Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

yvonne

Hi to all..

I viewed the ballrm at GCW yesterday and it was really beautiful..didnt actually really consider it coz of the location, not very convenient.
now I'm in a dilemma..duno to choose GCW or Mandarin Spore (M)
initially tot of choosing M but after viewing the ballrm at GCW..i'm at a lost!
btw, Grace from GCW told me that from 1 Sep 01 onwards, they have a promo whereby if u pay the deposit by dbs card, u'll have a $28/- off per table..plus 20litres beer free for weekdays (on top of the original free 30-litres) weekends is extra 30 litres..
M is generally ok overall but i must say that the ballrm at GCW is very nice!!
Is location really tat important for a wedding? for your info, mine would be a wkday..so kinda inconvenient for guest rite? if M then ok got very accessible..by MRT..
can anyone pls advise me on this??

JBride : u had your banquet recently..any one commented on the location?
Would really appreciate some advise!

corica

Hi Yvonne

I also like GCW very much because of the ballroom but come to think of it, it's really inconvenient for guests who don't drive, bcos there's no MRT nearby. Even if there is, it's not within walking distance (outram being the nearest).

But on the other hand, it's once in a lifetime, so i think your guests won't mind also. Only thing is, you have to give some leeway for those working cos they may be late so you may have to consider starting your dinner slightly later to accomodate the working group.

Mandarin was also one of my top choice but i didn't like the ballroom. Too red....too cheena although the location was perfect. There's always pros and cons so you have to ask yourself what's your priority - location or ambience?

Anyway, if you don't mind, i'd like to suggest Pan Pacific Hotel. It's convenient and yet has a very nice ambience - best of both worlds, which is why i ultimately booked it for my dinner as well.

If you want more information on Pan Pac, feel free to ask me, i'll try to help ;)

just to share...i really like GCW's ballroom too!!! so majestic!!! but it's really very inconvenient to go there leh...not that many buses...no MRT...even cabs oso not that many!

if ur wedding is on a weekday...an inconvenient location will probably bring about more disgruntled. worse when guests go to the wrong copthorne hotel (i.e. cop king, orchid cop etc.)

yvonne

Thanks for replying KPO & Corica..
actually my priority is embience coz its once in a lifetime mah!
but then again..i must oso take a tot for guest since its a wkday..
actually we havent told my in-laws on GCW..we went to merchant court..went back n told them..my FIH didnt say out but he pointed out that its not convenient (which is true)
tats y i think if i like GCW oso no use..he surely say no good..

anyway, we'll discuss with them again..n til them i shall post my msg here again..

Really appreciate ur advice..
Corica, me discuss with my hubby abt Pan Pac 1st then get back to u!

tnp

when i was looking for banquet venues a few mths ago, i was similarly looking at GCW. agree the ballroom was nice!! but PILs were too concerned abt the location and saying some ppl not turning up if the location is inaccessible blah blah blah ... and yes KPO, they mentioned abt guests going to the wrong copthorne, and some even think GCW is less grand as it's related to the other copthorne hotels. in the end, we chose a hotel in town.

i was rather insistent in the beginning to choose GCW as i think it's my wedding and i shd hv a greater say, but i really don't want to be blamed if there's really fewer turn-ups, or ang pows are lesser. there are also nice hotels in town which have nice ballrooms with great ambience, do chk them out (eg. Hotel Intercontinental, Pan Pac, Conrad etc)! i do not feel compromised with my current choice and everybody is happy.

Hope everything works out fine for u!!

corica

Hi Yvonne

Sure, i think it's important to discuss with your FH first.

Merchant Court is also quite out of the way, almost like Water Front. So i also think your PIL won't really like the idea.

If you have the budget, Hotel InterContinental is also very convenient. May i suggest the few hotels below which i have been to and are quite good:

1) Sheraton Towers
2) Marriot Hotel
4) Marina Mandarin
5) Oriental Hotel

SO when's your wedding? Rates may change if yours is in 2003 or after.

