Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi noscon,

Last time i saw them at a metro fair selling toys. cant rem how much, tink ard $20 bah. try check it out there, n maybe can try toys'R us also.

Hi Lindy,
Dun worry, look up more pics n real setup even better. than u will have better idea wat kind of flowers n setup u like.

Shld we match the flowers color w our gown or shld we choose contrasting color?

Hi Moo
I am not sure is there any changes in the criteria of having Chinese Dinner @ the poolside.
But, my initate plan is to have dinner @ the two terrace by the Main pool. One side near the MingJiang Rest. will be having 8 course chinese sit down dinner for ard 8 table. The other terrace will be having buffet.
However, after considering the different timing for the chinese & buffet dinner, we decide to combine all into buffet.
As for 160pax limitation is due to in case of bad weather condition, we will move our event into tudor terrace. And the maximum capacity @ tudor is 160pax according to Jeanie.
I believe the minimum of 18tables is referring to the ballroom.

Hi aradia
You are right, Poolside Terrace is the one @ the main pool.

Hi Lindy,
can advice me the fee for Kenneth Lee? and where can i find the thread on MUAs?

Hi Nonscon
Thank you for ur info on TG Goh.

BR Jeannie Girl

lindy

thanks.... garden of eden hahaha...

hi slimmy
Welcome! I chose GWP at first because it is quieter and classy but then later on, I heard the food is not bad...

There is the tudor ballroom and tudor terrace (it's a marquee) to choose from and I chose the terrace so the venue depends on your taste and liking... so you have to go and take a look yourself...

for service wise, im very satisfied with GW svr... why dun you give them a call?

little bride

thanks for the info... go and find find...

i chose the venue decor color cos it's recommended and it's soft color(liliac, cream and light pink)... I didn't think about the matching of the gowns... cos WG is white so can go well with most colors, unless you want to match your EG...
i think matching the flower colors shd blend well with the surroundings too...

HI ladies!!!

Been busy lately... Hardly had time to post messages like i used to. Hehehe...

Anyway, has anyone bought the latest issue of Style Wedding? Nice... There're some very useful wedding ideas in it. I like them all!! Love all the floral arrangements featured. ALL. Now, I'm convinced I'd like more flowers gracing the Tudor Ballroom on my big day! Downside is... I don't know how to even begin! Flowers are not my specialty.

HI ladies!!!

Been busy lately... Hardly had time to post messages like i used to. Hehehe...

Anyway, has anyone bought the latest issue of Style Wedding? Nice... There're some very useful wedding ideas in it. I like them all!! Love all the floral arrangements featured. ALL. Now, I'm convinced I'd like more flowers gracing the Tudor Ballroom on my big day! Downside is... I don't know how to even begin! Flowers are not my specialty.

yes, l.s.

i bought

yes, i love e flowers...now i am considering to have a separate event for my frz cos of the outdoor venues featured!not many weddg fairs featured though...not v helpful to those who has yet to decide their venue...

my fren who helps out at wedding events bot a small bubble for $29.90 at taka toy department...small but i heard from her that it produces enuff for for the walk-in..if not then get 2 lor... u can go check it out....it works on batteries..the guns are quite troublesome cos i dun think my frens are game enuff to stand there with the gun..they prob think i'm mad! i heard that u can rent a more professional machine too...but for $200 (not worth it lor!) jus make sure u run it for a while before actual walk in...I jus hope that I still can find it at taka cos i checked toys r'us and i think they ran out...the one that my fren has is spoilt so i need to go get another one for myself..so if anyone goes taka...pls let me knw if it is still available k? thanks!

regarding the flowers...i only added 6 flower stands which cost me nothing cos i negotiate for it...i din want the cake, favours so i told her in exchange i jus wanted more flowers
but she did tell me that each stand cost $80+++ to add on.. but i think u jus need to bargain with her...
I think u dun have to actual match colors (as long as it doesnt clash!) but more of the mood...if u have elegant looking EG then have the decor be simple and elegant...agree?

This bubble idea is quite similar to the Marina Mandarin. They do provide this service to their bridal couples. But I was thinking whether the bubble effect will create a soapy slippery feel after those bubbles rest on yr face or gown? I dont wan it to ruin my make up...

Btw, I'd went to gown fitting y'daz.
Everything went well & i was so excited trying to find that "perfect" gown. I manage to get all my gowns(WG,EG & ODG) OTR. I'll be having 2 WG for photoshoot but only pick one for AD. I also chose my EG to blend into the red colour theme of the tudor ballrm. Mine is not those super bright red, but a bit kind like maroon with silk texture. Heehee.. i simply fall in luv with the colour and not so much on the design instead!

