables BEFORE the wedding.

Anyway, we didn't use it eventually. Somehow.... you'll meet the required number of tables

Looking forward to meeting Grace tomorrow and finalising the plans... will keep you updated

choo choo train

Hi Wombat..

My wedding was held at Grand Copthorne.. The food we had for the foodtasting was ood. but... the standard for the actual dinner was not the same..

However, GWC scores for the ambience... We had a very memorable wedding.

wombat

Bubbles,
Thanks for sharing the creative way of meeting the min.

Choo Choo Train,
I guess I will have settle for the so-so food if I choose hotels as their selling point is really ambience. We are also considering restaurant where guests will get good food. But then I am not sure if we will have a memorable wedding like yours if we choose the later.

bubbles

Hi Wombat,
went to see Grace already, and discussed the other banquet details -- flowers, decor, table/napkins ..... the lot! If you need to know anything specific, just ask

got the guest book from her... looks quite nice. And also requested to see the rooms ... very nice

Hmm.... that's about it I suppose ... enjoy!

neko

I've attended a wedding last year at GCW. The ball room is very nice. The foos is okay.
Does anyone know what is the min number of tables that is needed for weekday package?
I heard that it is 35.
I think I can only have about 30 tables. Can I negotiate with Grace to reduce the min no of tables to 30? Based on what term that I can negotiate with her?

fanasia

Hi Neko,

Grace is pretty flexible...I have already booked my banquet with Grand Copthorne...got the wkday package as well..
She can reduce the tables but not to 30..I got her to reduce to 33...tried to get it to 32 but she says really cannot...

Just voice out to her..i believe she's ok to do changes to accomdate our terms...or she can help you to make some other arrangements..

fiona

Just attended a wedding dinner at Grand Copthrone. Really impressed by the place. Upon reaching the hotel, a hotel staff is quick to approach you, to guide you to the ballroom. THe stage was beautiful. In the beginning when the curtain on the stage is closed, not so impressive but when it was opened... WOW!!!! The backdrop is breathtaking. The food is really good. Quite different from the usual wedding dinner.

Would love to hold my wedding there but too bad, I'm married.

delannie

Hi HI all
I heard that GCW ballroom is really beautiful! GCW is also one of the hotel that i am really interested. The only thing that is holding me back is the location, do you think it is abit inconvenience to get there?

orchid

Hi Delannie,

the ballroom is VERY beautiful! I really liked the hotel. the only reason why I didn't take CGW is because they have quite a big min. table booking, and I only needed 25 tbls. I've decided on Holiday Inn Parkview.

It's not very inconvenient. Lots of busses go there. Besides, it's worth the inconvenience - it's really nice.

delannie

HI all, can i have Grace Wong no? I thinking of going to GCW to take a look. Any advise? Actually im deciding Amara & GCW. Any idea how mch for a wkend package & i have abt 45 tables.

tinki

Hi Delannie,
i went down to GCW on friday to discuss e package w e sales manager, her name iz Sheena Tan. no iz 62331057. After e +++, e wkend package iz abt $820.

I personally like e ballrm,iz veri big n new. looks veri grand. i m lookg at 45 tables too n they can do a L-shaped walk-in 4 us. I feel tat w e back drop n e L-s walk-in, iz really sthg different frm other ballrms. y dun u go down personally n take a look?

delannie

Hi tinki, do u think i can negotiate or ask GCW to help me to work out another price that can meet my budget? I can only afford $800 per table and furthermore nx yr GST is abt 5% therefore i believe it is going to be more than $820 liao
I like the place too...hear so much abt it!

tinki

hi del, thk next yr's px is still at $820. coz my dinner will be held next yr. according to her, e px she quoted me will be valid till Aug 03. i dun noe whether iz possible 4 them to work out a package 4 u. i ll be callg her 2olo to confirm things, i ll ask her 4 u? btw, ve u consider e wkday package? i ll be taking tat, abt $680.