Anything feel free to email me at [email protected]

Cheers and have a great day

yvonne

initially the dates tat my MIL gave was May 02 but she gave me only in Aug 01 which i find a bit late..
i have actually booked the dates with the hotel..but find it a bit rush leh..8 mths..
bridal more or less booked (booked during a fair - Paris Brides) but havent visited them yet..
few of my FH's collegues also took their package n also, 1 of my fren..all said tat the service is ok..
been reading the forum for comments on Paris..various comments leh..not just Paris..the other boutique also..some say good n some say bad..actually it kinda depends on ur luck huh..?
dunno leh..

anyway, i intend to keep my budget low..coz me tot of saving some for my honeymoon!
kekekek
so my buget is below $700/- since its a weekday..
I'm having doubts abt MM coz from the forum like feedback no good..
sheraton is very Ex leh..though i've heard from collegues tat the place is nice..

tot of hyatt and had viewed the ballrm..its not very appealing to me i must say coz of the 2 pillar though the sales manager assured me tat its not of a problem n tat the guest wont be blocked..but i'm having 45 tables + so i think it will occupy the other side of the rm..n some guest might be blocked..

tot of marriot..but forum comments oso not too good..
*sigh* dunno whether it is good to read too much from the forum..
i mean its good coz we hear feedback from ppl who has experience..but its rather "sad" if u hear negative feedback esp is u r interested..be it banquet or boutique..
then again..the comments r not to dishearten but rather to give an idea..
tats y i appreciate coz i have indeed found out a lot after reading the forum

gosh...me getting very lor sor liao..
hehhehe
so sorry..

corica

Hi Yvonne

Ya actually reading the forum can sometimes make you very confused - like myself, i was confused after reading so much here and there....and some friends also give good and bad comments.

What i feel is important is that as long as you are happy, don't let other people's comments worry u too much. People have diff tastes so it's very subjective, if you know what i mean.

I don't think it's too late to book your dinner since you're having yours on a weekday, it'll be easier. Unless you're talking about Sat or Sun, there's only once in a particular week. So i think you should look around more and then make your coice. But don't delay too long cos time is running out.

Don't worry and let me know which is ur ultimate choice ok?

Bye and good night.

yvonne

Corica

me met up with the sales mgr from M today...
actually I have viewed the ballrm n Mandarin Court b4..wasnt impressed with the latter..coz i tot tat we can have the ballrm.
She told us tat the ballrm is for min 60 tables!
*sigh*...
i dun like Mandarin court at all..u r rite..its very cheena..somemore my FH say its kinda contradicting - the decor i mean..there have 4 chinese paintings at the sides but then they have a "roman-style" decor as according to the sales mgr..
headache..havent spoken to PIL yet..dunno how to start telling them..
i told FH to sound them out if GCW is ok (despite inconvenience!) else i think..i'll have to take hyatt (central location, accessible, food/service ok...) except the 2 pillars..(another factor tat my PIL dun like)

k..will let u know my final decision..
err..b4 that do i have any lifelines? can i call a fren/get the ppl's vote/50-50???

kekekek..gosh..i must have been affected by my collegues who r always talking abt the Who wants to b a M.

Tok to u tomolo...

yvonne

hi..
the norm for wkday is 650-700 rite?(i think so or should i say thats my buget for wkday)
i'll be going to Suntec tis sat..
the convention hall good or not?

Corica/tnp - Pan Pac, Hotel Intercontinental & Conrad r out of my budget i think..
so which hotel did u choose tnp? (dun mind if i ask)

btw, any comments on Suntec?

me thinking if overall is ok then perhaps we will take it..
c how sat goes..

tnp

hi Yvonne,

i chose Pan Pacific in the end, as i receive pretty good feedback on its food, ambience etc ... if u're thinking of a wkday, i think no harm going to Panpac to see. Actually, if u hv more tables, u can negotiate with them too.
so your per table cost may be less than $700.

as for suntec, hvt been there for any wedding dinner, so can't provide any comments.

hope u find your ideal venue! let us know, ok?

cheers.

corica

Actually Pan Pacific is quite flexible. That's what happened to me. Pan Pac's weekend package was too high for me, so the catering mgr actually asked me what was my budget...and i told her...she actually managed to work something out for me (cheaper than normal sat package) but yet, still able to have the dinner on Sat. Ultimately, i paid about $750nett per table, on a Sat.