Beside flower stands, has anyone tot of adding those overhead flower arch? Do u tink it's impractical (based on the cost of arch vs the value of putting up an arch) or the aisle is too narrow?

hi LS....

aradia
thanks for the info.... think i will try to look for the guns... will let you know when i found it..

cookieNcream
great that u pickedu up something u like... i have to mtm my EG cos i dun like the one from BS.... great to think of the decor to match the gown...
I understand the color u talking about... nice

I tot of the overhead flowers arch but i went along with the suggestions that my florist told me... if anything additional, it will be too exp for me... the arch alone might costs ard 800... but i saw someone used arch before and it's quite nice if you are taking photos for the march in....
saw before... but this one is for terrace, not sure for ballrm...

aradia,

$80/flower stand... Hmmm... I wonder how my fiance and I should go about this. We would like more flowers, but I guess we'll have to discuss this whole thing over with the florist GWP will be using. Any idea which florist GWP goes to?

noscon...
HI back!
Like you, I'm probably going to have to MTM my evening gown coz I didn't fancy anything Bridal Concept had in their boutique. Therefore, will have the opportunity to coordinate with the floral pieces.

hi LS

yeah that's a good idea cos my EG really stands out and can't go with the floral decor now... also it will be good to coord WG and EG cos if your WG is modern looking then EG better be also the same to go well... my EG is somemore cheong sum... dun go well with GW theme at all....

for my flower stand, I paid 150 for a really nice one fr a good florist.....

GW goes with floralbell if im not wrong... got the name card.. if u need contact info, can get from me...cos i got it from the coordinator...

where are u mtm your eg?

Hi Ladies ,

Just to check with you. When you told your relatives and friends that you are holding your wedding dinner at Goodwood Park Hotel , what is their reaction ?
Did they said that their friends hold before at GWP have good impression or friend's friend said they have a bad impression ?
Just to do a survey. I have a friend told me she has a friend who hold her wedding at GWP , they don't like the food.

eastlibra

normally the people i talked to will say nice food for those who have been there but most has not been there before....

my personal experience...

Hi aradia,
thanx for the idea, its even better to leave the bubble making toy there than to manually operate. haha.
u got 6 additonal flower stands free!? tt's v gd!

Hi cookieNcream,
hmm....whether the bubbles will have sticky feeling or not maybe must have a rehearsal to try out first then know. but i like the dreamy n fairy tale ambience it can create.
well, althought i like flowers but i dun tink i will add more at most maybe an arch. but like a bit cramp to put in the ballrm leh. i tink its more suitable for the terrace.

noscon,

I'm with Bridal Concept along Liang Seah St. I've got a few styles in mind, but will wait till late April before I decided for sure if I want to have it MTM. Have to top up about $200. Already selected my wedding gown. Lovely bustier princess-cut ballgown with embriordery all over. I'm having them add extra beads and crystals to it to really make it stand out.

May I have the contact for Florabell? BTW, your coordinator at GWP is Jeanie, ya? We would like a more European theme... Hence the "full" wedding gown. So, my evening gown and flowers will have to coordinate nicely. Think may opt for one of those slinky bustier cut EG with a stappy back or a low back spaghetti strap EG with high cut slit on the side... I would like something sexy for my EG. Also, I do like those with sheer/translucent midrift... hehehe... See first lah. So many choices! Hard to decide!!!

eastlibra,

Most of the people I've spoken to have good things to say about GWP. Thus far, we've heard nothing bad. Lots of others have not been there for a wedding celebration and ours will be their first. Some have also "oooohhhed" and "ahhhhhhhed" when we told them. They're quite impressed!

LS

yeah u still got some time to do moe research on the dress.... 200 is ok for mtm... so you got a long train?

i will pm u the floralbell info... yeah my coord is jeanie too...me too..think sexy EG will be great since only night in your whole life when u can get away with anything u want...
bcbg gown is great i think but not bear to part with $$$...

hey nonscon, L.S,

me seriously thinkin of getting a 3rd gown/dress too coz i only have WG and EG now..but I dun wana be busy doing change of clothes, i wana be able to relax too durin e ceremony and dinner...well, i guess if i really find a dress i love, i'l try to fit that it.=P

lindy

I have also thought of getting another gown as I am not that satisfied with my EG... I only want to have WG and EG as I too lazy to change and also I want to eat good food, plus I need to top up for my MUA to stay longer which I dun want...

yeah but finding a dress u like has a wonderful feeling and you cant help spending more $$$ on it... I would like to look for another EG is I can.... any lobang?