delannie

Thks tinki, i just called Sheena fr GCW. She sound ok...not really friendly. Grace on leave today. She said take a look at the ballroom first then discuss in detail. Anyway, she told me that the max she can deduct is $8 per table. Maybe u can try to ask for price deduction per table for your banquet. Is there any food tasting?

tinki

del, at first she said we ve to pay 50% 4 e food tastg. but then later she said tat if i m lookg at more than 40 tables, then she ll give us e food tastg FOC. u lookg at 45 tables rite? then shldnt be any problem. i ll call her to ask abt e px deductn, thanx!!!

delannie

tinki, i just met up w the co-ordinator just now. She sd must pay 50% for food tasting...but most of the things she sd she can chk with her boss but never really comfirm anything w me. Anyway, it abit off my budget but i like the ballroom lor....who is your co-ordinator?

tinki

mine iz Sheena, urs? i called her to ask her abt e px deductn, but she said she threw in a lot of freebies 4 me, tat's y iz not possible to give me any deductn. how? u decide oredi?

delannie

Mine is nx yr June. It's a wkday now cos is a auspicious day. Going to c Grand Hyatt first then decide.

tinki

Delannie,
re u still interested in GCW? coz they re vg a promotion w Citibank. 1 of e perks iz $18 off per table, wavier of 1 host table of 10pp(called Sheena, said can be transferred to e food tastg so food tastg cms free) etc etc

pink

Hi tinki,
May I know where did you get the informations for the citibank promotions? I am interested in GCW. Thanks.

tinki

Hi Pink
Citibank sent me e brochure "Introdug a Blissful Union". They ve other perks on photography, bridal studios, hotels, jewels etc. For GCW, their perks re as follow:
-1 20 litre barrel of beer(wkend iz 1 30 litre)
-white seat covers
-$18 off per table
-1 nite stay in a superior rm 4 helpers
-wavier of 1 host table of 10persons.
Hope e info helps...

Del, saw ur postg in GH thread liao! u finally decided on GH. congrats!

delannie

Hi tinki, yes i have decided on GH b'cos of location cos mine is going to be wkday dinner instead(due to auspicious date)...so got to book a more assesible location Wow, citibank offer such good deal.. i havn't seen it before. Do u know whether there is any promo for GH?

jolene

I attended a wedding dinner at Grand Corpthorne Waterfront last night and thought I share some comments:

Service: Generally good. Drinks were refilled promptly and plates were changed at every course. Waiter was attentive and polite. I think its 1-1 table serving. Quite happy with their service.

Food: Rather salty. All the guests seated at my table commented that the food was rather salty and had to drink a lot of tea to relieve the thirst in our mouths. Dunno if its the MSG or the oyster sauce too much... But portion was generous and ate till we were rather full. I think the food is nice, but too salty.

Ambience: Fanastic! Really grand and romantic.. the groom even serenade to the bride on stage... very touching!!! Having a big ballroom with no pillars is definitely very romantic.. esp with flowers all round and the long march-in.

Acoustics: Rather good too. We could hear the MC and the music loud and clear.

Overall, I think GCWF is rather grand and nice. Just need to inform them about the saltish food. Other than that, I think the bride and groom will definitely enjoy their dinner!

dovepeace

I had my wedding on a weekday at GWC!
Did the L-shape march in so that as we approach the stage, the curtains will draw out to reveal the garden. Wanted to have a piano in the ballroom too but I couldn't compose in time.

I attended a fren's wedding in March and provided some feedback about salty food, drinks not being refilled automatically etc. I hope they had improved their service.

Yup, the menu can be swapped. I managed to take one or two items from the weekend menu.

pink

Hi coco,

Sorry for the late reply.
I have booked with GCWF, my coordinator is Sheena. Have not meet up with her yet

Have you decided on your hotel?

curious

Hi Dovepeace,

I am having my dinner (weekday at GCWF) too. can you pls advise if you paid extra for the change in menu ? I mean taking one or 2 items from the weekend menu. Please advise urgently! Thank you.

smile

i'll be having my wedding at GCWF too.

besides salty food, any other things to look out for?