So if you're having yours on a weekday, i think she'll be able to work out less than $700 for sure. Why not give them a call and check it out. No harm trying right?

I heard that Suntec doesn't provide very good service though the price is reasonable. I actually called Suntec to check out the pricing but they took almost 1 week to get back to me. What's more, after that, they didn't even bother to call me back to follow up. So i didn't really like their attitude, which is also why i didn't even want to consider them. What's more Suntec is very busy and has all the people walking in and out the shopping centres.

yvonne

hi tnp

u mean we can negotiate for the price per table??
hmm..didnt noe abt tat coz i tot we can only bargain for the extra perks in exchange for certain items.

janice

Hi Corica,
I didn't know for Pan Pac, I can bargain for $750nett for weekend. How did you managed to do it? What have you trade in for? Who is your coordinator? I have talked to Amnda and she is not very flexible on that leh. Really thanks a lot.

tnp

hi Yvonne,

like wat Corica said, they will ask u your budget. if your budget is within the range whereby they can work out a package for u, then i think u can consider this hotel! when i first got their package, i saw it's quite expensive although i love their theme decor, and took my time to explore other options first. but they called me up and asked my budget, and sounded keen to work out something for me. so i went down with my hubby and we managed to work out something eventuallly.

but u may hv to forgo certain things. eg. if u pay less than their usual package, u may hv to settle for 8 course dinner and less freebies too, such as less free beer etc. but if u hv more than 30 tables, i think they will still extend their theme decor to u. and if u hv even more tables, i think u can negotiate for more freebies too.

anyhow, do give them a buzz and see for yourself if they can work out something for u.

corica

Hi Janice

Yeah, my coordinator managed to give it to me for $750 nett but i have to take the weekday menu, which is of course, not as elaborate as the weekday menu. I did not have to trade in anything at all. One other reason why my coordinator managed to give me this price is also because i have 60 tables, so they are already earning a lot.
FYI, my catering mgr is Candy. I think you should not seem too keen when you talk to Amanda and try to bargain more. If she doesn't give you what you want, then you should tell her 'let me consider first'. And sort of tell her you are considering other hotels which are able to offer you what you're looking for, but bcos you really like Pan Pac, that's why you hope she can help. Something along those lines will do the trick ;) Hope it works and good luck!

clover

corica, i will be doing 60 tables also and am just starting to plan. don't really have a lot of mid range (price) choices for 60 tables right? only mge to highlight 5 places from list downloaded from SB web. BTW, seem to be seeing u on alot of threads!

corica

hi clover

Yah i'm very active in SB forum, reason being, i'm really into knowing what other SB brides are thinking about and perhaps, share a few experiences with each other.

Anyway, this month's Her World Bride is out and i saw that Marina Mandarin is offering free flow of beer if u book by this yr for 2002 (weekend only) and for weekday, every 20 tables book, u get 1 free table which is a very good deal. Can consider.

Good Luck!

eve

you can actually try Sheraton Towers, it is within your budget. Whatever price which you see for Sheraton is actually for a table of 12, so if you average out, the cost per head should be within your budget.

yvonne

Hi Eve,

thks for your recommendation.
I've asked for the rate for Sheraton and it works out to be $70.70per pax..
i think if given a chose, my in-laws would prefer tat we choose those maybe $650/- to < $700/- ones..
I'll be going to MM tomorrow and PP on wed..
c how it goes..

clover

Yvonne, what happened to GCW? have u ruled it out already? I am going to GCW wed nite and MM (contact pauline) sat afternoon. please please please swap notes after that?

yvonne

Hi Clover,

to my disappointment, GCW is ruled out! coz my PIL are saying that it is not accessible..

ok..i agree tat it is true lah but when u actually c the ballrm, i bet u'll love it!

tat time when i went down, the rm has been set up for a MOH dinner..i can c the various tablecloth tat they r using n the place is well-lit..very nice!! but too bad..
(hiya..its a dinner, no need to get so nice one, a convenient one will do lah)- self consolation!!