Lindy why do you want another gown?

Hi LS,

My MTM EG also have sheer/translucent midrift! i like it after i tried on 1. n decides to make my gown the same.
sexy but not exposing, n wun c tummy also. heehee.... u must have 2 layers of organza to have this effect.

Hi Lindy,
last time i also wish to have more gowns, like fashion show like tt. but later i tink, if i like my WG n EG, i cant wait to wear them as long as i can, so i cant have another gown to take away their time. ahaha...

6 May 2005 (Terrace) - noscon ([email protected])
28 Jun 2005 - little bride ([email protected])
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream([email protected])
20 Aug 2005 (Terrace) - Lindy ([email protected])
10 Sep 2005 (Terrace) - aradia ([email protected])
18 Sep 2005 - Jeanniegirl ([email protected])
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra ([email protected])
31 Dec 2005 - EMF
late 2006 - moo ([email protected])

hey littlebride,nonscon,
i think you gals are rite..i really love my gown and i wouldnt mind to wear it longer than normal..i think if i were to get another outfit it would be more for tea ceremony or photoshoot.thanks for the advice!

HI gals...

I contemplated having only 1 gown for the whole evening. But, decided to go with what's expected of the bride to do... Change into an evening gown. Better to give our guests what they are expecting to see. At least that lah... We are both not in favour of having a slideshow of photos during the cocktails only because we are both feel it isn't our style. SO, must at least make up for that in another area. Give our guests a fashion show lah!! I also have a tea dress from Bridal Concept which I can use as a 3rd dress. See first...

Hi L.S,
i am actually calmer than i tot i would be. i havent even started on my invitations.the only thing i'll be doin in 2 weeks is my first fitting for my gowns. I also have a tea dress from Empire but i think its too casual for the wedding dinner.prob use that for tea ceremony if possible. but then again , its the gown that everyone wana see rite?hahaha...

i have 6 months to go, is there anything that i should be doing now already?? oh ya! i have not purchase our wedding bands!!! and our ROM is in May already..

i think aft that would really be settling the wedding cards. i'll prob settle e decor of the wedding venue about 2 months before? is that too short? i feel like there's nothing much to be done already...

Hi Lindy,

At this moment besides gown fitting, u shld be lookg at some small details & maybe doing some research on decoration for bridal car, makeup artist, hair stylist & hand bouquet. You should also choose & invite yr frenz as your attendants for reception, emcee, wedding coordinators, drivers etc. and assign them their duties. Time to book yr AD photographer and travel package (if any). If free & easy, need to plan iternary early & made booking for accomodation and car overseas. Check for d season at yr HM venue 1st. Meanwhile, take your time to shop for accessories like shoes, tiaras and jewellery to match yr gown. In fact, there's still a list of "small small" things to do down the months. The accumulation of these small items can frustrate you later if you didnt clear them early. Hope it's helpful to you & other brides.

HI lindy and cookie,

Yup. Just heard from my lobang in the U.S. We've got to make a decision on our invites ASAP. He's only got about 7 weeks till he vacates his place. Thus, have to come to yet another HUGE wedding related decision sometime next week. No later!! SO EXCITING!! What's mind boggling is the sheer number of choices we've got to select from! Spoilt for choice! Can't make up our minds!!

Lindy...

Have you signed up for any spa treatments (facials, massage) to prep yourself for your big day?? I'm thinking of home facials (treatment masks that can be bought anywhere these days). Massage is a weakness of mine... Will definitely be visiting the spa more regularly a few months prior to my wedding.

hi....
no time to check the forum these few days..work work and work...sigh!
btw..i think $80 should be cheap then for the flower stand...compared to what noscon said abt hers..but i think mine will be really typical..but i shouldnt be complaining...it's free! my FH was shocked when i was negotiating with her..he said I sounded like I was buying fish from market..haha! By the way...L.S..I dunno which florist GW use..din bother to ask..try asking her abt it and the price for the flower stands? maybe she has a good deal cos ur package cost more than mine..

Hearing all these talk about WG and EG.. I can't believe I'm not getting one! now i'm starting to regret! i went searching for an ideal one at many BS but jus couldnt find one so I decided to tailor a simple tube dress made from thai silk...copied a design from style wedding...hehe... even my MIL couldnt believe it when i told her that i dun wanna get one...cant get a formal gown for my high tea recep rite? it jus seems weird to me..BUT now...it seems so fun deciding on the dresses...L.S! go for the fashion show!
Have fun all of you!

L.S...try the mask from SK II...my fren says it really brighten ur complexion..good for jus before the big day rite? but u gotta use for...i think 12 or 14 days straight..everyday...to get immediate effect..

Lindy...think u better go search for ur rings! it takes time to find an ideal pair..and time for them to order and stuff...
I bot my rings and it took them one mth before i could collect..
We bot our rings last year cos we jus stumbled upon a pair we loved and my FH was so scared that by the time we decide the date, it will be out of stock..so we bot it..Kiasu! and that was before he proposed! wat a joke! now my ring is a bit too big...dunno how..and we still gotta send it back in to engrave...i think the lady at the shop is gonna laugh at us!
L.S..i do agree with you..feeling more excited than i tot i would be! but i have lesser preparations..make a list of the things u need to do...it makes u more kancheong!

forgot! jus to add tat if anyone of u get a dress with a train..be more careful abt the front than the back..the train can be as long as u like..not a prob..jus be v sure that the front is not too long ...maybe slightly off the floor?..try it with the exact height of heels u're wearing...i was bridesmaid for one of my best frens and she almost cried cos on AD she keep wanting to step on her dress..v frustrating! and she had to lift the front up a little then walk..v ugly! jus my 2 cents worth!

hi Lindy

Think you shd still have plenty of time...I have not done my invitations yet and my wedding is in May...But just do very good research on everything so you will not regret anything later...

Fairy inc customised rings so you cn check that out for wedding bands, more personal.... im looking for engagement rings now...

LS
I also love spa a lot... last month I went to the asia spa at Fullerton and I would not recommend that pl although it's ok. They have a couple's package so I went to try. I love those on Batam island one cos they only cost $15 for 1.5hrs of either aromath/thai massage... love it..so cheap..
where is a good place for massage in spore?

CookieNcream
I agreed that sk2 mask is very good, you will see a change after a few trys... love that but also very exp...

yeah I also wanted a banquet later because I want to wear pretty dresses hahaha.... so qiao.. anyway you can also try some off-the-rack dresses from allure charix... heard very nice and special designs there.. im gg to take a look there myself soon...

aradia

thanks for the tip abt the dress... i hope your friend is ok that day.. yeah normally the dressmaker will ask you to wear your actual shoes when she do measurements....
have you make your dress yet?

Ladies
im very kancheong now cos my wedding in 2mths and my new hse(supp to finish before the wedd) still do not even have tiles yet but sigh... just try my best and hope that AD will be beautiful and radiant..
good luck to all of us and hope that all of us will have a lot of fun preparing for the BIG day of our lives...

hi aradia,

good pt abt the gown front. I actually forget the front and only focus on the train. arghhh... u r rite... v ugly if always need to hold the front when walking!

nonscon,

no wonder u r so kancheong... doing reno & preparing yr wedding at the same time! Can b beri stressful leh. Sometimes it better to chase yr contractor a bit. My reno was done last year, took almost 2 months when they promised only 5 weeks! I was chasing them all the way to make sure they finish b4 the lunar 7th mth.

Btw Ladies,
I already hv a wedding band for my ROM before. Anyone know whether need to get another ring for the wedding dinner & of any significant meaning?

It's the weekend!!! Think I'll indulge in a massage and perhaps a pedicure... waxing?? See if I can get a appointment first. Still have not decided on our invitations. Sigh... Actually, I'm quite surprised that a hotel like GWP doesn't have a widewr selection of invitation cards for us to choose from. Only 2! A traditional red one and that off-white number. We don't fancy either. Now must spend a few hundred to get ours.

you are all really sweet, really appreciate the advice! i am going for regular facials at Dikara Spa near the Club street. not too bad, but i'm not a facial person normally so i signed a packaged (spent about 1K!!) to prep me up from now til weddin day. I wil prob go for a spa treatment somewhere else coz its quite small there. I like to have something more luxurious on my pre-weddin day.heheheh...

i should be going to see some wedding cards tom. and hopefully by the end of the mth i'll be getting my wedding bands liao.

Cookiencream,
i think its nice to get another one, if you have already been wearing the ROM ring...another reason to shop!!

i also thinking maybe i should start having pedis, my job quite outdoor so i dun really take care...but with wedding and house coming, wana spend on whats necessary and not splurge too much, noe what i mean? but then again, as a girl, i gota admit my will power quite weak, hahahaha!!!! my fiance also one super shopper, so me + fiance = shopping big time

Hi Alls,

Wow, the forum is so active now!

All of us start to feel the excitment of the Big Day.