Clover, i'm meeting Pauline (MM) on wed..which co-ordinatior r u meeting for GCW? mine was Grace, i'm very comfortable with her..
yeah..we should exchange our findings!
i'll post my findings on thurs...

clover

My co-ord is Elena for GCW. Gut feeling is GCW a bit way out so the price and food's gotta be reaaalll good.

Just did a comparison of the GCW, MM and PP on price and perks before any negotiation. MM seems to be giving most perks of the three. "Missing/lesser" perks compared to GCW and PP are: food tasting (PP FOC for 6), no mention of day use rm, predinner snacks instead of dinner (not that you will really eat from what I hear). BTW, excuz suaku-ness but fresh flower aisle stands come with fresh flowers or just stands huh?
. What are mixers?

Also hor, of course depending on % of hardcore drinker friends, I think abt 4 barrels should be enough for 60 tables right?

No package I have seen mentions multimedia - rental of this seems to be quite ex from forum posting.

lilac

HI all,

I have just placed a deposit for wedding at GCW.Everything is gd so far, you can bargain for the sky. TRY!

yvonne

Clover,

u very cute leh! its something like u call a fren n start toking, then put down the phone.
after tat, u call again n say Hi Yvonne..
heheheh

i think MM has a very comprehensive package..among the 3 tat u mentioned..but i have the impression tat its a bit "cheena"..duno leh..tonite go n c.

when they say mixers it means tat u can bring ur own gin, burbon (spelling?) or voldka then they will mix 4 u if u want loh..F.O.C.

the flower aisle includes flowers n u can choose the flowers. (some hotels tat i've been to showed us 2 or maybe more florist..n u can choose 1 of ur liking- the style n flowers)

i think the pre-dinner snack is good enuf..guess we'll be too gan cheong to eat a proper meal!

well, i'll try n c if MM can give me a day rm n also try to bargain for the 50% waiver for food tasting if i have more tables..

hmm...wat else have we missed out?

clover

Yvonne, hee hee, I am quite blur one. I think based on limited knowledge u got it all covered: day rm use &amp; free tasting. I haven't looked at the menu comparison though. Heard anything about food at MM recently? but if wedding next year, can't guarantee that same chef cooks rite?

Also share your sentiments on decor - maybe can ask if they have new decor in time for your banquet. Would be grateful for feedback on decor from anyone who went to/held wedding at MM recently .. *grovel grovel*

Also, dun understand y the initial offer at MM is much better - what's the catch?

Lilac, if u dun mind, can share w us what freebies/extras u negotiated besides the standard quotation? Will be sooo grateful

gcw?

Hi Lilac,
Yap, like Clover would like to know if you could share what freebies/extras you'd negotiated with GCW. Am still considering if i should get GCW. Hmm...

lilac

Free food tasting for 10..waiver for all liquors and wines,extra invites, seat covers, day use of rm for helpers, late check out.

Basically, i think they are very helpful.To me, its the service that counts.They seem very sincere.

clover

Lilac, I am going to see GCW tonite. So excited cos forum feedback on GCW ballroom is pretty good. May I know the name of your co-ord by the way? Pleaseeee?

yvonne

Clover,

how's ur comments after viewing GCW?
i have more or less decided on MM coz it fits out budget n is also comfortable with the co-ordinator.
Grace fr GCW called me to follow up n i have to reject her..
:p but she din sound angry..still smiling tone n said its ok..have a nice day..
hhmm..good leh..

tnp/corica
me went to PP yesterday..actually my hubby made a mistake by saying tat our budget is $680/- ..when i asked if its possible to go to $650/-, she say no...we asked if changing to 8 course can reduce the price n she say no also..
she charge me $18+++ per open btl for the wine.
(1st 12 waived) later she say she can waive for 24 btls..
i went home n read the forum n understand that she can give others $650/- for wkday n $10+++/- for the wine..on top of tat, they can get 2x20litre beer.
then y is she so "stingy" with me??

felt a little cheated leh..

my hubby wasnt comfortable with her n he say he prefer MM..the "cheated" made me decide to choose MM.

NB : I m not bearing any grudges against PP..can only say tat its my hubby's mistake coz he told her our budget is $680/-.
but then again..if she's flexible..she can give $650/- mah...n also the wine thing..ours more ex. than others leh..

corica

Hi Yvonne

Who was your co-ordinator? Perhaps there was grounds for negotiation? Just that you must try harder...like tell them other hotels willing to offer you at $650 etc. But nevermind, it's ultimately who u're comfortable with.

It also depends how many tables you're booking before they can give you all the 'freebies' that you mentioned the other brides got. I myself booked 60 tables therefore, my coordinator offered me 2 x 30l of beer.

Actually my coordinator didn't even offer to waive the wine corkage. She instead offered me corkage at $10+++ instead of the $20+++.

Anyway i think MM also offering quite good deals now - free flow of beer for weekend and 1 free table for every 20 tables for weekdays, so why not go for MM? Only thing is, i don't really like their ballroom cos it's very 'cheena' looking - red everywhere. No mordern feel.

But congrats on finally making your decision!

yvonne

Hi Corica

my co-ordinator at PP was WaiLeng..i dunno whether its a compromised decision or bo pian..its like..my choices left..MM, PP or Hyatt
but there r 2 pillars in the grandballrm..so its out..
so only MM &amp; PP...if u noted..i have another posting under PP banquet..i'm having 45 tables +
Cast has lesser tables n she managed to get more perks than me!

i think subconsciously, i prefer PP but just that things dun go too well there n i decided on MM.

btw, dun mind telling me who's ur co-ordinator at PP?

tnp

hi Yvonne,

I hv not spoken to Waileng before, but it's very impt tat u feel comfortable with her or any person serving u and your hubby.

could it be tat their prices after June 2002 are changed, so she cannot give u a $650/table? if this is not the case and she's so inflexible, u may wish to speak to another coordinator. but anyway, if u hv decided on MM and feel comfortable with it, then i guess tat's more impt.

yvonne

hi tnp,

guess i was still upset tis morning over PP, tats y i blabbered those "nonsense"
i'm fine now..yeap, i'll go for MM which i feel more comfortable with.
Thanks a lot!
;)

corica

HI Yvonne

I actually posted a reply to you under the 'Pan Pac Banquest' thread. Anyway, my coordinator is Candy Phua. You can call her at 4348248.

clover

Yvonne, congrats on deciding on MM must be a load off your mind. sorry MIA last 2 days - took 1 day break yesterday -- soooo goooood. Ok, back to GCW, the only thing that struck me was : ok, the terrace view is fabulous but if the banquet is at night then it would just be a pitch dark glass?? If so is it still a big deal - the terrace garden? so at this moment, i don't really know (must disclaim in case I really sign up with GCW)

Re: perks, there will be a bridal show in oct 01 and if you sign the deal then you will get the perks (food tasting, another night in bridal suite, ano barrel of beer etc) - which then makes it comparable to other places.

will see MM on sat and let you know - under MM posting?? Will also see PP. Looks like we looked at the same places!

yvonne

clover,

do let me know ur decision.
u going PP? which co-ordinator?
if u go read the thread under "any comments on PP" or "PP banquet"..u will c some of my "nonsense"
i'll suggest tat u look for candy for PP instead of Waileng coz i'm not comfortable with her n she's seems not too flexible with me!

yvonne

clover,
normally tats how i feel after a holiday/off day!
anyway, now going to be lunchtime soon..so is ur lunch hr at 12pm?
have a quick lunch n take a short nap if u can loh..