Being the last GWP bride in 2005, i will wait to share all of your experience.

Lindy,

1K is a lot ot spend on facials! I intend to try out the SKII range of facial treatment masks. Olay works fine for me, but for my wedding, I think I want something more promising! I hope SKII will deliver what it promises.

As far as flowers go, I've checked out magazine after magazine. There're some pretty good ideas in the latest Style Weddings and Her World Bridal mags. Love the bouquets too. Very dreamy. That's the kind of atmosphere I wish to create for my big day... I watched the final episode of The Bachelor a week or so ago. Fell in love with the floral arrangements!! The candles added a romantic touch too. Think I'll have to speak to the florist in-charge about that!

Hey L.S,

SKII mask quite ex too. But i heard it really brightens (whitens) your skin instantly. But I'm more of a tanned complexion and i dun think my fiance and friends wana see me all whitened,hahah! but i think its good to use it to brighten the skin up.

I am thinkin of leaving e flower arrangements to a friend who used to work in a decor shop, so he is pretty good with such stuff. I hope that he wouldnt mind takin charge of that for me. I stil duno what colour theme i want though.

Am also exploring all the options for cards.my close friend is helping me to see if he can design and print (via a professional printer)for me to cut costs. But it works out to be more ex, we will prob just go for the printers like lil-art.

i've stopped buying bridal mags, but now aft hearin e good stuff in the mags, i should go get them!haha..

we wil be getting our wedding bands sometime at e end of this month/early next month. Seriously thinking about Tiffany's (about $1.6K per ring) for wedding bands. alot of pple telling us its crazy to spend that kind of money, but we really like it and the wedding is a really special item that in a way identifies us as husband and wife. some were saying get a better ring in future, but it seems so "make-do"...

hi noscon!
Have not made my dress yet tho i bot the material..really lazy to go all the way there! but gonna do it soon la..tot that i better go case the dress turns out bad..i've time for alternatives! Right now, I'm searching for right shoes and accessories..Not easy..either not nice enuff or way out of my budget!
Btw, couldnt find the bubble machine anymore..sold out in all the places I can think of..sigh..gotta think of something else!

cookiesncream,
from wat i noe..there's two kinds of rings a lady should own..an enagement ring (diamond of cos!
) given by husband during proposal... then wedding bands which is a pair..one for each..so gal gets two, guy gets only one! and both the rings for the gal should be worn on the ring finger on the left hand..that's the tradition..
The rings for ur ROM are ur wedding bands so by right u dun have to get any more rings but well...it's up to you! you can break tradition..no one said you cannot have more rings if you see any u fancy rite?

wow aradia

you need to make the dress liao... wedding coming cos if anything goes wrong, still got time to change..
i think for shoes, people told me to buy silver ones cos it goes well with most colors, unless you wearing one for WG and one for EG... I bought a silver pair luckily for ROM and wedding..cheapo again..
but i like that very much...

accessories I custom made them to match my gowns... I made them here www.victoriajewels.com. It is a local company and the designer is a singaporean. But it is better for you to show your preferred design to her.

oh yeah the bubble machine....

Hi aradia,

no more bubbles??? oh, then how? must get our frens to blow for us liao....haha...
how abt going m'sia to look for it? haha...

i also looking ard for shoes....i need it in less than 2 weeks time. either 2 ex, or heels 2 small i cant walk, or not high enuff...haiz...i found 1 white color shoe in JB but no size! but OG got similar design in silver color. for WG, i would prefer white color which i still can wear in usual days.
for EG, maybe can use my ROM shoes.

Hi Lindy,

its up to u loh, its u n ur hubby wearing, not others mah, dun care abt them. if u can afford it, y not? if u dun intend to get new ones in future, then its going to last u a lifetime, better to get gd ones. but even platinum also need to bring back polish ocassionally. my hubby onli wear few mths then become ugly liao, spent $30 to polish.

Hi noscon,
How much r u spending on those custom made accessories? u got them liao? can show pics?

Hi all GWP BTB
i juz went for my gown designing on last sun... the B.S told me my 1st fitting will be on 2nd week of may & my PS will be on 3rd week of june
Do you think it will be too rush.. in case i need to alter my gown.

And does anyone got feedback on the PARADOX shoes sell @ essex walk? or the shoes from leaping lizard as i need to get a 4" high heels.
Thank you for your help

Hi aradia
have u check out Bugis Seiyu? I tot i saw it last week. The children toys dept.

Lindy,
You can check out Piaget too.. their rings are nice too..

Luv Jeannie Girl (^.*)