i think our shorlisted choices of the hotels r more or less the same hor..
CGW, MM, PP..
keep me informed okie..

cast

Aiyoh, I've made a very lor soh reply under PP and now just read your tread here. Believe me. Waileng actually very nice you know. Don't feel so bad and just commit yourself to MM now when subconsciously you like PP. There might be a misunderstanding somewhere, my wedding is for year 2001 which is $598++, wherese yours is for year 2002 which is $618++. Also, you are booking one year in advance, wherese I'm booking only one month in advance. Do let me know your decision and if you don't mind, maybe I can help you talk to Waileng? Do keep me posted under PP ok.

tnp

hi Yvonne,

my pleasure to help.
anyway, if u're still keen on Panpac, do tell them tat after calculating extra costs such as beer, wine etc (maybe u expect lots of relatives and friends to drink), the total cud exceed your budget already, so u hv to revise your per table cost to $650 now. tell them the initial $680 is only a rough estimate but now u've both calculated carefully and think it's outta budget now esp they do not hv free flow beer.

u can also quote MM's pkg as being highly competitive, so if they are keen on your business, they may concede.
like what Cast said, if u really like Panpac, do try to further negotiate with them. Afterall, we only get to book wedding banquet once. must be everything nice nice! to be frank, I heard MM's food not so nice (not only personal opinion but from friends as well). gd luck!!!

lilac

Clover,

Sorry!I have been bz no time to log in to check for messages!So hows ur decision after viewing GCW?My coordinator is the Director of Catering, Andrew. He is very helpful, abit lor sor though..hehe.Very nice chap, very understanding.Im very comfortable with them and i have not since regret after signing the contract!Good luck!

clover

Hi Lilac, been busy with wedding prep? should be so exciting! My co-ord was Elena and I thought she was a bit inflexible. Have you heard comments on food? The chef's from HK I heard. So one thing off your mind la!

clover

Hi Yvonne, having a BIG headache. Spoke to my mum last night and it seems that PP may not be big enough (max 65)and may have to go to Hyatt (max 70). I really really like PP so don't know how. The good news is I got my date already. late Dec around xmas time. Do you think that a lot of pple will go for holiday and can't turn up for the wedding? May turn out to be a blessing in disguise cos I may then get to pick PP then!! Hee Hee
and have goodie day!

yvonne

Clover,

wow..u have so many tables!
for the attendance, i think it depends on the closeness of ur relationship with ur guest.
since u already have the date, no harm telling ur guest-2-b abt it..n if u wish tat they turn up, just let them know so tat they can arrange the holiday trip (should there b one)at another date.
if they r close to u, i think they will put ur wedding as priority and change the date.

if u have so many tables, for Hyatt, they will open up all the rooms for the grand ballroom..but do take note..there r 2 pillars at the back of the ballroom..if urs is 70, have to open up the last rm..so dunno whether the tables will be blocked or not. (at tat time my co-ordinator say no problem) but i still mind the pillars..tats y didnt choose Hyatt.

well, if u r hoping tat the guest list be less than 70, then pray hard tat ur frens all go for holiday..heheh..maybe u can check with ur frens/relatives whether they r going on holiday ard tat time..n also mention tat u r having ur wedding somewhere tat period.
if not, try to go thru the list n c if u can cut down...how many do u have now on ur list?

lilac

Hi Clover,

Duno if the BIg table that can sit 12 ppl be able to solve ur problem, or if the bigger table will need to take up more space...
What makes u like GCW so much?Im curious...hehe.
I have heard so much abt the blockage of Hyatt's pillars...if can avoid, avoid lor hor....
Marriot very small?If not Marriot oso very nice!

Regarding the coordinator of GCW,if u decided on the place, i believe u can just try to bargain abit more, they shd be able to give in since they are very aggressive now...TRY!gd luck!

baboon

GCW has a pretty nice ballroom. Will be holding my dinner there in a week's time..

Will share my experience with you gals after the din...